tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

26/05/2015 : MITSKI - Bury Me At Makeout Creek

MITSKI

Bury Me At Makeout Creek

MusicCD
Indie Rock

[90/100]   

don giovanni records
26/05/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Indie rock is a term which can cover many loads, sometimes with a varied and exciting palette within one genre. This is alsothe cas with the third album of ‘Mitski’, that excels in 90s indie rock. ‘Mitski’ sings with melancholy and nuances. You can hear an echo of her Japanese roots. in ‘Japanese pop-songs’ you notice some elements of it in her way of singing. The CD exudes individuality and passion in the artwork, the lyrics and music. The booklet for example does not contain songlyrics but a text called ’27 Bad Survival Tips for Artists’. In her music she uses a number of lo-fi elements in order to achieve effect, and that is an excellent choice: for example on ‘I Don’t Smoke’ she combines a lo-fi punky guitar with rather high and emotional vocals. Nice effect. She studied piano and only a year before the recordings she learned to play the guitar…

Starter ‘Texas Reznikoff’ begins as a calm indie song and turns into a rock/hardcore song at the end. ‘Townie’ sums up well the feeling of a wild night. For me ‘Townie’, ‘I Don’ t Smoke’ and ‘Last Words of a Shooting Star’ are the highlights of the album. It is definitely a step forward compared to her previous work.

Besides the 10 album songs there are 4 bonus live tracks: a masterfully piano version of ‘Square’ which is, just as ‘I Want You’, a song of her second album, and two live version of ‘Francis Forever’ and ‘Last Words of a Shooting Star’.

With this album Mitski enters an almost unexplored terrain of Indie rock. There are artists and musicians. She has something of both, I guess.

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/05/2015


NL

Indierock is een term die veel ladingen dekt, met vaak een boeiend en gevarieerd palet binnen één stroming. Zo ook met dit derde album van Mitski dat uitblinkt in melancholische indierock ui!t de jaren 90. Mitski klinkt melancholisch en genuanceerd. Je hoort de echo van haar Japanse afkomst in de manier van zingen, met een aantal typische kenmerken van Japanse ‘schlagers’. De cd straalt in alles eigenzinnigheid en passie uit en dat zowel in het artwork, de teksten en de muziek. Het tekstboekje bevat bijvoorbeeld ’27 Bad Survival Tips For Artists’, maar geen echte tekst over de composities. In haar muziek gebruikt ze soms lo-figeluiden om bepaalde effecten te bereiken en dat is knap gedaan: bv. ‘I Don’ t Smoke’, waarin ze een gitaar met een lo-fipunkgehalte tegenover een eerder hoge en emotionele zangstem plaatst. Mooi effect. Ze heeft piano gestudeerd en ze is pas een jaar voor de opnames begonnen met gitaar spelen. Opener ‘Texas Reznikoff’ begint als een rustige indiesong om dan plots op het einde om te slaan in rock/hardcore. ‘Townie’ vat het gevoel van een wilde nacht goed samen. Voor mij is ‘Townie’ samen met ‘I don’ t Smoke’ en ‘Last Words of a Shooting Star’ het hoogtepunt van dit album, dat zeker een stap voorwaarts is in vergelijking met haar vorige werk.

Naast de 10 albumsongs staan er nog 4 live songs op de cd: een magistrale pianoversie van ‘Square’. Een nummer uit haar vorige plaat, net als ‘I Want You’, dat hier veel beter uit de verf komt dan de originele versie. Daarnaast ook nog een live versie van ‘Francis Forever’ en ‘Last Words of a Shooting Star’.

Mitski begeeft zich met dit album op een bijna onontgonnen stukje Indierock. Je hebt muzikanten en artiesten en deze lijkt het allebei een beetje in zich te hebben.

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/05/2015


26/05/2015 : MITSKI - Bury Me At Makeout Creek 26/05/2015 : MITSKI - Bury Me At Makeout Creek

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis