tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/05/2015 : EREB ALTOR - Nattram

EREB ALTOR

Nattram

MusicCD
DoomMetalProg

[82/100]   

Cyclone Empire
08/05/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Scandinavian and all kinds of metal… Is it something in their DNA or can they just better sell their goods? Because of all kinds: In our regio’s there are also pretty good ( not also well known) metal bands. Anyway, Ereb Altor comes also from the high north: Sweden. Founded in 2008 by Ragnar and Mats of ‘Isole’.

They bring, what they call, ‘Scandinavian Viking metal’. A very vague term. I would rather call their music: epic and progressive metal hymnes. Concrete: you get dark and metal parts interspersed with atmospheric doom pieces. The lyrics are based upon stories and legends from the Norse mythology and dark legends in Sweden. The sing with two kinds of vocals: clean and dark grunt vocals. Something that worked really well on this music here.

‘The Son of Vindsvalr’ is atmospheric piece to start the album. ‘Midsummarblot’ has sferic and melodic guitarplay and intriguing vocals. Nice song. ‘The Dance of the Elves’ begins as a folk traditional and burst into an metal ballad with a high hymn level. Not too corny or too predictable. ‘Dark Waters’ has more spice and some grunts in the chorus. Also some nice guitar and drumparts. Efficient and all well placed. ‘Across the Giant’s Blood’ is a strong song. Nice build up, very descent drumwork and fine vocals. Closing song ‘The Nemesis of Frej’ is the longest and the strongest song on this album. It begins as a dark metal song and halfway it stopped for an semi-acoustical part which goes over to the last more melodic piece of the track.

This fifth full album sounds productional more homogenic and polished than their previous work. It could gain more public. It also sound less like ‘Isole’ and ‘Bathory’ (where they always be compared with). There are no strong virtuosity parts or special tricks on the album but it’s the collective that makes the album strong. All well skilled, catchy and nice build up. Nice album.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/05/2015


NL

Scandinavië en allerhande soorten metal. Zit het in hun genen? Of kunnen ze het gewoon beter verkopen dan hier in de lage landen? Want eerlijk is eerlijk: hier zitten ook (deels onbekende) goede bands. Hoe dan ook, ook deze band komt uit het hoge noorden, uit Zweden en werd opgericht in 2008 door Ragnar en Mats van ‘Isole’.

Ze brengen ‘Scandinavian Viking metal’, zoals ze hun muziek zelf omschrijven. Ik heb daar een beetje moeite mee aangezien dat een term is die inhoudelijk nogal vaag is. Ik zou hun composities eerder epische en progressieve metal hymnes noemen. Concreet krijg je hardere passages te horen, afgewisseld met zachtere atmosferische en melodieuze fragmenten. De teksten vertellen over oude Noorse en donkere Zweedse sagen en legendes. Er wordt ook gezongen: afwisselend donkergruizig en clean. Dat werkt goed hier, vind ik.

‘The Son Of Vindsvalr’ is een sfeerstukje dat het album opent. ‘Midsummarblot’ heeft sferisch en melodisch gitaarspel en een inttrigerende zang. Mooi nummer. ‘The Dance of the Elves’ begint als een folk traditional die dan openbreekt in een metal ballade met een hoog hymnegehalte. Niet te melig of te voorspelbaar. Goed gedaan. ‘Dark Waters’ heeft meer pit en de zang in het refrein heeft wat grunts. Hier en daar ook mooie gitaarlijnen en dito drumpartijen. Allemaal heel efficiënt en mooi op zijn plaats. ‘Across The Giant’s Blood’ is een sterk nummer. Mooie opbouw, heel degelijk drumwerk en fijne zang. Afsluiter ‘The Nemesis of Frej’ is het langste en het sterkste nummer van dit album. Het begint als een ferm zwart metalnummer om na vijf minuten stil te vallenen plaats te ruimen voor een semi-akoestisch tussenstukje dat in de melodielijnen doorklinkt tijdens de herneming/outro van het nummer.

Dit vijfde album klinkt productioneel iets homogener en gepolijster dan het vorig werk en kan een breder publiek aanspreken. Het album klinkt ook iets minder als ‘Isole’ of als ‘Bathory’ (waar ze al sedert hun ontstaan mee vergeleken) en vooral sterk, zonder dat je kan zeggen dat er spectaculaire of virtuoze tracks op staan. Maar alles is heel degelijk, ligt goed in het gehoor en is vakkundig gemaakt. Fijn albumpje.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/05/2015


 

Next reviews
FAITH NO MORE • Sol Invictus
MY MORNING JACKET • The Waterfall
JUSTIN LIN • Fast & Furious
JEAN-MARC LEDERMAN • A Person to Discover
EMPUSAE & MARC T • Deugden Van Angst En Het Kwaad
HYDROGEN SEA • Court the Dark
FRANCIS FORD COPPOLA • Tucker: The Man And His Dreams
ADAM WINGARD • The Guest
HEXENSCHUSS • Hexenschuss
KLANGSTABIL • One Step Back, Two Steps Forward

 

Other reviews from EREB ALTOR
EREB ALTOR • Blot-Ilt-Taut

 

Same genre: DOOM
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
HIGH FIGHTER • Scars and Crosses
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
AMBER ASYLUM • Sin Eater
ORGAN • Tetro
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
GJÖLL • The Background of Perpetual Discontent

 

Same genre: METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden
PSYCHO GENERATION + OST+FRONT • Eernegem, B52 (22/04/2016)

 

Same genre: PROG
NOSOUND • Scintilla
LOTUS THIEF • Gramarye
INFINITE SPECTRUM • Haunter of the Dark
ILL WICKER • Untamed
IRRADIANCE • Dissidence
EMBASSY OF SILENCE • Verisimilitude
ELDRITCH • Underlying Issues
OPETH • Brussels, AB (15/10/2015)
VLY • I/Time
NAïVE • Altra

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'
25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
18
10
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
17
10
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
10
MIND & FLESH
Krigserklæring
15
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession