tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

17/04/2017 : DEPECHE MODE - Spirit

DEPECHE MODE

Spirit

MusicCD


[80/100]   

SONY MUSIC
17/04/2017, Paul PLEDGER

"We're going backwards / turning back our history", "You've been pissed on / for too long", "Hey scum / what have you ever done for anyone?". This is all a far cry from the lyrical friperies of Just Can't Get Enough, It's No Good and even the previously testy People Are People - for 2017 Depeche Mode are angry and abjectly fed up with things.

With Spirit, Gahan, Fletcher and Gore have ramped up the terse-o-meter to almost full with some of their most topical, political and socially aware songs in years. Going Backwards deals with the human race's apparent devolution, single Where's The Revolution rounds on man and woman's incessant apathy and The Worst Crime starts with the somewhat chilling line "There's a lynching in the square / you will have to join us" - and that's just the first three songs.

But don't go thinking that Depeche Mode have turned into another stadium rock-band with shallow campaigning and sloganeering - Gahan's charges don't spend the entire album pummelling our consciences into submission. There's time for the usual ambiguous verbiage on Cover Me, Eternal and You Move, all dressed up in fragmented electro-rock and eerie atmospherics, before the middle of the set truly kicks off with the uptempo powerhouse that is So Much Love. This is Mode in overdrive and is Spirit's pivotal track.

The expanded edition includes five reworkings of album tracks by the band themselves, the pick of which is the Machine Mix of So Much Love and the Frenetic Mix of Scum, both a hark back to some of the harsher industrial remixes that graced their '80s and '90s output.

Overall, Spirit is their most immersive and coherent since 1997's Ultra.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
17/04/2017


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque