tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : SINESTAR - Evolve

SINESTAR

Evolve

MusicCD
Future PopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[68/100]   

Conzoom
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Even though England isn't really interested, there still are bands over there that make future pop (or if you want synth pop). Sinestar is such a band. The lads are from Bristol and in the scene for four years. Their lives changed when Conzoom Records, the German synthpop label, noted the band. The EP Fortunes Faded (which is included as a bonus disc) was released and now there is the CD Evolve, in cooperation with Richard Silverthorne, the keyboard player of Mesh.

These are all facts that should make it clear whether Sinestar is your cup of tea or not, because this band simply makes catchy synth pop that invite you to dance. There’s not much depth, for this type of music that is not necessarily a disadvantage.

The disk includes eleven tracks and each one could be a club hit. Unfortunately, some tracks are screwed by Ian Brownlie forced singing style. The Briton is not exactly the best singer in the world, and sometimes the songs lose some of their value when Ian tries to hard. However, this flaw is compensated by the melancholic, catchy tracks. Sometimes Sinestar sets the bar very high. Sentinel comes close to (how could it be otherwise) Mesh, My Perspective flirts with A-Ha,Time Expired is Depeche Mode-like synth pop with an original perspective, and Ready Set Go and Die sounds like a lost Alphaville track.

As a bonus, you get a disc that features eleven remixes of the same track (Fortunes Faded). That is of course a bit too much of the same to say the least, but remember it’s a bonus, so...

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Ook al ligt men er in Engeland niet bepaald wakker van, wordt er over de Noordzee nog steeds futurepop (of zo je wil synthpop gemaakt). Sinestar komt uit Bristol en is al zo’n vier jaar bezig. Alles kwam in een stroomversnelling toen Conzoom Records, het Duitse label dat een patent op meezingbare synthpop heeft, de groep opmerkte. De ep Fortunes Faded werd uitgebracht (die je trouwens als bonus op deze uitgave vindt) en nu is er de cd Evolve, waaraan Richard Silverthorne, de keyboardspeler van Mesh, meewerkte.

Het zijn allemaal feiten die je nu al duidelijk zouden moeten maken of Sinestar iets voor jou is of net niet, want deze band maakt louter meezingbare synthpop die je aan het dansen brengt. Veel diepgang is er niet, maar bij dit soort muziek hoeft dit ook niet, meestal werkt zoiets toch alleen maar in de foute zin.

Op het schijfje vind je elf tracks die één voor één clubhit zouden kunnen zijn. Jammer genoeg worden enkele tracks door de zang van Iain Brownlie ontsierd. De Brit is niet meteen de beste zanger en soms hoor je dat hij zich net iets te veel forceert waardoor de songs wat van hun waarde verliezen. Dit minpunt wordt ruimschoots gecompenseerd door de melancholische, hitgevoelige tracks. Soms legt Sinestar de lat wel erg hoog, zo komt Sentinel aardig in de buurt (hoe kan het ook anders) van Mesh, flirt My Perspective met A-Ha, is Time Expired Depeche Mode-achtige synthpop met een originele invalshoek of klinkt Ready Set Go And Die als een verloren Alphaville-track.

Als toemaatje krijg je een bonusschijfje met daarop elf remixes van dezelfde track (Fortunes Faded). Dat is natuurlijk net iets van het goede te veel om het zacht uit te drukken, maar een gegeven paard kijk je nu eenmaal niet in de bek.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
NOISE
Quiet
25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis