tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

01/11/2018 : FOXXXY MULDER - Heretic

FOXXXY MULDER

Heretic

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
Dark ElectroElectropunkGothicIndustrial

[80/100]   
01/11/2018, Kevin BURKE

The Seattle based duo Foxxy Mulder is comprised of David Kumler and Kori Hensell, their latest offering ‘Heretic’ is a nightmarish blending of Post-Punk, Gothic, Industrial and very Dark sounds, submerged in a decaying reality, this is a wonderfully constructed album, rich in both texture and depth.

An added weapon is the production techniques which make this a feast for the senses, from the opener “Everything In Bloom” the demonic robotic sounds which open the album herald in an ambient drenched doom, this may sound very bleak but when it is done with such style becomes very accessible to audiences of the electronic formula.

The atmospheric “Broken Glass”, industrial versus a gentle chiming guitar, the dreamy vocals of Hensell make this an audio treat, with a New Order style bass line which pushes the boundaries of the band both musically and lyrically; “I have tried to burn down a city, Just to hear the screams up above”.

All this runs in perfectly to “Apostate”, which starts with a vibrating sound-machine colliding with vocal acrobatics, playfully done as it builds towards dense guitar sounds crashing around the landscape. The track “Drought” is beautiful in the bleak wasteland, not sung by Hensell this time, to some extent that helps the theme, at the same time adding to the strength.Even in the minimalism of “Ghosts” a standout track amongst the eight presented here, there is a raw flawless beauty breathing; “Walks on water like Gods own daughter”.

When the album sails with the noise of the ocean into “Easy” we may hit a lull musically, the superb vocal however hypnotizes you into liking it. As we come to the end of the album, the closer “The Witch” is a playground of 80s sounds through 21st century methods, indeed, it would not sound out of place jammed on a Siouxsie And The Banshees album. It does however showcase the vocal talents of Hensell, this concludes the album perfectly as it beats out after a little over seven minutes.

This may be a bleak themed offering but it far from morbid and certainly no death knell, beneath the electronic density on display is a very real organic talent in Kumler and Hensell, this is an outfit which are only coming into their own on ‘Heretic’.

Kevin BURKE
01/11/2018


 

Next reviews
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
KNK • Dead Body Music III
SECTION 25 • Elektra
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
SHADOWPARTY • ShadowParty
CASTLE PARTY • 2018
PAUL MCCANN • Here Comes The Rapture
VEDA RAYS • For The Rest To Rest
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
SAMHAIN • Experiment
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
COMBICHRIST • Compliance
MILDREDA • I was never really there
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling
WULF7 • Dark Hate

 

Same genre: ELECTROPUNK
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
HATCHLING • Alpha
DEF NEON • Def Neon
GRAUSAME TOCHTER • Vagina Dentata
LAST AVENUE • Integration Protocol
SSLEEPING DESIRESS • Ssleeping Desiress
HOCICO • In The Name Of Violence
CONTINENTAL+LIAISON • Series Of Events
APHEX TWIN • Syro

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
DARK • Nightmare
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide