tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

14/05/2015 : THE INSIGHT - White Noise

THE INSIGHT

White Noise

MusicCD
Cold WavePost Punk

[80/100]   

Crysella records
14/05/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Fifteen years ago two brothers began with The Insight (Gaetan on vocals, guitars and keys, Aurélien on drums and electric pads). In 2013 Dulac joined the band as bass player. This French band from Rennes (Brittany) sounds like an English post punk band. After two self-released albums, they now release their third album via Crysella Records.

Musically they are positioned somewhere between post punk, cold wave and sometimes gothic rock. Bands I think of when I hear them: The Sound, She Wants Revenge, Magazine, Echo & The Bunymen… But I have to say: this is not a cat copy of a band from the 80s, because they have a personal style. Nice guitar parts, vocals that are rather ‘cold wave’ and a decent bass and drum. Here and there the keys sound atmospheric and give nice support to the songs. The songs are patiently build up. Starter ‘One Eyed Jack’ is a good one to start with: very atmospheric, nice vocals and slowly build up. I like also the guitar work on it. The dark ‘Lost Souls’ has guitar work that reminds me of Jesus & The Mary Chain. ‘I Will’, with the piano and the arrangement, is a sensitive track. Nice one! Also worth discovering: The Eyes, The Movement (nice build up) and War (very nice vocals). ‘6 Feet Under’ is a good song, but obviously inspired by The Cure.

Interesting is that they have a lot of different types of songs in their repertoire: more sensitive stuff, some uptempo, slowly build up tracks. All easily (re)listenable. I’m curious to see them live on stage

Wim GUILLEMYN
14/05/2015


NL

The Insight begon vijftien jaren geleden met twee broers ( Gaetan vocals, gitaren en keys, Aurélie, drums en electric pads). In 2013 kregen ze versterking van bassist Dulac. Deze Franse band klinkt eerder als een Engelse postpunkband, maar is afkomstig uit Rennes, Bretagne. Na twee in eigen beheer uitgebrachte albums, is nu het derde album uit via Crysella.

Muzikaal bevinden ze zich ergens tussen postpunk, cold wave en soms gothrock. Groepen die door mijn hoofd flitsen: The Sound, She Wants Revenge, Magazine, Echo & The Bunymen… Maar vrees niet, hun muziek heeft een eigen smoel en is geen kloon van bijvoorbeeld één of andere 80s-band. Fijn gitaarspel, een vocalist met wat ‘cold wave’-feel in zijn zang en een degelijke bas en drum. Hier en daar zorgen keys voor de ondersteuning van de songs en de sfeer. De nummers zijn geduldig opgebouwd. Opener ‘One Eyed Jack’ is een prima song om mee te beginnen: heel atmosferisch, mooi gezongen en heel langzaam opgebouwd. Ook het gitaarwerk vind ik heel aangenaam. Het donkere ‘Lost Souls’ refereert wat aan het gitaarwerk van Jesus & The Mary Chain. ‘I Will’ doet door de piano en het arrangement heel gevoelig aan. Een mooi nummer! Ook het vermelden waard: The Eyes, The Movement (mooie opbouw) en War (heel mooi gezongen). ‘6 Feet Under’ is een leuke son, maar wel erg schatplichtig aan The Cure.

Het fijne is dat ze een aantal verschillende songtypes in hun repertoire hebben: meer gevoelige dingen, wat uptempo, wat langzaam opgebouwde songs. Gaetan heeft een stem die goed bij de muziek past. Op enkele nummers hoor je hem wat zwoegen maar het is niet storend. Een aangenaam album met best wat sterke nummers. En vlot te (her)beluisteren. Erg benieuwd om ze een keer live aan het werk te zien. 

Wim GUILLEMYN
14/05/2015


Music reviews

22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola
20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron
19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed