tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

07/08/2014 : HEIMATAERDE - Kaltwaerts

HEIMATAERDE

Kaltwaerts

MusicCD
Dark ElectroElectro RockFolk / Ethnic / TribalMedieval

[95/100]   

Out Of Line
07/08/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Since I noticed their remix of a XMH track I told our editor that I wanted to review them: the way they (deconstructed and reconstructed) mixed: bagpipes, electro and guitars were just so appealing! I wanted more!

The Medieval-Electro-pioneers open up a new chapter of their saga, driving the listener on a journey into the eternal frost on a unique foundation of synthetic beats and deep sequencers, garnished with medieval instruments, walls of guitars and choral chants.

The new chapter in the fantastic journey of Ashlar von Megalon and his fearless friars seamlessly continues the story of the previous album releases of Heimataerde. On “Kaltwaerts” (= into the cold), the dark antagonist Zebaoth has captured friar Andreas and is now setting out to bring fear and horror unto the world. The brotherhood wants to stop this evil force at all costs and embarks into the cold to destroy the demon once and for all times and to rescue the friar. In this, Heimataerde manage to shake the floor yet again with a unique mix of club-compatible Electro-sounds and medieval atmosphere, while captivating the listener with an epic and moving story, at the same time. The mix of modern sounds, fantasy and long past eras has turned out even bigger, more powerful and fascinating, this time around.

Reviewing this great one without handing out the above information is simply not done. I enjoyed it from the very start until the last note! It still sounds fresh and new with all the above mentioned elements!

The opening track for example: 'Es ist nicht vorbei' has great vocal chants and a soft but very hypnotic sound, almost a sacred track! The percussions are also greatly appreciated! Whilst the next track offers us: electro, dubstep, guitars and chanting that powers up a great clubber 'Bruderschaft'. This is just another proof of their great mastering of crafting a musical jewel! An even greater clubber (with great electric violins) is the main title track 'Kaltwaerts'.

'Keine Helden' is one of the most remarkable tracks on the album: it sounds like a techno track until the bagpipes jump in, but return to what we call in Belgium 'Botsautomuziek'! If our own national music station don't like this one, than they can go screw themselves and dance alone on their track 'Dance with the Devils' (Ghunter D)! Pure fun in club land!

'Verdammt Nochmal' is more into melancholy and that is again my biggest musical love! A lot of bans can learn a lot from a track like 'Heut ist ein guter Tag', just listen to the mix of all the influences and instruments! Pure gold! 'In der Dunkelheit' has even some Goethes Erben influence! More melancholy, bagpipes, guitars and electro with 'Schwesterlein'. I cherish the melodic sound and the rhythm! No clue what the instrument is, but it has a certain Arabic touch.

 'Weiß schwarz' could be the next Rammstein! Just listen to the track! The singing Arabic lady adds a nice extra! In 'Einfach so' is a nice one as last regular track as with 'Rossreiter' the end story is told.

I had my fun and don't regret it! I hope they keep growing and keep looking for a wider and newer sound!

 

Track listing:

Album CD:

  1. Es ist nicht vorbei

  2. Bruderschaft

  3. Kaltwaerts

  4. Die Wanderschaft

  5. Sohn

  6. 1000 Meere weit

  7. Keine Helden

  8. Verdammt noch mal

  9. Heut ist ein guter Tag

  10. In der Dunkelheit

  11. Schwesterlein

  12. Weiß schwarz

  13. Einfach so

  14. Rossreiter

Filip VAN MUYLEM
07/08/2014


 

Next reviews
ATTRITION • One Horse Rider : Reprise
AKIVA GOLDSMAN • Winter's Tale
DARREN ARONOFSKY • Noah
ALEX GIBNEY • The Armstrong Lie
MICHAEL MANN • Thief
DAVID CRONENBERG • CINEMA: Maps To The Stars
RAINER WERNER FASSBINDER • ARTICLE : Fassbinder-A rebel with a cause.
FRED WALTON • April Fool's Day
VOGON POETRY • More things to do in zero gravity EP
CASTLEFEST 2014 • People, people and atmosphere

 

Other reviews from HEIMATAERDE
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
HEIMATAERDE • Hick Hack Hackebeil

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
MIREXXX • Vault
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
SADOMANCER • Dystopian Dawn
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
DICEPEOPLE • One From Many
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
WANT/ED • Unthinkable

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
PIG • The Gospel
STRUGG • Flood
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Minor Sun

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma

 

Same genre: MEDIEVAL
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
EPHYRA • Along The Path
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Mother Moon
SCHWARZBLUT • Judas EP
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan

Music reviews

17
02
NEON ELECTRONICS
Mondriaan
15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Damned, Damned, Damned - At 42, 42, 42!
18
02
Today, exactly 16 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Mechanical Man | Remembering Bob Casale - The Devo Legend
15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'

PHOTOS

17
02
KAELAN MIKLA
Magasin 4
17
02
SOME EMBER
Magasin 4
17
02
TURQUOISE
Magasin 4
10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
02
WARHAUS
The Good Lie
17
02
HYBRYDS
I hear you calling
16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules