tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

25/05/2015 : HOT CHIP - Why Makes Sense?

HOT CHIP

Why Makes Sense?

MusicCD
Indie

[85/100]   

Domino Records
25/05/2015, Paul PLEDGER

It's album number six for the septet who have carved out something of a unique niche for themselves during the past fifteen years or so. The band's following across Europe has increased considerably, while the U.S. finally took Hot Chip under its wing with 2012's In Our Heads (it scored them their first Billboard Top 100 hit album).

Three years after that somewhat mixed set, Why Make Sense? heralds a poppier direction, a hark back to the heady days of Over and Over and Ready For the Floor. This doesn't denote a dramatic change of style or a turn for the worse, merely some welcome consistency and memorable twists and turns. Tracks like Huarache Lights and Cry For You wouldn't sound amiss on a new OMD album or a Human League EP - in fact, there's a hint of the '80s throughout Why Makes Sense?, without the whole exercise turning into parody or homage.

They can still knock out a groove of course without swamping tracks with needless distorted overbite or deliberately obscure off-beats. Keep still to Started Right and you might be diagnosed as dead. Recent single Need You Now also possesses enough of a wanton clubbers' blueprint as well as pop sensibilities and a natty keyboard hook, while Hot Chip exude plenty of measured insight with the rather pretty So Much Further To Go. A few songs lag a liitle but, as an overall listening entity, Why Make Sense? makes sense.

What sounds like a live set of drums powers the title-track to an abrupt and triumphant conclusion to an album that is by and large, Hot Chip in perfect motion.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
25/05/2015


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide
18
06
JO QUAIL
Tu Florentine (Live 2013)