tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : VOGON POETRY - The Dented Stories

VOGON POETRY

The Dented Stories

MusicCD
Synthpop

[72/100]   

Self-released
09/12/2016, John R. MIRLAND

EN

Swedish Vogon Poetry (the name refers to a poetry form mentioned in Douglas Adam’s Hitchhiker’s Guide to The Galaxy) has always been characterized by the great vocal performance of John Andersson and high quality synth pop as w<e know from Erasure and in parts also by acts like Ultravox, early Depeche Mode and Human League.

This time it’s a remix album of the Gothenburg trio’s latest full length album The Prefect Stories.

Usually there is a lack of coherence in remix albums because of the many different remixes and the fact that most of the remixes just sound the same. The typical remix album functions as a collection of single tracks and is difficult to consider as a full album. There are exceptions though: The Pet Shop Boys Disco series, New Order’s Substance and Erasure’s The Two Ring Circus are great albums. The Dented Stories unfortunately suffers from the same disease as most remix albums and would have benefited from a tighter selection. But there are definite some highlights.

The Erasure inspiration is apparent on tracks like Moments (Johan Bäckström remix) and Hyperspace Bypass (Auotodafeh remix) which stand out almost like a pastiche, but on these tracks it’s just alright.

The eurodance of Ready Player One (People Theatre Remix) could easily be mixed into a club set and would work great while the darkness and massive bass of Safe (Kretz remix) are a nice deviation from the rest, but quite massive speakers are needed to shine.

The surprise remix is definitely Me Tiger’s remix of Virtues as it has pumping big stadium rock drums with distorted synths/vocals, which contrast wonderfully with the melody. Instead of just raising the bpm and/or switching drum samples from 909 type to 808 or the other way round, this remix shows what can be done. The original of Virtues is a very different track.

Even if the album is not perfect, quite a few of the remixes could find their way into my play list since they work very well. The question however is if the remix album succeeds in delivering something new or needed to the sound of Vogon Poetry? I’m not so sure. They work quite well on their own.

Favorite tracks: Moments (Johan Bäckström remix), Hyperspace Bypass (Autodafeh remix), Ready Player One (People Theatre Remix), Possibilities (2nd Happiest Remix), Moments (Modige Agenter remix), Safe (Kretz remix), Virtues (Me Tiger remix).

John R. MIRLAND
09/12/2016


NL

De Zweedse band Vogon Poetry (de naam verwijst naar een poëzievorm die wordt gebruikt in Hitchhiker’s Guide to The Galaxy van Douglas Adams) werd altijd al gekenmerkt door de fantastische zang van John Andersson en de kwaliteitsvolle synthpop zoals we die kennen van bijv. Erasure, Ultravox, de vroegere Depeche Mode en Human League. Deze keer verwent het trio uit Göteborg ons met een remixalbum van The Prefect Stories.

Meestal is er bij remixalbums een gebrek aan samenhang vanwege de vele verschillende remixes en het feit dat de meeste remixes gewoon op elkaar lijken. Een remixplaat is dus meestal niet meer dan een verzameling van wat tracks die je moeilijk als een volwaardig album kan beschouwen. Er zijn wel uitzonderingen natuurlijk, bijvoorbeeld de Disco-series van de Pet Shop Boys, Substance van New Order of The Two Ring Circus van Erasure. Helaas behoort The Dented Stories niet tot deze categorie en het was beter wat strenger geweest tijdens de selectie, niet dat er geen hoogtepunten te vinden zijn.

De invloed van Erasure hoor je vooral op Moments (Johan Bäckström remix) en Hyperspace Bypass (Auotodafeh remix) en hoewel het nabootsingen lijken, is dat geen probleem, zolang het maar goed werkt (zoals hier).

De eurodance van Ready Player One (People Theatre Remix) kun je gemakkelijk in een clubset gooien, terwijl de duisternis en de enorme bas van Safe (Kretz remix) lekker verschillen van de rest.

De verrassing is zeker de Me Tiger-remix van Virtues met zijn pompende stadiumrockdrums en vervormde synths, die een mooi contrast vormen met de melodie. Het is meer dan gewoon het opdrijven van de beats per minuut , of van het overschakelen van een 909- naar een 808-drumsample. De originele versie van Virtues is een heel ander nummer. Hoewel dit album niet perfect is, hebben een flink aantal remixes toch hun weg in mijn afspeellijst gevonden, gewoon omdat ze heel goed werken. De vraag is echter of dit album iets nieuws oplevert en of dat nu echt nodig was. Ik weet het echt niet, Vogon Poetry werkt ook goed zonder.

Mijn favoriete tracks: Moments (Johan Bäckström remix), Hyperspace Bypass (Autodafeh remix), Ready Player One (People Theatre Remix), Possibilities (2nd Happiest Remix), Moments (Modige Agenter remix), Safe (Kretz remix), Virtues (Me Tiger remix).

John R. MIRLAND
09/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap