tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

09/12/2016 : RED MECCA - Electricity

RED MECCA

Electricity

MovieCinema
Dark WaveElectronicsEthereal / Heavenly Voices

[88/100]   

Massproduktion
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

In all fairness, I do not believe in records that grow. A CD has to charm you from the first time, love can’t be build, it is either there or it is not! And yes (why else would we write such an intro), that is the case with the newest CD by the Swedish band Red Mecca. Over here it is still unknown, but the Nordic underground has received the previous record (Covered With Rain) with open arms.

Everything starts with the sleeve. You don’t see that much on the red satin cover, but you clearly notice the link with Vaughan Oliver, the artist who designed almost all 4AD covers. And with that we are musically in the right direction as well, because the compositions of Jan Strandqvist and Frida Madeleine can be categorized as (perfect) darkwave with heavenly vocals.

We could sum up a host of bands which are comparable with Red Mecca (from Belcanto to Clan Of Xymox), but that is not necessary. The ten tracks are all gems in which the divine voice of Frida beautifully joins the icy (but also) warming electronic sounds of Jan.

Electricity is almost a Tim Burton fairy tale. Eerie, but beautiful. You fall in love, even if you know you will have to pay the price, because Red Mecca works extremely addictive. Utterly brilliant, and a CD that makes you realize that music is the most beautiful thing in life.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Eerlijkheidshalve geloof ik niet zo sterk in platen die groeien. Een cd moet je vanaf de eerste beluistering in beroering brengen, liefde wordt niet gevormd, ze is er of ze is er niet! En ja hoor (waarom zouden we anders zo’n intro schrijven), dat is het geval met de nieuwe cd van de Zweedse band Red Mecca. Hier zijn ze nog onbekend, maar de Noord-Europese underground is de vorige cd (Covered With Rain) met open armen ontvangen.

Het begint al met de hoes. Veel zie je niet op het satijnrode hoesje, maar je merkt toch duidelijk de link naar Vaughan Oliver, de kunstenaar die bijna alle 4AD-hoezen ontwierp. En meteen zitten we ook muzikaal in de goede richting, want de composities van Jan Strandqvist en Frida Madeleine zijn te categoriseren als (perfecte) dark wave met hemelse vocalen.

We zouden flauw kunnen doen en een resem bands opnoemen met wie je Red Mecca zou kunnen vergelijken (van Belcanto tot Clan Of Xymox), maar dat is niet nodig. De tien tracks zijn stuk voor stuk pareltjes waarin de goddelijke zang van Frida prachtig wordt gecombineerd met de ijskoude (maar tegelijkertijd) verwarmende elektronische klanken van Jan.

Electricity is bijna een Tim Burton-sprookje. Angstaanjagend, maar vertederend mooi. Je wordt verliefd, ook al weet je dat je uiteindelijk de prijs zal moeten betalen, want Red Mecca werkt uiterst verslavend. Ronduit briljant, en gewoon zo’n cd die je doet beseffen dat muziek het allermooiste is in het leven.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola
20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron
19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed