tempobet yeni adresi

16/04/2017 : PARRALOX - Subculture

PARRALOX

Subculture

MusicCD
PopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[75/100]   

Conzoom
16/04/2017, Charles “Chuck” MOORHOUSE

Aeronaut this is not. Moving farther from the comparisons to the likes of Depeche Mode, Anything Box and Human League and closer to traditional disco, like Gloria Gaynor and Thelma Houston (which can be a good thing, a la Bronski Beat) comes Parralox with their latest release, Subculture. If you are looking for some pep in your step in lieu of the usual stomp in your stride; or if your cup of tea includes heaping tablespoons of artificial sweetener, this dripping sweet and soulfully upbeat release could be for you. I would skip the sweet stuff up front and start halfway through, after the album has begun its transition towards more of an ode to the synthpop pioneers of the 80s. Subculture starts more like mainstream-culture when “Paradise" unabashedly opens like the backing track to a caribbean cruise line commercial - fade to leather-faced South Floridians sipping mimosas from gold-rimmed goblets, strolling across sun-drenched marble floors past faux palm trees and slot machines. Then "Electric Nights" comes dancing right out of the Birdcage before "Key to Heaven" taps into Madonna’s lost 45s. "Give Back My Love" initially hits a little harder, giving rise to an expectation of something a little more substantial and less vanilla, before the pastel vocals wash that hope away and carry you down stream to a tacky modern art exhibition filled with pretentious poseurs - this time sipping manhattans under a filtered blue light.

That said, "Change of Heart" stands out and marks the starting point for the transition away from the sands of South Beach. While still poppy, very poppy, it’s melody soars above a relentlessly driving beat that powers through each synth breakdown and across each of the many bridges. The tale of two sides emerge further with "A Question of Love." It is reminiscent of an LP age when it was not uncommon for Side A to carry a much different attitude than Side B. It’s slower, groovier and decidedly less shiny-bright than the first half of the album. A nice duet between Louis Love and main man, John von Ahlen, who sounds like he’s channelling his best Dave Gahan, helps carry this track. Their voices merge quite nicely and starkly resonate on the solo portions. This song even has a nice “80s horn solo”-esque interlude. Industrial samples on Pressure Point and less optimistic, party influenced lyrics continue the real-life aspect of the latter half of this release. Overdrive, another duet, is a synthpop song that encourages us to “find the things that you like, … make it real, the change in your life, then your soul will be revealing.” It’s a pure saccharine, two-dimensional sound with banal lyrics. “Feel the magic, never tragic. Feel the passion. It’s a fashion.” The tragedy is the falsetto that follows. The chanting intro to "Last Year at Marienbad" despite the deeper tone of male vocals - like a throw back to Human League's call and response (think “… until the sun went down … “) gets us back onto our milquetoast disco excursion that started us off.

Here, I took a detour myself to pull out the Human League, ABC, Heaven 17 and OMD CDs from the trunk. I wanted to cleanse the palate to see if, perhaps, I wasn’t giving Subculture enough benefit of the doubt. Returning to "Voyager II" I indeed heard a more space-aged, textured, less voyeuristic, more subtle approach that did remind me more of its forebears (maybe owing to using Human League’s synths and bass player). Steady synths and a steady baseline make the new sound old again, in a good way. "Rocket Science" kept that vibe going - a soundtrack for a montage in a 2017 remake of a John Hughes movie. “86G" fades the album out over three minutes and forty seven seconds of audio performance art. Clearly, the “Side B” of Subculture has more substance and texture than the sunbaked afternoon marina party of Side A.

Touted by the label as the successors to all of the aforementioned first wave of new wave / synthpop, Parralox’s Subculture doesn’t quite live up to the billing. It’s too bright but it finishes strong and might just liven up your next outdoor cocktail party.

