tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

09/12/2016 : RED MECCA - Electricity

RED MECCA

Electricity

MovieCinema
Dark WaveElectronicsEthereal / Heavenly Voices

[88/100]   

Massproduktion
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

In all fairness, I do not believe in records that grow. A CD has to charm you from the first time, love can’t be build, it is either there or it is not! And yes (why else would we write such an intro), that is the case with the newest CD by the Swedish band Red Mecca. Over here it is still unknown, but the Nordic underground has received the previous record (Covered With Rain) with open arms.

Everything starts with the sleeve. You don’t see that much on the red satin cover, but you clearly notice the link with Vaughan Oliver, the artist who designed almost all 4AD covers. And with that we are musically in the right direction as well, because the compositions of Jan Strandqvist and Frida Madeleine can be categorized as (perfect) darkwave with heavenly vocals.

We could sum up a host of bands which are comparable with Red Mecca (from Belcanto to Clan Of Xymox), but that is not necessary. The ten tracks are all gems in which the divine voice of Frida beautifully joins the icy (but also) warming electronic sounds of Jan.

Electricity is almost a Tim Burton fairy tale. Eerie, but beautiful. You fall in love, even if you know you will have to pay the price, because Red Mecca works extremely addictive. Utterly brilliant, and a CD that makes you realize that music is the most beautiful thing in life.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Eerlijkheidshalve geloof ik niet zo sterk in platen die groeien. Een cd moet je vanaf de eerste beluistering in beroering brengen, liefde wordt niet gevormd, ze is er of ze is er niet! En ja hoor (waarom zouden we anders zo’n intro schrijven), dat is het geval met de nieuwe cd van de Zweedse band Red Mecca. Hier zijn ze nog onbekend, maar de Noord-Europese underground is de vorige cd (Covered With Rain) met open armen ontvangen.

Het begint al met de hoes. Veel zie je niet op het satijnrode hoesje, maar je merkt toch duidelijk de link naar Vaughan Oliver, de kunstenaar die bijna alle 4AD-hoezen ontwierp. En meteen zitten we ook muzikaal in de goede richting, want de composities van Jan Strandqvist en Frida Madeleine zijn te categoriseren als (perfecte) dark wave met hemelse vocalen.

We zouden flauw kunnen doen en een resem bands opnoemen met wie je Red Mecca zou kunnen vergelijken (van Belcanto tot Clan Of Xymox), maar dat is niet nodig. De tien tracks zijn stuk voor stuk pareltjes waarin de goddelijke zang van Frida prachtig wordt gecombineerd met de ijskoude (maar tegelijkertijd) verwarmende elektronische klanken van Jan.

Electricity is bijna een Tim Burton-sprookje. Angstaanjagend, maar vertederend mooi. Je wordt verliefd, ook al weet je dat je uiteindelijk de prijs zal moeten betalen, want Red Mecca werkt uiterst verslavend. Ronduit briljant, en gewoon zo’n cd die je doet beseffen dat muziek het allermooiste is in het leven.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Black Easter 2016
DERNIERE VOLONTE • Prie Pour Moi
MERCIFUL NUNS • Allseeing Eye EP
LUDOVIC DHENRY • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PATRIARCH • Rage of Gods
MASS GOTHIC • Mass Gothic
WINTERHART • Ryk Of Glory
AUBIN • Any Day Now
MEIJER • Vrouwen
PONY PONY RUN RUN • Voyage Voyage

 

Same combination of genres: DARK WAVE + ELECTRONICS + ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
GOD'S BOW • Fallen

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
MOVMENT • Transformation
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design