tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

20/05/2015 : PRONOISE - The Border Crossing

PRONOISE

The Border Crossing

MusicCD
Dark Wave

[85/100]   

Self-released
20/05/2015, Britta Tabrit

“Pronoise” was founded in 1996 by Nacho Artax and Javi Andreu in Valencia, Spain. Their music covers a wide range - between EBM, Dark Wave and Post Punk - and Pronoise itself.

After their first album “Low Light Vision” had been published in 1997, there was a long period of silence until in 2013 some labels came across “Pronoise” and their old CDs. Meanwhile the band was working on new stuff and with the help of donations this work found its way to be released on May 15th 2015. There are live shows planned for this summer.

As I was lucky to receive a promo copy from Nacho Artax, let’s have a close look at “The Border Crossing”: The album is a 9-track CD.

The opening track is “The Speed of Dark”. Samples about Einstein’s train and light experiment take you on a journey at the speed of light. This song is the start signal of a trip through life, with all its crossroads and borders, its speed and all its facets.

“Dangerous Games” is a solid but great dark wave song. It’s kind of a 80s revival and talks about the dangerous relationship between girls and boys. A “love-like-blood” song that I really appreciate nowadays.

Track 3 is called “Rapture (Thy Won’t Care)”. The thrills of life and the meaning of you being here on this planet… what does it mean in the end? Is it of any importance? Who cares? Our lives are fast but what remains? A rhythmic EBM track with a serious background.

“Suzanne And The Sea Of Souls” reminds me of old “Pitchfolk” songs. Good old-fashioned. It’s about friendship and those who support us in difficult times. A wonderful calm song!

The next track is “Evil Machine”. This is a real dancefloor killer! Synthpop mixed with classic old-school elements. I would say this song jumps the shark of this album. Mostly instrumental and catchy. Maybe a bit more “contemporary” than the rest, but definitely a surprising and welcome change!

“Malfunction” is the next one. What if something doesn’t work in life? Go on? Give up? The track is well instrumentalized. The voice sounds kind of familiar to me. 80s batcave-rock at its best! Really my favorite song!

Track No. 7 is “Hunting 2015” is mostly instrumental. A rock-electro track with a spooky atmosphere. While listening to this one I got the impression that this would be a good soundtrack for one of these Vampire movies that I love so much!

“After the Rain” is another charming dark wave rock song. Honestly I was surprised to hear so much from a time that seemed far away. In times of Industrial and Hard Electro, I often miss the feeling I had let’s say 15 to 20 years ago while listening to punk and dark wave music!

“Mil Pedazos” (Millions of pieces) forms the end of this wonderfully mastered album! A silent piano melody, accompanied by the sound of rain and thunder. Maybe that’s what remains after a life: Millions of pieces, millions of raindrops.

“The Border Crossing” is definitely a new milestone and of the best stuff I’ve heard in the field of Dark Wave! Unfortunately this is a rare incidence, but Pronoise holds out hope of the past having good prospects!

Curious? For more information on “Pronoise”:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/PronoiseOficial?fref=ts

Homepage: http://www.pronoise.es/

Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/pronoiseoficial/sets/the-border-crossing

Britta Tabrit
20/05/2015


Music reviews

03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt
26
08
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE
Sharpening The Axe
21
08
STRUGGLER
Wilma (Determinated Protector)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'
12
09
DAWN OF ASHES
‘Covid-19 Is A Gateway To Show Us The True Colors Of The Human Race

PHOTOS

20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
The Mysterious Vanishing of Electra
22
09
BLACK LINE
Snap
21
09
ALPHAMAY
Silence Emotion
20
09
FREISPIELEREI
Fish Muss Schwimmen, Gell
19
09
TRUE ZEBRA
Connection is addiction
19
09
NO!ON
6
18
09
NEOCOMA
Like An Angel