tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : PARRALOX - Wildlife

PARRALOX

Wildlife

MusicCD
Future PopSynthpop

[75/100]   

Conzoom
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

I can think of a thousand reasons why I'm not fond of remix albums, perhaps it is mainly due to the fact that they all sound a bit annoying. You know, every time the same track with a beat more or less.

This month, Conzoom Records released the album Aeronaut of Parralox, which is the musical project of the Melbourne-based John von Ahlen. Some tracks from that album are presented in a club version now. This CD almost lasts eighty minutes. So long, and yet the CD doesn’t bore one minute and that has much to do with the diversity of the material. But what is it exactly? Is it synth pop or future pop? In all fairness, I do not know. Somebody II includes the thumping beats of Covenant, but Wildlife is just New Romantics at its best... or say Duran Duran!

What makes Parralox so special, is the cheerfulness of the songs. Although John is looking for inspiration from the big names (from Mesh to And One), it just feels like if you’re listening to (perfect) pop. And yes, in an ideal world, this kind of tracks would make it to the charts. But it seems times have changed...

Future pop, retro pop, synth pop... or whatever: this is pop, and how!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Ik kan wel duizend redenen verzinnen waarom ik niet zo tuk ben op remixalbums, wellicht is het hoofdzakelijk te wijten aan het feit dat ze een tikkeltje vervelend zijn. Je weet wel, telkens weer datzelfde liedje met een beat meer of minder.

Deze maand kwam op Conzoom Records het album Aeronaut van Parralox uit, het muzikale project van de uit Melbourne afkomstige John von Ahlen. Een aantal tracks daaruit krijgen een clubbewerking en die vind je allemaal op deze cd terug, die net geen tachtig minuten duurt. Zo lang, jawel, en toch verveelt de cd geen minuut en dat heeft veel te maken met de diversiteit die Parralox je aanbiedt. Want tja, wat is het nu? Is het synthpop of futurepop? Eerlijkheidshalve zou ik het zelf niet weten. Zo heeft bijv. Somebody II wel de bonkende beats van Covenant, maar Wildlife is eigenlijk gewoon new romantics op zijn best…of zeg maar gewoon Duran Duran!

Wat vooral opvalt aan de muziek van Parralox is de opgewekte sfeer die de songs uitstralen. Ook al haalt John de mosterd bij de grote namen (van Mesh tot And One), klinkt het net alsof je naar (perfecte) originele pop luistert. En jawel, in een ideale wereld zouden dit soort tracks het tot in de hoogste regionen van de hitparade kunnen schoppen. Futurepop, retropop, synthpop…of wat dan ook: dit is pop, en hoe!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

16
10
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Chance Versus Causality
16
10
MASSIVE ATTACK
Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
15
10
DAVID J HASKINS
Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
15
10
ARMSTRONG
Under Blue Skies
14
10
MOONLIGHT MEADOW
Moonlight Meadow
14
10
IN DEED
Everest - Expanded Edition

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold
11
10
BALTIMORE
Sunglasses