tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

31/05/2015 : LAST AVENUE - Integration Protocol

LAST AVENUE

Integration Protocol

MusicCD
ElectropunkPost Punk

[80/100]   

Tinplho records
31/05/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

In times of profiling or genre definition, it’s risky to release an album with post-punk à la Killing Joke, modern metal à la Korn and electropunk with the mentality of The Prodigy.

This French band (Orléans) seems to get away with it. Why? Because of the attitude of punk, do-it-yourself and a varnish of conformity. How can you do that better than this way? Certainly not with a super polished album like some bands do (I think of Green Day).

‘This is Personal’ is a rusty sounding electro instrumental. You almost can’ t have a bigger contrast with ‘The Factory, a song with a guitar that sounds like a sander or a chainsaw. It cuts to the bone. In the first song you hear melodic lines, in the second a rougher sound in the style of Kevin ‘Geordie’ Walker (Killing Joke). But it sounds good. The same for ‘Kill the Past’ or ‘Self Made Drone’, in which the band mixes the two different elements into a sort of modern metal, that reminds me of ‘Korn’ and ‘Linkin’ Park’, but less polished sounding.

This album has tempo, energy and bollocks… sometimes it is intense, but not always an easy ride. For those who love such stuff.

Wim GUILLEMYN
31/05/2015


NL

In tijden van profilering en genreafbakening is het gewaagd om een album uit te brengen waarop postpunk à la Killing Joke, nu-metal à la Korn en electropunk met de mentaliteit van The Prodigy te horen is.

Deze Franse band (Orléans) lijkt er mee weg te komen. Waarom? Omdat alles een zekere attitude uitstraalt. Een attitude van punk, doe het zelf en lak aan conformiteit. Hoe kan je dat beter doen dan op deze manier? Dan moet je niet met een afgelikt album afkomen zoals sommige bands doen (ik denk dan aan Green Day bv.).

‘This is Personal’ is een roestig klinkende electro-instrumental. Een bijna groter kontrast met ‘The Factory’ kan je je niet voorstellen, want daarin klinkt de gitaar als een schuurmachine of een kettingzaag. Het snijdt door merg en been. En terwijl in het eerste nummer melodielijnen zitten, is er hier sprake van hakwerk zoals we dat ook kennen van bv. gitarist Kevin ‘Geordie’ Walker (Killing Joke). En toch vind ik dat het iets heeft. Ook zo in ‘Kill The Past’ of ‘Self Made Drone’ waarin beide elementen gemengd worden tot een soort nu-metal die bij momenten wat op ‘Linkin’ Park’ of ‘Korn’ lijkt, maar dan veel minder gepolijst.

Dit album heeft vaart, energie, ballen… het is bij momenten intens en niet altijd een gemakkelijke rit. Wie daarvoor te vinden is, heeft er zeker en vast een goede kluif aan.

Wim GUILLEMYN
31/05/2015


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete