tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA

Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018

Concert
DoomDoom MetalSpacerockStoner RockStonerock

[70/100]   
06/01/2019, Claudia BLACK

An unexpected trip to the Volume Club in Kiev on Friday night to see some stoner doom bands that turned out to be ok. The venue is in the West of the city near to Orly Park and located in a Cultural Centre. I like this club, it has great sound, table service and a good selection of beer that is cheap in comparision to club prices in London. I paid around £1.50 for a pint of non alcoholic beer, the boozy equivalent costs about the same. My first impression was of Slimelight in London without the sticky floors!! The club was cold though, not cold like the bracing temperature outside but cold enough for me to keep my coat on until a good crowd came in for the 2nd band.Not as cold as The Chameleon Arts Centre in Nottingham where I had to concentrate on keeping warm and on the music I was listening to!!

First up a band called Ritual Service from Odessa, my first impressions were of slow sludgy doom metal that at times was repetitive and hypnotic but not always. They grabbed my attention and then lost it again but on the whole they were ok for a first exposure.

Mother Witch and The Dead Water Ghosts were really good, again a band that I've not heard of before, Eastern/ethereal stoner rock which reminds me of the English band Cold In Berlin in style and execution. The singer has a warbly voice that also reminds me of Siouxie Sioux. She's expressive in movement and bends and contorts her body, totally absorbing herself into every song whilst the band concocts some satisfying doom that made me headbang in my seat. The guitar parts are not stuck in a sludgy loop, they go off on journeys that meander off whilst the vocals keep you centred before taking you somewhere else!

Finally we have Polish/Ukranian band Goosla. First impressions: a bit long winded at times and my attention wandered quite a lot especially when they played the track Venus at the end of the set but now that I listen to it again on Bandcamp I like the trippy gyrating guitar that winds its way around the solid bass line anchored in the centre of things like a stoic oak encloaked in dense foliage!' The girl with red hair and beanie seemed to like what she was hearing along with track suit man who jived, jerked and contorted as if the floor was electrified. I suspect a fair few of the crowd had travelled over the border from Poland, support I notice was more dense than a similar bill in London on a Friday night......

Here are some examples of what I experienced:-

https://youtu.be/9VQ9UikmGNI

https://youtu.be/PgIq5iqCyQU

https://youtu.be/vVAci6XTdPE

LINKS:-

https://www.facebook.com/ritualservice420/

https://www.facebook.com/pg/mwadwg/about/

https://www.facebook.com/pg/goosla1/about

Claudia BLACK
06/01/2019


06/01/2019 : RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA - Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018 06/01/2019 : RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA - Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018 06/01/2019 : RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA - Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018

 

Next reviews
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
NEON TZIGANE • Del Wesh
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
MIREXXX • Vault
JO QUAIL • Exsolve

 

Same genre: DOOM
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
HIGH FIGHTER • Scars and Crosses
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
AMBER ASYLUM • Sin Eater
ORGAN • Tetro
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
GJÖLL • The Background of Perpetual Discontent
MY DYING BRIDE • Feel The Misery

 

Same genre: DOOM METAL
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
CANDLEMASS • Death Thy Lover
ON THORNS I LAY • Eternal Silence
MARCHE FUNèBRE • Lost
DRACONIAN • Sovran
IMPLORE • Depopulation
AMBER ASYLUM, CAMERATA MEDIOLANENSE, EMPYRIUM, DARKHER, TENHI • Prophecy Fest @ Balver Höhle in Balve 19/09/2015
AHAB • THE BOATS OF THE GLEN CARRIG
PARADISE LOST • The Plague Within
ORPHANS OF DUSK • Revenant

 

Same genre: SPACEROCK
LOTUS THIEF • Gramarye
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
THE CLAYPOOL LENNON DELIRIUM • Monolith of Phobos
TIDES FROM NEBULA • Safehaven
RADAR MEN FROM THE MOON • Subversive I
THE TELESCOPES • Hidden Fields
CAUDAL • Ascension
PARáRA
DER BLUTHARSCH • Concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 15th March 2012

 

Same genre: STONER ROCK
RULE OF THUMB • Rule Of Thumb
7WEEKS • A Farewell To Dawn
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
KING GOBLIN • Cryptozoology
CENTIPEDE • Sarnath
MASSA • MASSA (EP)

 

Same genre: STONEROCK
LATE NIGHT VENTURE • Tychonians
PSYCHIC TV • Antwerpen, Het Bos (28/03/2015)
LONELY KAMEL • Shit City
JOHN GARCIA • JOHN GARCIA
PET THE PREACHER • The Cave & The Sunlight
AVATAR • Hail The Apocalypse
THE GRAVIATORS • Motherload
THEN COMES SILENCE • Then Comes Silence II
GEMINI SYNDROME • LUX
DIRTY SOUND MAGNET • What lies beneath

Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
10
Producer & This Mortal Coil co-founder John Fryer releases 'These Mortal Covers' LP!
28
10
43 years Never Mind The Bollocks!
28
10
On this day, 32 years ago, Front 242 released Front By Front!
24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
10
VIOLENT VICKIE
Under The Gun
29
10
STACIAN
Telephonix
28
10
PSY'AVIAH
Reboot Reset Relay
27
10
NO MORE
Turnaround
26
10
DEVO
Beautiful World
25
10
DIE KRUPPS
To The Hilt
24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit