tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

26/05/2015 : MITSKI - Bury Me At Makeout Creek

MITSKI

Bury Me At Makeout Creek

MusicCD
Indie Rock

[90/100]   

don giovanni records
26/05/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Indie rock is a term which can cover many loads, sometimes with a varied and exciting palette within one genre. This is alsothe cas with the third album of ‘Mitski’, that excels in 90s indie rock. ‘Mitski’ sings with melancholy and nuances. You can hear an echo of her Japanese roots. in ‘Japanese pop-songs’ you notice some elements of it in her way of singing. The CD exudes individuality and passion in the artwork, the lyrics and music. The booklet for example does not contain songlyrics but a text called ’27 Bad Survival Tips for Artists’. In her music she uses a number of lo-fi elements in order to achieve effect, and that is an excellent choice: for example on ‘I Don’t Smoke’ she combines a lo-fi punky guitar with rather high and emotional vocals. Nice effect. She studied piano and only a year before the recordings she learned to play the guitar…

Starter ‘Texas Reznikoff’ begins as a calm indie song and turns into a rock/hardcore song at the end. ‘Townie’ sums up well the feeling of a wild night. For me ‘Townie’, ‘I Don’ t Smoke’ and ‘Last Words of a Shooting Star’ are the highlights of the album. It is definitely a step forward compared to her previous work.

Besides the 10 album songs there are 4 bonus live tracks: a masterfully piano version of ‘Square’ which is, just as ‘I Want You’, a song of her second album, and two live version of ‘Francis Forever’ and ‘Last Words of a Shooting Star’.

With this album Mitski enters an almost unexplored terrain of Indie rock. There are artists and musicians. She has something of both, I guess.

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/05/2015


NL

Indierock is een term die veel ladingen dekt, met vaak een boeiend en gevarieerd palet binnen één stroming. Zo ook met dit derde album van Mitski dat uitblinkt in melancholische indierock ui!t de jaren 90. Mitski klinkt melancholisch en genuanceerd. Je hoort de echo van haar Japanse afkomst in de manier van zingen, met een aantal typische kenmerken van Japanse ‘schlagers’. De cd straalt in alles eigenzinnigheid en passie uit en dat zowel in het artwork, de teksten en de muziek. Het tekstboekje bevat bijvoorbeeld ’27 Bad Survival Tips For Artists’, maar geen echte tekst over de composities. In haar muziek gebruikt ze soms lo-figeluiden om bepaalde effecten te bereiken en dat is knap gedaan: bv. ‘I Don’ t Smoke’, waarin ze een gitaar met een lo-fipunkgehalte tegenover een eerder hoge en emotionele zangstem plaatst. Mooi effect. Ze heeft piano gestudeerd en ze is pas een jaar voor de opnames begonnen met gitaar spelen. Opener ‘Texas Reznikoff’ begint als een rustige indiesong om dan plots op het einde om te slaan in rock/hardcore. ‘Townie’ vat het gevoel van een wilde nacht goed samen. Voor mij is ‘Townie’ samen met ‘I don’ t Smoke’ en ‘Last Words of a Shooting Star’ het hoogtepunt van dit album, dat zeker een stap voorwaarts is in vergelijking met haar vorige werk.

Naast de 10 albumsongs staan er nog 4 live songs op de cd: een magistrale pianoversie van ‘Square’. Een nummer uit haar vorige plaat, net als ‘I Want You’, dat hier veel beter uit de verf komt dan de originele versie. Daarnaast ook nog een live versie van ‘Francis Forever’ en ‘Last Words of a Shooting Star’.

Mitski begeeft zich met dit album op een bijna onontgonnen stukje Indierock. Je hebt muzikanten en artiesten en deze lijkt het allebei een beetje in zich te hebben.

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/05/2015


26/05/2015 : MITSKI - Bury Me At Makeout Creek 26/05/2015 : MITSKI - Bury Me At Makeout Creek

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

01
03
SEX GANG CHILDREN PREMIERE NEW SINGLE - DEATH MASK MUSSOLINI
28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 2 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 43 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
This Charming Band | 37 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp
25
02
NEW ORDER
Regret
24
02
MANDIVULA
GHSTNG
23
02
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Nag Nag Nag