tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

14/05/2015 : THE INSIGHT - White Noise

THE INSIGHT

White Noise

MusicCD
Cold WavePost Punk

[80/100]   

Crysella records
14/05/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Fifteen years ago two brothers began with The Insight (Gaetan on vocals, guitars and keys, Aurélien on drums and electric pads). In 2013 Dulac joined the band as bass player. This French band from Rennes (Brittany) sounds like an English post punk band. After two self-released albums, they now release their third album via Crysella Records.

Musically they are positioned somewhere between post punk, cold wave and sometimes gothic rock. Bands I think of when I hear them: The Sound, She Wants Revenge, Magazine, Echo & The Bunymen… But I have to say: this is not a cat copy of a band from the 80s, because they have a personal style. Nice guitar parts, vocals that are rather ‘cold wave’ and a decent bass and drum. Here and there the keys sound atmospheric and give nice support to the songs. The songs are patiently build up. Starter ‘One Eyed Jack’ is a good one to start with: very atmospheric, nice vocals and slowly build up. I like also the guitar work on it. The dark ‘Lost Souls’ has guitar work that reminds me of Jesus & The Mary Chain. ‘I Will’, with the piano and the arrangement, is a sensitive track. Nice one! Also worth discovering: The Eyes, The Movement (nice build up) and War (very nice vocals). ‘6 Feet Under’ is a good song, but obviously inspired by The Cure.

Interesting is that they have a lot of different types of songs in their repertoire: more sensitive stuff, some uptempo, slowly build up tracks. All easily (re)listenable. I’m curious to see them live on stage

Wim GUILLEMYN
14/05/2015


NL

The Insight begon vijftien jaren geleden met twee broers ( Gaetan vocals, gitaren en keys, Aurélie, drums en electric pads). In 2013 kregen ze versterking van bassist Dulac. Deze Franse band klinkt eerder als een Engelse postpunkband, maar is afkomstig uit Rennes, Bretagne. Na twee in eigen beheer uitgebrachte albums, is nu het derde album uit via Crysella.

Muzikaal bevinden ze zich ergens tussen postpunk, cold wave en soms gothrock. Groepen die door mijn hoofd flitsen: The Sound, She Wants Revenge, Magazine, Echo & The Bunymen… Maar vrees niet, hun muziek heeft een eigen smoel en is geen kloon van bijvoorbeeld één of andere 80s-band. Fijn gitaarspel, een vocalist met wat ‘cold wave’-feel in zijn zang en een degelijke bas en drum. Hier en daar zorgen keys voor de ondersteuning van de songs en de sfeer. De nummers zijn geduldig opgebouwd. Opener ‘One Eyed Jack’ is een prima song om mee te beginnen: heel atmosferisch, mooi gezongen en heel langzaam opgebouwd. Ook het gitaarwerk vind ik heel aangenaam. Het donkere ‘Lost Souls’ refereert wat aan het gitaarwerk van Jesus & The Mary Chain. ‘I Will’ doet door de piano en het arrangement heel gevoelig aan. Een mooi nummer! Ook het vermelden waard: The Eyes, The Movement (mooie opbouw) en War (heel mooi gezongen). ‘6 Feet Under’ is een leuke son, maar wel erg schatplichtig aan The Cure.

Het fijne is dat ze een aantal verschillende songtypes in hun repertoire hebben: meer gevoelige dingen, wat uptempo, wat langzaam opgebouwde songs. Gaetan heeft een stem die goed bij de muziek past. Op enkele nummers hoor je hem wat zwoegen maar het is niet storend. Een aangenaam album met best wat sterke nummers. En vlot te (her)beluisteren. Erg benieuwd om ze een keer live aan het werk te zien. 

Wim GUILLEMYN
14/05/2015


Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein
28
05
GOLDEN BOY FEAT. MISS KITTIN
Rittin Kitten (Extended)
27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still