tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

26/05/2015 : MITSKI - Bury Me At Makeout Creek

MITSKI

Bury Me At Makeout Creek

MusicCD
Indie Rock

[90/100]   

don giovanni records
26/05/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Indie rock is a term which can cover many loads, sometimes with a varied and exciting palette within one genre. This is alsothe cas with the third album of ‘Mitski’, that excels in 90s indie rock. ‘Mitski’ sings with melancholy and nuances. You can hear an echo of her Japanese roots. in ‘Japanese pop-songs’ you notice some elements of it in her way of singing. The CD exudes individuality and passion in the artwork, the lyrics and music. The booklet for example does not contain songlyrics but a text called ’27 Bad Survival Tips for Artists’. In her music she uses a number of lo-fi elements in order to achieve effect, and that is an excellent choice: for example on ‘I Don’t Smoke’ she combines a lo-fi punky guitar with rather high and emotional vocals. Nice effect. She studied piano and only a year before the recordings she learned to play the guitar…

Starter ‘Texas Reznikoff’ begins as a calm indie song and turns into a rock/hardcore song at the end. ‘Townie’ sums up well the feeling of a wild night. For me ‘Townie’, ‘I Don’ t Smoke’ and ‘Last Words of a Shooting Star’ are the highlights of the album. It is definitely a step forward compared to her previous work.

Besides the 10 album songs there are 4 bonus live tracks: a masterfully piano version of ‘Square’ which is, just as ‘I Want You’, a song of her second album, and two live version of ‘Francis Forever’ and ‘Last Words of a Shooting Star’.

With this album Mitski enters an almost unexplored terrain of Indie rock. There are artists and musicians. She has something of both, I guess.

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/05/2015


NL

Indierock is een term die veel ladingen dekt, met vaak een boeiend en gevarieerd palet binnen één stroming. Zo ook met dit derde album van Mitski dat uitblinkt in melancholische indierock ui!t de jaren 90. Mitski klinkt melancholisch en genuanceerd. Je hoort de echo van haar Japanse afkomst in de manier van zingen, met een aantal typische kenmerken van Japanse ‘schlagers’. De cd straalt in alles eigenzinnigheid en passie uit en dat zowel in het artwork, de teksten en de muziek. Het tekstboekje bevat bijvoorbeeld ’27 Bad Survival Tips For Artists’, maar geen echte tekst over de composities. In haar muziek gebruikt ze soms lo-figeluiden om bepaalde effecten te bereiken en dat is knap gedaan: bv. ‘I Don’ t Smoke’, waarin ze een gitaar met een lo-fipunkgehalte tegenover een eerder hoge en emotionele zangstem plaatst. Mooi effect. Ze heeft piano gestudeerd en ze is pas een jaar voor de opnames begonnen met gitaar spelen. Opener ‘Texas Reznikoff’ begint als een rustige indiesong om dan plots op het einde om te slaan in rock/hardcore. ‘Townie’ vat het gevoel van een wilde nacht goed samen. Voor mij is ‘Townie’ samen met ‘I don’ t Smoke’ en ‘Last Words of a Shooting Star’ het hoogtepunt van dit album, dat zeker een stap voorwaarts is in vergelijking met haar vorige werk.

Naast de 10 albumsongs staan er nog 4 live songs op de cd: een magistrale pianoversie van ‘Square’. Een nummer uit haar vorige plaat, net als ‘I Want You’, dat hier veel beter uit de verf komt dan de originele versie. Daarnaast ook nog een live versie van ‘Francis Forever’ en ‘Last Words of a Shooting Star’.

Mitski begeeft zich met dit album op een bijna onontgonnen stukje Indierock. Je hebt muzikanten en artiesten en deze lijkt het allebei een beetje in zich te hebben.

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/05/2015


26/05/2015 : MITSKI - Bury Me At Makeout Creek 26/05/2015 : MITSKI - Bury Me At Makeout Creek

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
FEUERSCHWANZ
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
UNZUCHT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
AEVERIUM
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
HELL BOULEVARD
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
COVENANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NITZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire