tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : VOGON POETRY - The Dented Stories

VOGON POETRY

The Dented Stories

MusicCD
Synthpop

[72/100]   

Self-released
09/12/2016, John R. MIRLAND

EN

Swedish Vogon Poetry (the name refers to a poetry form mentioned in Douglas Adam’s Hitchhiker’s Guide to The Galaxy) has always been characterized by the great vocal performance of John Andersson and high quality synth pop as w<e know from Erasure and in parts also by acts like Ultravox, early Depeche Mode and Human League.

This time it’s a remix album of the Gothenburg trio’s latest full length album The Prefect Stories.

Usually there is a lack of coherence in remix albums because of the many different remixes and the fact that most of the remixes just sound the same. The typical remix album functions as a collection of single tracks and is difficult to consider as a full album. There are exceptions though: The Pet Shop Boys Disco series, New Order’s Substance and Erasure’s The Two Ring Circus are great albums. The Dented Stories unfortunately suffers from the same disease as most remix albums and would have benefited from a tighter selection. But there are definite some highlights.

The Erasure inspiration is apparent on tracks like Moments (Johan Bäckström remix) and Hyperspace Bypass (Auotodafeh remix) which stand out almost like a pastiche, but on these tracks it’s just alright.

The eurodance of Ready Player One (People Theatre Remix) could easily be mixed into a club set and would work great while the darkness and massive bass of Safe (Kretz remix) are a nice deviation from the rest, but quite massive speakers are needed to shine.

The surprise remix is definitely Me Tiger’s remix of Virtues as it has pumping big stadium rock drums with distorted synths/vocals, which contrast wonderfully with the melody. Instead of just raising the bpm and/or switching drum samples from 909 type to 808 or the other way round, this remix shows what can be done. The original of Virtues is a very different track.

Even if the album is not perfect, quite a few of the remixes could find their way into my play list since they work very well. The question however is if the remix album succeeds in delivering something new or needed to the sound of Vogon Poetry? I’m not so sure. They work quite well on their own.

Favorite tracks: Moments (Johan Bäckström remix), Hyperspace Bypass (Autodafeh remix), Ready Player One (People Theatre Remix), Possibilities (2nd Happiest Remix), Moments (Modige Agenter remix), Safe (Kretz remix), Virtues (Me Tiger remix).

John R. MIRLAND
09/12/2016


NL

De Zweedse band Vogon Poetry (de naam verwijst naar een poëzievorm die wordt gebruikt in Hitchhiker’s Guide to The Galaxy van Douglas Adams) werd altijd al gekenmerkt door de fantastische zang van John Andersson en de kwaliteitsvolle synthpop zoals we die kennen van bijv. Erasure, Ultravox, de vroegere Depeche Mode en Human League. Deze keer verwent het trio uit Göteborg ons met een remixalbum van The Prefect Stories.

Meestal is er bij remixalbums een gebrek aan samenhang vanwege de vele verschillende remixes en het feit dat de meeste remixes gewoon op elkaar lijken. Een remixplaat is dus meestal niet meer dan een verzameling van wat tracks die je moeilijk als een volwaardig album kan beschouwen. Er zijn wel uitzonderingen natuurlijk, bijvoorbeeld de Disco-series van de Pet Shop Boys, Substance van New Order of The Two Ring Circus van Erasure. Helaas behoort The Dented Stories niet tot deze categorie en het was beter wat strenger geweest tijdens de selectie, niet dat er geen hoogtepunten te vinden zijn.

De invloed van Erasure hoor je vooral op Moments (Johan Bäckström remix) en Hyperspace Bypass (Auotodafeh remix) en hoewel het nabootsingen lijken, is dat geen probleem, zolang het maar goed werkt (zoals hier).

De eurodance van Ready Player One (People Theatre Remix) kun je gemakkelijk in een clubset gooien, terwijl de duisternis en de enorme bas van Safe (Kretz remix) lekker verschillen van de rest.

De verrassing is zeker de Me Tiger-remix van Virtues met zijn pompende stadiumrockdrums en vervormde synths, die een mooi contrast vormen met de melodie. Het is meer dan gewoon het opdrijven van de beats per minuut , of van het overschakelen van een 909- naar een 808-drumsample. De originele versie van Virtues is een heel ander nummer. Hoewel dit album niet perfect is, hebben een flink aantal remixes toch hun weg in mijn afspeellijst gevonden, gewoon omdat ze heel goed werken. De vraag is echter of dit album iets nieuws oplevert en of dat nu echt nodig was. Ik weet het echt niet, Vogon Poetry werkt ook goed zonder.

Mijn favoriete tracks: Moments (Johan Bäckström remix), Hyperspace Bypass (Autodafeh remix), Ready Player One (People Theatre Remix), Possibilities (2nd Happiest Remix), Moments (Modige Agenter remix), Safe (Kretz remix), Virtues (Me Tiger remix).

John R. MIRLAND
09/12/2016


Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real