tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA

Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018

Concert
DoomDoom MetalSpacerockStoner RockStonerock

[70/100]   
06/01/2019, Claudia BLACK

An unexpected trip to the Volume Club in Kiev on Friday night to see some stoner doom bands that turned out to be ok. The venue is in the West of the city near to Orly Park and located in a Cultural Centre. I like this club, it has great sound, table service and a good selection of beer that is cheap in comparision to club prices in London. I paid around £1.50 for a pint of non alcoholic beer, the boozy equivalent costs about the same. My first impression was of Slimelight in London without the sticky floors!! The club was cold though, not cold like the bracing temperature outside but cold enough for me to keep my coat on until a good crowd came in for the 2nd band.Not as cold as The Chameleon Arts Centre in Nottingham where I had to concentrate on keeping warm and on the music I was listening to!!

First up a band called Ritual Service from Odessa, my first impressions were of slow sludgy doom metal that at times was repetitive and hypnotic but not always. They grabbed my attention and then lost it again but on the whole they were ok for a first exposure.

Mother Witch and The Dead Water Ghosts were really good, again a band that I've not heard of before, Eastern/ethereal stoner rock which reminds me of the English band Cold In Berlin in style and execution. The singer has a warbly voice that also reminds me of Siouxie Sioux. She's expressive in movement and bends and contorts her body, totally absorbing herself into every song whilst the band concocts some satisfying doom that made me headbang in my seat. The guitar parts are not stuck in a sludgy loop, they go off on journeys that meander off whilst the vocals keep you centred before taking you somewhere else!

Finally we have Polish/Ukranian band Goosla. First impressions: a bit long winded at times and my attention wandered quite a lot especially when they played the track Venus at the end of the set but now that I listen to it again on Bandcamp I like the trippy gyrating guitar that winds its way around the solid bass line anchored in the centre of things like a stoic oak encloaked in dense foliage!' The girl with red hair and beanie seemed to like what she was hearing along with track suit man who jived, jerked and contorted as if the floor was electrified. I suspect a fair few of the crowd had travelled over the border from Poland, support I notice was more dense than a similar bill in London on a Friday night......

Here are some examples of what I experienced:-

https://youtu.be/9VQ9UikmGNI

https://youtu.be/PgIq5iqCyQU

https://youtu.be/vVAci6XTdPE

LINKS:-

https://www.facebook.com/ritualservice420/

https://www.facebook.com/pg/mwadwg/about/

https://www.facebook.com/pg/goosla1/about

Claudia BLACK
06/01/2019


06/01/2019 : RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA - Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018 06/01/2019 : RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA - Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018 06/01/2019 : RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA - Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018

 

Next reviews
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
NEON TZIGANE • Del Wesh
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
MIREXXX • Vault
JO QUAIL • Exsolve

 

Same genre: DOOM
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
HIGH FIGHTER • Scars and Crosses
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
AMBER ASYLUM • Sin Eater
ORGAN • Tetro
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
GJÖLL • The Background of Perpetual Discontent
MY DYING BRIDE • Feel The Misery

 

Same genre: DOOM METAL
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
CANDLEMASS • Death Thy Lover
ON THORNS I LAY • Eternal Silence
MARCHE FUNèBRE • Lost
DRACONIAN • Sovran
IMPLORE • Depopulation
AMBER ASYLUM, CAMERATA MEDIOLANENSE, EMPYRIUM, DARKHER, TENHI • Prophecy Fest @ Balver Höhle in Balve 19/09/2015
AHAB • THE BOATS OF THE GLEN CARRIG
PARADISE LOST • The Plague Within
ORPHANS OF DUSK • Revenant

 

Same genre: SPACEROCK
LOTUS THIEF • Gramarye
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
THE CLAYPOOL LENNON DELIRIUM • Monolith of Phobos
TIDES FROM NEBULA • Safehaven
RADAR MEN FROM THE MOON • Subversive I
THE TELESCOPES • Hidden Fields
CAUDAL • Ascension
PARáRA
DER BLUTHARSCH • Concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 15th March 2012

 

Same genre: STONER ROCK
RULE OF THUMB • Rule Of Thumb
7WEEKS • A Farewell To Dawn
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
KING GOBLIN • Cryptozoology
CENTIPEDE • Sarnath
MASSA • MASSA (EP)

 

Same genre: STONEROCK
LATE NIGHT VENTURE • Tychonians
PSYCHIC TV • Antwerpen, Het Bos (28/03/2015)
LONELY KAMEL • Shit City
JOHN GARCIA • JOHN GARCIA
PET THE PREACHER • The Cave & The Sunlight
AVATAR • Hail The Apocalypse
THE GRAVIATORS • Motherload
THEN COMES SILENCE • Then Comes Silence II
GEMINI SYNDROME • LUX
DIRTY SOUND MAGNET • What lies beneath

Music reviews

17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live
14
08
PETER GUNDRY
V Ö L U R
13
08
AIMA
Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
12
08
AUGER
From Now On I

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS
07
08
CHELSEA announce European Tour in September

Concert reviews

07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo
17
08
MOTOR!K
Static
16
08
ENZO KREFT
Disobedient
15
08
DER KLINKE
CURTAINS