tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

14/05/2015 : THE INSIGHT - White Noise

THE INSIGHT

White Noise

MusicCD
Cold WavePost Punk

[80/100]   

Crysella records
14/05/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Fifteen years ago two brothers began with The Insight (Gaetan on vocals, guitars and keys, Aurélien on drums and electric pads). In 2013 Dulac joined the band as bass player. This French band from Rennes (Brittany) sounds like an English post punk band. After two self-released albums, they now release their third album via Crysella Records.

Musically they are positioned somewhere between post punk, cold wave and sometimes gothic rock. Bands I think of when I hear them: The Sound, She Wants Revenge, Magazine, Echo & The Bunymen… But I have to say: this is not a cat copy of a band from the 80s, because they have a personal style. Nice guitar parts, vocals that are rather ‘cold wave’ and a decent bass and drum. Here and there the keys sound atmospheric and give nice support to the songs. The songs are patiently build up. Starter ‘One Eyed Jack’ is a good one to start with: very atmospheric, nice vocals and slowly build up. I like also the guitar work on it. The dark ‘Lost Souls’ has guitar work that reminds me of Jesus & The Mary Chain. ‘I Will’, with the piano and the arrangement, is a sensitive track. Nice one! Also worth discovering: The Eyes, The Movement (nice build up) and War (very nice vocals). ‘6 Feet Under’ is a good song, but obviously inspired by The Cure.

Interesting is that they have a lot of different types of songs in their repertoire: more sensitive stuff, some uptempo, slowly build up tracks. All easily (re)listenable. I’m curious to see them live on stage

Wim GUILLEMYN
14/05/2015


NL

The Insight begon vijftien jaren geleden met twee broers ( Gaetan vocals, gitaren en keys, Aurélie, drums en electric pads). In 2013 kregen ze versterking van bassist Dulac. Deze Franse band klinkt eerder als een Engelse postpunkband, maar is afkomstig uit Rennes, Bretagne. Na twee in eigen beheer uitgebrachte albums, is nu het derde album uit via Crysella.

Muzikaal bevinden ze zich ergens tussen postpunk, cold wave en soms gothrock. Groepen die door mijn hoofd flitsen: The Sound, She Wants Revenge, Magazine, Echo & The Bunymen… Maar vrees niet, hun muziek heeft een eigen smoel en is geen kloon van bijvoorbeeld één of andere 80s-band. Fijn gitaarspel, een vocalist met wat ‘cold wave’-feel in zijn zang en een degelijke bas en drum. Hier en daar zorgen keys voor de ondersteuning van de songs en de sfeer. De nummers zijn geduldig opgebouwd. Opener ‘One Eyed Jack’ is een prima song om mee te beginnen: heel atmosferisch, mooi gezongen en heel langzaam opgebouwd. Ook het gitaarwerk vind ik heel aangenaam. Het donkere ‘Lost Souls’ refereert wat aan het gitaarwerk van Jesus & The Mary Chain. ‘I Will’ doet door de piano en het arrangement heel gevoelig aan. Een mooi nummer! Ook het vermelden waard: The Eyes, The Movement (mooie opbouw) en War (heel mooi gezongen). ‘6 Feet Under’ is een leuke son, maar wel erg schatplichtig aan The Cure.

Het fijne is dat ze een aantal verschillende songtypes in hun repertoire hebben: meer gevoelige dingen, wat uptempo, wat langzaam opgebouwde songs. Gaetan heeft een stem die goed bij de muziek past. Op enkele nummers hoor je hem wat zwoegen maar het is niet storend. Een aangenaam album met best wat sterke nummers. En vlot te (her)beluisteren. Erg benieuwd om ze een keer live aan het werk te zien. 

Wim GUILLEMYN
14/05/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVENANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire