tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

13/06/2011 : CRUISE [CTRL] - Red or blue? (Remixes)

CRUISE [CTRL]

Red or blue? (Remixes)

MusicCD
ElectroIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)Techno

[83/100]   
13/06/2011, Didier BECU

When spending the evening with a Peek-A-Boo collegue (for music purposes, mind you), the person in question (no namedropping) told me that he's quite fed up with all the remixes.

A statement I can understand as indeed most remixes are nothing but a dumb excuse to fill up a CD, and besides, it's often quite difficult to hear any difference from the original.

Last year, Brussels duo Cruise [CTRL] released their latest album "How's Annie?" and so far I haven't successfully found a way to describe their music. Today I would say IDM with a dark undertone but this could have changed in an hour, because these two use so many layers of sound.

Mind you, it always stays danceable and contains the right dose of beats even if Cruise [CTRL] isn’t the kind of band who use beats for beats' sake.

"Red or blue" is a remix album that presents a collection of 11 mixes of two original tracks.

"Where is Alice? Alice who?" and "Pomona Road" are on their "How's Annie?" -album and the concept might sound like a nightmare, it's not. Every track sounds different and this album shows John and Gore in a different light.

In fact, I would never have thought that these two gentlemen would be able to come up with a Barry Adamson-atmosphere but that’s what Brain Leisure’s version of "Where is Alice? Alice who?" sounds like.

Soon after this opener you get the usual beats but it never get monotonous, on the contrary: this album feels more like some kind of electronic adventure that feels like you've landed in a David Lynch-movie. Everyone's plot can be different but the suspense is great throughout.

Soon to be seen at Shadowplayfestival.

 

 

 

 

Didier BECU
13/06/2011


 

Next reviews
RELIGIOUS TO DAMN • Glass Prayer
ARBEID ADELT! • live@AB2011
CHRIS WATSON & MARCUS DAVIDSON • Cross-Pollination
CAITHNESS • Apostasy & the sorrowful child
ROEDELIUS • Wie das Wispern des Windes...
SARABETH TUCEK • Get well soon
AMNISTIA • Egotrap
HANIN ELIAS • Get it back
NOISEPOETNOBODY & VANCE GALLOWAY • Uranium 238
CURRENT 93 • Honeysuckle AEons

 

Other reviews from CRUISE [CTRL]
CRUISE [CTRL] • …Are Not What They Seem

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC) + TECHNO
HAUJOBB • Dead Market EP

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism

 

Same genre: TECHNO
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax

Music reviews

05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH
deathwish
05
10
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
04
10
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND
O Lord
03
10
OAKTREE
La Fin
02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes