tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

09/12/2016 : FEW BITS - Big Sparks

FEW BITS

Big Sparks

MusicCD
DreampopIndie

[93/100]   

PIAS
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Three years ago, the debut of Few Bits was released. A wonderful album that actually sounded like the dreamy diary of Karolien Van Ransbeeck. A lot has happened in the meantime. She is known outside Belgium, and on Big Sparks Few Bits has become a six-member band that seeks adventure. They describe it as daring to swim without a life jacket. This new album is indeed a challenge, but what a result! The band went to the Belgian Ardennes. In the GAM studios a lot of tracks were recorded that now are part of one of the finest indie releases (or dream pop) of this year. On the cover we see a female child with an innocent face, but it looks like if she’s angry and wants to say us something, and so does Few Bits.

The title of Summer Sun unveils everything: a delicious shoegaze song with a hint of Belly. Actually, the voice of Karolien Van Ransbeeck reminds us more than once of Tanya Donnelly, as they’re both fragile, but strong at the same time. You can sing Set Your Free while riding your bike or you can play it in your pitch-dark room while you are thinking about life. There are more than enough possibilities for dreaming away on this gem: no one will be untouched after hearing Chasing Rainbows.

The title track Big Sparks is the best song on this magnificent disc. It sounds like a naive pop song, but it has the beauty of say Slowdive and The Sundays. Anyone Else also has that quality, although it is different. It was difficult to find a single on Few Bits’ debut album, but the new one has plenty. Play Do Your Best in the morning on the radio, and you'll go to work with a smile on your face. Magnificent indie pop that even feels a bit sexy. It strikes me how often I use the word "beautiful", but try to find another description for Sweet Warrior. It approaches perfection, just brilliant! After eight wonderful pop songs, Karolien does something different, a bit more experimental.

Big Sparks concludes with the dreamy Days and the strange (almost incomprehensible, but nonetheless excellent) Souvenir.

The year is still young, as they say, but Few Bits made one of the best albums of 2016 so far.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Drie jaar geleden verscheen het debuutalbum van Few Bits. Een wondermooie plaat die eigenlijk klonk als het dromerige dagboek van Karolien Van Ransbeeck. Er is veel gebeurd in die tijd. In het buitenland weet men al lang wie deze blondine is, en op Big Sparks is Few Bits een zeskoppige band geworden die van avontuur houdt. Zelf omschrijven ze het als durven zwemmen zonder zwemvest. Een uitdaging is deze nieuwe plaat beslist. De band trok de Ardennen in en nam er in de GAM Studio’s een heleboel tracks op die nu staan te pronken op wat voor één van de mooiste indiereleases (of noem het maar gewoon dreampop) van het jaar is. Op de hoes kijkt een meisje ons onschuldig aan, maar het lijkt alsof ze boos is, ze wil ons wat zeggen en dat geldt ook voor Few Bits.

Summer Sun onthult alles door zijn titel: een heerlijke shoegazetrack met een vleugje Belly. Eigenlijk doet de stem van Karolien Van Ransbeeck ons meer dan eens aan Tanya Donnelly denken: fragiel, maar tegelijkertijd oersterk. Set Your Free is een lied dat je heerlijk op de fiets kan meezingen, maar je kan het evengoed in het hoekje van je pikdonkere kamer beluisteren om na te denken over het leven. En daar blijft het niet bij, er zijn meer dan mogelijkheden genoeg om weg te dromen op deze prachtplaat: zo zal niemand onberoerd blijven bij Chasing Rainbows.

De titeltrack Big Sparks is het mooiste van dit buitengewoon schijfje: kwetsbare pop vol melancholie. Het klinkt als een naïef popliedje, maar het bevat een schoonheid die we sinds Slowdive en The Sundays niet meer hebben gehoord. Anyone Else heeft ook die kwaliteit, ofschoon het toch weer anders is. Was het moeilijk om op de vorige plaat een single aan te treffen, dan staat de nieuwe er bol van. Speel ’s morgens Do Your Best op de radio, en je gaat zelfs met plezier naar je werk. Wondermooie indiepop die zelfs een tikkeltje sexy aanvoelt.

Het valt me op hoe vaak ik de woorden “prachtig” en “mooi” gebruik, maar tracht Sweet Warrior maar eens met andere woorden omschrijven. Het benadert de perfectie, dit is gewoon briljant!

Na acht heerlijke popliedjes mag het best wat moeilijker, moet Karolien hebben gedacht. Daarom wordt Big Sparks afgesloten met het mijmerende Days en het vreemde (bijna niet te vatten) Souvenir.

Het jaar is nog jong zoals ze zeggen, maar Few Bits heeft al een plaats in het lijstje afgedwongen!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
LA MUERTE/MY DILIGENCE • Kortrijk, De Kreun (10/03/2016)
EREB ALTOR • Blot-Ilt-Taut
N3VOA • Wasted Memories
THE ANCHORESS • Confessions of a Romance Novelist
ISZOLOSCOPE • False Vacuum
FAR FROM YOUR SUN • In The Beginning…Was the Emotion
WHISPERING SONS/ GRAND BLANC • Brussels, Botanique (09/03/2016)
KARAWANE • Karawane
SONJA KRAUSHOFER • Black Easter 2016
EVI VINE • Black Easter 2016

 

Other reviews from FEW BITS
FEW BITS • Few Bits

 

Same combination of genres: DREAMPOP + INDIE
SUNFLOWER BEAN • Human Ceremony
THE SILENCE SET • Teeth Out
RYCERZYKI • Rycerzyki
SUMMER TWINS • Limbo
YOUTH LAGOON • Savage Hills Ballroom
BILL AND MURRAY • A New Kind Of High
DOWNPILOT • Radio Ghost
MIST • The Loop of Love
THE GIRL WHO CRIED WOLF • Ruins
GOSPEL • Ain't Gonna Let You In

 

Same genre: DREAMPOP
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
NEWMOON • Space
ERIK BLOOD • Lost In Slow Motion
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
QUEEN OF THE MEADOWS • Aligned With Juniper
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Noire Psyché
WILD NOTHING • Life of Pause

 

Same genre: INDIE
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom
TAU • Tau Tau Tau
USUREI YATSURA • You Are My Usurei Yatsura:
SILVER APPLES • Clinging to a Dream

Music reviews

20
10
THE BIPOLAR
Tomorrow everything will get better
19
10
STACIAN
Person L
18
10
TYCHO BRAHE
Triplex [Complete]
17
10
LA GRAZIA OBLIQUA
La Grazia Obliqua (EP)
16
10
AMORPHOUS
Shapeshifting
12
10
HELIOPHILE
Permeate

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
New single by Kirlian Camera featuring Covenant singer Eskil Simonsson!
20
10
This weekend! DAFT / MINIMAL MAXIMAL - FEST weekend in Antwerp!
10
10
Amnesty International Belgium invites hundreds of artists
10
10
New Simi-Nah video 'Chacun Pour Soi' on YouTube!
02
10
New Wave cult & club classic band Crash Course In Science is back with a new (bomb) album!
01
10
New IMPLANT EP / Video - The Phone Call - Out now!

Concert reviews

27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017
27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni
26
06
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH
Zaterdag 3 juni
26
06
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON
Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
26
06
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND
WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
10
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
'When you see that some chords that you have composed become a song, it's a very special feeling.'
15
10
BLANCMANGE
'We were making experimental music for a while, really just for ourselves, not thinking anyone would want to listen.'
13
10
KOL BELOV
I make strange animations, that look like music videos and strange music videos, that look like animation.
11
10
THE HORRORIST
'Sometimes I cringe when I hear some of my songs about sex or pain but at the same time it’s my diary.'
09
10
A SPLIT-SECOND
Marc Ickx talks about A Split-Second

PHOTOS

20
10
GARY NUMAN
Depot Leuven
20
10
JAYCE LEWIS
Depot Leuven
17
10
GARY NUMAN
Brighton Dome, Brighton, UK
14
10
ATTRITION
Charles Bradlaugh, Northampton, UK
14
10
VUDUVOX
Charles Bradlaugh, Northampton, UK
14
10
CURXES
229 The Venue, London, UK
08
10
BLANCMANGE
229 The Venue, London, UK

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

20
10
DEATH OF A CHEERLEADER
Tanna
19
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Inside My Asylum
19
10
TEARFUL MOON
Ecstasy in Black
17
10
AND ALSO THE TREES
Your Guess
16
10
!DISTAIN
Conversation Overkill
15
10
TEHI TEARDO & BLIXA BARGELD
The Beast
15
10
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)