tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA

Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018

Concert
DoomDoom MetalSpacerockStoner RockStonerock

[70/100]   
06/01/2019, Claudia BLACK

An unexpected trip to the Volume Club in Kiev on Friday night to see some stoner doom bands that turned out to be ok. The venue is in the West of the city near to Orly Park and located in a Cultural Centre. I like this club, it has great sound, table service and a good selection of beer that is cheap in comparision to club prices in London. I paid around £1.50 for a pint of non alcoholic beer, the boozy equivalent costs about the same. My first impression was of Slimelight in London without the sticky floors!! The club was cold though, not cold like the bracing temperature outside but cold enough for me to keep my coat on until a good crowd came in for the 2nd band.Not as cold as The Chameleon Arts Centre in Nottingham where I had to concentrate on keeping warm and on the music I was listening to!!

First up a band called Ritual Service from Odessa, my first impressions were of slow sludgy doom metal that at times was repetitive and hypnotic but not always. They grabbed my attention and then lost it again but on the whole they were ok for a first exposure.

Mother Witch and The Dead Water Ghosts were really good, again a band that I've not heard of before, Eastern/ethereal stoner rock which reminds me of the English band Cold In Berlin in style and execution. The singer has a warbly voice that also reminds me of Siouxie Sioux. She's expressive in movement and bends and contorts her body, totally absorbing herself into every song whilst the band concocts some satisfying doom that made me headbang in my seat. The guitar parts are not stuck in a sludgy loop, they go off on journeys that meander off whilst the vocals keep you centred before taking you somewhere else!

Finally we have Polish/Ukranian band Goosla. First impressions: a bit long winded at times and my attention wandered quite a lot especially when they played the track Venus at the end of the set but now that I listen to it again on Bandcamp I like the trippy gyrating guitar that winds its way around the solid bass line anchored in the centre of things like a stoic oak encloaked in dense foliage!' The girl with red hair and beanie seemed to like what she was hearing along with track suit man who jived, jerked and contorted as if the floor was electrified. I suspect a fair few of the crowd had travelled over the border from Poland, support I notice was more dense than a similar bill in London on a Friday night......

Here are some examples of what I experienced:-

https://youtu.be/9VQ9UikmGNI

https://youtu.be/PgIq5iqCyQU

https://youtu.be/vVAci6XTdPE

LINKS:-

https://www.facebook.com/ritualservice420/

https://www.facebook.com/pg/mwadwg/about/

https://www.facebook.com/pg/goosla1/about

Claudia BLACK
06/01/2019


06/01/2019 : RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA - Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018 06/01/2019 : RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA - Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018 06/01/2019 : RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA - Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018

 

Next reviews
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
NEON TZIGANE • Del Wesh
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
MIREXXX • Vault
JO QUAIL • Exsolve

 

Same genre: DOOM
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
HIGH FIGHTER • Scars and Crosses
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
AMBER ASYLUM • Sin Eater
ORGAN • Tetro
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
GJÖLL • The Background of Perpetual Discontent
MY DYING BRIDE • Feel The Misery

 

Same genre: DOOM METAL
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
CANDLEMASS • Death Thy Lover
ON THORNS I LAY • Eternal Silence
MARCHE FUNèBRE • Lost
DRACONIAN • Sovran
IMPLORE • Depopulation
AMBER ASYLUM, CAMERATA MEDIOLANENSE, EMPYRIUM, DARKHER, TENHI • Prophecy Fest @ Balver Höhle in Balve 19/09/2015
AHAB • THE BOATS OF THE GLEN CARRIG
PARADISE LOST • The Plague Within
ORPHANS OF DUSK • Revenant

 

Same genre: SPACEROCK
LOTUS THIEF • Gramarye
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
THE CLAYPOOL LENNON DELIRIUM • Monolith of Phobos
TIDES FROM NEBULA • Safehaven
RADAR MEN FROM THE MOON • Subversive I
THE TELESCOPES • Hidden Fields
CAUDAL • Ascension
PARáRA
DER BLUTHARSCH • Concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 15th March 2012

 

Same genre: STONER ROCK
RULE OF THUMB • Rule Of Thumb
7WEEKS • A Farewell To Dawn
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
KING GOBLIN • Cryptozoology
CENTIPEDE • Sarnath
MASSA • MASSA (EP)

 

Same genre: STONEROCK
LATE NIGHT VENTURE • Tychonians
PSYCHIC TV • Antwerpen, Het Bos (28/03/2015)
LONELY KAMEL • Shit City
JOHN GARCIA • JOHN GARCIA
PET THE PREACHER • The Cave & The Sunlight
AVATAR • Hail The Apocalypse
THE GRAVIATORS • Motherload
THEN COMES SILENCE • Then Comes Silence II
GEMINI SYNDROME • LUX
DIRTY SOUND MAGNET • What lies beneath

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap