tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/05/2015 : JON DEROSA - Black Halo

JON DEROSA

Black Halo

MusicCD
Experimental

[70/100]   

Rocket Girl
10/05/2015, Paul PLEDGER

The L.A.-based crooner's last album A Wolf In Preacher's Clothes became a bit of a favourite in these quarters, not least for its creator's Richard Hawley-esque balladeering and Orbison/Fury-style atmospherics. For Black Halo, DeRosa may well have changed cities (previously based in Brooklyn) and applied facial furniture to rival John Grant but his ethos is still the same - classic swoon-some alt-pop with a retro '50s/'60s bent.

The opening pair of Fools Razor and The Sun Is Crying kind of sings it all - the former offers us a romantic teen-beat shangri-la that evokes scenes of open-air cinemas, wind-ravaged dustbowl towns and the obligatory convertible driving into the distance, complete with desired partner cooing into the driver's ear, soda in one hand, gun in the other. The latter is a musical-box weepie that tears at the heartstrings as much as it does the tear-ducts, in fact any more of this sort of thing and I'll have to buy shares in Kleenex.

Thankfully, DeRosa withstands the temptation to rewrite the same riffs over and over and gives us new single Coyotes with its unintentional melodic nod to La Vie En Rose and the dainty Dancing in a Dream, topped off with some beguiling vocals from one Carina Round. There's also a co-write with Stephin Merritt (When Daddy Took The Tree House Down) and the brassy romp You're Still Haunting Me.

All of which adds up to Black Halo being the perfect foil for DeRosa's honeyed baritone, and an ear for a traffic-stopping melody. He's done himself proud with this one.

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
10/05/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
SCHATTENMANN
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
CHROM
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
QANTAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
AMBASSADOR 21
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles