tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : VOGON POETRY - The Dented Stories

VOGON POETRY

The Dented Stories

MusicCD
Synthpop

[72/100]   

Self-released
09/12/2016, John R. MIRLAND

EN

Swedish Vogon Poetry (the name refers to a poetry form mentioned in Douglas Adam’s Hitchhiker’s Guide to The Galaxy) has always been characterized by the great vocal performance of John Andersson and high quality synth pop as w<e know from Erasure and in parts also by acts like Ultravox, early Depeche Mode and Human League.

This time it’s a remix album of the Gothenburg trio’s latest full length album The Prefect Stories.

Usually there is a lack of coherence in remix albums because of the many different remixes and the fact that most of the remixes just sound the same. The typical remix album functions as a collection of single tracks and is difficult to consider as a full album. There are exceptions though: The Pet Shop Boys Disco series, New Order’s Substance and Erasure’s The Two Ring Circus are great albums. The Dented Stories unfortunately suffers from the same disease as most remix albums and would have benefited from a tighter selection. But there are definite some highlights.

The Erasure inspiration is apparent on tracks like Moments (Johan Bäckström remix) and Hyperspace Bypass (Auotodafeh remix) which stand out almost like a pastiche, but on these tracks it’s just alright.

The eurodance of Ready Player One (People Theatre Remix) could easily be mixed into a club set and would work great while the darkness and massive bass of Safe (Kretz remix) are a nice deviation from the rest, but quite massive speakers are needed to shine.

The surprise remix is definitely Me Tiger’s remix of Virtues as it has pumping big stadium rock drums with distorted synths/vocals, which contrast wonderfully with the melody. Instead of just raising the bpm and/or switching drum samples from 909 type to 808 or the other way round, this remix shows what can be done. The original of Virtues is a very different track.

Even if the album is not perfect, quite a few of the remixes could find their way into my play list since they work very well. The question however is if the remix album succeeds in delivering something new or needed to the sound of Vogon Poetry? I’m not so sure. They work quite well on their own.

Favorite tracks: Moments (Johan Bäckström remix), Hyperspace Bypass (Autodafeh remix), Ready Player One (People Theatre Remix), Possibilities (2nd Happiest Remix), Moments (Modige Agenter remix), Safe (Kretz remix), Virtues (Me Tiger remix).

John R. MIRLAND
09/12/2016


NL

De Zweedse band Vogon Poetry (de naam verwijst naar een poëzievorm die wordt gebruikt in Hitchhiker’s Guide to The Galaxy van Douglas Adams) werd altijd al gekenmerkt door de fantastische zang van John Andersson en de kwaliteitsvolle synthpop zoals we die kennen van bijv. Erasure, Ultravox, de vroegere Depeche Mode en Human League. Deze keer verwent het trio uit Göteborg ons met een remixalbum van The Prefect Stories.

Meestal is er bij remixalbums een gebrek aan samenhang vanwege de vele verschillende remixes en het feit dat de meeste remixes gewoon op elkaar lijken. Een remixplaat is dus meestal niet meer dan een verzameling van wat tracks die je moeilijk als een volwaardig album kan beschouwen. Er zijn wel uitzonderingen natuurlijk, bijvoorbeeld de Disco-series van de Pet Shop Boys, Substance van New Order of The Two Ring Circus van Erasure. Helaas behoort The Dented Stories niet tot deze categorie en het was beter wat strenger geweest tijdens de selectie, niet dat er geen hoogtepunten te vinden zijn.

De invloed van Erasure hoor je vooral op Moments (Johan Bäckström remix) en Hyperspace Bypass (Auotodafeh remix) en hoewel het nabootsingen lijken, is dat geen probleem, zolang het maar goed werkt (zoals hier).

De eurodance van Ready Player One (People Theatre Remix) kun je gemakkelijk in een clubset gooien, terwijl de duisternis en de enorme bas van Safe (Kretz remix) lekker verschillen van de rest.

De verrassing is zeker de Me Tiger-remix van Virtues met zijn pompende stadiumrockdrums en vervormde synths, die een mooi contrast vormen met de melodie. Het is meer dan gewoon het opdrijven van de beats per minuut , of van het overschakelen van een 909- naar een 808-drumsample. De originele versie van Virtues is een heel ander nummer. Hoewel dit album niet perfect is, hebben een flink aantal remixes toch hun weg in mijn afspeellijst gevonden, gewoon omdat ze heel goed werken. De vraag is echter of dit album iets nieuws oplevert en of dat nu echt nodig was. Ik weet het echt niet, Vogon Poetry werkt ook goed zonder.

Mijn favoriete tracks: Moments (Johan Bäckström remix), Hyperspace Bypass (Autodafeh remix), Ready Player One (People Theatre Remix), Possibilities (2nd Happiest Remix), Moments (Modige Agenter remix), Safe (Kretz remix), Virtues (Me Tiger remix).

John R. MIRLAND
09/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu