tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

09/12/2016 : RED MECCA - Electricity

RED MECCA

Electricity

MovieCinema
Dark WaveElectronicsEthereal / Heavenly Voices

[88/100]   

Massproduktion
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

In all fairness, I do not believe in records that grow. A CD has to charm you from the first time, love can’t be build, it is either there or it is not! And yes (why else would we write such an intro), that is the case with the newest CD by the Swedish band Red Mecca. Over here it is still unknown, but the Nordic underground has received the previous record (Covered With Rain) with open arms.

Everything starts with the sleeve. You don’t see that much on the red satin cover, but you clearly notice the link with Vaughan Oliver, the artist who designed almost all 4AD covers. And with that we are musically in the right direction as well, because the compositions of Jan Strandqvist and Frida Madeleine can be categorized as (perfect) darkwave with heavenly vocals.

We could sum up a host of bands which are comparable with Red Mecca (from Belcanto to Clan Of Xymox), but that is not necessary. The ten tracks are all gems in which the divine voice of Frida beautifully joins the icy (but also) warming electronic sounds of Jan.

Electricity is almost a Tim Burton fairy tale. Eerie, but beautiful. You fall in love, even if you know you will have to pay the price, because Red Mecca works extremely addictive. Utterly brilliant, and a CD that makes you realize that music is the most beautiful thing in life.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Eerlijkheidshalve geloof ik niet zo sterk in platen die groeien. Een cd moet je vanaf de eerste beluistering in beroering brengen, liefde wordt niet gevormd, ze is er of ze is er niet! En ja hoor (waarom zouden we anders zo’n intro schrijven), dat is het geval met de nieuwe cd van de Zweedse band Red Mecca. Hier zijn ze nog onbekend, maar de Noord-Europese underground is de vorige cd (Covered With Rain) met open armen ontvangen.

Het begint al met de hoes. Veel zie je niet op het satijnrode hoesje, maar je merkt toch duidelijk de link naar Vaughan Oliver, de kunstenaar die bijna alle 4AD-hoezen ontwierp. En meteen zitten we ook muzikaal in de goede richting, want de composities van Jan Strandqvist en Frida Madeleine zijn te categoriseren als (perfecte) dark wave met hemelse vocalen.

We zouden flauw kunnen doen en een resem bands opnoemen met wie je Red Mecca zou kunnen vergelijken (van Belcanto tot Clan Of Xymox), maar dat is niet nodig. De tien tracks zijn stuk voor stuk pareltjes waarin de goddelijke zang van Frida prachtig wordt gecombineerd met de ijskoude (maar tegelijkertijd) verwarmende elektronische klanken van Jan.

Electricity is bijna een Tim Burton-sprookje. Angstaanjagend, maar vertederend mooi. Je wordt verliefd, ook al weet je dat je uiteindelijk de prijs zal moeten betalen, want Red Mecca werkt uiterst verslavend. Ronduit briljant, en gewoon zo’n cd die je doet beseffen dat muziek het allermooiste is in het leven.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi