tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

15/06/2011 : DEPECHE MODE - Remixes 2: 81-11

DEPECHE MODE

Remixes 2: 81-11

MusicCD
ElectronicsPopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[72/100]   

EMI
15/06/2011, Dennis OHRT

Depeche Mode have always been at the forefront of remixes, already in the early eighties it was not uncommon, being able to buy two 12" with different mixes + people like Adrian Sherwood putting their hands on Depeche Mode material. Over the years, the number of mixes and releases has even increased.

Back in 2004 the first remixalbum was released, containing mixes from 1981 - 2004. Seven years + two studio albums later, we see another remix, effortly released. Available in multiple configurations (CD, 3-CD Boxset, Vinyl Boxset), Remixes 81>11 offers a wide range of new mixes, old favourites and rather obscure ones. With the 3-CD Box you get 13 mixes that were specially commissioned just for this project. So, even the die-hard fan will find new stuff, that he hasn't heard before, in this package. With the last set already containing 37 mixes, the main emphasis definetely lies on the post 2004 period. Most singles that have been released since then are now featured with mixes.

As always with remix albums, it is a mixed bag, luckily many mixes are mostly song-orientated and not just creations that barely include two samples from the original. Among the old mixes are some of B-Sides ('Slowblow' or 'Ghost'), album tracks ('Higher Love') and of course single hits ('Strangelove' or 'Wrong').

Before the release it was already known that 2 new mixes would be done by former members Alan Wilder and Vince Clarke. Logically, those were the most anticipated mixes + neither of them disappoints. Wilder offers his Recoil trademarks mixed with Depeche ca. 'Songs Of Faith & Devotion'-era, while Clarke offers us a dark electro approach on 'Behind The Wheel' with lots of great synthsounds.

Among the other new mixes, diversity is definetely there, which can be seen in 3 different mixes for 'Personal Jesus' alone (the Stargate Mix manages to omit the main guitar riff and results in a rather radio friendly dance version, that has been selected as single release). Personal faves of the new mixes, besides the Clarke & Wilder ones, are defintely the rather chill-out version of 'Leave In Silence' and the totally strange version of 'When The Body Speaks' by Karlsson and Winnberg, I have no clue what they were thinking when doing it, but somehow it works extremely well.

All in all, the release works well. There is something for every fan of the band (like the rather club-orientated mix-lovers with the Prydz version of 'Never Let Me Down Again', which does nothing for me). Plus it surely helps to kill time until the next Depeche album appears in the stores, whenever that will be...

Dennis OHRT
15/06/2011


 

Next reviews
LES FLEURS DU MAL • Les fleurs du mal : I EP
DIVINE MUZAK • Maison Skinny
VERDIANA RAW • Demo
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Ghlóir Ar An Oíche EP
KINDEST LINES • Covered in dust
DAYBED • NEWCLEAR WAVES | VIOLENCE CONJUGALE | ANTWERP, KAVKA, 11/06/2011 | The kingdom of analogue synths
DAVID SYLVIAN • Died in the Wool
CRUISE [CTRL] • Red or blue? (Remixes)
RELIGIOUS TO DAMN • Glass Prayer
ARBEID ADELT! • live@AB2011

 

Other reviews from DEPECHE MODE
DEPECHE MODE • Spirit
DEPECHE MODE • Delta Machine
DEPECHE MODE • Tour of The Universe

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!

 

Same genre: POP
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
ERASURE • THE NEON
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)

Music reviews

02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
12
This month, 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.
02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
12
ORKESTRA OBSOLETE
Blue Monday
02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover