tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

31/05/2015 : LAST AVENUE - Integration Protocol

LAST AVENUE

Integration Protocol

MusicCD
ElectropunkPost Punk

[80/100]   

Tinplho records
31/05/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

In times of profiling or genre definition, it’s risky to release an album with post-punk à la Killing Joke, modern metal à la Korn and electropunk with the mentality of The Prodigy.

This French band (Orléans) seems to get away with it. Why? Because of the attitude of punk, do-it-yourself and a varnish of conformity. How can you do that better than this way? Certainly not with a super polished album like some bands do (I think of Green Day).

‘This is Personal’ is a rusty sounding electro instrumental. You almost can’ t have a bigger contrast with ‘The Factory, a song with a guitar that sounds like a sander or a chainsaw. It cuts to the bone. In the first song you hear melodic lines, in the second a rougher sound in the style of Kevin ‘Geordie’ Walker (Killing Joke). But it sounds good. The same for ‘Kill the Past’ or ‘Self Made Drone’, in which the band mixes the two different elements into a sort of modern metal, that reminds me of ‘Korn’ and ‘Linkin’ Park’, but less polished sounding.

This album has tempo, energy and bollocks… sometimes it is intense, but not always an easy ride. For those who love such stuff.

Wim GUILLEMYN
31/05/2015


NL

In tijden van profilering en genreafbakening is het gewaagd om een album uit te brengen waarop postpunk à la Killing Joke, nu-metal à la Korn en electropunk met de mentaliteit van The Prodigy te horen is.

Deze Franse band (Orléans) lijkt er mee weg te komen. Waarom? Omdat alles een zekere attitude uitstraalt. Een attitude van punk, doe het zelf en lak aan conformiteit. Hoe kan je dat beter doen dan op deze manier? Dan moet je niet met een afgelikt album afkomen zoals sommige bands doen (ik denk dan aan Green Day bv.).

‘This is Personal’ is een roestig klinkende electro-instrumental. Een bijna groter kontrast met ‘The Factory’ kan je je niet voorstellen, want daarin klinkt de gitaar als een schuurmachine of een kettingzaag. Het snijdt door merg en been. En terwijl in het eerste nummer melodielijnen zitten, is er hier sprake van hakwerk zoals we dat ook kennen van bv. gitarist Kevin ‘Geordie’ Walker (Killing Joke). En toch vind ik dat het iets heeft. Ook zo in ‘Kill The Past’ of ‘Self Made Drone’ waarin beide elementen gemengd worden tot een soort nu-metal die bij momenten wat op ‘Linkin’ Park’ of ‘Korn’ lijkt, maar dan veel minder gepolijst.

Dit album heeft vaart, energie, ballen… het is bij momenten intens en niet altijd een gemakkelijke rit. Wie daarvoor te vinden is, heeft er zeker en vast een goede kluif aan.

Wim GUILLEMYN
31/05/2015


Music reviews

18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep
08
03
DRAGON WELDING
Dragon Welding
05
03
I AM A ROCKETSHIP
Mind Grafitti

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day
16
03
Today, 35 years ago, Siousxie And The Banshees released the single Swimming Horses!
15
03
New album and video by UK Goth rockers Children On Stun! Win - Win - Win
15
03
'Locating Silver Lake': Digital movie release on March 22 - DVD coming soon!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
14
03
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever
13
03
KRANKLAND
Oh My Love
12
03
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Eye on you (Fan made video)