tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

25/05/2015 : HOT CHIP - Why Makes Sense?

HOT CHIP

Why Makes Sense?

MusicCD
Indie

[85/100]   

Domino Records
25/05/2015, Paul PLEDGER

It's album number six for the septet who have carved out something of a unique niche for themselves during the past fifteen years or so. The band's following across Europe has increased considerably, while the U.S. finally took Hot Chip under its wing with 2012's In Our Heads (it scored them their first Billboard Top 100 hit album).

Three years after that somewhat mixed set, Why Make Sense? heralds a poppier direction, a hark back to the heady days of Over and Over and Ready For the Floor. This doesn't denote a dramatic change of style or a turn for the worse, merely some welcome consistency and memorable twists and turns. Tracks like Huarache Lights and Cry For You wouldn't sound amiss on a new OMD album or a Human League EP - in fact, there's a hint of the '80s throughout Why Makes Sense?, without the whole exercise turning into parody or homage.

They can still knock out a groove of course without swamping tracks with needless distorted overbite or deliberately obscure off-beats. Keep still to Started Right and you might be diagnosed as dead. Recent single Need You Now also possesses enough of a wanton clubbers' blueprint as well as pop sensibilities and a natty keyboard hook, while Hot Chip exude plenty of measured insight with the rather pretty So Much Further To Go. A few songs lag a liitle but, as an overall listening entity, Why Make Sense? makes sense.

What sounds like a live set of drums powers the title-track to an abrupt and triumphant conclusion to an album that is by and large, Hot Chip in perfect motion.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
25/05/2015


Music reviews

02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
12
This month, 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.
02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
12
ORKESTRA OBSOLETE
Blue Monday
02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover