tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/05/2015 : EREB ALTOR - Nattram

EREB ALTOR

Nattram

MusicCD
DoomMetalProg

[82/100]   

Cyclone Empire
08/05/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Scandinavian and all kinds of metal… Is it something in their DNA or can they just better sell their goods? Because of all kinds: In our regio’s there are also pretty good ( not also well known) metal bands. Anyway, Ereb Altor comes also from the high north: Sweden. Founded in 2008 by Ragnar and Mats of ‘Isole’.

They bring, what they call, ‘Scandinavian Viking metal’. A very vague term. I would rather call their music: epic and progressive metal hymnes. Concrete: you get dark and metal parts interspersed with atmospheric doom pieces. The lyrics are based upon stories and legends from the Norse mythology and dark legends in Sweden. The sing with two kinds of vocals: clean and dark grunt vocals. Something that worked really well on this music here.

‘The Son of Vindsvalr’ is atmospheric piece to start the album. ‘Midsummarblot’ has sferic and melodic guitarplay and intriguing vocals. Nice song. ‘The Dance of the Elves’ begins as a folk traditional and burst into an metal ballad with a high hymn level. Not too corny or too predictable. ‘Dark Waters’ has more spice and some grunts in the chorus. Also some nice guitar and drumparts. Efficient and all well placed. ‘Across the Giant’s Blood’ is a strong song. Nice build up, very descent drumwork and fine vocals. Closing song ‘The Nemesis of Frej’ is the longest and the strongest song on this album. It begins as a dark metal song and halfway it stopped for an semi-acoustical part which goes over to the last more melodic piece of the track.

This fifth full album sounds productional more homogenic and polished than their previous work. It could gain more public. It also sound less like ‘Isole’ and ‘Bathory’ (where they always be compared with). There are no strong virtuosity parts or special tricks on the album but it’s the collective that makes the album strong. All well skilled, catchy and nice build up. Nice album.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/05/2015


NL

Scandinavië en allerhande soorten metal. Zit het in hun genen? Of kunnen ze het gewoon beter verkopen dan hier in de lage landen? Want eerlijk is eerlijk: hier zitten ook (deels onbekende) goede bands. Hoe dan ook, ook deze band komt uit het hoge noorden, uit Zweden en werd opgericht in 2008 door Ragnar en Mats van ‘Isole’.

Ze brengen ‘Scandinavian Viking metal’, zoals ze hun muziek zelf omschrijven. Ik heb daar een beetje moeite mee aangezien dat een term is die inhoudelijk nogal vaag is. Ik zou hun composities eerder epische en progressieve metal hymnes noemen. Concreet krijg je hardere passages te horen, afgewisseld met zachtere atmosferische en melodieuze fragmenten. De teksten vertellen over oude Noorse en donkere Zweedse sagen en legendes. Er wordt ook gezongen: afwisselend donkergruizig en clean. Dat werkt goed hier, vind ik.

‘The Son Of Vindsvalr’ is een sfeerstukje dat het album opent. ‘Midsummarblot’ heeft sferisch en melodisch gitaarspel en een inttrigerende zang. Mooi nummer. ‘The Dance of the Elves’ begint als een folk traditional die dan openbreekt in een metal ballade met een hoog hymnegehalte. Niet te melig of te voorspelbaar. Goed gedaan. ‘Dark Waters’ heeft meer pit en de zang in het refrein heeft wat grunts. Hier en daar ook mooie gitaarlijnen en dito drumpartijen. Allemaal heel efficiënt en mooi op zijn plaats. ‘Across The Giant’s Blood’ is een sterk nummer. Mooie opbouw, heel degelijk drumwerk en fijne zang. Afsluiter ‘The Nemesis of Frej’ is het langste en het sterkste nummer van dit album. Het begint als een ferm zwart metalnummer om na vijf minuten stil te vallenen plaats te ruimen voor een semi-akoestisch tussenstukje dat in de melodielijnen doorklinkt tijdens de herneming/outro van het nummer.

Dit vijfde album klinkt productioneel iets homogener en gepolijster dan het vorig werk en kan een breder publiek aanspreken. Het album klinkt ook iets minder als ‘Isole’ of als ‘Bathory’ (waar ze al sedert hun ontstaan mee vergeleken) en vooral sterk, zonder dat je kan zeggen dat er spectaculaire of virtuoze tracks op staan. Maar alles is heel degelijk, ligt goed in het gehoor en is vakkundig gemaakt. Fijn albumpje.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/05/2015


 

Next reviews
FAITH NO MORE • Sol Invictus
MY MORNING JACKET • The Waterfall
JUSTIN LIN • Fast & Furious
JEAN-MARC LEDERMAN • A Person to Discover
EMPUSAE & MARC T • Deugden Van Angst En Het Kwaad
HYDROGEN SEA • Court the Dark
FRANCIS FORD COPPOLA • Tucker: The Man And His Dreams
ADAM WINGARD • The Guest
HEXENSCHUSS • Hexenschuss
KLANGSTABIL • One Step Back, Two Steps Forward

 

Other reviews from EREB ALTOR
EREB ALTOR • Blot-Ilt-Taut

 

Same genre: DOOM
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
HIGH FIGHTER • Scars and Crosses
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
AMBER ASYLUM • Sin Eater
ORGAN • Tetro
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
GJÖLL • The Background of Perpetual Discontent

 

Same genre: METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden
PSYCHO GENERATION + OST+FRONT • Eernegem, B52 (22/04/2016)

 

Same genre: PROG
NOSOUND • Scintilla
LOTUS THIEF • Gramarye
INFINITE SPECTRUM • Haunter of the Dark
ILL WICKER • Untamed
IRRADIANCE • Dissidence
EMBASSY OF SILENCE • Verisimilitude
ELDRITCH • Underlying Issues
OPETH • Brussels, AB (15/10/2015)
VLY • I/Time
NAïVE • Altra

Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection