tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this tv series review

29/08/2014 :  - BOARDWALK EMPIRE SEASON 4

BOARDWALK EMPIRE SEASON 4

MovieTV series
CrimeTV Series

[80/100]   

Warner Home Video
29/08/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Some months ago, the producers from HBO surprised everyone by announcing the end of Boardwalk Empire: the excellent gangster epos from Terrence Winter that’s been produced by Martin Scorsese. After five seasons this decision was made on double ground. First of all, there was the public. Critics were raving about, but average Joe didn’t care about those crooks from Atlantic City. Secondly, the makers wanted to end in beauty. Without any doubt, Boardwalk Empire is one of the best crime series of all time and every season they were setting the sight higher and higher, just like they did with the 4th season that is now out on both DVD and Blu-ray.

We still follow Enoch Thompson (Nucky for friends, Steve Buscemi) who has gathered a real kingdom during the bootlegging-years. This didn’t happen just like that. You have to need a thick book to include all those who are gunned down. Even Nucky himself went through the eye of the needle. Despite his money, he’s a sad loner. His faithful wife Margaret Schroeder (Kelly McDonald) already left him a long time ago, and also with brother Eli (Shea Whigham) things aren’t going well. Nucky’s new lover is Sally Wheet (Patricia Arquette). Well, perhaps Nucky might not be the regular family man some wants him to be, but they always come knocking on his door when someone’s in trouble: like for instance his nephew who “accidentally” poisoned his rival.
 

America is wild about jazz and Chalkie (Michael K. Williams) wants to introduce the roaring 20’s-sound in Atlantic City. Nucky not only gets his fortune from nightclubs. There’s the booze too, even if drugs are coming up. The mobster is still chased by the FBI, he still has to be careful for rival Al Capone (Stephen Graham) and also his loyal servant Eddie (Anthony Laciura) plays an important role in the puzzle of his life.

It’s still impossible to summarize the essence of Boardwalk Empire in a nutshell. But then again, why should we do that? The magic from this series is to be found in the ingenious scripts, or in other words: top television just like we want to have! Boardwalk Empire is of course the series from Steve Buscemi, but the whole cast acts splendid. All characters are cruel, but they all have become a legendary part of television history. In case you’re a dummy, we recommend you to begin with the start. Well, that seems normal, but the first three seasons are available in one box, so why wait? The others have no excuse: this 4th season belongs to your collection.

Now out on HBO via Warner on both DVD and Blu-ray. A tip? More than that!

Didier BECU
29/08/2014


NL

Een paar maanden geleden nog kondigde kwaliteitszender HBO aan dat er een einde aan Boardwalk Empire zou komen, het excellente gangsterepos van Terrence Winter dat ook nog eens door Martin Scorsese is geproduceerd wordt na vijf seizoenen definitief opgedoekt. De beslissing is deels te wijten aan het feit dat het grote publiek niet echt viel voor de misdadigers uit Atlantic City, anderzijds wilden de makers ook in schoonheid eindigen. Want jawel, Boardwalk Empire is zonder enige twijfel één van de allerbeste misdaadseries ooit waarbij de lat ieder seizoen wat hoger wordt gelegd. Zo ook in het vierde, en dus het voorlaatste luik.

We volgen nog steeds het relaas van maffiabaas Enoch Thompson (Nucky voor de vrienden, Steve Buscemi) die tijdens de drooglegging een gigantisch misdaadrijk wist aan te leggen. Dat gebeurde zeker niet zonder enige slag of stoot. Je hebt al een heel dik boek nodig om iedereen die aan flarden is geschoten erin te kunnen noteren, en ook Nucky zelf is door het oog van de naald gekropen. Ondanks zijn majestueuze rijkdom is hij eigenlijk niet meer dan een zielige eenzaat. Zijn trouwe echtgenote Margaret Schroeder (Kelly McDonald) heeft hem al lang verlaten en komt in dit seizoen nog amper in beeld. Zij wordt tegen Sally Wheet (Patricia Arquette) ingeruild. Ook met zijn bloedeigen broer Eli (Shea Whigham) botert het niet echt meer, ook al komt men maar al te graag bij Nucky aankloppen (bijv. als zijn neefje “per ongeluk” een klasgenoot vergiftigt) indien men zijn invloed wil gebruiken. Het is ondertussen 1924 en de jazz is volop aan zijn opmars bezig. De man die dat allemaal in Atlantic City wil introduceren is Chalkie (Michael K. Williams).

Nachtclubs zijn niet de enige bron van Nucky’s royaal inkomen. Er is natuurlijk ook de drank, ofschoon de drugs meer en meer in trek komt. De maffiabaas wordt nog steeds opgejaagd door de FBI, moet nog steeds opletten voor rivaal Al Capone (Stephen Graham) en ook zijn trouwe dienaar Eddie (Anthony Laciura) speelt in dit seizoen een belangrijke rol van Nucky Thompson’s levenpuzzel.

Het blijft een bijna onmogelijke opdracht om het verhaal van Boardwalk Empire te vertellen. Nu ja, waarom zouden we dat ook doen? De scenario’s zitten boordevol intriges en op het van iedere aflevering blijft de kijker verbaasd omdat hij deze wending niet onmiddellijk had verwacht of m.a.w. toptelevisie in al zijn glorie. Boardwalk Empire is misschien wel een beetje dé serie van Steve Buscemi geworden, maar de rest van de cast speelt minstens even sterk. Alle personages zitten fantastisch in elkaar (ook al zijn het allemaal stuk voor stuk onwrikbare snoodaards die geen greintje medelijden verdienen). Mocht je een beginner zijn dan is het misschien best om eerst de drie seizoenen (verzameld in één box) te bekijken wil je het allemaal een beetje willen volgen. Wie vertrouwd is met Nucky en de zijnen kan zich zorgeloos het vierde seizoen aanschaffen.
 

Nu uit op HBO via Warner op zowel dvd als Blu-ray. Een tip? Meer dan dat!

Didier BECU
29/08/2014


29/08/2014 :  - BOARDWALK EMPIRE SEASON 4 29/08/2014 :  - BOARDWALK EMPIRE SEASON 4 29/08/2014 :  - BOARDWALK EMPIRE SEASON 4 29/08/2014 :  - BOARDWALK EMPIRE SEASON 4 29/08/2014 :  - BOARDWALK EMPIRE SEASON 4 29/08/2014 :  - BOARDWALK EMPIRE SEASON 4 29/08/2014 :  - BOARDWALK EMPIRE SEASON 4 29/08/2014 :  - BOARDWALK EMPIRE SEASON 4 29/08/2014 :  - BOARDWALK EMPIRE SEASON 4 29/08/2014 :  - BOARDWALK EMPIRE SEASON 4 29/08/2014 :  - BOARDWALK EMPIRE SEASON 4 29/08/2014 :  - BOARDWALK EMPIRE SEASON 4 29/08/2014 :  - BOARDWALK EMPIRE SEASON 4 29/08/2014 :  - BOARDWALK EMPIRE SEASON 4 29/08/2014 :  - BOARDWALK EMPIRE SEASON 4 29/08/2014 :  - BOARDWALK EMPIRE SEASON 4

 

Next reviews
ELIO PETRI • L'assassino
MICHAEL TIDDES • A Haunted House 2
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Nord Waves 80-13
ANTIGEN SHIFT • Brotherhood
LUPI GLADIUS • Veritas
SCOTT WAUGH • Need For Speed
• Transformers Prime - Orion Pax Season 2 Vol.1
• HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 2
RAYNE • Complex by Design
J.J. ABRAMS • Star Trek

 

Other reviews from
• Dubhfest, Poperinge, 05.11.2016
• The World of Hante
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
• An impression of Castle Party
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016: Part II: There once was… (the history)
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016 - PART 1: If only it could always be winter and always night...
• Record Store Day 2016 at Wool-E Shop
• Coalescaremonium: a gathering of like-minded as we like it
• Coalescaremonium editie 4
• The history behind Waveteef

 

Same combination of genres: CRIME + TV SERIES
• MAJOR CRIMES SEASON 2
• HAPPY VALLEY SEASON 1
• THE TEAM SEASON 1
• LONGMIRE-SEASON 2
• THE FINDER
• BOARDWALK EMPIRE SEASON 5
• BROADCHURCH SEASON 1
• THE CODE SEASON 1
• FOYLE'S WAR-SEASON 8
• THE FALL SERIES TWO

 

Same genre: CRIME
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Helen Walsh: The Violators
ANDREA DI STEFANO • Escobar: Paradise Lost
RAYMOND DE FELITTA • Rob The Mob
ANDRE VAN DUREN • De Bende Van Oss
CRAIG ZOBEL • COMPLIANCE
RICHARD BROOKS • IN COLD BLOOD
DAVID BRADLEY • Harry Brown
PHIL JOANOU • State Of Grace
SEBASTIAN SCHIPPER • Victoria
PAUL THOMAS ANDERSON • Inherent Vice

 

Same genre: TV SERIES
• GOTHAM SEASON 1
• STRIKE BACK SEASON 3
• 19-2 COMPLETE SERIES ONE
• DETECTIVE MONTALBANO SEASON 6
• HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 3
• HELIX SEASON ONE
• RECTIFY SEASON 1
• THE NEWSROOM SEASON 3
• THE LAST SHIP SEASON 1
• ORANGE IS THE NEW BLACK SEASON 2

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger