tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd single review

09/12/2016 : MONICA JEFFRIES - In Circles EP

MONICA JEFFRIES

In Circles EP

MusicCD single
ElectronicsSynthpop

[72/100]   
09/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

Loyal Peek-A-Boo readers know Monica Jeffries, the Polish artist who relocated to Hamburg, the city with the vivid music scene in northern Germany. In anticipation of her full album that will be released in the course of 2016, we found her In Circles EP in our mailbox. I would preferably call it a single. Next to the original In Circles track, there's also a remix and an acoustic version of this song.

This so called EP dates from March 2015 and was released about half a year after the Old Demons EP that I also reviewed on these pages. This Old Demons EP contained a nice cover version of Surrender No Resistance (Absolute Body Control) and was a fairly good record, but to distinguish it from the numerous synthpop projects and to be labeled "recommandable" it lacked sharpness. In Circles seems to sound tougher.

The original In Circles track does sound more haunting than her previous song material. The track is built with droning synths and some industrial sounds. The In Cirlces Rayaties Remix is more dance floor orientated. The beats sound more prominent. But In Circles (acoustic version) is less successful. As usual in acoustic versions, the focus is more on the vocals. Monica's voice passes the test, but the actual song remains barely upright.

Those who want to see Monica Jeffries live can do this on April 9th in Sittard, where Monica is programmed next to Agent Side Grinder and Grausame Töchter.

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


NL

Trouwe Peek-A-Boo-lezers hebben al kennis gemaakt met Monica Jeffries, de knappe blondine van Poolse origine, die zich in de Noord-Duitse stad Hamburg met haar levendige muziekscene vestigde. In afwachting van haar in de loop van 2016 te verschijnen full album, vonden we haar ep In Circles in onze mailbox. Het is eerder een single waarop naast het originele In Circles ook nog een remix en een akoestische versie van die song te vinden zijn.

Deze zogenaamde ep dateert al van maart 2015 en verscheen dus ongeveer een half jaar na de ep Old Demons, die ik ook besprak op deze pagina's. Wat er te horen viel op Old Demons - die ook een aangename cover van Surrender No Resistance (Absolute Body Control) bevat - was best wel aardig, maar om zich te onderscheiden van de talrijke synthpopprojecten en het stempel "aanbevolen" te krijgen, diende Monica straffer uit de hoek te komen. En In Circles klinkt wel degelijk straffer dan haar voorgaande prodcuctie.

De originele In Circles-song klinkt alleszins dreigender dan het materiaal op Old Demons. De track is opgebouwd met dreunende synths en heerlijk industrieel aandoende klanken. De In Circles Rayatis Remix is meer gericht op de dansvloer. De beats zijn nadrukkerlijker aanwezig. In Circles (acoustic version) is echter minder geslaagd. Zoals gebruikelijk in akoestische versies, ligt de nadruk meer op de vocalen. Monica's stem doorstaat de test, maar van de eigenlijke song blijft amper wat overeind.

Zij die Monica Jeffries live aan het werk willen zien, kunnen zich op zaterdag 9 april naar Sittard begeven. Monica staat er geprogrammeerd met het Zweedse Agent Side Grinder en Grausame Töchter.

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

21
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Hafensommer 21 Am Speicher 2 Osnabrück
12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)