tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : FEW BITS - Big Sparks

FEW BITS

Big Sparks

MusicCD
DreampopIndie

[93/100]   

PIAS
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Three years ago, the debut of Few Bits was released. A wonderful album that actually sounded like the dreamy diary of Karolien Van Ransbeeck. A lot has happened in the meantime. She is known outside Belgium, and on Big Sparks Few Bits has become a six-member band that seeks adventure. They describe it as daring to swim without a life jacket. This new album is indeed a challenge, but what a result! The band went to the Belgian Ardennes. In the GAM studios a lot of tracks were recorded that now are part of one of the finest indie releases (or dream pop) of this year. On the cover we see a female child with an innocent face, but it looks like if she’s angry and wants to say us something, and so does Few Bits.

The title of Summer Sun unveils everything: a delicious shoegaze song with a hint of Belly. Actually, the voice of Karolien Van Ransbeeck reminds us more than once of Tanya Donnelly, as they’re both fragile, but strong at the same time. You can sing Set Your Free while riding your bike or you can play it in your pitch-dark room while you are thinking about life. There are more than enough possibilities for dreaming away on this gem: no one will be untouched after hearing Chasing Rainbows.

The title track Big Sparks is the best song on this magnificent disc. It sounds like a naive pop song, but it has the beauty of say Slowdive and The Sundays. Anyone Else also has that quality, although it is different. It was difficult to find a single on Few Bits’ debut album, but the new one has plenty. Play Do Your Best in the morning on the radio, and you'll go to work with a smile on your face. Magnificent indie pop that even feels a bit sexy. It strikes me how often I use the word "beautiful", but try to find another description for Sweet Warrior. It approaches perfection, just brilliant! After eight wonderful pop songs, Karolien does something different, a bit more experimental.

Big Sparks concludes with the dreamy Days and the strange (almost incomprehensible, but nonetheless excellent) Souvenir.

The year is still young, as they say, but Few Bits made one of the best albums of 2016 so far.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Drie jaar geleden verscheen het debuutalbum van Few Bits. Een wondermooie plaat die eigenlijk klonk als het dromerige dagboek van Karolien Van Ransbeeck. Er is veel gebeurd in die tijd. In het buitenland weet men al lang wie deze blondine is, en op Big Sparks is Few Bits een zeskoppige band geworden die van avontuur houdt. Zelf omschrijven ze het als durven zwemmen zonder zwemvest. Een uitdaging is deze nieuwe plaat beslist. De band trok de Ardennen in en nam er in de GAM Studio’s een heleboel tracks op die nu staan te pronken op wat voor één van de mooiste indiereleases (of noem het maar gewoon dreampop) van het jaar is. Op de hoes kijkt een meisje ons onschuldig aan, maar het lijkt alsof ze boos is, ze wil ons wat zeggen en dat geldt ook voor Few Bits.

Summer Sun onthult alles door zijn titel: een heerlijke shoegazetrack met een vleugje Belly. Eigenlijk doet de stem van Karolien Van Ransbeeck ons meer dan eens aan Tanya Donnelly denken: fragiel, maar tegelijkertijd oersterk. Set Your Free is een lied dat je heerlijk op de fiets kan meezingen, maar je kan het evengoed in het hoekje van je pikdonkere kamer beluisteren om na te denken over het leven. En daar blijft het niet bij, er zijn meer dan mogelijkheden genoeg om weg te dromen op deze prachtplaat: zo zal niemand onberoerd blijven bij Chasing Rainbows.

De titeltrack Big Sparks is het mooiste van dit buitengewoon schijfje: kwetsbare pop vol melancholie. Het klinkt als een naïef popliedje, maar het bevat een schoonheid die we sinds Slowdive en The Sundays niet meer hebben gehoord. Anyone Else heeft ook die kwaliteit, ofschoon het toch weer anders is. Was het moeilijk om op de vorige plaat een single aan te treffen, dan staat de nieuwe er bol van. Speel ’s morgens Do Your Best op de radio, en je gaat zelfs met plezier naar je werk. Wondermooie indiepop die zelfs een tikkeltje sexy aanvoelt.

Het valt me op hoe vaak ik de woorden “prachtig” en “mooi” gebruik, maar tracht Sweet Warrior maar eens met andere woorden omschrijven. Het benadert de perfectie, dit is gewoon briljant!

Na acht heerlijke popliedjes mag het best wat moeilijker, moet Karolien hebben gedacht. Daarom wordt Big Sparks afgesloten met het mijmerende Days en het vreemde (bijna niet te vatten) Souvenir.

Het jaar is nog jong zoals ze zeggen, maar Few Bits heeft al een plaats in het lijstje afgedwongen!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
LA MUERTE/MY DILIGENCE • Kortrijk, De Kreun (10/03/2016)
EREB ALTOR • Blot-Ilt-Taut
N3VOA • Wasted Memories
THE ANCHORESS • Confessions of a Romance Novelist
ISZOLOSCOPE • False Vacuum
FAR FROM YOUR SUN • In The Beginning…Was the Emotion
WHISPERING SONS/ GRAND BLANC • Brussels, Botanique (09/03/2016)
KARAWANE • Karawane
SONJA KRAUSHOFER • Black Easter 2016
EVI VINE • Black Easter 2016

 

Other reviews from FEW BITS
FEW BITS • Few Bits

 

Same combination of genres: DREAMPOP + INDIE
SUNFLOWER BEAN • Human Ceremony
THE SILENCE SET • Teeth Out
RYCERZYKI • Rycerzyki
SUMMER TWINS • Limbo
YOUTH LAGOON • Savage Hills Ballroom
BILL AND MURRAY • A New Kind Of High
DOWNPILOT • Radio Ghost
MIST • The Loop of Love
THE GIRL WHO CRIED WOLF • Ruins
GOSPEL • Ain't Gonna Let You In

 

Same genre: DREAMPOP
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
NEWMOON • Space
ERIK BLOOD • Lost In Slow Motion
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
QUEEN OF THE MEADOWS • Aligned With Juniper
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Noire Psyché

 

Same genre: INDIE
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom

Music reviews

16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London
21
12
RESISTOR
Ice Cold Gold
20
12
RADIOAKTIVISTS
Radioakt One

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
01
The Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 Release
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - One Year Anniversary
14
01
Zwaremachine are heading over to Europe for 3 dates in January!
14
01
Ryan Murphy announces main cast of his new TV show 'Ratched'
13
01
The Weathermen have remastered and released their live backing track instrumentals!
12
01
Dark Ambient Act LOUSBERG Announces THE DEATH OF HUMANITY

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.
22
12
MICHAEL MCKEEGAN
'We had to approach the songs in a different manner.'
10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life
15
01
SCHULTZ
I hate You
14
01
LOLA ANGST
Wie Gott
13
01
RED ZEBRA
No Kitchen In The House
12
01
LENE LOVICH BAND
Lucky Number
11
01
OHMELECTRONIC
Everything Is Gone
10
01
WAITING FOR WORDS
Great New World