tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

09/12/2016 : PONY PONY RUN RUN - Voyage Voyage

PONY PONY RUN RUN

Voyage Voyage

MusicCD
IndiePop

[63/100]   

PIAS
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

I always thought Pony Pony Run Run was a geeky name, but Gaetan Rechin Lê Ky-Huong and Amaël Rechin Lê Ky-Huong won’t care less. Since their debut in 2009, the band (then a trio) conquered many countries. In France and Wallonia, they even are pop idols.

The duo has a bizarre fan base: indie freaks and teen girls who are waving with teddy bears. The latter certainly has to do with the fact that the pop songs are easy and the boys look good. And what about the indie freaks, then? Well, despite the fact that the repertoire consists of smooth synth pop, everything is ingenious. That is also the case on the newest Voyage Voyage (a title which has nothing to do with the Desireless hit), recorded in the studio of Damon Albarn.

Pony Pony Run Run will not win any new fans with Voyage Voyage and it probably won’t lose any either (except those few girls who have exchanged their teddy bear for something else), because the band follows the same pattern since six years. It is all too lame to impress, but too good to be classified as garbage. Typical French radio pop? Something like that...

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Zelf heb ik Pony Pony Run Run altijd een wat sullige naam gevonden, maar dat zal Gaëtan Réchin Lê Ky-Huong en Amaël Réchin Lê Ky-Huong zonder twijfel worst wezen. Sinds hun debuut uit 2009 (toen nog een trio) hebben ze heel wat landen veroverd. In Frankrijk en Wallonië zijn ze zelfs popidolen.

Het duo heeft een nogal bizarre fanbasis: zowel indiefreaks als pubermeisjes die met teddyberen zwaaien. Dat laatste heeft zeker te maken met de popsongs die gemakkelijk in het oor liggen, en wellicht ook met het feit dat deze kerels de meisjesharten sneller laten slaan. En wat met die indiefreaks dan? Nou, ondanks het feit dat hun repertoire uit gladgestreken synthpop bestaat, zit alles toch ingenieus in elkaar. Dat is ook weer het geval op Voyage Voyage (een titel die trouwens niets te maken heeft met de Desireless-hit) en is opgenomen in de studio van Damon Albarn.

Met Voyage Voyage zal Pony Pony Run Run geen enkele fan winnen, maar er waarschijnlijk ook weinig verliezen (behalve die paar meisjes die inmiddels hun teddybeer voor wat anders hebben ingeruild), want de band volgt het stramien dat hij al zes jaar hanteert. Het is allemaal veel te braaf om te imponeren, maar ook net iets te goed gemaakt om als rommel af te doen. Typische Franse radiopop dus? Zoiets…

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
ALPHAMAY • Twisted Lines
HECQ • Night Falls (Remastered)
FEW BITS • Big Sparks
LA MUERTE/MY DILIGENCE • Kortrijk, De Kreun (10/03/2016)
EREB ALTOR • Blot-Ilt-Taut
N3VOA • Wasted Memories
THE ANCHORESS • Confessions of a Romance Novelist
ISZOLOSCOPE • False Vacuum
FAR FROM YOUR SUN • In The Beginning…Was the Emotion
WHISPERING SONS/ GRAND BLANC • Brussels, Botanique (09/03/2016)

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + POP
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
GUY GARVEY • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
MODEL VILLAGE • Healing Centre
ROVER • Let It Glow
THE BRITISH IBM • Psychopaths Dream In Black And White
ELISA WAUT • Portraits And Landscapes
SARAH CRACKNELL • Red Kite
FEVER THE GHOST • 1518
HAPPYNESS • It's On
DOWNPILOT • Radio Ghost

 

Same genre: INDIE
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom
TAU • Tau Tau Tau
USUREI YATSURA • You Are My Usurei Yatsura:
SILVER APPLES • Clinging to a Dream
THEE OH SEES • A Weird Exists
DEF NEON • Def Neon

 

Same genre: POP
PARRALOX • Subculture
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här

Music reviews

16
08
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND
Mercury Fountain
10
08
CONVERGE
I Can Tell You About Pain
05
08
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION
Split EP
03
08
NTTX
Of Beauty and Chaos'
01
08
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD
Murder Of The Universe
30
07
LIE DETECTOR
To Fly!

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Sinead O' Connor posts desperate help-call video on her Facebook
13
08
Kirlian Camera co-operate with Covenant and announce new album
11
08
Hocico - Spell of The Spider - German tour dates
08
08
Wool-E's physical shop closing down - Up to 50% discount on stock-sales!
07
08
Silken Tofu on yearly Atlantikwall nocturnal, 19th August
04
08
New single/video Gary Numan ‘My Name Is Ruin' online!

Concert reviews

28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni
26
06
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH
Zaterdag 3 juni
26
06
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON
Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
26
06
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND
WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller
26
06
KRYONIX, SYNTHATTACK, BLEIB MODERN, WHISPERING SONS, THE VISION BLEAK
Zondag 4 juni
09
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
08
DICEPEOPLE
'Electro with an Industrial/Gothic edge and broad range of other influences'
09
08
SEEMING
I'm trying to paint a world where humans are not the stars or the narrators—where it's not about us at all.
06
08
THE MESCALINE BABIES
'I love Christian death, but their first album is nearly 40 years old, we should try to evolve the concept.'
03
08
LIQUID TRAUMA
OUR MEMORIES OF A BETTER PAST ARE OFTEN FAKE
31
07
DEAD BORN BABIES
'They are about the livings who spoke us out. We adapted all the haunted and horror idioms to make them synonyms of “politicians”, “Global corporations”, “society “'

PHOTOS

28
07
EISBRECHER
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
COMBICHRIST
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
LETZTE INSTANZ
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
HOCICO
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
DAS ICH
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
STAHLMANN
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
VNV NATION
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

17
08
PSY'AVIAH
Reboot Reset Relay
17
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Virus
17
08
DIE KRUPPS
Nazis Auf Speed
15
08
VIRGIN IN VEIL
Of Tears and Poisons
14
08
JAMBINAI
They Keep Silence
13
08
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Exorcism
12
08
AEVERIUM
Hunted