tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : SINESTAR - Evolve

SINESTAR

Evolve

MusicCD
Future PopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[68/100]   

Conzoom
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Even though England isn't really interested, there still are bands over there that make future pop (or if you want synth pop). Sinestar is such a band. The lads are from Bristol and in the scene for four years. Their lives changed when Conzoom Records, the German synthpop label, noted the band. The EP Fortunes Faded (which is included as a bonus disc) was released and now there is the CD Evolve, in cooperation with Richard Silverthorne, the keyboard player of Mesh.

These are all facts that should make it clear whether Sinestar is your cup of tea or not, because this band simply makes catchy synth pop that invite you to dance. There’s not much depth, for this type of music that is not necessarily a disadvantage.

The disk includes eleven tracks and each one could be a club hit. Unfortunately, some tracks are screwed by Ian Brownlie forced singing style. The Briton is not exactly the best singer in the world, and sometimes the songs lose some of their value when Ian tries to hard. However, this flaw is compensated by the melancholic, catchy tracks. Sometimes Sinestar sets the bar very high. Sentinel comes close to (how could it be otherwise) Mesh, My Perspective flirts with A-Ha,Time Expired is Depeche Mode-like synth pop with an original perspective, and Ready Set Go and Die sounds like a lost Alphaville track.

As a bonus, you get a disc that features eleven remixes of the same track (Fortunes Faded). That is of course a bit too much of the same to say the least, but remember it’s a bonus, so...

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Ook al ligt men er in Engeland niet bepaald wakker van, wordt er over de Noordzee nog steeds futurepop (of zo je wil synthpop gemaakt). Sinestar komt uit Bristol en is al zo’n vier jaar bezig. Alles kwam in een stroomversnelling toen Conzoom Records, het Duitse label dat een patent op meezingbare synthpop heeft, de groep opmerkte. De ep Fortunes Faded werd uitgebracht (die je trouwens als bonus op deze uitgave vindt) en nu is er de cd Evolve, waaraan Richard Silverthorne, de keyboardspeler van Mesh, meewerkte.

Het zijn allemaal feiten die je nu al duidelijk zouden moeten maken of Sinestar iets voor jou is of net niet, want deze band maakt louter meezingbare synthpop die je aan het dansen brengt. Veel diepgang is er niet, maar bij dit soort muziek hoeft dit ook niet, meestal werkt zoiets toch alleen maar in de foute zin.

Op het schijfje vind je elf tracks die één voor één clubhit zouden kunnen zijn. Jammer genoeg worden enkele tracks door de zang van Iain Brownlie ontsierd. De Brit is niet meteen de beste zanger en soms hoor je dat hij zich net iets te veel forceert waardoor de songs wat van hun waarde verliezen. Dit minpunt wordt ruimschoots gecompenseerd door de melancholische, hitgevoelige tracks. Soms legt Sinestar de lat wel erg hoog, zo komt Sentinel aardig in de buurt (hoe kan het ook anders) van Mesh, flirt My Perspective met A-Ha, is Time Expired Depeche Mode-achtige synthpop met een originele invalshoek of klinkt Ready Set Go And Die als een verloren Alphaville-track.

Als toemaatje krijg je een bonusschijfje met daarop elf remixes van dezelfde track (Fortunes Faded). Dat is natuurlijk net iets van het goede te veel om het zacht uit te drukken, maar een gegeven paard kijk je nu eenmaal niet in de bek.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)