tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

13/06/2011 : CRUISE [CTRL] - Red or blue? (Remixes)

CRUISE [CTRL]

Red or blue? (Remixes)

MusicCD
ElectroIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)Techno

[83/100]   
13/06/2011, Didier BECU

When spending the evening with a Peek-A-Boo collegue (for music purposes, mind you), the person in question (no namedropping) told me that he's quite fed up with all the remixes.

A statement I can understand as indeed most remixes are nothing but a dumb excuse to fill up a CD, and besides, it's often quite difficult to hear any difference from the original.

Last year, Brussels duo Cruise [CTRL] released their latest album "How's Annie?" and so far I haven't successfully found a way to describe their music. Today I would say IDM with a dark undertone but this could have changed in an hour, because these two use so many layers of sound.

Mind you, it always stays danceable and contains the right dose of beats even if Cruise [CTRL] isn’t the kind of band who use beats for beats' sake.

"Red or blue" is a remix album that presents a collection of 11 mixes of two original tracks.

"Where is Alice? Alice who?" and "Pomona Road" are on their "How's Annie?" -album and the concept might sound like a nightmare, it's not. Every track sounds different and this album shows John and Gore in a different light.

In fact, I would never have thought that these two gentlemen would be able to come up with a Barry Adamson-atmosphere but that’s what Brain Leisure’s version of "Where is Alice? Alice who?" sounds like.

Soon after this opener you get the usual beats but it never get monotonous, on the contrary: this album feels more like some kind of electronic adventure that feels like you've landed in a David Lynch-movie. Everyone's plot can be different but the suspense is great throughout.

Soon to be seen at Shadowplayfestival.

 

 

 

 

Didier BECU
13/06/2011


 

Next reviews
RELIGIOUS TO DAMN • Glass Prayer
ARBEID ADELT! • live@AB2011
CHRIS WATSON & MARCUS DAVIDSON • Cross-Pollination
CAITHNESS • Apostasy & the sorrowful child
ROEDELIUS • Wie das Wispern des Windes...
SARABETH TUCEK • Get well soon
AMNISTIA • Egotrap
HANIN ELIAS • Get it back
NOISEPOETNOBODY & VANCE GALLOWAY • Uranium 238
CURRENT 93 • Honeysuckle AEons

 

Other reviews from CRUISE [CTRL]
CRUISE [CTRL] • …Are Not What They Seem

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC) + TECHNO
HAUJOBB • Dead Market EP

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear
DIVE • Where do we go from here
AD:KEY • Resonanz
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE • Sharpening The Axe

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism

 

Same genre: TECHNO
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax

Music reviews

27
01
MARTIN L. GORE
The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
26
01
FIX8:SED8
The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 39 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
01
PULP
Babies
27
01
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games