tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

31/05/2015 : LAST AVENUE - Integration Protocol

LAST AVENUE

Integration Protocol

MusicCD
ElectropunkPost Punk

[80/100]   

Tinplho records
31/05/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

In times of profiling or genre definition, it’s risky to release an album with post-punk à la Killing Joke, modern metal à la Korn and electropunk with the mentality of The Prodigy.

This French band (Orléans) seems to get away with it. Why? Because of the attitude of punk, do-it-yourself and a varnish of conformity. How can you do that better than this way? Certainly not with a super polished album like some bands do (I think of Green Day).

‘This is Personal’ is a rusty sounding electro instrumental. You almost can’ t have a bigger contrast with ‘The Factory, a song with a guitar that sounds like a sander or a chainsaw. It cuts to the bone. In the first song you hear melodic lines, in the second a rougher sound in the style of Kevin ‘Geordie’ Walker (Killing Joke). But it sounds good. The same for ‘Kill the Past’ or ‘Self Made Drone’, in which the band mixes the two different elements into a sort of modern metal, that reminds me of ‘Korn’ and ‘Linkin’ Park’, but less polished sounding.

This album has tempo, energy and bollocks… sometimes it is intense, but not always an easy ride. For those who love such stuff.

Wim GUILLEMYN
31/05/2015


NL

In tijden van profilering en genreafbakening is het gewaagd om een album uit te brengen waarop postpunk à la Killing Joke, nu-metal à la Korn en electropunk met de mentaliteit van The Prodigy te horen is.

Deze Franse band (Orléans) lijkt er mee weg te komen. Waarom? Omdat alles een zekere attitude uitstraalt. Een attitude van punk, doe het zelf en lak aan conformiteit. Hoe kan je dat beter doen dan op deze manier? Dan moet je niet met een afgelikt album afkomen zoals sommige bands doen (ik denk dan aan Green Day bv.).

‘This is Personal’ is een roestig klinkende electro-instrumental. Een bijna groter kontrast met ‘The Factory’ kan je je niet voorstellen, want daarin klinkt de gitaar als een schuurmachine of een kettingzaag. Het snijdt door merg en been. En terwijl in het eerste nummer melodielijnen zitten, is er hier sprake van hakwerk zoals we dat ook kennen van bv. gitarist Kevin ‘Geordie’ Walker (Killing Joke). En toch vind ik dat het iets heeft. Ook zo in ‘Kill The Past’ of ‘Self Made Drone’ waarin beide elementen gemengd worden tot een soort nu-metal die bij momenten wat op ‘Linkin’ Park’ of ‘Korn’ lijkt, maar dan veel minder gepolijst.

Dit album heeft vaart, energie, ballen… het is bij momenten intens en niet altijd een gemakkelijke rit. Wie daarvoor te vinden is, heeft er zeker en vast een goede kluif aan.

Wim GUILLEMYN
31/05/2015


Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'
16
10
SAMMI DOLL Releases Official Music Video for 'AN OM IE'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit
23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)
22
10
EXECUTIVE SLACKS
So Mote it Be (Bedroom version)
21
10
PANKOW
Great Minds Against Themselves Conspire / Dirty Old Men
20
10
CHAMELEONS VOX
Swamp Thing
19
10
SALLY DIGE
Holding On
18
10
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent