tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

07/08/2014 : HEIMATAERDE - Kaltwaerts

HEIMATAERDE

Kaltwaerts

MusicCD
Dark ElectroElectro RockFolk / Ethnic / TribalMedieval

[95/100]   

Out Of Line
07/08/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Since I noticed their remix of a XMH track I told our editor that I wanted to review them: the way they (deconstructed and reconstructed) mixed: bagpipes, electro and guitars were just so appealing! I wanted more!

The Medieval-Electro-pioneers open up a new chapter of their saga, driving the listener on a journey into the eternal frost on a unique foundation of synthetic beats and deep sequencers, garnished with medieval instruments, walls of guitars and choral chants.

The new chapter in the fantastic journey of Ashlar von Megalon and his fearless friars seamlessly continues the story of the previous album releases of Heimataerde. On “Kaltwaerts” (= into the cold), the dark antagonist Zebaoth has captured friar Andreas and is now setting out to bring fear and horror unto the world. The brotherhood wants to stop this evil force at all costs and embarks into the cold to destroy the demon once and for all times and to rescue the friar. In this, Heimataerde manage to shake the floor yet again with a unique mix of club-compatible Electro-sounds and medieval atmosphere, while captivating the listener with an epic and moving story, at the same time. The mix of modern sounds, fantasy and long past eras has turned out even bigger, more powerful and fascinating, this time around.

Reviewing this great one without handing out the above information is simply not done. I enjoyed it from the very start until the last note! It still sounds fresh and new with all the above mentioned elements!

The opening track for example: 'Es ist nicht vorbei' has great vocal chants and a soft but very hypnotic sound, almost a sacred track! The percussions are also greatly appreciated! Whilst the next track offers us: electro, dubstep, guitars and chanting that powers up a great clubber 'Bruderschaft'. This is just another proof of their great mastering of crafting a musical jewel! An even greater clubber (with great electric violins) is the main title track 'Kaltwaerts'.

'Keine Helden' is one of the most remarkable tracks on the album: it sounds like a techno track until the bagpipes jump in, but return to what we call in Belgium 'Botsautomuziek'! If our own national music station don't like this one, than they can go screw themselves and dance alone on their track 'Dance with the Devils' (Ghunter D)! Pure fun in club land!

'Verdammt Nochmal' is more into melancholy and that is again my biggest musical love! A lot of bans can learn a lot from a track like 'Heut ist ein guter Tag', just listen to the mix of all the influences and instruments! Pure gold! 'In der Dunkelheit' has even some Goethes Erben influence! More melancholy, bagpipes, guitars and electro with 'Schwesterlein'. I cherish the melodic sound and the rhythm! No clue what the instrument is, but it has a certain Arabic touch.

 'Weiß schwarz' could be the next Rammstein! Just listen to the track! The singing Arabic lady adds a nice extra! In 'Einfach so' is a nice one as last regular track as with 'Rossreiter' the end story is told.

I had my fun and don't regret it! I hope they keep growing and keep looking for a wider and newer sound!

 

Track listing:

Album CD:

  1. Es ist nicht vorbei

  2. Bruderschaft

  3. Kaltwaerts

  4. Die Wanderschaft

  5. Sohn

  6. 1000 Meere weit

  7. Keine Helden

  8. Verdammt noch mal

  9. Heut ist ein guter Tag

  10. In der Dunkelheit

  11. Schwesterlein

  12. Weiß schwarz

  13. Einfach so

  14. Rossreiter

Filip VAN MUYLEM
07/08/2014


 

Next reviews
ATTRITION • One Horse Rider : Reprise
AKIVA GOLDSMAN • Winter's Tale
DARREN ARONOFSKY • Noah
ALEX GIBNEY • The Armstrong Lie
MICHAEL MANN • Thief
DAVID CRONENBERG • CINEMA: Maps To The Stars
RAINER WERNER FASSBINDER • ARTICLE : Fassbinder-A rebel with a cause.
FRED WALTON • April Fool's Day
VOGON POETRY • More things to do in zero gravity EP
CASTLEFEST 2014 • People, people and atmosphere

 

Other reviews from HEIMATAERDE
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
HEIMATAERDE • Hick Hack Hackebeil

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
SAMHAIN • Experiment
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
COMBICHRIST • Compliance
MILDREDA • I was never really there
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo

 

Same genre: MEDIEVAL
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
EPHYRA • Along The Path
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Mother Moon
SCHWARZBLUT • Judas EP
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
FEUERSCHWANZ
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
UNZUCHT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper