tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd single review

09/12/2016 : EISFABRIK - Walking Towards The Sun

EISFABRIK

Walking Towards The Sun

MusicCD single
Dark ElectroEBMElectro PopFuture Pop

[84/100]   

No Cut
09/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Imagine: 32° Celsius in the shade and it is snowing! According to Eisfabrik, that’s no error in the system or a result of global warming, but simply the band's passage. Eisfabrik is an art project formed by the protagonists Dr. Schnee, Frost and Calsius. The band balances between dark electro and future pop. They played as support of icons like Project Pitchfork and Mono Inc. Anyway, No Cut label releases the new EP Walking Towards The Sun.

Walking Towards The Sun is the most danceable song on the CD Eisplanet which is released at the end of 2015, with some remixes of the song on top of it.

The track immediately starts with a danceable beat, which is likely to cause crowded dancefloors in the scene. The structure of the song is harmonious and melodious. The vocals are future pop, the sound goes from dark to EBM and the pace never slows down, at the contrary.

The first remix is ​​by Project Pitchfork. Peter's voice brings Pitchfork’s individuality in the song, which musically comes quite close to the original, but is a little darker.

The Hell Boulevard Version gets an aggressive, heavily distorted guitar version in between. It’s a very idiosyncratic interpretation with great strings and some violins.

The Solar Mix is ​​again totally different. The vocals are colder. Totally danceable, no thumping rhythm section, more subdued. This version grabs you by the throat and is dark as the night with a lunar eclipse. Good job!

Cry For You (Frosty's Minimix) has some minimal sounds. This track tends more towards dark wave and dark electro, but with a poppy side.

Eisfabrik is a great single (in fact an EP with all those remixes). Hope they will continue like this, and I surely like to see them on stage too.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
09/12/2016


NL

Stel je voor: 32° Celsius in de schaduw en het sneeuwt? Dat is volgens de heren van Eisfabrik geen fout in het systeem, noch een gevolg van de opwarming van de aarde, maar gewoon het gevolg van hun passage. Van kilte gesproken! Eisfabrik is een op zich staand kunstproject met als protagonisten Dr. Schnee, Frost en Calsius. De band balanceert op het koord tussen darkelectro en futurepop. Ze speelden al in het voorprogramma van iconen als Project Pitchfork en Mono Inc. Anyway, op het label No Cut verschijnt de nieuwe ep Walking Towards The Sun.

Walking Towards The Sun is het meest dansbare nummer op hun cd Eisplanet, die eind 2015 verscheen. En we krijgen daar een aantal remixen van de song bovenop.

De track start meteen met een dansbare beat die menige dansvloer in de scène vol zal laten lopen. De opbouw van de song is harmonieus en melodieus. De zang is futurepop, de klank gaat van donker tot EBM en het tempo versaagt niet, wel integendeel. Het geheel is vrij toegankelijk, wat ook eigen is aan het genre dat de band brengt.

Een eerste remix is van de hand van Project Pitchfork. Peters stem brengt de eigenheid van Pitchfork in de song, die muzikaal gezien vrij dicht bij het origineel aanleunt. Het geheel klinkt wel iets donkerder.

De Hell Boulevard Version gooit er een agressieve, zwaar overstuurde gitaarversie tussendoor. Een heel knappe eigenzinnige interpretatie met knap snarenwerk en halverwege een heel ingetogen passage met violen.

De Solar Mix is weer totaal iets anders. Vocaal klinkt deze track heel kil, meer 'Eis' dan in het originele nummer. Totaal niet dansbaar, geen dreunende ritmesectie, maar de song kabbelt ingetogen uit de speakers. Deze versie pakt je vrij snel bij de strot en is donker als een nacht met maansverduistering. Knap werk!

Cry For You (Frosty's Minimix) is een song die wat killer klinkt, wat vooral te wijten is aan de meer hoekige en minimale klanken. Deze track gaat meer richting darkwave en darkelectro, hoewel hij nog altijd een poppie kantje heeft.

Eisfabrik levert een mooie single (en bij uitbreiding met de remixes een ep) af, met een knappe single en evenveel knappe remixes. De heren mogen gerust doorgaan op dit elan en dat wat mij betreft ook hier op een podium brengen

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : EISFABRIK - Walking Towards The Sun 09/12/2016 : EISFABRIK - Walking Towards The Sun 09/12/2016 : EISFABRIK - Walking Towards The Sun

 

Next reviews
LAVVI EBBEL • Wir Schaffen Das!
AEON SABLE • Hypaerion
FIELDS OF TROY • Hardship
ANTIMATTER • Zoetermeer, De Boerderij (25/03/2016)
AHRAYEPH • Desert Songs
ROUGGE • Monochrome
• Black Easter Day 1: an impression
ARQUETTES • Yiss Yiss
KRISTOFFER GILDENLöW • The Rain
HEAVEN FALLS HARD • 20 Years of Tears 1993-2013

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
MIREXXX • Vault
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
SADOMANCER • Dystopian Dawn
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds

 

Same genre: EBM
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
NEGANT • No !
STRUCK9 • Ritual Body Music
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
LADYTRON • Ladytron
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
SINESTAR • Evolve
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy
ALPHAMAY • Twisted Lines
RECTOR SCANNER • Herzschlag

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl