tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : REMAIN IN SILENCE - ...And The Soul Goes On

REMAIN IN SILENCE

...And The Soul Goes On

MusicCD
Dark Wave

[76/100]   

MIG Music
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Does anyone remember Remain In Silence? Of course it helps if you are a specialist in dark wave, because this band was already founded in 1983 (yes!) by Buchwald and Gimpel. With albums like Seven Rooms and Monument, Remain In Silence was one of the pioneers of the German dark wave scene.

Everything was going well until the third record. When This Is The Place Where Resistance Got Lost was released, the record label (Bad Records) had financial problems. The band officially never split up, but only played at rare occasions, and in the end the duo fell into oblivion.

Until two years ago, when Dead Wax Records rediscovered their old releases, which got the band again some attention by old, but especially new fans. After a Spanish tour, the two German musicians decided to re-enter the studio, and the result can be heard on this fourth album.

Of course it has something to do with the deep voice of Gimpel, but Remain In Silence reminds me often of Deine Lakaien. You recognize the same drama, but it never sounds pompous.

... And The Soul Goes On is a record that needs some spins. What you do not hear the first time, lingers in your head after a few listens. It is not all that innovative (though this dark wave has a contemporary style), but anyone who loves bands like In My Rosary or Silke Bischoff, certainly will be happy with this one.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger