tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : KING GOBLIN - Cryptozoology

KING GOBLIN

Cryptozoology

MusicCD
MetalPsychedelicStoner Rock

[85/100]   

Bonten Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

A CD that comes from Japan (Tokyo) with beautiful artwork by Sumito Sekine. Released as a 7”, but with a CD and lyrics in Japanese and English.

In 1998, Goblin King started as a death-grind core band. This is the second release and in the meantime they evolved to stoner metal with many other influences. Just before they started their second album, Kelly Churko became seriously ill (2013) and died. He was replaced by Marcy.

The music is uncompromising and includes various styles and genres. As said, you hear stoner metal, but also psychedelic rock. Listen to the guitar in 2020 and think of Carlos Santana.

King of the Flies is a hard song which is reminiscent of The Melvins and Mastodon. Garadama reminds me a bit of La Muerte: the same type of vocals and hard rock ‘n roll. The short opener Return To The Planet probably is a tribute to Kelly Churko as it is the sole track on which you can hear him play. In addition, there is also a cover of Mountain's Mississippi Queen included, with the title Queen Birmingham. The song gets a psychedelic and death metal touch. The closing song Pilgrim is an 11-minute epic. Jimi Hendrix always is around and th song has some doom elements.

Cryptozoology is not an ordinary release. Those of you who like bands like La Muerte, Carcass or The Melvins, should hear this. Original music with a nod to the seventies and a high content of pure rock ‘n roll.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Vanuit Japan bereikte ons deze mooie afgewerkte promo met artwork van Sumito Sekine. Hij zit verpakt in een 7 inch met binnenin een cd en de teksten, in het Japans én het Engels.

De bandleden zijn al sedert 1998 bezig met King Goblin en gestart als een death/grindcoreband. Dit is de tweede release en intussen zijn ze geëvolueerd naar stonermetal waarin verschillende invloeden zijn verwerkt. Net voor ze aan het tweede album begonnen, werd Kelly Churko in 2013 ernstig ziek. Hij overleed het jaar nadien en werd vervangen door Marcy.

De muziek klinkt compromisloos en bevat elementen uit diverse stijlen en genres. Zoals gezegd is het stonermetal, hoewel je er ook elementen van psychedelische rock in hoort. Luister maar eens naar de gitaar in 2020, waarbij je bij momenten denkt dat Carlos Santana (om maar iemand te noemen). King of the Flies is een harde song die me wat doet denken aan The Melvins of Mastodon, en Garadama aan La Muerte: de zang, de harde rock’n’roll…

De korte opener Return To The Planet kan je als een eerbetoon aan Kelly Churko beschouwen aangezien het de enige song is waarop je hem nog hoort spelen. Daarnaast staat er ook een cover van Mountain’s Mississippi Queen op, onder de titel Birmingham Queen. De song wordt in een psychedelische en deathmetalsfeer gedrenkt. Afsluiter Pilgrim is een 11 minuten durend epos. Eigenwijs, Jimi Hendrix achterna en bij momenten met wat doomelementen.

Cryptozoology is geen alledaagse release. Wie houdt van bands zoals La Muerte, Carcass of The Melvins, moet deze release zeker eens beluisteren. Het is originele muziek met een knipoog naar de jaren zeventig en met een hoog rock ‘n rollgehalte.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE WEYERS • Beep Beep Beep
THE CHAMELEONS • Strange Times
WILD NOTHING • Life of Pause
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • London, The Garage (14/03/2016)
HANTE • This Fog That Never Ends
CREMATORY • Monument
PARRALOX • Wildlife
HELFIR • Still Bleeding
TANKS AND TEARS • Know Yourself
OLD SCHOOL UNION • Perjantai

 

Same genre: METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

 

Same genre: STONER ROCK
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
RULE OF THUMB • Rule Of Thumb
7WEEKS • A Farewell To Dawn
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
HIGH FIGHTER • Scars and Crosses
ORGAN • Tetro
CENTIPEDE • Sarnath

Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world
02
04
42 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
LMX releases CTRL+S

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
07
04
CLOCK DVA
Sound Mirror
06
04
ASH CODE
Nite Rite
05
04
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
04
04
ADULT.
Nite Life