tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

17/05/2015 : DIE WILDE JAGD - Die Wilde Jagd

DIE WILDE JAGD

Die Wilde Jagd

MusicCD
Electronics

[70/100]   

Bureau B
17/05/2015, Paul PLEDGER

Hailing from the German musical city Düsseldorf, home of Kraftwerk, D.A.F. and Die Krupps, it's not entirely surprising to hear the odd influence splashed across this duo's latest project. Named after a Germanic myth derived from long winter nights, Die Wilde Jagd (The Wild Hunt) isn't quite as dark, foreboding or indeed as wild as the name suggests.

Naggingly insistent, repetitive, slightly dubby, spaced out, mainly instrumental, hypnotic, retro and occasionally funky (as on the wonderfully-titled Torpedovogel), this is a stoner's paradise. Ralf Beck and Sebastian Lee Philipp share a love of electronica and drama through old machines, effects and the theatre, making this self-titled opus a drip-fed synthesis of mood music and menace. Durch Dunkle Tannen unsettles with bold timpani and austere German monotone, Der Elektrische Reiter stomps stridently under a neo-industrial fug of echoey drums and sinister Chinook samples and opener Wah Wah Wallenstein reminds this listener of Caribou with its minimalist gait and gradual build-up.

The nearest to verse/chorus/verse/chorus we get is on the melancholic Morgenrot, an acoustic ballad set against a backdrop of chilling portent, while Der Meister musically recalls Depeche Mode or Maps, but with vocals twisted into backward speech then morphed into something resembling a song - it's an album highlight, one of many. Die Wilde Jagd courts DNA drawn from urban sprawl and past masters of electronica and while not setting the world on fire, at least makes it a warmer place to be.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
17/05/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
FEUERSCHWANZ
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
UNZUCHT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
AEVERIUM
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
HELL BOULEVARD
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
COVENANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NITZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire