tempobet yeni adresi

07/08/2014 : HEIMATAERDE - Kaltwaerts

HEIMATAERDE

Kaltwaerts

MusicCD
Dark ElectroElectro RockFolk / Ethnic / TribalMedieval

[95/100]   

Out Of Line
07/08/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Since I noticed their remix of a XMH track I told our editor that I wanted to review them: the way they (deconstructed and reconstructed) mixed: bagpipes, electro and guitars were just so appealing! I wanted more!

The Medieval-Electro-pioneers open up a new chapter of their saga, driving the listener on a journey into the eternal frost on a unique foundation of synthetic beats and deep sequencers, garnished with medieval instruments, walls of guitars and choral chants.

The new chapter in the fantastic journey of Ashlar von Megalon and his fearless friars seamlessly continues the story of the previous album releases of Heimataerde. On “Kaltwaerts” (= into the cold), the dark antagonist Zebaoth has captured friar Andreas and is now setting out to bring fear and horror unto the world. The brotherhood wants to stop this evil force at all costs and embarks into the cold to destroy the demon once and for all times and to rescue the friar. In this, Heimataerde manage to shake the floor yet again with a unique mix of club-compatible Electro-sounds and medieval atmosphere, while captivating the listener with an epic and moving story, at the same time. The mix of modern sounds, fantasy and long past eras has turned out even bigger, more powerful and fascinating, this time around.

Reviewing this great one without handing out the above information is simply not done. I enjoyed it from the very start until the last note! It still sounds fresh and new with all the above mentioned elements!

The opening track for example: 'Es ist nicht vorbei' has great vocal chants and a soft but very hypnotic sound, almost a sacred track! The percussions are also greatly appreciated! Whilst the next track offers us: electro, dubstep, guitars and chanting that powers up a great clubber 'Bruderschaft'. This is just another proof of their great mastering of crafting a musical jewel! An even greater clubber (with great electric violins) is the main title track 'Kaltwaerts'.

'Keine Helden' is one of the most remarkable tracks on the album: it sounds like a techno track until the bagpipes jump in, but return to what we call in Belgium 'Botsautomuziek'! If our own national music station don't like this one, than they can go screw themselves and dance alone on their track 'Dance with the Devils' (Ghunter D)! Pure fun in club land!

'Verdammt Nochmal' is more into melancholy and that is again my biggest musical love! A lot of bans can learn a lot from a track like 'Heut ist ein guter Tag', just listen to the mix of all the influences and instruments! Pure gold! 'In der Dunkelheit' has even some Goethes Erben influence! More melancholy, bagpipes, guitars and electro with 'Schwesterlein'. I cherish the melodic sound and the rhythm! No clue what the instrument is, but it has a certain Arabic touch.

 'Weiß schwarz' could be the next Rammstein! Just listen to the track! The singing Arabic lady adds a nice extra! In 'Einfach so' is a nice one as last regular track as with 'Rossreiter' the end story is told.

I had my fun and don't regret it! I hope they keep growing and keep looking for a wider and newer sound!

 

Track listing:

Album CD:

  1. Es ist nicht vorbei

  2. Bruderschaft

  3. Kaltwaerts

  4. Die Wanderschaft

  5. Sohn

  6. 1000 Meere weit

  7. Keine Helden

  8. Verdammt noch mal

  9. Heut ist ein guter Tag

  10. In der Dunkelheit

  11. Schwesterlein

  12. Weiß schwarz

  13. Einfach so

  14. Rossreiter

Filip VAN MUYLEM
07/08/2014


 

Next reviews
ATTRITION • One Horse Rider : Reprise
AKIVA GOLDSMAN • Winter's Tale
DARREN ARONOFSKY • Noah
ALEX GIBNEY • The Armstrong Lie
MICHAEL MANN • Thief
DAVID CRONENBERG • CINEMA: Maps To The Stars
RAINER WERNER FASSBINDER • ARTICLE : Fassbinder-A rebel with a cause.
FRED WALTON • April Fool's Day
VOGON POETRY • More things to do in zero gravity EP
CASTLEFEST 2014 • People, people and atmosphere

 

Other reviews from HEIMATAERDE
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
HEIMATAERDE • Hick Hack Hackebeil

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BOY HARSHER • Country Girl
CEPHALGY • Gott Maschine Vaterland
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
CYGNOSIC • Siren
NEO SATAN • Black Mass Prophecy
DATACODE DIVISION • Dissections
FOR ALL THE EMPTINESS • MT

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
PIG • The Gospel
STRUGG • Flood
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Minor Sun
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
PLEXIPHONES • Electric
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair

 

Same genre: MEDIEVAL
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
EPHYRA • Along The Path
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Mother Moon
SCHWARZBLUT • Judas EP
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 1, 3/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Naheulbeuk, Feuerschwanz and La Horde
TANZWUT • Freitag der 13

Music reviews

11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors
03
12
IVANKOVA
Ivankovà EP

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
12
Black Needle Noise releases SyStem Bi feat. Fakeba single and video
14
12
This Friday the renowned Belgian Independent Music Festival 2017 (BIMFEST XVI) will kick-Off!
13
12
Brand new video by Crash Course In Science!
12
12
In Strict Confidence releases HERZ & FROZEN KISSES, a two-in-one single release with remixes and more!
11
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE to release entire catalogue remastered on EROMEDA RECORDS
10
12
Antwerp triphop / indiepop band Psy'Aviah announces new album!

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

08
12
EUFORIC EXCISTENCE
Euforic Existence: We like to be put under the heading of EBM, but realize that we are an outsider. I would not want anything else.
09
11
EIRIKURA
'Music can be an uniting and uplifting force and very much a redemptive one for all mankind'
05
11
GENE LOVES JEZEBEL
About their brand new album Dance Underwater and more...
25
10
SWEET WILLIAM
FOR ME MUSIC IS GOOD WHEN IT LEAVES YOU ROOM FOR YOUR OWN ILLUSIONS AND OF COURSE A CERTAIN DEPTH’
23
10
STURM CAFE
‘WE DO ENJOY THE 100% CONTROL BUT IT COMES WITH GREAT FINANCIAL RISKS’

PHOTOS

11
12
LACUNA COIL
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
11
12
CELLAR DARLING
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
05
12
FRONT 242
Ab Brussel
05
12
METROLAND
Ab Brussel
05
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk
28
11
SHE PAST AWAY
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk
28
11
GOLDEN APES
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

16
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE
Sunset Beach
15
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
14
12
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
13
12
BLANCMANGE
Blind Vision (HD)
12
12
THEN COMES SILENCE
The Dead Cry For No One
11
12
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Eclipse (Vintage Version - Live in Erfurt 2017)
10
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
A Rainbow Is Fading