tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd single review

09/12/2016 : MONICA JEFFRIES - In Circles EP

MONICA JEFFRIES

In Circles EP

MusicCD single
ElectronicsSynthpop

[72/100]   
09/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

Loyal Peek-A-Boo readers know Monica Jeffries, the Polish artist who relocated to Hamburg, the city with the vivid music scene in northern Germany. In anticipation of her full album that will be released in the course of 2016, we found her In Circles EP in our mailbox. I would preferably call it a single. Next to the original In Circles track, there's also a remix and an acoustic version of this song.

This so called EP dates from March 2015 and was released about half a year after the Old Demons EP that I also reviewed on these pages. This Old Demons EP contained a nice cover version of Surrender No Resistance (Absolute Body Control) and was a fairly good record, but to distinguish it from the numerous synthpop projects and to be labeled "recommandable" it lacked sharpness. In Circles seems to sound tougher.

The original In Circles track does sound more haunting than her previous song material. The track is built with droning synths and some industrial sounds. The In Cirlces Rayaties Remix is more dance floor orientated. The beats sound more prominent. But In Circles (acoustic version) is less successful. As usual in acoustic versions, the focus is more on the vocals. Monica's voice passes the test, but the actual song remains barely upright.

Those who want to see Monica Jeffries live can do this on April 9th in Sittard, where Monica is programmed next to Agent Side Grinder and Grausame Töchter.

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


NL

Trouwe Peek-A-Boo-lezers hebben al kennis gemaakt met Monica Jeffries, de knappe blondine van Poolse origine, die zich in de Noord-Duitse stad Hamburg met haar levendige muziekscene vestigde. In afwachting van haar in de loop van 2016 te verschijnen full album, vonden we haar ep In Circles in onze mailbox. Het is eerder een single waarop naast het originele In Circles ook nog een remix en een akoestische versie van die song te vinden zijn.

Deze zogenaamde ep dateert al van maart 2015 en verscheen dus ongeveer een half jaar na de ep Old Demons, die ik ook besprak op deze pagina's. Wat er te horen viel op Old Demons - die ook een aangename cover van Surrender No Resistance (Absolute Body Control) bevat - was best wel aardig, maar om zich te onderscheiden van de talrijke synthpopprojecten en het stempel "aanbevolen" te krijgen, diende Monica straffer uit de hoek te komen. En In Circles klinkt wel degelijk straffer dan haar voorgaande prodcuctie.

De originele In Circles-song klinkt alleszins dreigender dan het materiaal op Old Demons. De track is opgebouwd met dreunende synths en heerlijk industrieel aandoende klanken. De In Circles Rayatis Remix is meer gericht op de dansvloer. De beats zijn nadrukkerlijker aanwezig. In Circles (acoustic version) is echter minder geslaagd. Zoals gebruikelijk in akoestische versies, ligt de nadruk meer op de vocalen. Monica's stem doorstaat de test, maar van de eigenlijke song blijft amper wat overeind.

Zij die Monica Jeffries live aan het werk willen zien, kunnen zich op zaterdag 9 april naar Sittard begeven. Monica staat er geprogrammeerd met het Zweedse Agent Side Grinder en Grausame Töchter.

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
06
RUMOURS
Cover
19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane