tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

09/12/2016 : MIRANDA CARTEL - Divert EP

MIRANDA CARTEL

Divert EP

MusicCD (EP)
ElectroFuture PopGothic

[82/100]   

Halotan Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

He who loves dark and uplifting electro, should listen to this release. Miranda Cartel is the alter ego of Emmanuella Robak (Poland). She alone is responsible for this side project. Because of the activities of her main band, the electronic gothic darkwave act Lily of the Valley, she didn’t have that much time to work it out. But now she has, and we must say that it has become a successful solo project.

Why, you might think? Well, it's accessible and melodic electro with some real content. The opener Divert is a track with a very catchy chorus and the great voice of Miranda. There are quite a few electro references from the eighties and nineties. The Way to Follow is uplifting and catchy, but has a slightly darker tone. It contains beautiful synth sounds. The track also has a beautiful structure and could be a single.

Leviathan is slightly more EBM and future pop. A good track, but somewhat predictable. Going Down contains some synths in the genre of Vince Clarke or Erasure. It's a slow song in which she shows her emotional side and it slowly blooms at the end. Fake My Fiction is a fine final song. A wonderful dark intro, followed by an up-tempo song with a sing-along chorus. As a bonus we hear two remixes of Divert: a Cortex Remix and Shadow System Remix, of which the latter convinces me the most.

The big difference with Lily of the Valley is that this project contains more electro elements and is slightly more accessible.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Wie van donkere en opzwepende electro houdt, moet deze release zeker beluisteren. Miranda Cartel is het alter ego van Emmanuella Robak (Polen). Zij alleen is verantwoordelijk voor dit zij-project. Ze broedde er al een tijdje op, maar wegens de activiteiten met haar hoofdband, de electronische gothic darkwaveformatie Lily of the Valley, vond ze niet meteen de tijd om het uit te werken. Maar nu is het dus toch gelukt, en we mogen zeggen dat het een geslaagd solo project is geworden.

Waarom, zal je denken? Wel, het is toegankelijke en melodieuze electro mét inhoud. Opener Divert is een track met een heel catchy refrein en de aangename zang van Miranda. Er zijn nogal wat verwijzingen naar electro uit de eighties en nineties, maar de compositie leeft. The Way to Follow is even opzwepend en catchy maar iets donkerder van klankkleur. Het bevat mooie synthsounds en drijft voor een stuk op de synthbas. De track heeft ook een mooie opbouw en net als de eerste single aspiraties. Leviathan gaat lichtjes meer richting EBM en futurepop. Een goede track, maar iets voorspelbaarder. Het jasje zit haar hier iets minder goed en dat hoor je een beetje aan de vocals. Going Down bevat synths in het genre van wat Vince Clarke met Erasure soms laat horen. Het is een trage song waarin ze haar emotionele kant toont en die tegen het einde heel langzaam openbloeit. Fake My Fiction is een fijne afsluiter. Een heerlijke tegendraadse en donkere intro, gevolgd door een uptempo song met een meezingbaar refrein. We krijgen als toemaatje nog twee remixes van Divert: een Cortex Remix en een Shadow System Remix waarvan die laatste mij het meest kan overtuigen.

Het grote verschil met Lily of the Valley is dat dit project meer electropopelementen bevat en iets toegankelijker is. Haar eerste solo ep is geslaagd en bevat catchy zanglijnen, sfeervol artwork, fijne synthsounds en lyrics.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : MIRANDA CARTEL - Divert EP 09/12/2016 : MIRANDA CARTEL - Divert EP

 

Next reviews
CHAMELEONS VOX • Kortrijk, De Kreun (24/04/2016)
NEAR EARTH ORBIT • End Of All Existence
PSYCHO GENERATION + OST+FRONT • Eernegem, B52 (22/04/2016)
FOLIAS ANTIGUAS & CRIOLLAS (FROM THE OLD TO THE NEW WORLD) • Hesperion XXI & Tembembe Ensamble Continuo o.l.v. Jordi Savall (Antwerpen, deSingel, 20/4/2016)
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
NEW ZERO GOD • Short Tales & Tall Shadows
SUUNS • Hold/Still
THE BENZENE RING • Crossing The Divide
SCANNER & ANNI HOGAN • Scanni
INWOLVES • Involves

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
KLANGWELT • The Incident
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
VLIMMER • Angststand
GOO MUNDAY • Goo Munday

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
SINESTAR • Evolve
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy
ALPHAMAY • Twisted Lines

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
AUTUMN • The Fall
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP

Music reviews

20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron
19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day
16
03
Today, 35 years ago, Siousxie And The Banshees released the single Swimming Horses!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom