tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : KING GOBLIN - Cryptozoology

KING GOBLIN

Cryptozoology

MusicCD
MetalPsychedelicStoner Rock

[85/100]   

Bonten Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

A CD that comes from Japan (Tokyo) with beautiful artwork by Sumito Sekine. Released as a 7”, but with a CD and lyrics in Japanese and English.

In 1998, Goblin King started as a death-grind core band. This is the second release and in the meantime they evolved to stoner metal with many other influences. Just before they started their second album, Kelly Churko became seriously ill (2013) and died. He was replaced by Marcy.

The music is uncompromising and includes various styles and genres. As said, you hear stoner metal, but also psychedelic rock. Listen to the guitar in 2020 and think of Carlos Santana.

King of the Flies is a hard song which is reminiscent of The Melvins and Mastodon. Garadama reminds me a bit of La Muerte: the same type of vocals and hard rock ‘n roll. The short opener Return To The Planet probably is a tribute to Kelly Churko as it is the sole track on which you can hear him play. In addition, there is also a cover of Mountain's Mississippi Queen included, with the title Queen Birmingham. The song gets a psychedelic and death metal touch. The closing song Pilgrim is an 11-minute epic. Jimi Hendrix always is around and th song has some doom elements.

Cryptozoology is not an ordinary release. Those of you who like bands like La Muerte, Carcass or The Melvins, should hear this. Original music with a nod to the seventies and a high content of pure rock ‘n roll.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Vanuit Japan bereikte ons deze mooie afgewerkte promo met artwork van Sumito Sekine. Hij zit verpakt in een 7 inch met binnenin een cd en de teksten, in het Japans én het Engels.

De bandleden zijn al sedert 1998 bezig met King Goblin en gestart als een death/grindcoreband. Dit is de tweede release en intussen zijn ze geëvolueerd naar stonermetal waarin verschillende invloeden zijn verwerkt. Net voor ze aan het tweede album begonnen, werd Kelly Churko in 2013 ernstig ziek. Hij overleed het jaar nadien en werd vervangen door Marcy.

De muziek klinkt compromisloos en bevat elementen uit diverse stijlen en genres. Zoals gezegd is het stonermetal, hoewel je er ook elementen van psychedelische rock in hoort. Luister maar eens naar de gitaar in 2020, waarbij je bij momenten denkt dat Carlos Santana (om maar iemand te noemen). King of the Flies is een harde song die me wat doet denken aan The Melvins of Mastodon, en Garadama aan La Muerte: de zang, de harde rock’n’roll…

De korte opener Return To The Planet kan je als een eerbetoon aan Kelly Churko beschouwen aangezien het de enige song is waarop je hem nog hoort spelen. Daarnaast staat er ook een cover van Mountain’s Mississippi Queen op, onder de titel Birmingham Queen. De song wordt in een psychedelische en deathmetalsfeer gedrenkt. Afsluiter Pilgrim is een 11 minuten durend epos. Eigenwijs, Jimi Hendrix achterna en bij momenten met wat doomelementen.

Cryptozoology is geen alledaagse release. Wie houdt van bands zoals La Muerte, Carcass of The Melvins, moet deze release zeker eens beluisteren. Het is originele muziek met een knipoog naar de jaren zeventig en met een hoog rock ‘n rollgehalte.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE WEYERS • Beep Beep Beep
THE CHAMELEONS • Strange Times
WILD NOTHING • Life of Pause
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • London, The Garage (14/03/2016)
HANTE • This Fog That Never Ends
CREMATORY • Monument
PARRALOX • Wildlife
HELFIR • Still Bleeding
TANKS AND TEARS • Know Yourself
OLD SCHOOL UNION • Perjantai

 

Same genre: METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

 

Same genre: STONER ROCK
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
RULE OF THUMB • Rule Of Thumb
7WEEKS • A Farewell To Dawn
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
HIGH FIGHTER • Scars and Crosses
ORGAN • Tetro
CENTIPEDE • Sarnath

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap