tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : SINESTAR - Evolve

SINESTAR

Evolve

MusicCD
Future PopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[68/100]   

Conzoom
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Even though England isn't really interested, there still are bands over there that make future pop (or if you want synth pop). Sinestar is such a band. The lads are from Bristol and in the scene for four years. Their lives changed when Conzoom Records, the German synthpop label, noted the band. The EP Fortunes Faded (which is included as a bonus disc) was released and now there is the CD Evolve, in cooperation with Richard Silverthorne, the keyboard player of Mesh.

These are all facts that should make it clear whether Sinestar is your cup of tea or not, because this band simply makes catchy synth pop that invite you to dance. There’s not much depth, for this type of music that is not necessarily a disadvantage.

The disk includes eleven tracks and each one could be a club hit. Unfortunately, some tracks are screwed by Ian Brownlie forced singing style. The Briton is not exactly the best singer in the world, and sometimes the songs lose some of their value when Ian tries to hard. However, this flaw is compensated by the melancholic, catchy tracks. Sometimes Sinestar sets the bar very high. Sentinel comes close to (how could it be otherwise) Mesh, My Perspective flirts with A-Ha,Time Expired is Depeche Mode-like synth pop with an original perspective, and Ready Set Go and Die sounds like a lost Alphaville track.

As a bonus, you get a disc that features eleven remixes of the same track (Fortunes Faded). That is of course a bit too much of the same to say the least, but remember it’s a bonus, so...

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Ook al ligt men er in Engeland niet bepaald wakker van, wordt er over de Noordzee nog steeds futurepop (of zo je wil synthpop gemaakt). Sinestar komt uit Bristol en is al zo’n vier jaar bezig. Alles kwam in een stroomversnelling toen Conzoom Records, het Duitse label dat een patent op meezingbare synthpop heeft, de groep opmerkte. De ep Fortunes Faded werd uitgebracht (die je trouwens als bonus op deze uitgave vindt) en nu is er de cd Evolve, waaraan Richard Silverthorne, de keyboardspeler van Mesh, meewerkte.

Het zijn allemaal feiten die je nu al duidelijk zouden moeten maken of Sinestar iets voor jou is of net niet, want deze band maakt louter meezingbare synthpop die je aan het dansen brengt. Veel diepgang is er niet, maar bij dit soort muziek hoeft dit ook niet, meestal werkt zoiets toch alleen maar in de foute zin.

Op het schijfje vind je elf tracks die één voor één clubhit zouden kunnen zijn. Jammer genoeg worden enkele tracks door de zang van Iain Brownlie ontsierd. De Brit is niet meteen de beste zanger en soms hoor je dat hij zich net iets te veel forceert waardoor de songs wat van hun waarde verliezen. Dit minpunt wordt ruimschoots gecompenseerd door de melancholische, hitgevoelige tracks. Soms legt Sinestar de lat wel erg hoog, zo komt Sentinel aardig in de buurt (hoe kan het ook anders) van Mesh, flirt My Perspective met A-Ha, is Time Expired Depeche Mode-achtige synthpop met een originele invalshoek of klinkt Ready Set Go And Die als een verloren Alphaville-track.

Als toemaatje krijg je een bonusschijfje met daarop elf remixes van dezelfde track (Fortunes Faded). Dat is natuurlijk net iets van het goede te veel om het zacht uit te drukken, maar een gegeven paard kijk je nu eenmaal niet in de bek.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi
01
08
SOLAR FAKE
Amphi
01
08
GRENDEL
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
14
08
ASHRAM
Maria and the violin's string
13
08
DAVEY SUICIDE
Rise Above
12
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Sanri
11
08
DULAC
Nocturne (Official Music Video)
10
08
NENA
Fragezeichen
09
08
ESSAIE PAS
Lights Out