tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this tv series review

25/08/2014 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 2

HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 2

MovieTV series
PoliticalTV Series

[86/100]   

SONY SPHE
25/08/2014, Didier BECU

EN

In the mean time we know that House Of Cards has caused a revolution in television world. We live in a fast world in where there’s no time for patience. Back in the 80’s it was possible that television stations were keeping the whole world in tension with the answer to the question who shot JR in Dallas, but such things are simply not possible today.

Netflix, the American company that created House Of Cards, put an end to the television law that said series had to be divided in one episode each week. The station decided to broadcast the whole first season in one row, and in very short time they also launched the second season. And so it happens that some weeks after we reviewed the 1st one, now the 2nd is already in the shops!

Peek-A-Boo respects our readers. So if you haven’t seen the first season yet, then immediately click to another review as there’s nothing so annoying as journalists who destroy the viewer’s fun with publishing spoilers, not?

For those who don’t know it yet: House Of Cards is set in the White House. American politicians perhaps might claim that they’re having clean hands, in the fictional world that’s been created by David Fincher and Beau Willimon, they’re all corrupt. The dirty game is lead by Francis Underwood (Kevin Spacey) who has already become the vice president from the US. There’s nothing that can stop his hunger for power. He daily manipulates the people who are surrounding him (or even more his enemies!) and doesn’t even hold his breath to murder someone if that fits in his agenda (and no, even if this happened in the first season we won’t tell who!).

Underwood wants all the power he can get and is never satisfied, he wants his kingdom to become bigger and bigger. Not everyone is easy to erase, in the second season he has to fight Raymond Tusk (Gerald McRaney): the adviser from President Larkin (Michael Gill). Once again we witness a cruel game of power in where, as always, Underwood gets the assistance from his bitchy wife Claire (Robin Wright).

For another time House Of Cards has become a synonym for thirteen hours of top television. For non-American viewers it might be a bit difficult to team up with the difficult terms that are typical for American politics (not everyone is aware of that!), but that’s only a minor detail as the series is characterised by both genius scripts that are full of tension and brilliant performances. It looks like if Kevin Spacey is performing Underwood better and better, a role that simply has been made for him. But that counts for Robin Wright too.

We know, maybe you need some more holiday days to catch up with all those great television shows coming your way, but we can only conclude that the second season from House Of Cards (out on Sony, on both DVD and Blu-ray) is (once again) obligatory stuff.

Didier BECU
25/08/2014


NL

Ondertussen is het al een gekend feit dat House Of Cards voor revolutionaire televisie heeft gezorgd. We leven in een tijd waar alles snel moet gaan en geen ruimte is voor geduld. Kon de televisiewereld in de jaren 80 nog de hele planeet nog in het ooitje nemen door maandenlang te verzwijgen welke snoodaard JR in Dallas had neergeschoten, dan is zoiets anno 2014 niet meer mogelijk. Netflix, het Amerikaanse station dat House Of Cards creëerde, besloot om een einde te maken aan de historische routine die stelde dat een reeks moet worden verdeeld in het stramien van één aflevering per week. De televisiezender zond het hele eerste seizoen in één ruk uit en in vrije korte tijd verscheen tevens het tweede luik. Dat vertaalt zich ook in de winkelrekken, want hadden we het een paar weken geleden nog over dat eerste fantastische seizoen dan is het nu de beurt aan het (misschien zelfs betere) tweede!

Peek-A-Boo respecteert onze lezer, dus mocht je het eerste seizoen nog niet hebben gezien, klik dan onmiddellijk door naar de volgende review, want niets is zo erg als journalisten die de kijkpret met spoilers bederven.

Voor wie het nog niet zou weten, House Of Cards is een reeks die zich in het Witte Huis afspeelt. De politici beweren misschien wel bij hoog en laag dat ze propere handen hebben, maar de politieke wereld van David Fincher en Beau Willimon is er een waarin verraad en corruptie welig tiert. Het vuile spel wordt geleid door Francis Underwood (Kevin Spacey): een gladde aal die het ondertussen tot vicepresident heeft geschopt. Er is niets wat er hem van weerhoudt om deze troon te bestijgen. Dagelijks manipuleert hij de mensen rondom hem (en nog meer zijn vijanden) en schrikt er zelfs niet voor terug om iemand te vermoorden (en neen, ook al gebeurde dat in het eerste seizoen, verklappen wij niet wie!). Underwood is evenwel een roofdier dat alsmaar meer macht wil en dus heeft hij de drang om zijn imperium nog meer uit te breiden. Het grootste obstakel naar de ultieme top is deze keer Raymond Tusk (Gerald McRaney): de adviseur van president Larkin (Michael Gill). Een machtspel waarbij Underwood zoals steeds de hulp krijgt van zijn echtgenote: de feeks Claire (Robin Wright).

Het tweede seizoen van House Of Cards is wederom dertien uur toptelevisie die niemand mag missen. Soms is het wel een beetje wennen aan de soms moeilijke terminologie (niet iedereen is nu eenmaal vertrouwd met het Amerikaanse politieke leven), maar dat wordt ijzersterk opgevangen door zowel de spannende scenario’s als de briljante vertolkingen. Kevin Spacey doet het steeds maar beter als Amerikaanse politicus en de rol van deze aasgier lijkt hem op het lijf te zijn geschreven, iets wat evengoed voor tegenspeelster Robin Wright geldt.

Je hebt misschien wat extra verlofdagen nodig om al deze fantastische series te kunnen bekijken, maar we kunnen niet anders dan besluiten dan dat het tweede seizoen van House Of Cards (uit op Sony, zowel op dvd als Blu-ray) alweer een absolute must is.

Didier BECU
25/08/2014


25/08/2014 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 2 25/08/2014 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 2 25/08/2014 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 2 25/08/2014 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 2 25/08/2014 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 2 25/08/2014 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 2 25/08/2014 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 2 25/08/2014 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 2 25/08/2014 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 2 25/08/2014 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 2 25/08/2014 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 2 25/08/2014 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 2 25/08/2014 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 2 25/08/2014 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 2 25/08/2014 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 2 25/08/2014 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 2

 

Next reviews
RAYNE • Complex by Design
J.J. ABRAMS • Star Trek
JOHN WELLS • August: Osage County
MICHAEL HERZ & LLOYD KAUFMAN • The Toxic Avenger
• GOMORRA, THE SERIES
SOULOST • The Way I Feel Pt. 2 EP
TIM STORY • Ride Along
JOHN CROWLEY • Closed Circuit
BALLET SCHOOL • The Dew Lasts An Hour
RON KRAUSS • Gimme Shelter

 

Other reviews from
• Dubhfest, Poperinge, 05.11.2016
• The World of Hante
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
• An impression of Castle Party
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016: Part II: There once was… (the history)
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016 - PART 1: If only it could always be winter and always night...
• Record Store Day 2016 at Wool-E Shop
• Coalescaremonium: a gathering of like-minded as we like it
• Coalescaremonium editie 4
• The history behind Waveteef

 

Same combination of genres: POLITICAL + TV SERIES
• HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 3
• THE NEWSROOM SEASON 3
• VEEP SEASON 3
• HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 1
• Deadline 25/5

 

Same genre: POLITICAL
THE NEVILLE STAPLE BAND • Put Away Your Knives (Aka: Take Heed)
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
MATTHEW WARCHUS • Pride
RYAN MURPHY • The Normal Heart
ANTON CORBIJN • CINEMA: A Most Wanted Man
ANDRZEJ WAJDA • Man Of Marble

 

Same genre: TV SERIES
• GOTHAM SEASON 1
• STRIKE BACK SEASON 3
• 19-2 COMPLETE SERIES ONE
• DETECTIVE MONTALBANO SEASON 6
• HELIX SEASON ONE
• MAJOR CRIMES SEASON 2
• HAPPY VALLEY SEASON 1
• RECTIFY SEASON 1
• THE LAST SHIP SEASON 1
• THE TEAM SEASON 1

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

01
03
SEX GANG CHILDREN PREMIERE NEW SINGLE - DEATH MASK MUSSOLINI
28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 2 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 43 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
This Charming Band | 37 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp
25
02
NEW ORDER
Regret
24
02
MANDIVULA
GHSTNG
23
02
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Nag Nag Nag