tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

24/09/2014 : APHEX TWIN - Syro

APHEX TWIN

Syro

MusicCD
ElectroElectropunkExperimentalUnclassifiable

[90/100]   

Warp Records
24/09/2014, Paul PLEDGER

Some thirteen years after his last outing, we finally get some genuinely new Aphex material, as opposed to the shit internet spoofs - honestly, why bother with them when you can indulge in the real thing? After the rather mixed Drukqs album-set (remember that over-sized sleeve that no retailer loved and subsequently resigned all copies to the stock-room? Trust me, it happened), Syro looks and sounds far more coherent and all the more impressive because of it.

Essentially a far more straight-forward template of electro-beats, pretty synth melodies and occasionally wayward, left-field, trademark acid-squelches, bleeps and digital spasms we've come to expect, Syro rewards with repeated listening. Not unlike some of the harsher techno work of Cylob, 808 State and Warp-mates Autechre and Brothomstates, Richard James remains unique by injecting a playfulness, some might argue a childishness, into his music, pausing only to infrequently borrow ideas from the past golden bygone eras of jungle, drum and bass, ambient-house, rave, acid, nu-funk and electro in order to combine them with a futurism that translates into a beautiful, bristling, bruising cacophony, frequently offset by eerie melodies. It's very 'then', 'now' and 'will be'.

On CIRCLONT 14 [152.97 - presumably the track's b.p.m.] (Shrymoming Mix), there's the standard drum-beat mischief, erratic bleeps straight from the nursery and a portentous unsettling hook-line woven throughout the disorientating fabric. We're in 1994 and 2014 for the equally, dare I say, naive even childish skitter of PAPAT4 [155] (Pineal Mix), while Remarc, Digital and Source Direct's cerebellum-pummelling junglist riddims get an element of a revisit on the ridiculously-titled (deep-breath) s950tx16wasr10 [163.97] (Earth Portal Mix). Of course, all three tracks are instant highlights.

Things get prettier on the album's opener Minipops67 [120.2] (Source Field Mix), the lengthy slightly-trippy epic XMAS_EVET10 [120] (Thanaton Mix) and Syro's go-to ambi-organic piano closer Aisatsana [102] while custom-built jackhammer break-beats permeate CIRCLONT6A [141.98] (Syrobunkus Mix) to keep the speaker-cones alert (or blown, depending on volume).

Easily his best work since the Selected Ambient Works and Polygon Window output that garnered all that rightful acclaim two decades ago, Syro is a playful and peerless triumph.

 This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
24/09/2014


 

Next reviews
• The suspicions of Mr. Whicher: The Complete Collection
PHIL LORD & CHRIS MILLER • 21 Jump Street
PERVERTED BY LANGUAGE • Boxers
THOM EBERHARDT • Night Of The Comet
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Of Factory New York
J.T. PETTY • Hellbenders 3D
ATOM EGOYAN • The Adjuster
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Frontline presents roots/presents dub
RON HOWARD • Willow
JOHN CROWLEY • Boy A

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
KLANGWELT • The Incident
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
VLIMMER • Angststand
GOO MUNDAY • Goo Munday
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
NEGANT • No !
STRUCK9 • Ritual Body Music
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)

 

Same genre: ELECTROPUNK
HATCHLING • Alpha
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
DEF NEON • Def Neon
GRAUSAME TOCHTER • Vagina Dentata
LAST AVENUE • Integration Protocol
SSLEEPING DESIRESS • Ssleeping Desiress
HOCICO • In The Name Of Violence
CONTINENTAL+LIAISON • Series Of Events
GRAUSAME TOCHTER • Glaube Liebe Hoffnung
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia

 

Same genre: UNCLASSIFIABLE
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
FANTASTIQUE.NIGHT XLVII • MOLLY NILSSON, MARY OCHER, MENAGE A TROIS, RODOLPHE COSTER
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ni D'Eve Ni D'Adam
MONSTER YOUTH • Lost Dream, Cool Fire
TUXEDOMOON • CLASSICS: At Twilight
THE THE • CLASSICS : Soul Mining
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
THE FALL • Creative Distortion
BROWN REINIGER BODSON • Clear Tears, Troubled Waters
CABARET VOLTAIRE • #7885 Electropunk to Technopop 1978-1985

Music reviews

17
11
ALIEN VAMPIRES
Evil Twin Ep
16
11
DAVID J
Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
15
11
KLANGWELT
The Incident
14
11
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE
Resin EP
13
11
BROKEN EGO
Getting Higher
12
11
BEAUTY IN CHAOS
Finding Beauty In Chaos

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
11
New album by BORGHESIA - Proti kapitulaciji (Against Capitulation) - Out now!
17
11
Rise Of The Robots | Autobahn Reaches 44-Years
16
11
Varsovie present brand new video clip, Killing Anna!
13
11
Today, 37 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
13
11
Today, 40 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
12
11
Ethereal alt-rock outfit Evi Vine presents 'Sabbath', a sweet and heavy preview of their long-awaited long-play 'Black Light White Dark'!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
11
DAVE INOX
I Am Never One Hundred Percent Happy With The Result Of My Works
15
11
RUSSIAN DARK COMMUNITY
New groups are always good, it is better to discover something new than to listen to what is already advertised on every site for the hundredth time.
13
11
HIDDEN FIGURES
Interview with the US newcomers 'Hidden Figures'
11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things
09
11
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO ( BEAUTY IN CHAOS )
'Recording this album is vastly different than producing a new band. '

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
11
BLEIB MODERN
Paper Skin
17
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
To Replace My Sadness (preview 2016)
16
11
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
15
11
SRSQ
Permission
14
11
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
13
11
AROMA DI AMORE
De Nacht en Zijn Kwaad
12
11
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)