tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this tv series review

08/08/2014 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 1

HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 1

MovieTV series
PoliticalTV Series

[88/100]   

SONY SPHE
08/08/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Top actor Kevin Spacey might have disappeared a bit out of the spotlight last years, these days the star from American Beauty is completely back with House Of Cards. Just like Steve Buscemi as Nucky Thompson in Boardwalk Empire, Spacey created a television character that won’t be forgotten. His name: Francis Underwood.


American politics (from Veep tillThe West Wing) has always been the ideal decor for good television, but this member of the Congress really guides you to the dirty sewers of the White House where corruption and dirty games are everyday’s business. Indeed, tell us something new! Apart from that, House Of Cards is one of those series that you absolutely have to see. The first minutes speak for themselves. In Underwood’s neighbourhood a dog is hit by a car. According to the politician there are two kinds of pain. The one that makes you stronger and the one that is totally useless. As Underwood is a busy man he has no time for the last and without showing any emotion he strangles the animal. It’s the start from a portrait about a man who pushes his rival to the wall, someone who is afraid from nobody, or shorter: a man who always gets what he wants.


The story has not a great start for Francis. The politician from South-Carolina gets informed that he is no longer in the run for the position of Minister from Foreign Affairs. It was a job that he’s always been promised. Francis reacts in an cold way, but his eyes say enough: during thirteen episodes he will be out for revenge. His arsenal is made of characters that he can manipulate every moment he wants. A perfect example is the alcohol addicted Peter Russo (Corey Stoll) who is nominated by Underwood as governor. It’s not because he wants to please the man, he’s simply after someone who he can control every time. The Congress member also knows that today the media plays an immense importance in today’s politics. Not only does he share his bed with the young journalist Zoe Barnes (Kate Mara), he also gives her all the fresh news that is coming from Washington. Of course the news is always related to Underwood as it are all situations that better his position. The cliché that says that beyond every strong man stands a woman is true in Underwood’s case. The public thinks that his wife Claire (Robin Wright) is doing everything for charity cases, in reality she makes hard decisions that makes her as uncompassionate as her husband. Francis and Claire are a couple who do everything to get their power.


We know you read it before, but this series that has been broadcasted by Netflix and became a huge hit is obligatory stuff for everyone. The series that has been based on the BBC-mini series from 1990 has some strong factors. First of all you have the excellent performances. It has already been said that House Of Cards has put Spacey back on the map, but also Robin Wright seems to have found the role of her life as the bitchy Claire. The story that’s been written Beau Willimon (writer from that other political thriller The Ides of March with George Clooney and Ryan Gosling, and in a former life the help from Hilary Clinton!) is simply superb. And then there’s of course the directing. House Of Cards was produced by David Fincher (Fight Club and The Curious Case Of Benjamin Button) who also directed some episodes. Just like Joel Schumacher and James Foley who once made the very underrated pearl Glengarry Glenn Ross


According to some rumours, even Barack Obama is a big fan. Let’s hope it doesn’t inspire him. For series fan there’s only message left: do believe the hype!


The first (just like the second, soon more about that!) season from House Of Cards is released by Sony on both DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
08/08/2014


NL

De laatste jaren verdween rasacteur Kevin Spacey wat naar de achtergrond, maar dankzij de topserie House Of Cards is hij weer helemaal terug. Net zoals Steve Buscemi dat als Nucky Thompson in Boardwalk Empire deed, zet ook de gewezen ster uit American Beauty een televisiepersonage neer die je niet zo gauw zal vergeten. Zijn naam: Francis Underwood.


De Amerikaanse politiek (van Veep tot The West Wing) is al meerdere malen het droomdecor voor steengoede televisie geweest, maar dit gehaaid congreslid brengt je werkelijk naar de stinkende riolen van het Witte Huis alwaar corruptie en vuile spelletjes schering en inslag zijn. Juist, vertel ons maar iets nieuws, desalniettemin is House Of Cards ongetwijfeld één van de series die je absoluut moet hebben gezien. De eerste minuten waarin we kennismaken met deze politicus spreekt boekdelen. Een hond uit de buurt wordt aangereden. Volgens Underwood zijn er twee soorten pijn: deze die je sterker maakt en deze die zinloos is. Omdat de drukbezette politicus geen tijd voor dit laatste heeft, doodt hij emotieloos het dier. Het startschot is meteen gegeven voor het relaas van een sluw congreslid die niets of niemand schuwt, een man die zijn tegenstanders zonder de minste pardon tegen de muur duwt, gewoon een vent die krijgt wat hij wil.


Nochtans begint het verhaal allesbehalve goed voor Francis. De politicus uit Zuid-Carolina hoort dat hij naar het hem beloofde postje van minister van Buitenlandse Zaken kan fluiten. Underwood ondergaat de persoonlijke vernedering, maar de blik naar de kijker verraadt dat hij dertien afleveringen lang zijn wraak zal laten gelden. Zijn wapenarsenaal bestaat uit een heleboel personages die hij naar hartenlust kan manipuleren. Zo heb je bijv. de aan de drank verslaafde Peter Russo (Corey Stoll) die hij als gouverneur wil. Neen, het is niet om de man te plezieren, wel om volledig de macht te controleren. Ook weet Underwood dat je geen politiek kan voeren zonder het gebruik van de media. Ook daar heeft hij een oplossing voor gevonden. Hij deelt niet alleen het bed met de jonge journaliste Zoe Barnes (Kate Mara), ook geeft hij haar alle primeurs, ofschoon die altijd in zijn voordeel zijn. Het cliché zegt dat er achter iedere machtige man een vrouw staat die de touwtjes stevig in handen heeft en in zijn geval is dat Claire (Robin Wright). De buitenwereld denkt dat zij zich dag in dag uit inzet voor het goede doel, maar uit haar harde beslissingen blijkt al snel dat zij al even meedogenloos is als haar man. Kortom, een koppel dat smacht naar allesvernietigende macht en daar alles voor over heeft.


Je hebt het natuurlijk al eerder gelezen, maar deze serie die in één ruk door Netflix werd uitgezonden is er een die je niet aan je voorbij mag laten gaan. Deze reeks die gebaseerd is op de gelijknamige BBC-miniserie uit 1990 heeft heel wat troeven. Uiteraard zijn er de ijzersterke vertolkingen van zowel Spacey die helemaal terug is alsook Robin Wright die als ijskoude tante Claire wellicht de rol van haar leven heeft gevonden. Het verhaal dat voortvloeide uit de pen van Beau Willimon (schrijver van die andere politieke thriller, The Ides of March met George Clooney en Ryan Gosling en ooit nog hulpje van Hilary Clinton!) staat als een huis. En dan is er natuurlijk nog die regie! House Of Cards werd geproduceerd door David Fincher ( Fight Club of The Curious Case Of Benjamin Button) en de topregisseur draaide ook enkele afleveringen. Maar ook andere grote namen zoals Joel Schumacher of James Foley die verantwoordelijk was voor de ondergewaardeerde parel Glengarry Glenn Ross droegen hun steentje bij.


Als je de geruchten moet geloven is zelfs Barack Obama een onvoorwaardelijke fan. Laat ons hopen dat hij hier niet door wordt geïnspireerd, maar voor de seriefans is er maar één boodschap: geloof voor één keer de hype en haal de reeks in huis.

Het eerste (net als het tweede waarover binnenkort meer) seizoen van House Of Cards is door Sony uitgebracht op zowel dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
08/08/2014


08/08/2014 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 1 08/08/2014 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 1 08/08/2014 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 1 08/08/2014 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 1 08/08/2014 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 1 08/08/2014 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 1 08/08/2014 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 1 08/08/2014 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 1 08/08/2014 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 1 08/08/2014 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 1 08/08/2014 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 1 08/08/2014 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 1 08/08/2014 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 1 08/08/2014 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 1 08/08/2014 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 1 08/08/2014 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 1

 

Next reviews
STAUBKIND • Alles Was Ich Bin
DAVID LOWERY • Ain't Them Body Saints
MARIE AMACHOUKELI, CLAIRE BURGER AND SAM THEIS • Soon in the theatres: Party Girl (A-Film)
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES
HEIMATAERDE • Kaltwaerts
ATTRITION • One Horse Rider : Reprise
AKIVA GOLDSMAN • Winter's Tale
DARREN ARONOFSKY • Noah
ALEX GIBNEY • The Armstrong Lie
MICHAEL MANN • Thief

 

Other reviews from
• Dubhfest, Poperinge, 05.11.2016
• The World of Hante
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
• An impression of Castle Party
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016: Part II: There once was… (the history)
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016 - PART 1: If only it could always be winter and always night...
• Record Store Day 2016 at Wool-E Shop
• Coalescaremonium: a gathering of like-minded as we like it
• Coalescaremonium editie 4
• The history behind Waveteef

 

Same combination of genres: POLITICAL + TV SERIES
• HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 3
• THE NEWSROOM SEASON 3
• VEEP SEASON 3
• HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 2
• Deadline 25/5

 

Same genre: POLITICAL
THE NEVILLE STAPLE BAND • Put Away Your Knives (Aka: Take Heed)
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
MATTHEW WARCHUS • Pride
RYAN MURPHY • The Normal Heart
ANTON CORBIJN • CINEMA: A Most Wanted Man
ANDRZEJ WAJDA • Man Of Marble

 

Same genre: TV SERIES
• GOTHAM SEASON 1
• STRIKE BACK SEASON 3
• 19-2 COMPLETE SERIES ONE
• DETECTIVE MONTALBANO SEASON 6
• HELIX SEASON ONE
• MAJOR CRIMES SEASON 2
• HAPPY VALLEY SEASON 1
• RECTIFY SEASON 1
• THE LAST SHIP SEASON 1
• THE TEAM SEASON 1

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
FEUERSCHWANZ
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
UNZUCHT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper