tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : HELFIR - Still Bleeding

HELFIR

Still Bleeding

MusicCD
Dark MetalProg Rock

[80/100]   

My Kindom Music
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

When hearing the band name, you might expect to hear some heavy metal. Wrong! Helfir makes atmospheric black music with mainly rock influences. It is the work of one man: the Italian Luca Mazzotta, who played in prog rock bands like Shedim, The Foreshadowing and Rezophonic. As the guitarist of NID, he even played some neo-folk, this man is indeed an all-rounder.

All the things he did in the past are present on this album: beautiful and atmospheric musical pieces with neo-folk and prog rock influences and with the use of a very varied instrumentation: synths, guitars, bass and drums. He almost did everything himself, only the drums are done by others in most songs.

Oracle is a kind of prelude that opens the album and shows Luca’s strength: the keyboard and fine guitar work. My Blood begins with very atmospheric synths and some guitars. It reminds me of Porcupine Tree. The same can be said about Portrait of a Son, in which keys and drums let the song evolve. His voice is nice to listen to.

Still Bleeding contains ten well-developed tracks. Sometimes that’s enough!

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Bij het horen van de bandnaam, verwacht je je misschien aan zware metal. Fout! Helfir maakt zwarte, sfeerrijke muziek met voornamelijk rockinvloeden, en het is allemaal het werk van één man: de Italiaan Luca Mazzotta, die ook in progrockbands als Shedim, The Foreshadowing en Rezophonic speelde. Als gitarist van NID maakte hij zelfs neo-folk, een man die dus van vele markten thuis is.

Al deze invloeden kan je voor een stuk in dit album horen: mooie en sfeervolle muziekstukjes met progrock en neo-folkinvloeden. Hij maakt gebruik van uiteenlopende instrumentaria: synths, gitaren, bas of drums. Alleen de drums liet hij in de meeste songs aan anderen over. Het gitaarwerk is melodieus en haarfijn.

Oracle is een soort prelude die het album opent. ZE toont meteen zijn troeven: de keyboard en het fijne gitaarwerk. My Blood begint met heel atmosferische synths en gitaargetokkel en doet me wat aan Porcupine Tree denken. Ook de keys en drums laten Portrait of a Son voort evolueren. Zijn stem is aangenaam en warm om naar te luisteren.

Still Bleeding bevat tien goed uitgewerkte muziekstukken. Meer moet dat niet zijn.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : HELFIR - Still Bleeding 09/12/2016 : HELFIR - Still Bleeding

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
09
CRYSTAL SODA CREAM
Command Control
27
09
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
Mag 7
26
09
DULAC
Nocturne (Official Music Video)
25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back