tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

26/05/2015 : MITSKI - Bury Me At Makeout Creek

MITSKI

Bury Me At Makeout Creek

MusicCD
Indie Rock

[90/100]   

don giovanni records
26/05/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Indie rock is a term which can cover many loads, sometimes with a varied and exciting palette within one genre. This is alsothe cas with the third album of ‘Mitski’, that excels in 90s indie rock. ‘Mitski’ sings with melancholy and nuances. You can hear an echo of her Japanese roots. in ‘Japanese pop-songs’ you notice some elements of it in her way of singing. The CD exudes individuality and passion in the artwork, the lyrics and music. The booklet for example does not contain songlyrics but a text called ’27 Bad Survival Tips for Artists’. In her music she uses a number of lo-fi elements in order to achieve effect, and that is an excellent choice: for example on ‘I Don’t Smoke’ she combines a lo-fi punky guitar with rather high and emotional vocals. Nice effect. She studied piano and only a year before the recordings she learned to play the guitar…

Starter ‘Texas Reznikoff’ begins as a calm indie song and turns into a rock/hardcore song at the end. ‘Townie’ sums up well the feeling of a wild night. For me ‘Townie’, ‘I Don’ t Smoke’ and ‘Last Words of a Shooting Star’ are the highlights of the album. It is definitely a step forward compared to her previous work.

Besides the 10 album songs there are 4 bonus live tracks: a masterfully piano version of ‘Square’ which is, just as ‘I Want You’, a song of her second album, and two live version of ‘Francis Forever’ and ‘Last Words of a Shooting Star’.

With this album Mitski enters an almost unexplored terrain of Indie rock. There are artists and musicians. She has something of both, I guess.

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/05/2015


NL

Indierock is een term die veel ladingen dekt, met vaak een boeiend en gevarieerd palet binnen één stroming. Zo ook met dit derde album van Mitski dat uitblinkt in melancholische indierock ui!t de jaren 90. Mitski klinkt melancholisch en genuanceerd. Je hoort de echo van haar Japanse afkomst in de manier van zingen, met een aantal typische kenmerken van Japanse ‘schlagers’. De cd straalt in alles eigenzinnigheid en passie uit en dat zowel in het artwork, de teksten en de muziek. Het tekstboekje bevat bijvoorbeeld ’27 Bad Survival Tips For Artists’, maar geen echte tekst over de composities. In haar muziek gebruikt ze soms lo-figeluiden om bepaalde effecten te bereiken en dat is knap gedaan: bv. ‘I Don’ t Smoke’, waarin ze een gitaar met een lo-fipunkgehalte tegenover een eerder hoge en emotionele zangstem plaatst. Mooi effect. Ze heeft piano gestudeerd en ze is pas een jaar voor de opnames begonnen met gitaar spelen. Opener ‘Texas Reznikoff’ begint als een rustige indiesong om dan plots op het einde om te slaan in rock/hardcore. ‘Townie’ vat het gevoel van een wilde nacht goed samen. Voor mij is ‘Townie’ samen met ‘I don’ t Smoke’ en ‘Last Words of a Shooting Star’ het hoogtepunt van dit album, dat zeker een stap voorwaarts is in vergelijking met haar vorige werk.

Naast de 10 albumsongs staan er nog 4 live songs op de cd: een magistrale pianoversie van ‘Square’. Een nummer uit haar vorige plaat, net als ‘I Want You’, dat hier veel beter uit de verf komt dan de originele versie. Daarnaast ook nog een live versie van ‘Francis Forever’ en ‘Last Words of a Shooting Star’.

Mitski begeeft zich met dit album op een bijna onontgonnen stukje Indierock. Je hebt muzikanten en artiesten en deze lijkt het allebei een beetje in zich te hebben.

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/05/2015


26/05/2015 : MITSKI - Bury Me At Makeout Creek 26/05/2015 : MITSKI - Bury Me At Makeout Creek

Music reviews

29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park
14
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Melancholic Disposition

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
03
On this day, 40 years ago, Kraftwerk performed Das Model on German TV.
28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'
22
03
Today, exactly 31 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
No-One Driving since 1980! John Foxx released his second 7' 40 years ago!
21
03
Bone Machine | 32 - Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...
03
03
DAVID SARDY
Producer David Sardy on his work with The Who, Oasis, Marilyn Manson and scoring work.

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)
28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)
26
03
SEGBROEK
Hungry Eyes
25
03
JOZEF VAN WISSEM
Ruins
24
03
KRANKLAND
In the Realms of the Unreal