tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

09/12/2016 : MIRANDA CARTEL - Divert EP

MIRANDA CARTEL

Divert EP

MusicCD (EP)
ElectroFuture PopGothic

[82/100]   

Halotan Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

He who loves dark and uplifting electro, should listen to this release. Miranda Cartel is the alter ego of Emmanuella Robak (Poland). She alone is responsible for this side project. Because of the activities of her main band, the electronic gothic darkwave act Lily of the Valley, she didn’t have that much time to work it out. But now she has, and we must say that it has become a successful solo project.

Why, you might think? Well, it's accessible and melodic electro with some real content. The opener Divert is a track with a very catchy chorus and the great voice of Miranda. There are quite a few electro references from the eighties and nineties. The Way to Follow is uplifting and catchy, but has a slightly darker tone. It contains beautiful synth sounds. The track also has a beautiful structure and could be a single.

Leviathan is slightly more EBM and future pop. A good track, but somewhat predictable. Going Down contains some synths in the genre of Vince Clarke or Erasure. It's a slow song in which she shows her emotional side and it slowly blooms at the end. Fake My Fiction is a fine final song. A wonderful dark intro, followed by an up-tempo song with a sing-along chorus. As a bonus we hear two remixes of Divert: a Cortex Remix and Shadow System Remix, of which the latter convinces me the most.

The big difference with Lily of the Valley is that this project contains more electro elements and is slightly more accessible.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Wie van donkere en opzwepende electro houdt, moet deze release zeker beluisteren. Miranda Cartel is het alter ego van Emmanuella Robak (Polen). Zij alleen is verantwoordelijk voor dit zij-project. Ze broedde er al een tijdje op, maar wegens de activiteiten met haar hoofdband, de electronische gothic darkwaveformatie Lily of the Valley, vond ze niet meteen de tijd om het uit te werken. Maar nu is het dus toch gelukt, en we mogen zeggen dat het een geslaagd solo project is geworden.

Waarom, zal je denken? Wel, het is toegankelijke en melodieuze electro mét inhoud. Opener Divert is een track met een heel catchy refrein en de aangename zang van Miranda. Er zijn nogal wat verwijzingen naar electro uit de eighties en nineties, maar de compositie leeft. The Way to Follow is even opzwepend en catchy maar iets donkerder van klankkleur. Het bevat mooie synthsounds en drijft voor een stuk op de synthbas. De track heeft ook een mooie opbouw en net als de eerste single aspiraties. Leviathan gaat lichtjes meer richting EBM en futurepop. Een goede track, maar iets voorspelbaarder. Het jasje zit haar hier iets minder goed en dat hoor je een beetje aan de vocals. Going Down bevat synths in het genre van wat Vince Clarke met Erasure soms laat horen. Het is een trage song waarin ze haar emotionele kant toont en die tegen het einde heel langzaam openbloeit. Fake My Fiction is een fijne afsluiter. Een heerlijke tegendraadse en donkere intro, gevolgd door een uptempo song met een meezingbaar refrein. We krijgen als toemaatje nog twee remixes van Divert: een Cortex Remix en een Shadow System Remix waarvan die laatste mij het meest kan overtuigen.

Het grote verschil met Lily of the Valley is dat dit project meer electropopelementen bevat en iets toegankelijker is. Haar eerste solo ep is geslaagd en bevat catchy zanglijnen, sfeervol artwork, fijne synthsounds en lyrics.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : MIRANDA CARTEL - Divert EP 09/12/2016 : MIRANDA CARTEL - Divert EP

 

Next reviews
CHAMELEONS VOX • Kortrijk, De Kreun (24/04/2016)
NEAR EARTH ORBIT • End Of All Existence
PSYCHO GENERATION + OST+FRONT • Eernegem, B52 (22/04/2016)
FOLIAS ANTIGUAS & CRIOLLAS (FROM THE OLD TO THE NEW WORLD) • Hesperion XXI & Tembembe Ensamble Continuo o.l.v. Jordi Savall (Antwerpen, deSingel, 20/4/2016)
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
NEW ZERO GOD • Short Tales & Tall Shadows
SUUNS • Hold/Still
THE BENZENE RING • Crossing The Divide
SCANNER & ANNI HOGAN • Scanni
INWOLVES • Involves

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear
DIVE • Where do we go from here
AD:KEY • Resonanz
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE • Sharpening The Axe
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
SINESTAR • Evolve
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy
ALPHAMAY • Twisted Lines

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped

Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 3 Year Anniversary
14
01
On this night, 42 years ago, Joy Division played at King Kong, Antwerp (B)!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down
14
01
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE
Enfermedad
13
01
MOLLY NILSSON
1995
12
01
COIL
Tattooed Man