tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/06/2011 : CHRIS WATSON & MARCUS DAVIDSON - Cross-Pollination

CHRIS WATSON & MARCUS DAVIDSON

Cross-Pollination

MusicCD
ExperimentalNoiseUnclassifiable

[80/100]   
13/06/2011, Ward DE PRINS

EN

Cross-Pollination is an experimental album that contains two compositions based on the combination of electronics and the sounds of insects, which were sampled especially for these recordings.

I have to think immediately of The Insect Musicians, the masterpiece by Graeme Revell from the eighties, where this Master himself sampled tons of insect sounds to create a melancholic experimental masterpiece. Would these men make a similar treatment?

The first composition is "Midnight at the Oasis". Chris Watson creates a quiet 28 minutes long symbiosis of diverse sounds he recorded during one night in the Kalahari Desert. During a night because the insects there are most active at that moment. This piece is a beautiful, quiet sound collage where you can daydream, thinking about the many strange sounds that those insects create. I must say there’s a resemblance with Revell's masterpiece from the eighties.

Despite the beauty of this composition, it is especially the second piece,"The Bee Symphony" that tempts me a lot. Chris Watson & Mark Davidson work together to create a harmonious balance between electronics, bee sounds and a (human) choir. The interplay of vocals and samples of bees intensifies as the 20 minutes long song progresses. The intense threat currently posed by the song does make me think of some compositions by Wendy Carlos & Rachel Elkind (though they are structurally different, the same intense threat is created, compare for example, with the intro of Kubrick's The Shining).

The intensity of this composition requires you just to listen. When I listen to this music, I almost automatic stop reading, stop writing, stop cooking or any activity. This bee symphony absorbs my attention in a rarely seen manner. It is a true gem that I often will listen to.

Ward DE PRINS
13/06/2011


NL

Cross-Pollination (kruisbestuiving) is een experimenteel plaatje dat 2 composities bevat die gebaseerd zijn op de combinatie van electronica en de geluiden van insecten, die speciaal voor deze opnames gesampled werden.

Ik moet onmiddellijk denken aan The Insect Musicians, het meesterwerkje uit de jaren tachtig van Graeme Revell, waarvoor ook deze Meester zelf massa’s geluiden samplede om deze vervolgens tot een bevreemdend melancholisch experimenteel meesterwerk te verwerken. Zouden deze heren een soortgelijke behandeling doorvoeren?

De eerste compositie is “Midnight at the Oasis”. Chris Watson creëert een 28 minuten lang rustig samenspel van diverse geluiden die hij opnam gedurende een nacht in de Kalahari woestijn. Tijdens een nacht vermits de insecten aldaar dan het meest actief zijn. Het geheel is een mooie, rustige geluidscollage waarbij je kan wegdromen, nadenkend over de zovele vreemde insectengeluiden die de revue passeren. Het sluit in die gelijkenis dan ook aan bij Revell’s meesterwerkje uit de jaren tachtig.

Ondank de mooiheid van deze eerste compositie is het vooral de tweede, “The Bee Symphony” die mij ontzettend kan bekoren. Hierbij werken Chris Watson & Marcus Davidson samen om een harmonieus geheel te creëren tussen elektronica, bijengeluiden en een (menselijk) koor. Het samenspel van koor en de samples van bijen intensifieert naarmate het 20 minuten lange nummer vordert. De intense dreiging die op dat moment van het nummer uitgaat doet met denken aan sommige composities van Wendy Carlos & Rachel Elkind (ook al hebben deze structureel niets gemeen, de intense dreiging is dezelfde, vergelijk bijvoorbeeld met de intro van Kubrick’s The Shining).

De intensiteit van deze compositie verplicht je gewoon te luisteren. Wanneer ik deze muziek opzet stop ik haast in een automatisme met lezen, schrijven, koken of eender welke activiteit. Deze bijensymfonie slorpt je aandacht op zelden vertoonde wijze op. Het is een ware parel die ik nog vaak zal opzetten.

Ward DE PRINS
13/06/2011


 

Next reviews
CAITHNESS • Apostasy & the sorrowful child
ROEDELIUS • Wie das Wispern des Windes...
SARABETH TUCEK • Get well soon
AMNISTIA • Egotrap
HANIN ELIAS • Get it back
NOISEPOETNOBODY & VANCE GALLOWAY • Uranium 238
CURRENT 93 • Honeysuckle AEons
IKON • In the shadow of the angel
TIARI • Solar EP
THE GODFATHERS • The Outsider

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel

 

Same genre: NOISE
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)

 

Same genre: UNCLASSIFIABLE
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
FANTASTIQUE.NIGHT XLVII • MOLLY NILSSON, MARY OCHER, MENAGE A TROIS, RODOLPHE COSTER
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ni D'Eve Ni D'Adam
MONSTER YOUTH • Lost Dream, Cool Fire
TUXEDOMOON • CLASSICS: At Twilight
THE THE • CLASSICS : Soul Mining
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
THE FALL • Creative Distortion
BROWN REINIGER BODSON • Clear Tears, Troubled Waters
APHEX TWIN • Syro

Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
10
On this day, 32 years ago, Front 242 released Front By Front!
24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
10
PSY'AVIAH
Reboot Reset Relay
27
10
NO MORE
Turnaround
26
10
DEVO
Beautiful World
25
10
DIE KRUPPS
To The Hilt
24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit
23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)
22
10
EXECUTIVE SLACKS
So Mote it Be (Bedroom version)