tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

09/12/2016 : MIRANDA CARTEL - Divert EP

MIRANDA CARTEL

Divert EP

MusicCD (EP)
ElectroFuture PopGothic

[82/100]   

Halotan Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

He who loves dark and uplifting electro, should listen to this release. Miranda Cartel is the alter ego of Emmanuella Robak (Poland). She alone is responsible for this side project. Because of the activities of her main band, the electronic gothic darkwave act Lily of the Valley, she didn’t have that much time to work it out. But now she has, and we must say that it has become a successful solo project.

Why, you might think? Well, it's accessible and melodic electro with some real content. The opener Divert is a track with a very catchy chorus and the great voice of Miranda. There are quite a few electro references from the eighties and nineties. The Way to Follow is uplifting and catchy, but has a slightly darker tone. It contains beautiful synth sounds. The track also has a beautiful structure and could be a single.

Leviathan is slightly more EBM and future pop. A good track, but somewhat predictable. Going Down contains some synths in the genre of Vince Clarke or Erasure. It's a slow song in which she shows her emotional side and it slowly blooms at the end. Fake My Fiction is a fine final song. A wonderful dark intro, followed by an up-tempo song with a sing-along chorus. As a bonus we hear two remixes of Divert: a Cortex Remix and Shadow System Remix, of which the latter convinces me the most.

The big difference with Lily of the Valley is that this project contains more electro elements and is slightly more accessible.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Wie van donkere en opzwepende electro houdt, moet deze release zeker beluisteren. Miranda Cartel is het alter ego van Emmanuella Robak (Polen). Zij alleen is verantwoordelijk voor dit zij-project. Ze broedde er al een tijdje op, maar wegens de activiteiten met haar hoofdband, de electronische gothic darkwaveformatie Lily of the Valley, vond ze niet meteen de tijd om het uit te werken. Maar nu is het dus toch gelukt, en we mogen zeggen dat het een geslaagd solo project is geworden.

Waarom, zal je denken? Wel, het is toegankelijke en melodieuze electro mét inhoud. Opener Divert is een track met een heel catchy refrein en de aangename zang van Miranda. Er zijn nogal wat verwijzingen naar electro uit de eighties en nineties, maar de compositie leeft. The Way to Follow is even opzwepend en catchy maar iets donkerder van klankkleur. Het bevat mooie synthsounds en drijft voor een stuk op de synthbas. De track heeft ook een mooie opbouw en net als de eerste single aspiraties. Leviathan gaat lichtjes meer richting EBM en futurepop. Een goede track, maar iets voorspelbaarder. Het jasje zit haar hier iets minder goed en dat hoor je een beetje aan de vocals. Going Down bevat synths in het genre van wat Vince Clarke met Erasure soms laat horen. Het is een trage song waarin ze haar emotionele kant toont en die tegen het einde heel langzaam openbloeit. Fake My Fiction is een fijne afsluiter. Een heerlijke tegendraadse en donkere intro, gevolgd door een uptempo song met een meezingbaar refrein. We krijgen als toemaatje nog twee remixes van Divert: een Cortex Remix en een Shadow System Remix waarvan die laatste mij het meest kan overtuigen.

Het grote verschil met Lily of the Valley is dat dit project meer electropopelementen bevat en iets toegankelijker is. Haar eerste solo ep is geslaagd en bevat catchy zanglijnen, sfeervol artwork, fijne synthsounds en lyrics.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : MIRANDA CARTEL - Divert EP 09/12/2016 : MIRANDA CARTEL - Divert EP

 

Next reviews
CHAMELEONS VOX • Kortrijk, De Kreun (24/04/2016)
NEAR EARTH ORBIT • End Of All Existence
PSYCHO GENERATION + OST+FRONT • Eernegem, B52 (22/04/2016)
FOLIAS ANTIGUAS & CRIOLLAS (FROM THE OLD TO THE NEW WORLD) • Hesperion XXI & Tembembe Ensamble Continuo o.l.v. Jordi Savall (Antwerpen, deSingel, 20/4/2016)
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
NEW ZERO GOD • Short Tales & Tall Shadows
SUUNS • Hold/Still
THE BENZENE RING • Crossing The Divide
SCANNER & ANNI HOGAN • Scanni
INWOLVES • Involves

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
NEGANT • No !
STRUCK9 • Ritual Body Music
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
FIXMER / MCCARTHY • Chemicals
DIVE • Underneath

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
SINESTAR • Evolve
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy
ALPHAMAY • Twisted Lines

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
AUTUMN • The Fall
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD • Burning for the Ancient Connection
TEARFUL MOON • Evocation
ASTARI NITE • Dreams Of Majesty
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEARFUL MOON • In The Dark Morning
BESTIAL MOUTHS • (Still) Heartless

Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
08
Diane Grace signs Devil's pact with Starman Records
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
08
ASH CODE
Nite Rite
20
08
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
19
08
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
18
08
MARY OCHER
The Android Sea
17
08
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control