tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

09/12/2016 : MIRANDA CARTEL - Divert EP

MIRANDA CARTEL

Divert EP

MusicCD (EP)
ElectroFuture PopGothic

[82/100]   

Halotan Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

He who loves dark and uplifting electro, should listen to this release. Miranda Cartel is the alter ego of Emmanuella Robak (Poland). She alone is responsible for this side project. Because of the activities of her main band, the electronic gothic darkwave act Lily of the Valley, she didn’t have that much time to work it out. But now she has, and we must say that it has become a successful solo project.

Why, you might think? Well, it's accessible and melodic electro with some real content. The opener Divert is a track with a very catchy chorus and the great voice of Miranda. There are quite a few electro references from the eighties and nineties. The Way to Follow is uplifting and catchy, but has a slightly darker tone. It contains beautiful synth sounds. The track also has a beautiful structure and could be a single.

Leviathan is slightly more EBM and future pop. A good track, but somewhat predictable. Going Down contains some synths in the genre of Vince Clarke or Erasure. It's a slow song in which she shows her emotional side and it slowly blooms at the end. Fake My Fiction is a fine final song. A wonderful dark intro, followed by an up-tempo song with a sing-along chorus. As a bonus we hear two remixes of Divert: a Cortex Remix and Shadow System Remix, of which the latter convinces me the most.

The big difference with Lily of the Valley is that this project contains more electro elements and is slightly more accessible.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Wie van donkere en opzwepende electro houdt, moet deze release zeker beluisteren. Miranda Cartel is het alter ego van Emmanuella Robak (Polen). Zij alleen is verantwoordelijk voor dit zij-project. Ze broedde er al een tijdje op, maar wegens de activiteiten met haar hoofdband, de electronische gothic darkwaveformatie Lily of the Valley, vond ze niet meteen de tijd om het uit te werken. Maar nu is het dus toch gelukt, en we mogen zeggen dat het een geslaagd solo project is geworden.

Waarom, zal je denken? Wel, het is toegankelijke en melodieuze electro mét inhoud. Opener Divert is een track met een heel catchy refrein en de aangename zang van Miranda. Er zijn nogal wat verwijzingen naar electro uit de eighties en nineties, maar de compositie leeft. The Way to Follow is even opzwepend en catchy maar iets donkerder van klankkleur. Het bevat mooie synthsounds en drijft voor een stuk op de synthbas. De track heeft ook een mooie opbouw en net als de eerste single aspiraties. Leviathan gaat lichtjes meer richting EBM en futurepop. Een goede track, maar iets voorspelbaarder. Het jasje zit haar hier iets minder goed en dat hoor je een beetje aan de vocals. Going Down bevat synths in het genre van wat Vince Clarke met Erasure soms laat horen. Het is een trage song waarin ze haar emotionele kant toont en die tegen het einde heel langzaam openbloeit. Fake My Fiction is een fijne afsluiter. Een heerlijke tegendraadse en donkere intro, gevolgd door een uptempo song met een meezingbaar refrein. We krijgen als toemaatje nog twee remixes van Divert: een Cortex Remix en een Shadow System Remix waarvan die laatste mij het meest kan overtuigen.

Het grote verschil met Lily of the Valley is dat dit project meer electropopelementen bevat en iets toegankelijker is. Haar eerste solo ep is geslaagd en bevat catchy zanglijnen, sfeervol artwork, fijne synthsounds en lyrics.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : MIRANDA CARTEL - Divert EP 09/12/2016 : MIRANDA CARTEL - Divert EP

 

Next reviews
CHAMELEONS VOX • Kortrijk, De Kreun (24/04/2016)
NEAR EARTH ORBIT • End Of All Existence
PSYCHO GENERATION + OST+FRONT • Eernegem, B52 (22/04/2016)
FOLIAS ANTIGUAS & CRIOLLAS (FROM THE OLD TO THE NEW WORLD) • Hesperion XXI & Tembembe Ensamble Continuo o.l.v. Jordi Savall (Antwerpen, deSingel, 20/4/2016)
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
NEW ZERO GOD • Short Tales & Tall Shadows
SUUNS • Hold/Still
THE BENZENE RING • Crossing The Divide
SCANNER & ANNI HOGAN • Scanni
INWOLVES • Involves

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
CHEMICAL BROTHERS • No Geography
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
SINESTAR • Evolve
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy
ALPHAMAY • Twisted Lines

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse

Music reviews

19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy
16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
11
The Last Beat of My Heart by Siouxsie and the Banshees was released 32 years ago!
21
11
Isn't Anything (album) by My Bloody Valentine turns 32 today!
18
11
Disorientations! New band, new single, new video!
14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

17
11
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
11
FILTER
Hey Man, Nice Shot
20
11
COLD CAVE
Villains Of The Moon
19
11
HYPERMOND.
Double
19
11
:OF THE WAND & THE MOON:
Caught In Winters Weave
19
11
NITZER EBB
Llive at Kulttempel in Oberhausen, Germany - 15.11.2019
18
11
OAKTREE
La Fin
17
11
ALISON MOYET
Other