tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

09/12/2016 : RED MECCA - Electricity

RED MECCA

Electricity

MovieCinema
Dark WaveElectronicsEthereal / Heavenly Voices

[88/100]   

Massproduktion
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

In all fairness, I do not believe in records that grow. A CD has to charm you from the first time, love can’t be build, it is either there or it is not! And yes (why else would we write such an intro), that is the case with the newest CD by the Swedish band Red Mecca. Over here it is still unknown, but the Nordic underground has received the previous record (Covered With Rain) with open arms.

Everything starts with the sleeve. You don’t see that much on the red satin cover, but you clearly notice the link with Vaughan Oliver, the artist who designed almost all 4AD covers. And with that we are musically in the right direction as well, because the compositions of Jan Strandqvist and Frida Madeleine can be categorized as (perfect) darkwave with heavenly vocals.

We could sum up a host of bands which are comparable with Red Mecca (from Belcanto to Clan Of Xymox), but that is not necessary. The ten tracks are all gems in which the divine voice of Frida beautifully joins the icy (but also) warming electronic sounds of Jan.

Electricity is almost a Tim Burton fairy tale. Eerie, but beautiful. You fall in love, even if you know you will have to pay the price, because Red Mecca works extremely addictive. Utterly brilliant, and a CD that makes you realize that music is the most beautiful thing in life.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Eerlijkheidshalve geloof ik niet zo sterk in platen die groeien. Een cd moet je vanaf de eerste beluistering in beroering brengen, liefde wordt niet gevormd, ze is er of ze is er niet! En ja hoor (waarom zouden we anders zo’n intro schrijven), dat is het geval met de nieuwe cd van de Zweedse band Red Mecca. Hier zijn ze nog onbekend, maar de Noord-Europese underground is de vorige cd (Covered With Rain) met open armen ontvangen.

Het begint al met de hoes. Veel zie je niet op het satijnrode hoesje, maar je merkt toch duidelijk de link naar Vaughan Oliver, de kunstenaar die bijna alle 4AD-hoezen ontwierp. En meteen zitten we ook muzikaal in de goede richting, want de composities van Jan Strandqvist en Frida Madeleine zijn te categoriseren als (perfecte) dark wave met hemelse vocalen.

We zouden flauw kunnen doen en een resem bands opnoemen met wie je Red Mecca zou kunnen vergelijken (van Belcanto tot Clan Of Xymox), maar dat is niet nodig. De tien tracks zijn stuk voor stuk pareltjes waarin de goddelijke zang van Frida prachtig wordt gecombineerd met de ijskoude (maar tegelijkertijd) verwarmende elektronische klanken van Jan.

Electricity is bijna een Tim Burton-sprookje. Angstaanjagend, maar vertederend mooi. Je wordt verliefd, ook al weet je dat je uiteindelijk de prijs zal moeten betalen, want Red Mecca werkt uiterst verslavend. Ronduit briljant, en gewoon zo’n cd die je doet beseffen dat muziek het allermooiste is in het leven.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Black Easter 2016
DERNIERE VOLONTE • Prie Pour Moi
MERCIFUL NUNS • Allseeing Eye EP
LUDOVIC DHENRY • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PATRIARCH • Rage of Gods
MASS GOTHIC • Mass Gothic
WINTERHART • Ryk Of Glory
AUBIN • Any Day Now
MEIJER • Vrouwen
PONY PONY RUN RUN • Voyage Voyage

 

Same combination of genres: DARK WAVE + ELECTRONICS + ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
GOD'S BOW • Fallen

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
EILERA • Face Your Demons

Music reviews

19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis
18
10
NEW MODEL ARMY
From Here
18
10
RIDE
This Is Not a Safe Place
17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
10
THE VELVET UNDERGROUND & NICO
21
10
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets
20
10
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
19
10
ORBITAL
One Perfect Sunrise
18
10
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)