Charles “Chuck” MOORHOUSE
16/04/2017


 

Next reviews
DURBUY ROCK • New Model Army loves a hopeless cause... | Durbuy, Belgium | 08.04.2017
JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS • The Machine
DIVE • Underneath
MOEBIUS • Musik Fur Metropolis
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
LUDUS • Nue au Soleil (Completement)
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN • Damage and Joy
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN • Some postpunk, indie, coldwave bands to discover at WGT 2017 (Leipzig, D)

 

Other reviews from PARRALOX
PARRALOX • Wildlife

 

Same combination of genres: POP + SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
CAISARON • Reflection
EMOTIKON • Two Of A Kind
NINA K. • On Ice
TRUE ZEBRA • True Zebra
ERASURE • Tomorrow's World (Deluxe Edition)
CELLULOIDE • Ordinosaure
WELLE:ERDBALL • Der Kalte Krieg
SILENT CIRCLE • No 1
SECTION 25 • Invicta EP
CHILDREN WITHIN • Spotlight

 

Same genre: POP
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
SPECTRA PARIS • Retromachine Betty
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
DICEPEOPLE • Synthetic
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)
COVENANT • The Blinding Dark
BEBORN BETON • She Cried
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
SIMPLE MINDS • New Gold Dream '81 '82 '83 '84
DEF NEON • Def Neon

Music reviews

17
07
THE ART OF NOISE
In Visible Silence
15
07
KRAFTWERK
3-D Catalogue
13
07
DER PLAN
Unkapitulierbar
11
07
PENGUIN CAFE
The Imperfect Sea
09
07
PIG
Prey & Obey (EP)
05
07
SPECTRA PARIS
Retromachine Betty

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
07
Singer, composer Tonya Pugh aka TZA (PRGRM, Dismantled,) has past away.
22
07
INFEST 2017 LINE-UP COMPLETE with DIE KRUPPS & They Called him Zone!
20
07
BLACK LINE, the new (EBM) all - star band featuring Nitzer Ebb's Douglas McCarthy & Bon Harris!
19
07
Industrial Goth/Rock band PORN is back with their third album : The Ogre inside
18
07
New single from Gary Numan ‘My Name Is Ruin’ online!
18
07
Tuxedomoon's bassist and co-composer, Peter Principle Dachert, died at the age of 63

Concert reviews

28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni
26
06
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH
Zaterdag 3 juni
26
06
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON
Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
26
06
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND
WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller
26
06
KRYONIX, SYNTHATTACK, BLEIB MODERN, WHISPERING SONS, THE VISION BLEAK
Zondag 4 juni
09
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
07
ELENA ALICE FOSSI (KIRLIAN CAMERA / SPECTRA*PARIS)
I can in total freedom listen to Joy Division, SPK, Muse and Britney Spears...
12
07
NYTT LAND
‘OUR MAIN SOURCES OF INSPIRATION ARE THE SIBERIAN NATURE’
10
07
LIFELESS PAST
'In October 2017 we are going on our first international tour. We are going for 10 days to California in October. We will play in L.A., Oakland, San Francisco and San Diego.'
16
06
SINE SILEX
‘A ROMANTIC YET DYNAMIC APPROACH TO ELECTRONIC MUSIC’
15
06
CLAN OF XYMOX
‘THE SONGS DICTATE ME INSTEAD OF ME DICTATING THE SONGS’

PHOTOS

02
07
COVENANT
Zappa, Antwerp, Belgium
02
07
MILDREDA
Zappa, Antwerp, Belgium
24
06
ELM
Dark Demons Night, Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
24
06
VUDUVOX
Dark Demons Night, Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
24
06
X MOUTH SYNDROME
Dark Demons Night, Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
24
06
LLUMEN
Dark Demons Night, Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
24
06
ARSENIC OF JABIR
Dark Demons Night, Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

26
07
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil
25
07
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
23
07
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
ICOLATE
21
07
PSYCHE
Eternal
20
07
BLACK LINE
Snap
19
07
BLONDIE
Long Time
18
07
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE