tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : PARRALOX - Wildlife

PARRALOX

Wildlife

MusicCD
Future PopSynthpop

[75/100]   

Conzoom
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

I can think of a thousand reasons why I'm not fond of remix albums, perhaps it is mainly due to the fact that they all sound a bit annoying. You know, every time the same track with a beat more or less.

This month, Conzoom Records released the album Aeronaut of Parralox, which is the musical project of the Melbourne-based John von Ahlen. Some tracks from that album are presented in a club version now. This CD almost lasts eighty minutes. So long, and yet the CD doesn’t bore one minute and that has much to do with the diversity of the material. But what is it exactly? Is it synth pop or future pop? In all fairness, I do not know. Somebody II includes the thumping beats of Covenant, but Wildlife is just New Romantics at its best... or say Duran Duran!

What makes Parralox so special, is the cheerfulness of the songs. Although John is looking for inspiration from the big names (from Mesh to And One), it just feels like if you’re listening to (perfect) pop. And yes, in an ideal world, this kind of tracks would make it to the charts. But it seems times have changed...

Future pop, retro pop, synth pop... or whatever: this is pop, and how!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Ik kan wel duizend redenen verzinnen waarom ik niet zo tuk ben op remixalbums, wellicht is het hoofdzakelijk te wijten aan het feit dat ze een tikkeltje vervelend zijn. Je weet wel, telkens weer datzelfde liedje met een beat meer of minder.

Deze maand kwam op Conzoom Records het album Aeronaut van Parralox uit, het muzikale project van de uit Melbourne afkomstige John von Ahlen. Een aantal tracks daaruit krijgen een clubbewerking en die vind je allemaal op deze cd terug, die net geen tachtig minuten duurt. Zo lang, jawel, en toch verveelt de cd geen minuut en dat heeft veel te maken met de diversiteit die Parralox je aanbiedt. Want tja, wat is het nu? Is het synthpop of futurepop? Eerlijkheidshalve zou ik het zelf niet weten. Zo heeft bijv. Somebody II wel de bonkende beats van Covenant, maar Wildlife is eigenlijk gewoon new romantics op zijn best…of zeg maar gewoon Duran Duran!

Wat vooral opvalt aan de muziek van Parralox is de opgewekte sfeer die de songs uitstralen. Ook al haalt John de mosterd bij de grote namen (van Mesh tot And One), klinkt het net alsof je naar (perfecte) originele pop luistert. En jawel, in een ideale wereld zouden dit soort tracks het tot in de hoogste regionen van de hitparade kunnen schoppen. Futurepop, retropop, synthpop…of wat dan ook: dit is pop, en hoe!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless