tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

09/12/2016 : RED MECCA - Electricity

RED MECCA

Electricity

MovieCinema
Dark WaveElectronicsEthereal / Heavenly Voices

[88/100]   

Massproduktion
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

In all fairness, I do not believe in records that grow. A CD has to charm you from the first time, love can’t be build, it is either there or it is not! And yes (why else would we write such an intro), that is the case with the newest CD by the Swedish band Red Mecca. Over here it is still unknown, but the Nordic underground has received the previous record (Covered With Rain) with open arms.

Everything starts with the sleeve. You don’t see that much on the red satin cover, but you clearly notice the link with Vaughan Oliver, the artist who designed almost all 4AD covers. And with that we are musically in the right direction as well, because the compositions of Jan Strandqvist and Frida Madeleine can be categorized as (perfect) darkwave with heavenly vocals.

We could sum up a host of bands which are comparable with Red Mecca (from Belcanto to Clan Of Xymox), but that is not necessary. The ten tracks are all gems in which the divine voice of Frida beautifully joins the icy (but also) warming electronic sounds of Jan.

Electricity is almost a Tim Burton fairy tale. Eerie, but beautiful. You fall in love, even if you know you will have to pay the price, because Red Mecca works extremely addictive. Utterly brilliant, and a CD that makes you realize that music is the most beautiful thing in life.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Eerlijkheidshalve geloof ik niet zo sterk in platen die groeien. Een cd moet je vanaf de eerste beluistering in beroering brengen, liefde wordt niet gevormd, ze is er of ze is er niet! En ja hoor (waarom zouden we anders zo’n intro schrijven), dat is het geval met de nieuwe cd van de Zweedse band Red Mecca. Hier zijn ze nog onbekend, maar de Noord-Europese underground is de vorige cd (Covered With Rain) met open armen ontvangen.

Het begint al met de hoes. Veel zie je niet op het satijnrode hoesje, maar je merkt toch duidelijk de link naar Vaughan Oliver, de kunstenaar die bijna alle 4AD-hoezen ontwierp. En meteen zitten we ook muzikaal in de goede richting, want de composities van Jan Strandqvist en Frida Madeleine zijn te categoriseren als (perfecte) dark wave met hemelse vocalen.

We zouden flauw kunnen doen en een resem bands opnoemen met wie je Red Mecca zou kunnen vergelijken (van Belcanto tot Clan Of Xymox), maar dat is niet nodig. De tien tracks zijn stuk voor stuk pareltjes waarin de goddelijke zang van Frida prachtig wordt gecombineerd met de ijskoude (maar tegelijkertijd) verwarmende elektronische klanken van Jan.

Electricity is bijna een Tim Burton-sprookje. Angstaanjagend, maar vertederend mooi. Je wordt verliefd, ook al weet je dat je uiteindelijk de prijs zal moeten betalen, want Red Mecca werkt uiterst verslavend. Ronduit briljant, en gewoon zo’n cd die je doet beseffen dat muziek het allermooiste is in het leven.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Black Easter 2016
DERNIERE VOLONTE • Prie Pour Moi
MERCIFUL NUNS • Allseeing Eye EP
LUDOVIC DHENRY • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PATRIARCH • Rage of Gods
MASS GOTHIC • Mass Gothic
WINTERHART • Ryk Of Glory
AUBIN • Any Day Now
MEIJER • Vrouwen
PONY PONY RUN RUN • Voyage Voyage

 

Same combination of genres: DARK WAVE + ELECTRONICS + ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
GOD'S BOW • Fallen

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
THE ART OF NOISE • In Visible Silence

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
EILERA • Face Your Demons
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow
MYRKUR • Mausoleum

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)