tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

17/05/2015 : KORNEL MUNDRUCZO - White God

KORNEL MUNDRUCZO

White God

Movie
ArthouseHorror

[77/100]   

Homescreen
17/05/2015, Didier BECU

EN

You certainly know the feeling you get when you walk somewhere and suddenly over your head a flock of birds pops up. Of course those animals won’t do you any harm, but your cinephile memory reminds you of The Birds in which our feathered friends suddenly became the dreaded enemy. Director Kornél Mundruczó did the same, but with dogs and with Budapest as the location. the film was the contribution of Hungary for the Oscars and the dog received a Golden Palm at Cannes for his role. No, we are not taking the piss out of you, but in the French resort a dog receives a prize for the best dog rendition every year.

The film floats somewhere between Disney, arthouse, horror and surrealism. The picture that the director paintsz of Budapest is not exactly what you’d call pretty. The majestic buildings stand in stark contrast to the poverty inside. Daniel (Sándor Zsóter) is separate from his wife. When his ex goes to e congres in Australia, she asks him to look after his teenage daughter Lili (Zsófia Psotta) from whom he is alienated. The only friends the girl has are her trumpet and her dog Hagen. There is a strange Hungarian law that states that no bastard dogs may be kept as pets, and Daniel is forced to dump the poor animal in the street if he wants to avoid a penalty. He breaks his daughter's heart and she revolts and experiments with drugs in the disco with her older boyfriend. The dog has not disappeared from the picture (why else would he have been awarded in Cannes?). He ended up in the hands of a crook who wagers the animal in dog fights. Hagan, however, can break loose, and in pure Beethoven style he takes all his friends with him and gives the Hungarians the fear of their lives. The once-behaved pets now bite the throat of the Hungarians. Never before were the words of Patsy Kensit from her Eight Wonder-hit I'm Not Scared (Oh, take these dogs away from me before they bite) so real as in White God.

Many critics (and probably many cinema visitors too) did not know what to do with this movie. White God is visually stunning and incredibly original, but what does Kornél Mundruczó want to say with it? Probably nothing, it is just a wonderful ode to the dog (even the title refers to a dog movie: White Dog by Samuel Fuller). White God is an apocalyptic tale in which there is room for criticism of society (poverty in Hungary), and in which the director gives the dog a chance to snatch a piece of human flesh from his neck. Isn’t that just nice?

Didier BECU
17/05/2015


NL

Je kent het gevoel dat je krijgt als je in je eentje ergens wandelt en er plots boven je hoofd een zwerm vogels opduikt. Die beesten zullen je natuurlijk niks doen, maar je cinefiele geheugen herinnert je aan The Birds waarin onze gevleugelde vrienden plots de gevreesde vijand werden. Regisseur Kornél Mundruczó deed hetzelfde, maar dan met honden en met Boedapest als locatie. De film was de Oscarinzending van Hongarije en de hond in kwestie kreeg in Cannes een Gouden Palm voor zijn rol. Neen, we maken je niets wijs, maar in de Franse badplaats krijgt ieder jaar een hond zo’n prijs voor de beste hondenrol. 

De film zweeft ergens tussen Disney, arthouse, horror en surrealisme. Het beeld dat we te zien krijgen van Boedapest is niet meteen fraai. De majestueuze gebouwen staan in sterk contrast met de armoede binnen de muren. Daniel (Sándor Zsóter) leeft gescheiden. Als zijn ex naar Australië moet voor een congres, wordt hem gevraagd om op zijn tienerdochter Lili (Zsófia Psotta) te letten van wie hij compleet vervreemd is geraakt. De enige vrienden die het meisje heeft zijn haar trompet en haar hond Hagen. Er is een vreemde Hongaarse wet die voorschrijft dat men geen bastaardhonden als huisdier mag houden, en dus is Daniel genoodzaakt om het arme beest op straat te dumpen als hij geen boete wil krijgen. Daardoor breekt de vader niet alleen het hart van zijn dochter, ook begint zij te revolteren en zoekt zij 's avonds de disco op om samen met haar ouder vriendje met drugs te experimenteren. De hond is ook niet uit het beeld verdwenen (waarom zou hij anders een prijs in Cannes hebben gekregen?), want die is in de handen van een beul terechtgekomen die het dier inzet tijdens hondengevechten. Hagan kan echter losbreken en in pure Beethoven-stijl neemt hij al zijn vriendjes mee om de Hongaren de angst van hun leven te bezorgen. De eens zo brave huisdieren springen naar de keel van de Hongaren. Nooit eerder klonken de woorden van Patsy Kensit uit haar Eight Wonder-hit I’m Not Scared (Oh, take these dogs away from me before they bite) zo reëel als in White God.

Heel wat recensenten (en waarschijnlijk ook veel cinemabezoekers) wisten niet wat ze met de deze titel aan moesten. De film is visueel verbluffend en ontzettend origineel, maar ja: wat wil Kornél Mundruczó ermee zeggen? Niets, gewoon een heerlijke ode aan de hond (zelfs de titel refereert naar de hondenfilm White Dog van Samuel Fuller). White God is een apocalyptisch sprookje waarin plaats is voor maatschappijkritiek (de armoede in Hongarije), maar waarin de regisseur een hond ook de kans geeft om een stukje mensenvlees uit een hals te rukken. Aardig toch?

Didier BECU
17/05/2015


17/05/2015 : KORNEL MUNDRUCZO - White God 17/05/2015 : KORNEL MUNDRUCZO - White God 17/05/2015 : KORNEL MUNDRUCZO - White God 17/05/2015 : KORNEL MUNDRUCZO - White God 17/05/2015 : KORNEL MUNDRUCZO - White God 17/05/2015 : KORNEL MUNDRUCZO - White God 17/05/2015 : KORNEL MUNDRUCZO - White God 17/05/2015 : KORNEL MUNDRUCZO - White God 17/05/2015 : KORNEL MUNDRUCZO - White God 17/05/2015 : KORNEL MUNDRUCZO - White God 17/05/2015 : KORNEL MUNDRUCZO - White God 17/05/2015 : KORNEL MUNDRUCZO - White God 17/05/2015 : KORNEL MUNDRUCZO - White God 17/05/2015 : KORNEL MUNDRUCZO - White God 17/05/2015 : KORNEL MUNDRUCZO - White God

Music reviews

23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer
22
08
NAIROD YARG
Nairod Yarg
17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live
14
08
PETER GUNDRY
V Ö L U R

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
08
SLEEPING PULSE
War
23
08
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
22
08
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo