tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

31/08/2014 : KARMA TO BURN - Arch Stanton

KARMA TO BURN

Arch Stanton

MusicCD
HeavyRockStoner Rock

[75/100]   

Deepdive records
31/08/2014, Ron SCHOONWATER

It’s a devils dilemma. The band that does it better without singer than with one is back! KARMA TO BURN grooves, rocks and swings. No one will be able to keep their head still at the rhythm, the guitar driven songs, the intense bass and drum lines.

Arch Stanton is for fans and lovers of stoner rock enjoyable again. And yet, there’s that devils dilemma. Just like in the movie in which the grave of Arch Stanton plays a role: the western The Good, The Bad and The Ugly (the intro of the last song Fifty Nine cites to that classic). The gold however appears to be lying in the grave of the unknown soldiers besides that grave of Arch Stanton.

The record Arch Stanton sounds great, but there’s a feeling present of repetition. Haven’t we heard this all before? The answer is yes and no. It’s a bit like the cover of the CD predicts. It’s like the devil plays with it. It’s North against South, but when there is a common enemy you forget all the differences. KARMA TO BURN sounds like KARMA TO BURN. No room for innovation or challenging changes. There’s however room enough for heavy, grooving instrumental rock songs like we‘re used from this band.

It’s a devils dilemma to criticize this record. If it’s about passion and dynamism this album rates awesome. For people who are searching for new directions this album is however a disappointment. If we compare it to the mentioned movie you can say that in the case of KARMA TO BURN the treasure is found in the grave of Arch Stanton. It’s not as surprising, but it’s just as rewarding.

Ron SCHOONWATER
31/08/2014


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide