tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

14/05/2015 : THE INSIGHT - White Noise

THE INSIGHT

White Noise

MusicCD
Cold WavePost Punk

[80/100]   

Crysella records
14/05/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Fifteen years ago two brothers began with The Insight (Gaetan on vocals, guitars and keys, Aurélien on drums and electric pads). In 2013 Dulac joined the band as bass player. This French band from Rennes (Brittany) sounds like an English post punk band. After two self-released albums, they now release their third album via Crysella Records.

Musically they are positioned somewhere between post punk, cold wave and sometimes gothic rock. Bands I think of when I hear them: The Sound, She Wants Revenge, Magazine, Echo & The Bunymen… But I have to say: this is not a cat copy of a band from the 80s, because they have a personal style. Nice guitar parts, vocals that are rather ‘cold wave’ and a decent bass and drum. Here and there the keys sound atmospheric and give nice support to the songs. The songs are patiently build up. Starter ‘One Eyed Jack’ is a good one to start with: very atmospheric, nice vocals and slowly build up. I like also the guitar work on it. The dark ‘Lost Souls’ has guitar work that reminds me of Jesus & The Mary Chain. ‘I Will’, with the piano and the arrangement, is a sensitive track. Nice one! Also worth discovering: The Eyes, The Movement (nice build up) and War (very nice vocals). ‘6 Feet Under’ is a good song, but obviously inspired by The Cure.

Interesting is that they have a lot of different types of songs in their repertoire: more sensitive stuff, some uptempo, slowly build up tracks. All easily (re)listenable. I’m curious to see them live on stage

Wim GUILLEMYN
14/05/2015


NL

The Insight begon vijftien jaren geleden met twee broers ( Gaetan vocals, gitaren en keys, Aurélie, drums en electric pads). In 2013 kregen ze versterking van bassist Dulac. Deze Franse band klinkt eerder als een Engelse postpunkband, maar is afkomstig uit Rennes, Bretagne. Na twee in eigen beheer uitgebrachte albums, is nu het derde album uit via Crysella.

Muzikaal bevinden ze zich ergens tussen postpunk, cold wave en soms gothrock. Groepen die door mijn hoofd flitsen: The Sound, She Wants Revenge, Magazine, Echo & The Bunymen… Maar vrees niet, hun muziek heeft een eigen smoel en is geen kloon van bijvoorbeeld één of andere 80s-band. Fijn gitaarspel, een vocalist met wat ‘cold wave’-feel in zijn zang en een degelijke bas en drum. Hier en daar zorgen keys voor de ondersteuning van de songs en de sfeer. De nummers zijn geduldig opgebouwd. Opener ‘One Eyed Jack’ is een prima song om mee te beginnen: heel atmosferisch, mooi gezongen en heel langzaam opgebouwd. Ook het gitaarwerk vind ik heel aangenaam. Het donkere ‘Lost Souls’ refereert wat aan het gitaarwerk van Jesus & The Mary Chain. ‘I Will’ doet door de piano en het arrangement heel gevoelig aan. Een mooi nummer! Ook het vermelden waard: The Eyes, The Movement (mooie opbouw) en War (heel mooi gezongen). ‘6 Feet Under’ is een leuke son, maar wel erg schatplichtig aan The Cure.

Het fijne is dat ze een aantal verschillende songtypes in hun repertoire hebben: meer gevoelige dingen, wat uptempo, wat langzaam opgebouwde songs. Gaetan heeft een stem die goed bij de muziek past. Op enkele nummers hoor je hem wat zwoegen maar het is niet storend. Een aangenaam album met best wat sterke nummers. En vlot te (her)beluisteren. Erg benieuwd om ze een keer live aan het werk te zien. 

Wim GUILLEMYN
14/05/2015


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!
06
12
'Write When You Get Work': L.A. opening with special Q&A on December 7, 2018!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked