tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

14/05/2015 : THE INSIGHT - White Noise

THE INSIGHT

White Noise

MusicCD
Cold WavePost Punk

[80/100]   

Crysella records
14/05/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Fifteen years ago two brothers began with The Insight (Gaetan on vocals, guitars and keys, Aurélien on drums and electric pads). In 2013 Dulac joined the band as bass player. This French band from Rennes (Brittany) sounds like an English post punk band. After two self-released albums, they now release their third album via Crysella Records.

Musically they are positioned somewhere between post punk, cold wave and sometimes gothic rock. Bands I think of when I hear them: The Sound, She Wants Revenge, Magazine, Echo & The Bunymen… But I have to say: this is not a cat copy of a band from the 80s, because they have a personal style. Nice guitar parts, vocals that are rather ‘cold wave’ and a decent bass and drum. Here and there the keys sound atmospheric and give nice support to the songs. The songs are patiently build up. Starter ‘One Eyed Jack’ is a good one to start with: very atmospheric, nice vocals and slowly build up. I like also the guitar work on it. The dark ‘Lost Souls’ has guitar work that reminds me of Jesus & The Mary Chain. ‘I Will’, with the piano and the arrangement, is a sensitive track. Nice one! Also worth discovering: The Eyes, The Movement (nice build up) and War (very nice vocals). ‘6 Feet Under’ is a good song, but obviously inspired by The Cure.

Interesting is that they have a lot of different types of songs in their repertoire: more sensitive stuff, some uptempo, slowly build up tracks. All easily (re)listenable. I’m curious to see them live on stage

Wim GUILLEMYN
14/05/2015


NL

The Insight begon vijftien jaren geleden met twee broers ( Gaetan vocals, gitaren en keys, Aurélie, drums en electric pads). In 2013 kregen ze versterking van bassist Dulac. Deze Franse band klinkt eerder als een Engelse postpunkband, maar is afkomstig uit Rennes, Bretagne. Na twee in eigen beheer uitgebrachte albums, is nu het derde album uit via Crysella.

Muzikaal bevinden ze zich ergens tussen postpunk, cold wave en soms gothrock. Groepen die door mijn hoofd flitsen: The Sound, She Wants Revenge, Magazine, Echo & The Bunymen… Maar vrees niet, hun muziek heeft een eigen smoel en is geen kloon van bijvoorbeeld één of andere 80s-band. Fijn gitaarspel, een vocalist met wat ‘cold wave’-feel in zijn zang en een degelijke bas en drum. Hier en daar zorgen keys voor de ondersteuning van de songs en de sfeer. De nummers zijn geduldig opgebouwd. Opener ‘One Eyed Jack’ is een prima song om mee te beginnen: heel atmosferisch, mooi gezongen en heel langzaam opgebouwd. Ook het gitaarwerk vind ik heel aangenaam. Het donkere ‘Lost Souls’ refereert wat aan het gitaarwerk van Jesus & The Mary Chain. ‘I Will’ doet door de piano en het arrangement heel gevoelig aan. Een mooi nummer! Ook het vermelden waard: The Eyes, The Movement (mooie opbouw) en War (heel mooi gezongen). ‘6 Feet Under’ is een leuke son, maar wel erg schatplichtig aan The Cure.

Het fijne is dat ze een aantal verschillende songtypes in hun repertoire hebben: meer gevoelige dingen, wat uptempo, wat langzaam opgebouwde songs. Gaetan heeft een stem die goed bij de muziek past. Op enkele nummers hoor je hem wat zwoegen maar het is niet storend. Een aangenaam album met best wat sterke nummers. En vlot te (her)beluisteren. Erg benieuwd om ze een keer live aan het werk te zien. 

Wim GUILLEMYN
14/05/2015


Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books

PHOTOS

22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
06
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
22
06
THE EDITORS
Papillon
21
06
KONTRAVOID
Silent Visions
20
06
RED LORRY YELLOW LORRY
Talk About The Weather
19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On