tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd single review

09/12/2016 : MONICA JEFFRIES - In Circles EP

MONICA JEFFRIES

In Circles EP

MusicCD single
ElectronicsSynthpop

[72/100]   
09/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

Loyal Peek-A-Boo readers know Monica Jeffries, the Polish artist who relocated to Hamburg, the city with the vivid music scene in northern Germany. In anticipation of her full album that will be released in the course of 2016, we found her In Circles EP in our mailbox. I would preferably call it a single. Next to the original In Circles track, there's also a remix and an acoustic version of this song.

This so called EP dates from March 2015 and was released about half a year after the Old Demons EP that I also reviewed on these pages. This Old Demons EP contained a nice cover version of Surrender No Resistance (Absolute Body Control) and was a fairly good record, but to distinguish it from the numerous synthpop projects and to be labeled "recommandable" it lacked sharpness. In Circles seems to sound tougher.

The original In Circles track does sound more haunting than her previous song material. The track is built with droning synths and some industrial sounds. The In Cirlces Rayaties Remix is more dance floor orientated. The beats sound more prominent. But In Circles (acoustic version) is less successful. As usual in acoustic versions, the focus is more on the vocals. Monica's voice passes the test, but the actual song remains barely upright.

Those who want to see Monica Jeffries live can do this on April 9th in Sittard, where Monica is programmed next to Agent Side Grinder and Grausame Töchter.

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


NL

Trouwe Peek-A-Boo-lezers hebben al kennis gemaakt met Monica Jeffries, de knappe blondine van Poolse origine, die zich in de Noord-Duitse stad Hamburg met haar levendige muziekscene vestigde. In afwachting van haar in de loop van 2016 te verschijnen full album, vonden we haar ep In Circles in onze mailbox. Het is eerder een single waarop naast het originele In Circles ook nog een remix en een akoestische versie van die song te vinden zijn.

Deze zogenaamde ep dateert al van maart 2015 en verscheen dus ongeveer een half jaar na de ep Old Demons, die ik ook besprak op deze pagina's. Wat er te horen viel op Old Demons - die ook een aangename cover van Surrender No Resistance (Absolute Body Control) bevat - was best wel aardig, maar om zich te onderscheiden van de talrijke synthpopprojecten en het stempel "aanbevolen" te krijgen, diende Monica straffer uit de hoek te komen. En In Circles klinkt wel degelijk straffer dan haar voorgaande prodcuctie.

De originele In Circles-song klinkt alleszins dreigender dan het materiaal op Old Demons. De track is opgebouwd met dreunende synths en heerlijk industrieel aandoende klanken. De In Circles Rayatis Remix is meer gericht op de dansvloer. De beats zijn nadrukkerlijker aanwezig. In Circles (acoustic version) is echter minder geslaagd. Zoals gebruikelijk in akoestische versies, ligt de nadruk meer op de vocalen. Monica's stem doorstaat de test, maar van de eigenlijke song blijft amper wat overeind.

Zij die Monica Jeffries live aan het werk willen zien, kunnen zich op zaterdag 9 april naar Sittard begeven. Monica staat er geprogrammeerd met het Zweedse Agent Side Grinder en Grausame Töchter.

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


Music reviews

15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth
20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...
14
02
Today, exactly 40 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
13
02
In The Light | Happy Birthday Peter Hook!
12
02
Producer/composer Phil Western (Download/PlatEAU/...) passed way on Saturday 9 February.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'

PHOTOS

10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules
11
02
SLOVENSKA TELEVIZA
Muskiz
11
02
ALVAR
The Fluid