tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : PARRALOX - Wildlife

PARRALOX

Wildlife

MusicCD
Future PopSynthpop

[75/100]   

Conzoom
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

I can think of a thousand reasons why I'm not fond of remix albums, perhaps it is mainly due to the fact that they all sound a bit annoying. You know, every time the same track with a beat more or less.

This month, Conzoom Records released the album Aeronaut of Parralox, which is the musical project of the Melbourne-based John von Ahlen. Some tracks from that album are presented in a club version now. This CD almost lasts eighty minutes. So long, and yet the CD doesn’t bore one minute and that has much to do with the diversity of the material. But what is it exactly? Is it synth pop or future pop? In all fairness, I do not know. Somebody II includes the thumping beats of Covenant, but Wildlife is just New Romantics at its best... or say Duran Duran!

What makes Parralox so special, is the cheerfulness of the songs. Although John is looking for inspiration from the big names (from Mesh to And One), it just feels like if you’re listening to (perfect) pop. And yes, in an ideal world, this kind of tracks would make it to the charts. But it seems times have changed...

Future pop, retro pop, synth pop... or whatever: this is pop, and how!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Ik kan wel duizend redenen verzinnen waarom ik niet zo tuk ben op remixalbums, wellicht is het hoofdzakelijk te wijten aan het feit dat ze een tikkeltje vervelend zijn. Je weet wel, telkens weer datzelfde liedje met een beat meer of minder.

Deze maand kwam op Conzoom Records het album Aeronaut van Parralox uit, het muzikale project van de uit Melbourne afkomstige John von Ahlen. Een aantal tracks daaruit krijgen een clubbewerking en die vind je allemaal op deze cd terug, die net geen tachtig minuten duurt. Zo lang, jawel, en toch verveelt de cd geen minuut en dat heeft veel te maken met de diversiteit die Parralox je aanbiedt. Want tja, wat is het nu? Is het synthpop of futurepop? Eerlijkheidshalve zou ik het zelf niet weten. Zo heeft bijv. Somebody II wel de bonkende beats van Covenant, maar Wildlife is eigenlijk gewoon new romantics op zijn best…of zeg maar gewoon Duran Duran!

Wat vooral opvalt aan de muziek van Parralox is de opgewekte sfeer die de songs uitstralen. Ook al haalt John de mosterd bij de grote namen (van Mesh tot And One), klinkt het net alsof je naar (perfecte) originele pop luistert. En jawel, in een ideale wereld zouden dit soort tracks het tot in de hoogste regionen van de hitparade kunnen schoppen. Futurepop, retropop, synthpop…of wat dan ook: dit is pop, en hoe!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi
01
08
SOLAR FAKE
Amphi
01
08
GRENDEL
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
14
08
ASHRAM
Maria and the violin's string
13
08
DAVEY SUICIDE
Rise Above
12
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Sanri
11
08
DULAC
Nocturne (Official Music Video)
10
08
NENA
Fragezeichen
09
08
ESSAIE PAS
Lights Out