tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : HELFIR - Still Bleeding

HELFIR

Still Bleeding

MusicCD
Dark MetalProg Rock

[80/100]   

My Kindom Music
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

When hearing the band name, you might expect to hear some heavy metal. Wrong! Helfir makes atmospheric black music with mainly rock influences. It is the work of one man: the Italian Luca Mazzotta, who played in prog rock bands like Shedim, The Foreshadowing and Rezophonic. As the guitarist of NID, he even played some neo-folk, this man is indeed an all-rounder.

All the things he did in the past are present on this album: beautiful and atmospheric musical pieces with neo-folk and prog rock influences and with the use of a very varied instrumentation: synths, guitars, bass and drums. He almost did everything himself, only the drums are done by others in most songs.

Oracle is a kind of prelude that opens the album and shows Luca’s strength: the keyboard and fine guitar work. My Blood begins with very atmospheric synths and some guitars. It reminds me of Porcupine Tree. The same can be said about Portrait of a Son, in which keys and drums let the song evolve. His voice is nice to listen to.

Still Bleeding contains ten well-developed tracks. Sometimes that’s enough!

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Bij het horen van de bandnaam, verwacht je je misschien aan zware metal. Fout! Helfir maakt zwarte, sfeerrijke muziek met voornamelijk rockinvloeden, en het is allemaal het werk van één man: de Italiaan Luca Mazzotta, die ook in progrockbands als Shedim, The Foreshadowing en Rezophonic speelde. Als gitarist van NID maakte hij zelfs neo-folk, een man die dus van vele markten thuis is.

Al deze invloeden kan je voor een stuk in dit album horen: mooie en sfeervolle muziekstukjes met progrock en neo-folkinvloeden. Hij maakt gebruik van uiteenlopende instrumentaria: synths, gitaren, bas of drums. Alleen de drums liet hij in de meeste songs aan anderen over. Het gitaarwerk is melodieus en haarfijn.

Oracle is een soort prelude die het album opent. ZE toont meteen zijn troeven: de keyboard en het fijne gitaarwerk. My Blood begint met heel atmosferische synths en gitaargetokkel en doet me wat aan Porcupine Tree denken. Ook de keys en drums laten Portrait of a Son voort evolueren. Zijn stem is aangenaam en warm om naar te luisteren.

Still Bleeding bevat tien goed uitgewerkte muziekstukken. Meer moet dat niet zijn.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : HELFIR - Still Bleeding 09/12/2016 : HELFIR - Still Bleeding

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
48 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
36 years of 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
22
05
41 years Spellbound!
19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
05
CONFLICT
Dont Panik Esssen
21
05
PUSSY RIOT
Depot Leuven
21
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Depot Leuven
21
05
HETZE
Depot Leuven
16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
LOVELESSLUST
Fashion - David Bowie tribute
25
05
CORPO-MENTE
Arsalein
24
05
ATARI TEENAGE RIOT
Adrenaline
23
05
MODEL DEPOSE
Nightwatch
22
05
MARBLE SOUNDS
Tout et Partout
21
05
MARISSA NADLER
All the Colors of the Dark
20
05
SYNDROME
Forever And A Day