tempobet yeni adresi

16/04/2017 : PARRALOX - Subculture

PARRALOX

Subculture

MusicCD
PopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[75/100]   

Conzoom
16/04/2017, Charles “Chuck” MOORHOUSE

Aeronaut this is not. Moving farther from the comparisons to the likes of Depeche Mode, Anything Box and Human League and closer to traditional disco, like Gloria Gaynor and Thelma Houston (which can be a good thing, a la Bronski Beat) comes Parralox with their latest release, Subculture. If you are looking for some pep in your step in lieu of the usual stomp in your stride; or if your cup of tea includes heaping tablespoons of artificial sweetener, this dripping sweet and soulfully upbeat release could be for you. I would skip the sweet stuff up front and start halfway through, after the album has begun its transition towards more of an ode to the synthpop pioneers of the 80s. Subculture starts more like mainstream-culture when “Paradise" unabashedly opens like the backing track to a caribbean cruise line commercial - fade to leather-faced South Floridians sipping mimosas from gold-rimmed goblets, strolling across sun-drenched marble floors past faux palm trees and slot machines. Then "Electric Nights" comes dancing right out of the Birdcage before "Key to Heaven" taps into Madonna’s lost 45s. "Give Back My Love" initially hits a little harder, giving rise to an expectation of something a little more substantial and less vanilla, before the pastel vocals wash that hope away and carry you down stream to a tacky modern art exhibition filled with pretentious poseurs - this time sipping manhattans under a filtered blue light.

That said, "Change of Heart" stands out and marks the starting point for the transition away from the sands of South Beach. While still poppy, very poppy, it’s melody soars above a relentlessly driving beat that powers through each synth breakdown and across each of the many bridges. The tale of two sides emerge further with "A Question of Love." It is reminiscent of an LP age when it was not uncommon for Side A to carry a much different attitude than Side B. It’s slower, groovier and decidedly less shiny-bright than the first half of the album. A nice duet between Louis Love and main man, John von Ahlen, who sounds like he’s channelling his best Dave Gahan, helps carry this track. Their voices merge quite nicely and starkly resonate on the solo portions. This song even has a nice “80s horn solo”-esque interlude. Industrial samples on Pressure Point and less optimistic, party influenced lyrics continue the real-life aspect of the latter half of this release. Overdrive, another duet, is a synthpop song that encourages us to “find the things that you like, … make it real, the change in your life, then your soul will be revealing.” It’s a pure saccharine, two-dimensional sound with banal lyrics. “Feel the magic, never tragic. Feel the passion. It’s a fashion.” The tragedy is the falsetto that follows. The chanting intro to "Last Year at Marienbad" despite the deeper tone of male vocals - like a throw back to Human League's call and response (think “… until the sun went down … “) gets us back onto our milquetoast disco excursion that started us off.

Here, I took a detour myself to pull out the Human League, ABC, Heaven 17 and OMD CDs from the trunk. I wanted to cleanse the palate to see if, perhaps, I wasn’t giving Subculture enough benefit of the doubt. Returning to "Voyager II" I indeed heard a more space-aged, textured, less voyeuristic, more subtle approach that did remind me more of its forebears (maybe owing to using Human League’s synths and bass player). Steady synths and a steady baseline make the new sound old again, in a good way. "Rocket Science" kept that vibe going - a soundtrack for a montage in a 2017 remake of a John Hughes movie. “86G" fades the album out over three minutes and forty seven seconds of audio performance art. Clearly, the “Side B” of Subculture has more substance and texture than the sunbaked afternoon marina party of Side A.

Touted by the label as the successors to all of the aforementioned first wave of new wave / synthpop, Parralox’s Subculture doesn’t quite live up to the billing. It’s too bright but it finishes strong and might just liven up your next outdoor cocktail party.

Charles “Chuck” MOORHOUSE
16/04/2017


 

Next reviews
DURBUY ROCK • New Model Army loves a hopeless cause... | Durbuy, Belgium | 08.04.2017
JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS • The Machine
DIVE • Underneath
MOEBIUS • Musik Fur Metropolis
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
LUDUS • Nue au Soleil (Completement)
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN • Damage and Joy
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN • Some postpunk, indie, coldwave bands to discover at WGT 2017 (Leipzig, D)

 

Other reviews from PARRALOX
PARRALOX • Wildlife

 

Same combination of genres: POP + SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
CAISARON • Reflection
EMOTIKON • Two Of A Kind
NINA K. • On Ice
TRUE ZEBRA • True Zebra
ERASURE • Tomorrow's World (Deluxe Edition)
CELLULOIDE • Ordinosaure
WELLE:ERDBALL • Der Kalte Krieg
SILENT CIRCLE • No 1
SECTION 25 • Invicta EP
CHILDREN WITHIN • Spotlight

 

Same genre: POP
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SPECTRA PARIS • Retromachine Betty
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
DICEPEOPLE • Synthetic
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)
COVENANT • The Blinding Dark
BEBORN BETON • She Cried
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'

Music reviews

22
09
CULT WITH NO NAME
Heir Of The Dog
20
09
THE NAMES
German Nights
18
09
SPARKS
Hippopotamus
16
09
SPARE SNARE
Unicorn
14
09
SPREADING POINT
MOMENTUM - PART II
04
09
HEXHEART
Midnight on a Moonless Night

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
09
The Knife releases new live album & DVD 'Live at Terminal 5
16
09
LA SCALTRA releases first video single from the forthcoming album FREAKSHOW
15
09
Mortiis releases a free 3-track charity single “Too Little Too Late'
13
09
New album from Electronica project MAURI - 'CYBORGS'
07
09
CAN founder and musician Holger Czukay died at the age of 79
30
08
WAX TRAX! EXPANDS MUSIC DOCUMENTARY WITH SO-CAL EVENT

Concert reviews

27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni
26
06
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH
Zaterdag 3 juni
26
06
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON
Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
26
06
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND
WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller
26
06
KRYONIX, SYNTHATTACK, BLEIB MODERN, WHISPERING SONS, THE VISION BLEAK
Zondag 4 juni

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
THE WEATHERMEN
The inside story of how The Weathermen's big hit 'Poison' was made...
19
09
MARTYR WHORE
''as a lady orgasm multiply times by 100000000000000'. This night was a big surprise cause we were not programmed in the line up in Madrid'
17
09
VERSUS
‘TO PRODUCE A COMMERCIAL ALBUM WAS NEVER OUR INTENTION’
15
09
MASQUERADE
It's too difficult as it is to tour these days when people prefer to stay at home and watch videos from the 80's on YouTube
13
09
THE QUINSY
Each concert is unique. But we are famous for our powerful gigs

PHOTOS

23
09
MECHANICAL CABARET
The Garage, London, UK
22
09
LEBANON HANOVER
The Garage, London, UK
22
09
SHE PAST AWAY
The Garage, London, UK
13
09
KMFDM
O2 Academy Islington, London, UK
12
09
REVOLTING COCKS
O2 Academy Islington, London, UK
28
08
DIE KRUPPS
De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
28
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
DAVID BOWIE
Blackstar
22
09
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust
21
09
THE CURE
The Lovecats
20
09
IAMX
North Star
19
09
TRAIN TO SPAIN
Believe In Love
18
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
17
09
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn