tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/06/2011 : CHRIS WATSON & MARCUS DAVIDSON - Cross-Pollination

CHRIS WATSON & MARCUS DAVIDSON

Cross-Pollination

MusicCD
ExperimentalNoiseUnclassifiable

[80/100]   
13/06/2011, Ward DE PRINS

EN

Cross-Pollination is an experimental album that contains two compositions based on the combination of electronics and the sounds of insects, which were sampled especially for these recordings.

I have to think immediately of The Insect Musicians, the masterpiece by Graeme Revell from the eighties, where this Master himself sampled tons of insect sounds to create a melancholic experimental masterpiece. Would these men make a similar treatment?

The first composition is "Midnight at the Oasis". Chris Watson creates a quiet 28 minutes long symbiosis of diverse sounds he recorded during one night in the Kalahari Desert. During a night because the insects there are most active at that moment. This piece is a beautiful, quiet sound collage where you can daydream, thinking about the many strange sounds that those insects create. I must say there’s a resemblance with Revell's masterpiece from the eighties.

Despite the beauty of this composition, it is especially the second piece,"The Bee Symphony" that tempts me a lot. Chris Watson & Mark Davidson work together to create a harmonious balance between electronics, bee sounds and a (human) choir. The interplay of vocals and samples of bees intensifies as the 20 minutes long song progresses. The intense threat currently posed by the song does make me think of some compositions by Wendy Carlos & Rachel Elkind (though they are structurally different, the same intense threat is created, compare for example, with the intro of Kubrick's The Shining).

The intensity of this composition requires you just to listen. When I listen to this music, I almost automatic stop reading, stop writing, stop cooking or any activity. This bee symphony absorbs my attention in a rarely seen manner. It is a true gem that I often will listen to.

Ward DE PRINS
13/06/2011


NL

Cross-Pollination (kruisbestuiving) is een experimenteel plaatje dat 2 composities bevat die gebaseerd zijn op de combinatie van electronica en de geluiden van insecten, die speciaal voor deze opnames gesampled werden.

Ik moet onmiddellijk denken aan The Insect Musicians, het meesterwerkje uit de jaren tachtig van Graeme Revell, waarvoor ook deze Meester zelf massa’s geluiden samplede om deze vervolgens tot een bevreemdend melancholisch experimenteel meesterwerk te verwerken. Zouden deze heren een soortgelijke behandeling doorvoeren?

De eerste compositie is “Midnight at the Oasis”. Chris Watson creëert een 28 minuten lang rustig samenspel van diverse geluiden die hij opnam gedurende een nacht in de Kalahari woestijn. Tijdens een nacht vermits de insecten aldaar dan het meest actief zijn. Het geheel is een mooie, rustige geluidscollage waarbij je kan wegdromen, nadenkend over de zovele vreemde insectengeluiden die de revue passeren. Het sluit in die gelijkenis dan ook aan bij Revell’s meesterwerkje uit de jaren tachtig.

Ondank de mooiheid van deze eerste compositie is het vooral de tweede, “The Bee Symphony” die mij ontzettend kan bekoren. Hierbij werken Chris Watson & Marcus Davidson samen om een harmonieus geheel te creëren tussen elektronica, bijengeluiden en een (menselijk) koor. Het samenspel van koor en de samples van bijen intensifieert naarmate het 20 minuten lange nummer vordert. De intense dreiging die op dat moment van het nummer uitgaat doet met denken aan sommige composities van Wendy Carlos & Rachel Elkind (ook al hebben deze structureel niets gemeen, de intense dreiging is dezelfde, vergelijk bijvoorbeeld met de intro van Kubrick’s The Shining).

De intensiteit van deze compositie verplicht je gewoon te luisteren. Wanneer ik deze muziek opzet stop ik haast in een automatisme met lezen, schrijven, koken of eender welke activiteit. Deze bijensymfonie slorpt je aandacht op zelden vertoonde wijze op. Het is een ware parel die ik nog vaak zal opzetten.

Ward DE PRINS
13/06/2011


 

Next reviews
CAITHNESS • Apostasy & the sorrowful child
ROEDELIUS • Wie das Wispern des Windes...
SARABETH TUCEK • Get well soon
AMNISTIA • Egotrap
HANIN ELIAS • Get it back
NOISEPOETNOBODY & VANCE GALLOWAY • Uranium 238
CURRENT 93 • Honeysuckle AEons
IKON • In the shadow of the angel
TIARI • Solar EP
THE GODFATHERS • The Outsider

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti

 

Same genre: NOISE
THE HEAT INC. • EP
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence

 

Same genre: UNCLASSIFIABLE
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
FANTASTIQUE.NIGHT XLVII • MOLLY NILSSON, MARY OCHER, MENAGE A TROIS, RODOLPHE COSTER
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ni D'Eve Ni D'Adam
MONSTER YOUTH • Lost Dream, Cool Fire
TUXEDOMOON • CLASSICS: At Twilight
THE THE • CLASSICS : Soul Mining
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
THE FALL • Creative Distortion
BROWN REINIGER BODSON • Clear Tears, Troubled Waters
APHEX TWIN • Syro

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
FEUERSCHWANZ
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
UNZUCHT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper