tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

24/09/2014 : APHEX TWIN - Syro

APHEX TWIN

Syro

MusicCD
ElectroElectropunkExperimentalUnclassifiable

[90/100]   

Warp Records
24/09/2014, Paul PLEDGER

Some thirteen years after his last outing, we finally get some genuinely new Aphex material, as opposed to the shit internet spoofs - honestly, why bother with them when you can indulge in the real thing? After the rather mixed Drukqs album-set (remember that over-sized sleeve that no retailer loved and subsequently resigned all copies to the stock-room? Trust me, it happened), Syro looks and sounds far more coherent and all the more impressive because of it.

Essentially a far more straight-forward template of electro-beats, pretty synth melodies and occasionally wayward, left-field, trademark acid-squelches, bleeps and digital spasms we've come to expect, Syro rewards with repeated listening. Not unlike some of the harsher techno work of Cylob, 808 State and Warp-mates Autechre and Brothomstates, Richard James remains unique by injecting a playfulness, some might argue a childishness, into his music, pausing only to infrequently borrow ideas from the past golden bygone eras of jungle, drum and bass, ambient-house, rave, acid, nu-funk and electro in order to combine them with a futurism that translates into a beautiful, bristling, bruising cacophony, frequently offset by eerie melodies. It's very 'then', 'now' and 'will be'.

On CIRCLONT 14 [152.97 - presumably the track's b.p.m.] (Shrymoming Mix), there's the standard drum-beat mischief, erratic bleeps straight from the nursery and a portentous unsettling hook-line woven throughout the disorientating fabric. We're in 1994 and 2014 for the equally, dare I say, naive even childish skitter of PAPAT4 [155] (Pineal Mix), while Remarc, Digital and Source Direct's cerebellum-pummelling junglist riddims get an element of a revisit on the ridiculously-titled (deep-breath) s950tx16wasr10 [163.97] (Earth Portal Mix). Of course, all three tracks are instant highlights.

Things get prettier on the album's opener Minipops67 [120.2] (Source Field Mix), the lengthy slightly-trippy epic XMAS_EVET10 [120] (Thanaton Mix) and Syro's go-to ambi-organic piano closer Aisatsana [102] while custom-built jackhammer break-beats permeate CIRCLONT6A [141.98] (Syrobunkus Mix) to keep the speaker-cones alert (or blown, depending on volume).

Easily his best work since the Selected Ambient Works and Polygon Window output that garnered all that rightful acclaim two decades ago, Syro is a playful and peerless triumph.

 This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
24/09/2014


 

Next reviews
• The suspicions of Mr. Whicher: The Complete Collection
PHIL LORD & CHRIS MILLER • 21 Jump Street
PERVERTED BY LANGUAGE • Boxers
THOM EBERHARDT • Night Of The Comet
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Of Factory New York
J.T. PETTY • Hellbenders 3D
ATOM EGOYAN • The Adjuster
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Frontline presents roots/presents dub
RON HOWARD • Willow
JOHN CROWLEY • Boy A

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
AD:KEY • Resonanz
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE • Sharpening The Axe
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
M73 • Tainted

 

Same genre: ELECTROPUNK
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
HATCHLING • Alpha
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
DEF NEON • Def Neon
GRAUSAME TOCHTER • Vagina Dentata
LAST AVENUE • Integration Protocol
SSLEEPING DESIRESS • Ssleeping Desiress
HOCICO • In The Name Of Violence
CONTINENTAL+LIAISON • Series Of Events
GRAUSAME TOCHTER • Glaube Liebe Hoffnung

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel

 

Same genre: UNCLASSIFIABLE
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
FANTASTIQUE.NIGHT XLVII • MOLLY NILSSON, MARY OCHER, MENAGE A TROIS, RODOLPHE COSTER
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ni D'Eve Ni D'Adam
MONSTER YOUTH • Lost Dream, Cool Fire
TUXEDOMOON • CLASSICS: At Twilight
THE THE • CLASSICS : Soul Mining
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
THE FALL • Creative Distortion
BROWN REINIGER BODSON • Clear Tears, Troubled Waters
CABARET VOLTAIRE • #7885 Electropunk to Technopop 1978-1985

Music reviews

18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn
19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
11
The Public’s Image Of Metal Box | The PiL Classic 41-Years On
21
11
The Last Beat of My Heart by Siouxsie and the Banshees was released 32 years ago!
21
11
Isn't Anything (album) by My Bloody Valentine turns 32 today!
17
11
40 years of Grotesque by The Fall
17
11
Lord Of The Lost release Fears - 10th Anniversary Edition -
13
11
Today, 39 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
11
FOETUS
Here Comes The Rain
22
11
A SPLIT-SECOND
Flesh
21
11
LIEF HALL
Roses for Ruins
20
11
FEAR FACTORY
Expiration Date
19
11
WULFBAND
Kalt Blut
18
11
NINE INCH NAILS
Closer
17
11
BLACK NAIL CABARET
My Casual God