tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : KING GOBLIN - Cryptozoology

KING GOBLIN

Cryptozoology

MusicCD
MetalPsychedelicStoner Rock

[85/100]   

Bonten Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

A CD that comes from Japan (Tokyo) with beautiful artwork by Sumito Sekine. Released as a 7”, but with a CD and lyrics in Japanese and English.

In 1998, Goblin King started as a death-grind core band. This is the second release and in the meantime they evolved to stoner metal with many other influences. Just before they started their second album, Kelly Churko became seriously ill (2013) and died. He was replaced by Marcy.

The music is uncompromising and includes various styles and genres. As said, you hear stoner metal, but also psychedelic rock. Listen to the guitar in 2020 and think of Carlos Santana.

King of the Flies is a hard song which is reminiscent of The Melvins and Mastodon. Garadama reminds me a bit of La Muerte: the same type of vocals and hard rock ‘n roll. The short opener Return To The Planet probably is a tribute to Kelly Churko as it is the sole track on which you can hear him play. In addition, there is also a cover of Mountain's Mississippi Queen included, with the title Queen Birmingham. The song gets a psychedelic and death metal touch. The closing song Pilgrim is an 11-minute epic. Jimi Hendrix always is around and th song has some doom elements.

Cryptozoology is not an ordinary release. Those of you who like bands like La Muerte, Carcass or The Melvins, should hear this. Original music with a nod to the seventies and a high content of pure rock ‘n roll.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Vanuit Japan bereikte ons deze mooie afgewerkte promo met artwork van Sumito Sekine. Hij zit verpakt in een 7 inch met binnenin een cd en de teksten, in het Japans én het Engels.

De bandleden zijn al sedert 1998 bezig met King Goblin en gestart als een death/grindcoreband. Dit is de tweede release en intussen zijn ze geëvolueerd naar stonermetal waarin verschillende invloeden zijn verwerkt. Net voor ze aan het tweede album begonnen, werd Kelly Churko in 2013 ernstig ziek. Hij overleed het jaar nadien en werd vervangen door Marcy.

De muziek klinkt compromisloos en bevat elementen uit diverse stijlen en genres. Zoals gezegd is het stonermetal, hoewel je er ook elementen van psychedelische rock in hoort. Luister maar eens naar de gitaar in 2020, waarbij je bij momenten denkt dat Carlos Santana (om maar iemand te noemen). King of the Flies is een harde song die me wat doet denken aan The Melvins of Mastodon, en Garadama aan La Muerte: de zang, de harde rock’n’roll…

De korte opener Return To The Planet kan je als een eerbetoon aan Kelly Churko beschouwen aangezien het de enige song is waarop je hem nog hoort spelen. Daarnaast staat er ook een cover van Mountain’s Mississippi Queen op, onder de titel Birmingham Queen. De song wordt in een psychedelische en deathmetalsfeer gedrenkt. Afsluiter Pilgrim is een 11 minuten durend epos. Eigenwijs, Jimi Hendrix achterna en bij momenten met wat doomelementen.

Cryptozoology is geen alledaagse release. Wie houdt van bands zoals La Muerte, Carcass of The Melvins, moet deze release zeker eens beluisteren. Het is originele muziek met een knipoog naar de jaren zeventig en met een hoog rock ‘n rollgehalte.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE WEYERS • Beep Beep Beep
THE CHAMELEONS • Strange Times
WILD NOTHING • Life of Pause
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • London, The Garage (14/03/2016)
HANTE • This Fog That Never Ends
CREMATORY • Monument
PARRALOX • Wildlife
HELFIR • Still Bleeding
TANKS AND TEARS • Know Yourself
OLD SCHOOL UNION • Perjantai

 

Same genre: METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

 

Same genre: STONER ROCK
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
RULE OF THUMB • Rule Of Thumb
7WEEKS • A Farewell To Dawn
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
HIGH FIGHTER • Scars and Crosses
ORGAN • Tetro
CENTIPEDE • Sarnath

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real