tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

20/05/2015 : PRONOISE - The Border Crossing

PRONOISE

The Border Crossing

MusicCD
Dark Wave

[85/100]   

Self-released
20/05/2015, Britta Tabrit

“Pronoise” was founded in 1996 by Nacho Artax and Javi Andreu in Valencia, Spain. Their music covers a wide range - between EBM, Dark Wave and Post Punk - and Pronoise itself.

After their first album “Low Light Vision” had been published in 1997, there was a long period of silence until in 2013 some labels came across “Pronoise” and their old CDs. Meanwhile the band was working on new stuff and with the help of donations this work found its way to be released on May 15th 2015. There are live shows planned for this summer.

As I was lucky to receive a promo copy from Nacho Artax, let’s have a close look at “The Border Crossing”: The album is a 9-track CD.

The opening track is “The Speed of Dark”. Samples about Einstein’s train and light experiment take you on a journey at the speed of light. This song is the start signal of a trip through life, with all its crossroads and borders, its speed and all its facets.

“Dangerous Games” is a solid but great dark wave song. It’s kind of a 80s revival and talks about the dangerous relationship between girls and boys. A “love-like-blood” song that I really appreciate nowadays.

Track 3 is called “Rapture (Thy Won’t Care)”. The thrills of life and the meaning of you being here on this planet… what does it mean in the end? Is it of any importance? Who cares? Our lives are fast but what remains? A rhythmic EBM track with a serious background.

“Suzanne And The Sea Of Souls” reminds me of old “Pitchfolk” songs. Good old-fashioned. It’s about friendship and those who support us in difficult times. A wonderful calm song!

The next track is “Evil Machine”. This is a real dancefloor killer! Synthpop mixed with classic old-school elements. I would say this song jumps the shark of this album. Mostly instrumental and catchy. Maybe a bit more “contemporary” than the rest, but definitely a surprising and welcome change!

“Malfunction” is the next one. What if something doesn’t work in life? Go on? Give up? The track is well instrumentalized. The voice sounds kind of familiar to me. 80s batcave-rock at its best! Really my favorite song!

Track No. 7 is “Hunting 2015” is mostly instrumental. A rock-electro track with a spooky atmosphere. While listening to this one I got the impression that this would be a good soundtrack for one of these Vampire movies that I love so much!

“After the Rain” is another charming dark wave rock song. Honestly I was surprised to hear so much from a time that seemed far away. In times of Industrial and Hard Electro, I often miss the feeling I had let’s say 15 to 20 years ago while listening to punk and dark wave music!

“Mil Pedazos” (Millions of pieces) forms the end of this wonderfully mastered album! A silent piano melody, accompanied by the sound of rain and thunder. Maybe that’s what remains after a life: Millions of pieces, millions of raindrops.

“The Border Crossing” is definitely a new milestone and of the best stuff I’ve heard in the field of Dark Wave! Unfortunately this is a rare incidence, but Pronoise holds out hope of the past having good prospects!

Curious? For more information on “Pronoise”:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/PronoiseOficial?fref=ts

Homepage: http://www.pronoise.es/

Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/pronoiseoficial/sets/the-border-crossing

Britta Tabrit
20/05/2015


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
02
EIGTH WONDER
I'm Not Scared
21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death
17
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination
16
02
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void