tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

31/05/2015 : LAST AVENUE - Integration Protocol

LAST AVENUE

Integration Protocol

MusicCD
ElectropunkPost Punk

[80/100]   

Tinplho records
31/05/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

In times of profiling or genre definition, it’s risky to release an album with post-punk à la Killing Joke, modern metal à la Korn and electropunk with the mentality of The Prodigy.

This French band (Orléans) seems to get away with it. Why? Because of the attitude of punk, do-it-yourself and a varnish of conformity. How can you do that better than this way? Certainly not with a super polished album like some bands do (I think of Green Day).

‘This is Personal’ is a rusty sounding electro instrumental. You almost can’ t have a bigger contrast with ‘The Factory, a song with a guitar that sounds like a sander or a chainsaw. It cuts to the bone. In the first song you hear melodic lines, in the second a rougher sound in the style of Kevin ‘Geordie’ Walker (Killing Joke). But it sounds good. The same for ‘Kill the Past’ or ‘Self Made Drone’, in which the band mixes the two different elements into a sort of modern metal, that reminds me of ‘Korn’ and ‘Linkin’ Park’, but less polished sounding.

This album has tempo, energy and bollocks… sometimes it is intense, but not always an easy ride. For those who love such stuff.

Wim GUILLEMYN
31/05/2015


NL

In tijden van profilering en genreafbakening is het gewaagd om een album uit te brengen waarop postpunk à la Killing Joke, nu-metal à la Korn en electropunk met de mentaliteit van The Prodigy te horen is.

Deze Franse band (Orléans) lijkt er mee weg te komen. Waarom? Omdat alles een zekere attitude uitstraalt. Een attitude van punk, doe het zelf en lak aan conformiteit. Hoe kan je dat beter doen dan op deze manier? Dan moet je niet met een afgelikt album afkomen zoals sommige bands doen (ik denk dan aan Green Day bv.).

‘This is Personal’ is een roestig klinkende electro-instrumental. Een bijna groter kontrast met ‘The Factory’ kan je je niet voorstellen, want daarin klinkt de gitaar als een schuurmachine of een kettingzaag. Het snijdt door merg en been. En terwijl in het eerste nummer melodielijnen zitten, is er hier sprake van hakwerk zoals we dat ook kennen van bv. gitarist Kevin ‘Geordie’ Walker (Killing Joke). En toch vind ik dat het iets heeft. Ook zo in ‘Kill The Past’ of ‘Self Made Drone’ waarin beide elementen gemengd worden tot een soort nu-metal die bij momenten wat op ‘Linkin’ Park’ of ‘Korn’ lijkt, maar dan veel minder gepolijst.

Dit album heeft vaart, energie, ballen… het is bij momenten intens en niet altijd een gemakkelijke rit. Wie daarvoor te vinden is, heeft er zeker en vast een goede kluif aan.

Wim GUILLEMYN
31/05/2015


Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
06
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
22
06
THE EDITORS
Papillon
21
06
KONTRAVOID
Silent Visions
20
06
RED LORRY YELLOW LORRY
Talk About The Weather
19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On