tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : PARRALOX - Wildlife

PARRALOX

Wildlife

MusicCD
Future PopSynthpop

[75/100]   

Conzoom
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

I can think of a thousand reasons why I'm not fond of remix albums, perhaps it is mainly due to the fact that they all sound a bit annoying. You know, every time the same track with a beat more or less.

This month, Conzoom Records released the album Aeronaut of Parralox, which is the musical project of the Melbourne-based John von Ahlen. Some tracks from that album are presented in a club version now. This CD almost lasts eighty minutes. So long, and yet the CD doesn’t bore one minute and that has much to do with the diversity of the material. But what is it exactly? Is it synth pop or future pop? In all fairness, I do not know. Somebody II includes the thumping beats of Covenant, but Wildlife is just New Romantics at its best... or say Duran Duran!

What makes Parralox so special, is the cheerfulness of the songs. Although John is looking for inspiration from the big names (from Mesh to And One), it just feels like if you’re listening to (perfect) pop. And yes, in an ideal world, this kind of tracks would make it to the charts. But it seems times have changed...

Future pop, retro pop, synth pop... or whatever: this is pop, and how!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Ik kan wel duizend redenen verzinnen waarom ik niet zo tuk ben op remixalbums, wellicht is het hoofdzakelijk te wijten aan het feit dat ze een tikkeltje vervelend zijn. Je weet wel, telkens weer datzelfde liedje met een beat meer of minder.

Deze maand kwam op Conzoom Records het album Aeronaut van Parralox uit, het muzikale project van de uit Melbourne afkomstige John von Ahlen. Een aantal tracks daaruit krijgen een clubbewerking en die vind je allemaal op deze cd terug, die net geen tachtig minuten duurt. Zo lang, jawel, en toch verveelt de cd geen minuut en dat heeft veel te maken met de diversiteit die Parralox je aanbiedt. Want tja, wat is het nu? Is het synthpop of futurepop? Eerlijkheidshalve zou ik het zelf niet weten. Zo heeft bijv. Somebody II wel de bonkende beats van Covenant, maar Wildlife is eigenlijk gewoon new romantics op zijn best…of zeg maar gewoon Duran Duran!

Wat vooral opvalt aan de muziek van Parralox is de opgewekte sfeer die de songs uitstralen. Ook al haalt John de mosterd bij de grote namen (van Mesh tot And One), klinkt het net alsof je naar (perfecte) originele pop luistert. En jawel, in een ideale wereld zouden dit soort tracks het tot in de hoogste regionen van de hitparade kunnen schoppen. Futurepop, retropop, synthpop…of wat dan ook: dit is pop, en hoe!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

22
10
VEDA RAYS
For The Rest To Rest
20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
10
DAVID J
Interview with David J
20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!

PHOTOS

23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
10
CRASH COURSE IN SCIENCE
Flying Turns (Live @ BIM 2009)
22
10
ADULT.
Heartbreak (Live @ MOOGFEST SOUND LAB)
21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?