tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

31/05/2015 : LAST AVENUE - Integration Protocol

LAST AVENUE

Integration Protocol

MusicCD
ElectropunkPost Punk

[80/100]   

Tinplho records
31/05/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

In times of profiling or genre definition, it’s risky to release an album with post-punk à la Killing Joke, modern metal à la Korn and electropunk with the mentality of The Prodigy.

This French band (Orléans) seems to get away with it. Why? Because of the attitude of punk, do-it-yourself and a varnish of conformity. How can you do that better than this way? Certainly not with a super polished album like some bands do (I think of Green Day).

‘This is Personal’ is a rusty sounding electro instrumental. You almost can’ t have a bigger contrast with ‘The Factory, a song with a guitar that sounds like a sander or a chainsaw. It cuts to the bone. In the first song you hear melodic lines, in the second a rougher sound in the style of Kevin ‘Geordie’ Walker (Killing Joke). But it sounds good. The same for ‘Kill the Past’ or ‘Self Made Drone’, in which the band mixes the two different elements into a sort of modern metal, that reminds me of ‘Korn’ and ‘Linkin’ Park’, but less polished sounding.

This album has tempo, energy and bollocks… sometimes it is intense, but not always an easy ride. For those who love such stuff.

Wim GUILLEMYN
31/05/2015


NL

In tijden van profilering en genreafbakening is het gewaagd om een album uit te brengen waarop postpunk à la Killing Joke, nu-metal à la Korn en electropunk met de mentaliteit van The Prodigy te horen is.

Deze Franse band (Orléans) lijkt er mee weg te komen. Waarom? Omdat alles een zekere attitude uitstraalt. Een attitude van punk, doe het zelf en lak aan conformiteit. Hoe kan je dat beter doen dan op deze manier? Dan moet je niet met een afgelikt album afkomen zoals sommige bands doen (ik denk dan aan Green Day bv.).

‘This is Personal’ is een roestig klinkende electro-instrumental. Een bijna groter kontrast met ‘The Factory’ kan je je niet voorstellen, want daarin klinkt de gitaar als een schuurmachine of een kettingzaag. Het snijdt door merg en been. En terwijl in het eerste nummer melodielijnen zitten, is er hier sprake van hakwerk zoals we dat ook kennen van bv. gitarist Kevin ‘Geordie’ Walker (Killing Joke). En toch vind ik dat het iets heeft. Ook zo in ‘Kill The Past’ of ‘Self Made Drone’ waarin beide elementen gemengd worden tot een soort nu-metal die bij momenten wat op ‘Linkin’ Park’ of ‘Korn’ lijkt, maar dan veel minder gepolijst.

Dit album heeft vaart, energie, ballen… het is bij momenten intens en niet altijd een gemakkelijke rit. Wie daarvoor te vinden is, heeft er zeker en vast een goede kluif aan.

Wim GUILLEMYN
31/05/2015


Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg
10
07
ALIENARE
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus
13
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Anabasis