tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd single review

09/12/2016 : MONICA JEFFRIES - In Circles EP

MONICA JEFFRIES

In Circles EP

MusicCD single
ElectronicsSynthpop

[72/100]   
09/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

Loyal Peek-A-Boo readers know Monica Jeffries, the Polish artist who relocated to Hamburg, the city with the vivid music scene in northern Germany. In anticipation of her full album that will be released in the course of 2016, we found her In Circles EP in our mailbox. I would preferably call it a single. Next to the original In Circles track, there's also a remix and an acoustic version of this song.

This so called EP dates from March 2015 and was released about half a year after the Old Demons EP that I also reviewed on these pages. This Old Demons EP contained a nice cover version of Surrender No Resistance (Absolute Body Control) and was a fairly good record, but to distinguish it from the numerous synthpop projects and to be labeled "recommandable" it lacked sharpness. In Circles seems to sound tougher.

The original In Circles track does sound more haunting than her previous song material. The track is built with droning synths and some industrial sounds. The In Cirlces Rayaties Remix is more dance floor orientated. The beats sound more prominent. But In Circles (acoustic version) is less successful. As usual in acoustic versions, the focus is more on the vocals. Monica's voice passes the test, but the actual song remains barely upright.

Those who want to see Monica Jeffries live can do this on April 9th in Sittard, where Monica is programmed next to Agent Side Grinder and Grausame Töchter.

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


NL

Trouwe Peek-A-Boo-lezers hebben al kennis gemaakt met Monica Jeffries, de knappe blondine van Poolse origine, die zich in de Noord-Duitse stad Hamburg met haar levendige muziekscene vestigde. In afwachting van haar in de loop van 2016 te verschijnen full album, vonden we haar ep In Circles in onze mailbox. Het is eerder een single waarop naast het originele In Circles ook nog een remix en een akoestische versie van die song te vinden zijn.

Deze zogenaamde ep dateert al van maart 2015 en verscheen dus ongeveer een half jaar na de ep Old Demons, die ik ook besprak op deze pagina's. Wat er te horen viel op Old Demons - die ook een aangename cover van Surrender No Resistance (Absolute Body Control) bevat - was best wel aardig, maar om zich te onderscheiden van de talrijke synthpopprojecten en het stempel "aanbevolen" te krijgen, diende Monica straffer uit de hoek te komen. En In Circles klinkt wel degelijk straffer dan haar voorgaande prodcuctie.

De originele In Circles-song klinkt alleszins dreigender dan het materiaal op Old Demons. De track is opgebouwd met dreunende synths en heerlijk industrieel aandoende klanken. De In Circles Rayatis Remix is meer gericht op de dansvloer. De beats zijn nadrukkerlijker aanwezig. In Circles (acoustic version) is echter minder geslaagd. Zoals gebruikelijk in akoestische versies, ligt de nadruk meer op de vocalen. Monica's stem doorstaat de test, maar van de eigenlijke song blijft amper wat overeind.

Zij die Monica Jeffries live aan het werk willen zien, kunnen zich op zaterdag 9 april naar Sittard begeven. Monica staat er geprogrammeerd met het Zweedse Agent Side Grinder en Grausame Töchter.

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


Music reviews

20
04
ABYSS X
Pleasures Of The Bull
19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle
15
04
PSY'AVIAH
Lightflare

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
04
The Mexican-German band Rabia Sorda has recorded its hardest album to date “The World Ends Today
21
04
Christina Plays Viola teaser for upcoming EP
16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'
15
04
Vogue.Noir release Strange.Days
14
04
Mourners release their first songs!
13
04
Empirion sign with Dependent

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’
20
04
ADAM USI
You know, art, music and visuals are the package, they are one big thing, they belong to each other. I try to find the jigsaw pieces to paint a all in all picture.
17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
04
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Lips Like Sugar
23
04
HOW TO DESTROY ANGELS
The Space In Between
22
04
NINE INCH NAILS
Only
21
04
HUMINOIDA
Ghosts on Photos
21
04
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
20
04
MIDAS FALL
Glue
19
04
0KONTROL
Limbo