tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : HELFIR - Still Bleeding

HELFIR

Still Bleeding

MusicCD
Dark MetalProg Rock

[80/100]   

My Kindom Music
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

When hearing the band name, you might expect to hear some heavy metal. Wrong! Helfir makes atmospheric black music with mainly rock influences. It is the work of one man: the Italian Luca Mazzotta, who played in prog rock bands like Shedim, The Foreshadowing and Rezophonic. As the guitarist of NID, he even played some neo-folk, this man is indeed an all-rounder.

All the things he did in the past are present on this album: beautiful and atmospheric musical pieces with neo-folk and prog rock influences and with the use of a very varied instrumentation: synths, guitars, bass and drums. He almost did everything himself, only the drums are done by others in most songs.

Oracle is a kind of prelude that opens the album and shows Luca’s strength: the keyboard and fine guitar work. My Blood begins with very atmospheric synths and some guitars. It reminds me of Porcupine Tree. The same can be said about Portrait of a Son, in which keys and drums let the song evolve. His voice is nice to listen to.

Still Bleeding contains ten well-developed tracks. Sometimes that’s enough!

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Bij het horen van de bandnaam, verwacht je je misschien aan zware metal. Fout! Helfir maakt zwarte, sfeerrijke muziek met voornamelijk rockinvloeden, en het is allemaal het werk van één man: de Italiaan Luca Mazzotta, die ook in progrockbands als Shedim, The Foreshadowing en Rezophonic speelde. Als gitarist van NID maakte hij zelfs neo-folk, een man die dus van vele markten thuis is.

Al deze invloeden kan je voor een stuk in dit album horen: mooie en sfeervolle muziekstukjes met progrock en neo-folkinvloeden. Hij maakt gebruik van uiteenlopende instrumentaria: synths, gitaren, bas of drums. Alleen de drums liet hij in de meeste songs aan anderen over. Het gitaarwerk is melodieus en haarfijn.

Oracle is een soort prelude die het album opent. ZE toont meteen zijn troeven: de keyboard en het fijne gitaarwerk. My Blood begint met heel atmosferische synths en gitaargetokkel en doet me wat aan Porcupine Tree denken. Ook de keys en drums laten Portrait of a Son voort evolueren. Zijn stem is aangenaam en warm om naar te luisteren.

Still Bleeding bevat tien goed uitgewerkte muziekstukken. Meer moet dat niet zijn.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : HELFIR - Still Bleeding 09/12/2016 : HELFIR - Still Bleeding

Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
02
Gimme Danger | The Stooges Raw Power Is 50-Today!
06
02
On this day, 41 years ago, the Kraftwerk single ‘The Model’ reached the Top 1 of the UK Singles Chart!
05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!
03
02
This month, 37 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Corrosion!

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
02
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
06
02
FRONTMASCHINE
EXP9
05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face