tempobet yeni adresi
like this single (digital) review

13/04/2019 : THE NEVILLE STAPLE BAND - Put Away Your Knives (Aka: Take Heed)

THE NEVILLE STAPLE BAND

Put Away Your Knives (Aka: Take Heed)

MusicSingle (Digital)
PoliticalSka

[95/100]   

Cleopatra Records
13/04/2019, Kevin BURKE

This year sees the fortieth anniversary of Two-Tone Records and of course The Specials who are still riding high in the charts with Encore. But the influential figure of Neville Staples who once steered that band along with Fun Boy Three, is still very much active in music, creating songs with his own band and now he is on a very personal mission.

The current wave of knife crime in the United Kingdom has reached epidemic proportions.
In the midst of all this, Neville Staples has manifested and returned with a politically charged plea to disarm, directed straight into the ear of Britain’s youth culture.
This latest release, the single “Put Away Your Knives -Aka Take Heed”, proves the Original Rude Boy has not lost any of his incendiary delivery. A blend of punk, Ska and reggae is front and center from the start. The track is the original music of musician and producer Danny Livingstone and his original “Rudy, A Message To You”, though reworked and a hit for The Specials as “A Message To You, Rudy”. Indeed Livingstone joins Neville and Sugary Staple on the track, the same original message of The Specials is still relevant today in a politically uncertain climate.

However, all this goes beyond the spectrum of raising awareness and vital funds as it is something that has affected Neville Staples personally. In September 2018 Neville’s 21-year-old grandson Fidel Glasgow was fatally stabbed, so the emotional intensity of this has seeped into the track and it’s message.

Order The Track Via;
https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/put-away-your-knives-feat-sugary-staple-dandy-livingstone/1456682714
Direct to Victim Support Via;
www.victimsupport.org.uk/get-involved/donate

Kevin BURKE
13/04/2019


Music reviews

14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection