tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : HELFIR - Still Bleeding

HELFIR

Still Bleeding

MusicCD
Dark MetalProg Rock

[80/100]   

My Kindom Music
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

When hearing the band name, you might expect to hear some heavy metal. Wrong! Helfir makes atmospheric black music with mainly rock influences. It is the work of one man: the Italian Luca Mazzotta, who played in prog rock bands like Shedim, The Foreshadowing and Rezophonic. As the guitarist of NID, he even played some neo-folk, this man is indeed an all-rounder.

All the things he did in the past are present on this album: beautiful and atmospheric musical pieces with neo-folk and prog rock influences and with the use of a very varied instrumentation: synths, guitars, bass and drums. He almost did everything himself, only the drums are done by others in most songs.

Oracle is a kind of prelude that opens the album and shows Luca’s strength: the keyboard and fine guitar work. My Blood begins with very atmospheric synths and some guitars. It reminds me of Porcupine Tree. The same can be said about Portrait of a Son, in which keys and drums let the song evolve. His voice is nice to listen to.

Still Bleeding contains ten well-developed tracks. Sometimes that’s enough!

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Bij het horen van de bandnaam, verwacht je je misschien aan zware metal. Fout! Helfir maakt zwarte, sfeerrijke muziek met voornamelijk rockinvloeden, en het is allemaal het werk van één man: de Italiaan Luca Mazzotta, die ook in progrockbands als Shedim, The Foreshadowing en Rezophonic speelde. Als gitarist van NID maakte hij zelfs neo-folk, een man die dus van vele markten thuis is.

Al deze invloeden kan je voor een stuk in dit album horen: mooie en sfeervolle muziekstukjes met progrock en neo-folkinvloeden. Hij maakt gebruik van uiteenlopende instrumentaria: synths, gitaren, bas of drums. Alleen de drums liet hij in de meeste songs aan anderen over. Het gitaarwerk is melodieus en haarfijn.

Oracle is een soort prelude die het album opent. ZE toont meteen zijn troeven: de keyboard en het fijne gitaarwerk. My Blood begint met heel atmosferische synths en gitaargetokkel en doet me wat aan Porcupine Tree denken. Ook de keys en drums laten Portrait of a Son voort evolueren. Zijn stem is aangenaam en warm om naar te luisteren.

Still Bleeding bevat tien goed uitgewerkte muziekstukken. Meer moet dat niet zijn.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : HELFIR - Still Bleeding 09/12/2016 : HELFIR - Still Bleeding

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque