tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : PARRALOX - Wildlife

PARRALOX

Wildlife

MusicCD
Future PopSynthpop

[75/100]   

Conzoom
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

I can think of a thousand reasons why I'm not fond of remix albums, perhaps it is mainly due to the fact that they all sound a bit annoying. You know, every time the same track with a beat more or less.

This month, Conzoom Records released the album Aeronaut of Parralox, which is the musical project of the Melbourne-based John von Ahlen. Some tracks from that album are presented in a club version now. This CD almost lasts eighty minutes. So long, and yet the CD doesn’t bore one minute and that has much to do with the diversity of the material. But what is it exactly? Is it synth pop or future pop? In all fairness, I do not know. Somebody II includes the thumping beats of Covenant, but Wildlife is just New Romantics at its best... or say Duran Duran!

What makes Parralox so special, is the cheerfulness of the songs. Although John is looking for inspiration from the big names (from Mesh to And One), it just feels like if you’re listening to (perfect) pop. And yes, in an ideal world, this kind of tracks would make it to the charts. But it seems times have changed...

Future pop, retro pop, synth pop... or whatever: this is pop, and how!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Ik kan wel duizend redenen verzinnen waarom ik niet zo tuk ben op remixalbums, wellicht is het hoofdzakelijk te wijten aan het feit dat ze een tikkeltje vervelend zijn. Je weet wel, telkens weer datzelfde liedje met een beat meer of minder.

Deze maand kwam op Conzoom Records het album Aeronaut van Parralox uit, het muzikale project van de uit Melbourne afkomstige John von Ahlen. Een aantal tracks daaruit krijgen een clubbewerking en die vind je allemaal op deze cd terug, die net geen tachtig minuten duurt. Zo lang, jawel, en toch verveelt de cd geen minuut en dat heeft veel te maken met de diversiteit die Parralox je aanbiedt. Want tja, wat is het nu? Is het synthpop of futurepop? Eerlijkheidshalve zou ik het zelf niet weten. Zo heeft bijv. Somebody II wel de bonkende beats van Covenant, maar Wildlife is eigenlijk gewoon new romantics op zijn best…of zeg maar gewoon Duran Duran!

Wat vooral opvalt aan de muziek van Parralox is de opgewekte sfeer die de songs uitstralen. Ook al haalt John de mosterd bij de grote namen (van Mesh tot And One), klinkt het net alsof je naar (perfecte) originele pop luistert. En jawel, in een ideale wereld zouden dit soort tracks het tot in de hoogste regionen van de hitparade kunnen schoppen. Futurepop, retropop, synthpop…of wat dan ook: dit is pop, en hoe!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS
06
01
KMFDM
Paradise

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary
15
01
This month 48 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
11
01
On this day 35 years ago, Nina Hagen performed in front of 1,5 million people on the first edition of world’s biggest festivals Rock in Rio (Brazil).
10
01
Lair Of The Dark Prince | Lou Reed's New York At 31
10
01
20 years 'Into The Void'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.
11
01
CHRIS HASKETT (ROLLINS BAND)
'Musicians are more like radios that occasionally pick up and reproduce things from the cosmos.'
10
01
EVA - X
An Interview With Synthpop Act EVA - X

PHOTOS

26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest
26
12
REIN
Bimfest
26
12
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
bimfest
26
12
STURM CAFE
bimfest
26
12
RADERKRAFT
bimfest
26
12
ZWEITE JUGEND
Bimfest
26
12
ENZO KREFT
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
14
01
JANE'S ADDICTION
Been Caught Stealing
13
01
VOK
Waterfall
12
01
KLANGSTABIL
You may start