tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : SINESTAR - Evolve

SINESTAR

Evolve

MusicCD
Future PopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[68/100]   

Conzoom
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Even though England isn't really interested, there still are bands over there that make future pop (or if you want synth pop). Sinestar is such a band. The lads are from Bristol and in the scene for four years. Their lives changed when Conzoom Records, the German synthpop label, noted the band. The EP Fortunes Faded (which is included as a bonus disc) was released and now there is the CD Evolve, in cooperation with Richard Silverthorne, the keyboard player of Mesh.

These are all facts that should make it clear whether Sinestar is your cup of tea or not, because this band simply makes catchy synth pop that invite you to dance. There’s not much depth, for this type of music that is not necessarily a disadvantage.

The disk includes eleven tracks and each one could be a club hit. Unfortunately, some tracks are screwed by Ian Brownlie forced singing style. The Briton is not exactly the best singer in the world, and sometimes the songs lose some of their value when Ian tries to hard. However, this flaw is compensated by the melancholic, catchy tracks. Sometimes Sinestar sets the bar very high. Sentinel comes close to (how could it be otherwise) Mesh, My Perspective flirts with A-Ha,Time Expired is Depeche Mode-like synth pop with an original perspective, and Ready Set Go and Die sounds like a lost Alphaville track.

As a bonus, you get a disc that features eleven remixes of the same track (Fortunes Faded). That is of course a bit too much of the same to say the least, but remember it’s a bonus, so...

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Ook al ligt men er in Engeland niet bepaald wakker van, wordt er over de Noordzee nog steeds futurepop (of zo je wil synthpop gemaakt). Sinestar komt uit Bristol en is al zo’n vier jaar bezig. Alles kwam in een stroomversnelling toen Conzoom Records, het Duitse label dat een patent op meezingbare synthpop heeft, de groep opmerkte. De ep Fortunes Faded werd uitgebracht (die je trouwens als bonus op deze uitgave vindt) en nu is er de cd Evolve, waaraan Richard Silverthorne, de keyboardspeler van Mesh, meewerkte.

Het zijn allemaal feiten die je nu al duidelijk zouden moeten maken of Sinestar iets voor jou is of net niet, want deze band maakt louter meezingbare synthpop die je aan het dansen brengt. Veel diepgang is er niet, maar bij dit soort muziek hoeft dit ook niet, meestal werkt zoiets toch alleen maar in de foute zin.

Op het schijfje vind je elf tracks die één voor één clubhit zouden kunnen zijn. Jammer genoeg worden enkele tracks door de zang van Iain Brownlie ontsierd. De Brit is niet meteen de beste zanger en soms hoor je dat hij zich net iets te veel forceert waardoor de songs wat van hun waarde verliezen. Dit minpunt wordt ruimschoots gecompenseerd door de melancholische, hitgevoelige tracks. Soms legt Sinestar de lat wel erg hoog, zo komt Sentinel aardig in de buurt (hoe kan het ook anders) van Mesh, flirt My Perspective met A-Ha, is Time Expired Depeche Mode-achtige synthpop met een originele invalshoek of klinkt Ready Set Go And Die als een verloren Alphaville-track.

Als toemaatje krijg je een bonusschijfje met daarop elf remixes van dezelfde track (Fortunes Faded). Dat is natuurlijk net iets van het goede te veel om het zacht uit te drukken, maar een gegeven paard kijk je nu eenmaal niet in de bek.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park
14
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Melancholic Disposition

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
03
On this day, 40 years ago, Kraftwerk performed Das Model on German TV.
28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'
22
03
Today, exactly 31 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
No-One Driving since 1980! John Foxx released his second 7' 40 years ago!
21
03
Bone Machine | 32 - Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...
03
03
DAVID SARDY
Producer David Sardy on his work with The Who, Oasis, Marilyn Manson and scoring work.

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR
29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)
28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)
26
03
SEGBROEK
Hungry Eyes
25
03
JOZEF VAN WISSEM
Ruins