tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

03/08/2014 : VOGON POETRY - More things to do in zero gravity EP

VOGON POETRY

More things to do in zero gravity EP

MusicCD
Dark ElectroDark WaveDreampopElectro PopFuture PopNew waveSynth Pop / Electro PopSynth Wave

[50/100]   
03/08/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

This Swedish synth pop band reminded me a bit of Technomancer, but on a lower level and thus less good level. The first track raise my eyebrows as I’m not sure if the vocals are sung in the right tune. 'Vectors' took a wrong turn. 'The Diceman (Machinista remix)' sounds a bit better, but the vocals don't conquer my heart.

Some nice beats with 'Bring the revolution' (Blippopporkestern remix): well writing down the name of this remix seemed to be as hard as getting the right vocal tune. I'm not a fan of the vocals and they really start to annoy me! There are some many similar bands and this is just bad! 'The Diceman (Johan Baeckström remix)' sounds like this poppy wave tracks from the 80's, genre Visage. The vocals are pretty good; this woman could have done all the vocals! The next remix of 'Bring The Revolution' is just a waste of time as the voice stays the same and the mix is neither interesting enough nor revolutionary. 'Possibilities' carries the sound of old school arcade games: minimal and very retro. This time the vocals stay into tune, but it's not really singing, more narrative. It's the kind of track to put a baby to sleep, but not for adults. 'The Diceman (Mechatronic remix)' gets more beats, but for the rest nothing that makes you jump up and down.

A bit better is the P. Kambo remix of 'Bring The Revolution': more beats and a better sound, but still: the vocals suck big time and I prefer to say it straight away. After that another remix of 'The Diceman'(Spacebuoy Jibber Jabber remix: notice it is not a typo, it was handed over like this). The sound is indeed a bit eclectic, but the voice remains without true feelings. I feel nice beats, but without passion. We also get the video edit of 'Bring The Revolution', somehow this version seems to be one of the best ones. The end is a bit sudden, but at least I heard something good.

It's a bit hard handing out the points, but I decide to give some for the good music and some reward for the few things that I appreciated. The vocals didn't make me happy.

There are plenty other fishes to catch in synth pop and electro waters...

Thumbs down!

 

Filip VAN MUYLEM
03/08/2014


 

Next reviews
CASTLEFEST 2014 • People, people and atmosphere
CASTLEFEST 2014 • Rosa Crvx, The Dolmen, Cesair, Irfan, Folk Noir, The Moon And The Nightspirit
THE ALTERNATIVE WITH CHRIS ATWOOD • The Alternative With Chris Atwood Compilation
ROSA†CRVX • Live in Thoix (Dark Ritual Night IV) & Lisse (Castlefest)
DAVID WINTERS • The Last Horror Film
ACE FREHLEY • Space Invader
CHRONOGRAPHS • D.O.T.S.
TECHNOMANCER • D-MN
ROB REINER • The Sure Thing
SPIKE JONZE • Her

 

Other reviews from VOGON POETRY
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
VOGON POETRY • The Dented Stories
VOGON POETRY • The Perfect Stories
VOGON POETRY • Don't Panic

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
SAMHAIN • Experiment
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
COMBICHRIST • Compliance
MILDREDA • I was never really there
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling
WULF7 • Dark Hate

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
MOVMENT • Transformation
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III

 

Same genre: DREAMPOP
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
SUNDAECRUSH • A Real Sensation
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Space and time
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall
ERASURE • THE NEON
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
SINESTAR • Evolve
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
MAGNETIC RUST • Multicolor
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?