tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : KING GOBLIN - Cryptozoology

KING GOBLIN

Cryptozoology

MusicCD
MetalPsychedelicStoner Rock

[85/100]   

Bonten Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

A CD that comes from Japan (Tokyo) with beautiful artwork by Sumito Sekine. Released as a 7”, but with a CD and lyrics in Japanese and English.

In 1998, Goblin King started as a death-grind core band. This is the second release and in the meantime they evolved to stoner metal with many other influences. Just before they started their second album, Kelly Churko became seriously ill (2013) and died. He was replaced by Marcy.

The music is uncompromising and includes various styles and genres. As said, you hear stoner metal, but also psychedelic rock. Listen to the guitar in 2020 and think of Carlos Santana.

King of the Flies is a hard song which is reminiscent of The Melvins and Mastodon. Garadama reminds me a bit of La Muerte: the same type of vocals and hard rock ‘n roll. The short opener Return To The Planet probably is a tribute to Kelly Churko as it is the sole track on which you can hear him play. In addition, there is also a cover of Mountain's Mississippi Queen included, with the title Queen Birmingham. The song gets a psychedelic and death metal touch. The closing song Pilgrim is an 11-minute epic. Jimi Hendrix always is around and th song has some doom elements.

Cryptozoology is not an ordinary release. Those of you who like bands like La Muerte, Carcass or The Melvins, should hear this. Original music with a nod to the seventies and a high content of pure rock ‘n roll.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Vanuit Japan bereikte ons deze mooie afgewerkte promo met artwork van Sumito Sekine. Hij zit verpakt in een 7 inch met binnenin een cd en de teksten, in het Japans én het Engels.

De bandleden zijn al sedert 1998 bezig met King Goblin en gestart als een death/grindcoreband. Dit is de tweede release en intussen zijn ze geëvolueerd naar stonermetal waarin verschillende invloeden zijn verwerkt. Net voor ze aan het tweede album begonnen, werd Kelly Churko in 2013 ernstig ziek. Hij overleed het jaar nadien en werd vervangen door Marcy.

De muziek klinkt compromisloos en bevat elementen uit diverse stijlen en genres. Zoals gezegd is het stonermetal, hoewel je er ook elementen van psychedelische rock in hoort. Luister maar eens naar de gitaar in 2020, waarbij je bij momenten denkt dat Carlos Santana (om maar iemand te noemen). King of the Flies is een harde song die me wat doet denken aan The Melvins of Mastodon, en Garadama aan La Muerte: de zang, de harde rock’n’roll…

De korte opener Return To The Planet kan je als een eerbetoon aan Kelly Churko beschouwen aangezien het de enige song is waarop je hem nog hoort spelen. Daarnaast staat er ook een cover van Mountain’s Mississippi Queen op, onder de titel Birmingham Queen. De song wordt in een psychedelische en deathmetalsfeer gedrenkt. Afsluiter Pilgrim is een 11 minuten durend epos. Eigenwijs, Jimi Hendrix achterna en bij momenten met wat doomelementen.

Cryptozoology is geen alledaagse release. Wie houdt van bands zoals La Muerte, Carcass of The Melvins, moet deze release zeker eens beluisteren. Het is originele muziek met een knipoog naar de jaren zeventig en met een hoog rock ‘n rollgehalte.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE WEYERS • Beep Beep Beep
THE CHAMELEONS • Strange Times
WILD NOTHING • Life of Pause
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • London, The Garage (14/03/2016)
HANTE • This Fog That Never Ends
CREMATORY • Monument
PARRALOX • Wildlife
HELFIR • Still Bleeding
TANKS AND TEARS • Know Yourself
OLD SCHOOL UNION • Perjantai

 

Same genre: METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions

 

Same genre: STONER ROCK
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
RULE OF THUMB • Rule Of Thumb
7WEEKS • A Farewell To Dawn
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
HIGH FIGHTER • Scars and Crosses
ORGAN • Tetro
CENTIPEDE • Sarnath

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
48 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
36 years of 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
22
05
41 years Spellbound!
19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
05
CONFLICT
Dont Panik Esssen
21
05
PUSSY RIOT
Depot Leuven
21
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Depot Leuven
21
05
HETZE
Depot Leuven
16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
LOVELESSLUST
Fashion - David Bowie tribute
25
05
CORPO-MENTE
Arsalein
24
05
ATARI TEENAGE RIOT
Adrenaline
23
05
MODEL DEPOSE
Nightwatch
22
05
MARBLE SOUNDS
Tout et Partout
21
05
MARISSA NADLER
All the Colors of the Dark
20
05
SYNDROME
Forever And A Day