tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

24/09/2014 : APHEX TWIN - Syro

APHEX TWIN

Syro

MusicCD
ElectroElectropunkExperimentalUnclassifiable

[90/100]   

Warp Records
24/09/2014, Paul PLEDGER

Some thirteen years after his last outing, we finally get some genuinely new Aphex material, as opposed to the shit internet spoofs - honestly, why bother with them when you can indulge in the real thing? After the rather mixed Drukqs album-set (remember that over-sized sleeve that no retailer loved and subsequently resigned all copies to the stock-room? Trust me, it happened), Syro looks and sounds far more coherent and all the more impressive because of it.

Essentially a far more straight-forward template of electro-beats, pretty synth melodies and occasionally wayward, left-field, trademark acid-squelches, bleeps and digital spasms we've come to expect, Syro rewards with repeated listening. Not unlike some of the harsher techno work of Cylob, 808 State and Warp-mates Autechre and Brothomstates, Richard James remains unique by injecting a playfulness, some might argue a childishness, into his music, pausing only to infrequently borrow ideas from the past golden bygone eras of jungle, drum and bass, ambient-house, rave, acid, nu-funk and electro in order to combine them with a futurism that translates into a beautiful, bristling, bruising cacophony, frequently offset by eerie melodies. It's very 'then', 'now' and 'will be'.

On CIRCLONT 14 [152.97 - presumably the track's b.p.m.] (Shrymoming Mix), there's the standard drum-beat mischief, erratic bleeps straight from the nursery and a portentous unsettling hook-line woven throughout the disorientating fabric. We're in 1994 and 2014 for the equally, dare I say, naive even childish skitter of PAPAT4 [155] (Pineal Mix), while Remarc, Digital and Source Direct's cerebellum-pummelling junglist riddims get an element of a revisit on the ridiculously-titled (deep-breath) s950tx16wasr10 [163.97] (Earth Portal Mix). Of course, all three tracks are instant highlights.

Things get prettier on the album's opener Minipops67 [120.2] (Source Field Mix), the lengthy slightly-trippy epic XMAS_EVET10 [120] (Thanaton Mix) and Syro's go-to ambi-organic piano closer Aisatsana [102] while custom-built jackhammer break-beats permeate CIRCLONT6A [141.98] (Syrobunkus Mix) to keep the speaker-cones alert (or blown, depending on volume).

Easily his best work since the Selected Ambient Works and Polygon Window output that garnered all that rightful acclaim two decades ago, Syro is a playful and peerless triumph.

 This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
24/09/2014


 

Next reviews
• The suspicions of Mr. Whicher: The Complete Collection
PHIL LORD & CHRIS MILLER • 21 Jump Street
PERVERTED BY LANGUAGE • Boxers
THOM EBERHARDT • Night Of The Comet
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Of Factory New York
J.T. PETTY • Hellbenders 3D
ATOM EGOYAN • The Adjuster
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Frontline presents roots/presents dub
RON HOWARD • Willow
JOHN CROWLEY • Boy A

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear
DIVE • Where do we go from here
AD:KEY • Resonanz
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE • Sharpening The Axe

 

Same genre: ELECTROPUNK
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
HATCHLING • Alpha
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
DEF NEON • Def Neon
GRAUSAME TOCHTER • Vagina Dentata
LAST AVENUE • Integration Protocol
SSLEEPING DESIRESS • Ssleeping Desiress
HOCICO • In The Name Of Violence
CONTINENTAL+LIAISON • Series Of Events

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: UNCLASSIFIABLE
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
FANTASTIQUE.NIGHT XLVII • MOLLY NILSSON, MARY OCHER, MENAGE A TROIS, RODOLPHE COSTER
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ni D'Eve Ni D'Adam
MONSTER YOUTH • Lost Dream, Cool Fire
TUXEDOMOON • CLASSICS: At Twilight
THE THE • CLASSICS : Soul Mining
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
THE FALL • Creative Distortion
BROWN REINIGER BODSON • Clear Tears, Troubled Waters
CABARET VOLTAIRE • #7885 Electropunk to Technopop 1978-1985

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!
04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)