tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : HELFIR - Still Bleeding

HELFIR

Still Bleeding

MusicCD
Dark MetalProg Rock

[80/100]   

My Kindom Music
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

When hearing the band name, you might expect to hear some heavy metal. Wrong! Helfir makes atmospheric black music with mainly rock influences. It is the work of one man: the Italian Luca Mazzotta, who played in prog rock bands like Shedim, The Foreshadowing and Rezophonic. As the guitarist of NID, he even played some neo-folk, this man is indeed an all-rounder.

All the things he did in the past are present on this album: beautiful and atmospheric musical pieces with neo-folk and prog rock influences and with the use of a very varied instrumentation: synths, guitars, bass and drums. He almost did everything himself, only the drums are done by others in most songs.

Oracle is a kind of prelude that opens the album and shows Luca’s strength: the keyboard and fine guitar work. My Blood begins with very atmospheric synths and some guitars. It reminds me of Porcupine Tree. The same can be said about Portrait of a Son, in which keys and drums let the song evolve. His voice is nice to listen to.

Still Bleeding contains ten well-developed tracks. Sometimes that’s enough!

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Bij het horen van de bandnaam, verwacht je je misschien aan zware metal. Fout! Helfir maakt zwarte, sfeerrijke muziek met voornamelijk rockinvloeden, en het is allemaal het werk van één man: de Italiaan Luca Mazzotta, die ook in progrockbands als Shedim, The Foreshadowing en Rezophonic speelde. Als gitarist van NID maakte hij zelfs neo-folk, een man die dus van vele markten thuis is.

Al deze invloeden kan je voor een stuk in dit album horen: mooie en sfeervolle muziekstukjes met progrock en neo-folkinvloeden. Hij maakt gebruik van uiteenlopende instrumentaria: synths, gitaren, bas of drums. Alleen de drums liet hij in de meeste songs aan anderen over. Het gitaarwerk is melodieus en haarfijn.

Oracle is een soort prelude die het album opent. ZE toont meteen zijn troeven: de keyboard en het fijne gitaarwerk. My Blood begint met heel atmosferische synths en gitaargetokkel en doet me wat aan Porcupine Tree denken. Ook de keys en drums laten Portrait of a Son voort evolueren. Zijn stem is aangenaam en warm om naar te luisteren.

Still Bleeding bevat tien goed uitgewerkte muziekstukken. Meer moet dat niet zijn.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : HELFIR - Still Bleeding 09/12/2016 : HELFIR - Still Bleeding

Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
02
MARILYN MANSON
Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This)
24
02
ESPLENDOR GEOMETRICO
Trybuna Robotnicza I
23
02
DAVID BOWIE
No Plan
22
02
EIGTH WONDER
I'm Not Scared
21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets