tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : FEW BITS - Big Sparks

FEW BITS

Big Sparks

MusicCD
DreampopIndie

[93/100]   

PIAS
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Three years ago, the debut of Few Bits was released. A wonderful album that actually sounded like the dreamy diary of Karolien Van Ransbeeck. A lot has happened in the meantime. She is known outside Belgium, and on Big Sparks Few Bits has become a six-member band that seeks adventure. They describe it as daring to swim without a life jacket. This new album is indeed a challenge, but what a result! The band went to the Belgian Ardennes. In the GAM studios a lot of tracks were recorded that now are part of one of the finest indie releases (or dream pop) of this year. On the cover we see a female child with an innocent face, but it looks like if she’s angry and wants to say us something, and so does Few Bits.

The title of Summer Sun unveils everything: a delicious shoegaze song with a hint of Belly. Actually, the voice of Karolien Van Ransbeeck reminds us more than once of Tanya Donnelly, as they’re both fragile, but strong at the same time. You can sing Set Your Free while riding your bike or you can play it in your pitch-dark room while you are thinking about life. There are more than enough possibilities for dreaming away on this gem: no one will be untouched after hearing Chasing Rainbows.

The title track Big Sparks is the best song on this magnificent disc. It sounds like a naive pop song, but it has the beauty of say Slowdive and The Sundays. Anyone Else also has that quality, although it is different. It was difficult to find a single on Few Bits’ debut album, but the new one has plenty. Play Do Your Best in the morning on the radio, and you'll go to work with a smile on your face. Magnificent indie pop that even feels a bit sexy. It strikes me how often I use the word "beautiful", but try to find another description for Sweet Warrior. It approaches perfection, just brilliant! After eight wonderful pop songs, Karolien does something different, a bit more experimental.

Big Sparks concludes with the dreamy Days and the strange (almost incomprehensible, but nonetheless excellent) Souvenir.

The year is still young, as they say, but Few Bits made one of the best albums of 2016 so far.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Drie jaar geleden verscheen het debuutalbum van Few Bits. Een wondermooie plaat die eigenlijk klonk als het dromerige dagboek van Karolien Van Ransbeeck. Er is veel gebeurd in die tijd. In het buitenland weet men al lang wie deze blondine is, en op Big Sparks is Few Bits een zeskoppige band geworden die van avontuur houdt. Zelf omschrijven ze het als durven zwemmen zonder zwemvest. Een uitdaging is deze nieuwe plaat beslist. De band trok de Ardennen in en nam er in de GAM Studio’s een heleboel tracks op die nu staan te pronken op wat voor één van de mooiste indiereleases (of noem het maar gewoon dreampop) van het jaar is. Op de hoes kijkt een meisje ons onschuldig aan, maar het lijkt alsof ze boos is, ze wil ons wat zeggen en dat geldt ook voor Few Bits.

Summer Sun onthult alles door zijn titel: een heerlijke shoegazetrack met een vleugje Belly. Eigenlijk doet de stem van Karolien Van Ransbeeck ons meer dan eens aan Tanya Donnelly denken: fragiel, maar tegelijkertijd oersterk. Set Your Free is een lied dat je heerlijk op de fiets kan meezingen, maar je kan het evengoed in het hoekje van je pikdonkere kamer beluisteren om na te denken over het leven. En daar blijft het niet bij, er zijn meer dan mogelijkheden genoeg om weg te dromen op deze prachtplaat: zo zal niemand onberoerd blijven bij Chasing Rainbows.

De titeltrack Big Sparks is het mooiste van dit buitengewoon schijfje: kwetsbare pop vol melancholie. Het klinkt als een naïef popliedje, maar het bevat een schoonheid die we sinds Slowdive en The Sundays niet meer hebben gehoord. Anyone Else heeft ook die kwaliteit, ofschoon het toch weer anders is. Was het moeilijk om op de vorige plaat een single aan te treffen, dan staat de nieuwe er bol van. Speel ’s morgens Do Your Best op de radio, en je gaat zelfs met plezier naar je werk. Wondermooie indiepop die zelfs een tikkeltje sexy aanvoelt.

Het valt me op hoe vaak ik de woorden “prachtig” en “mooi” gebruik, maar tracht Sweet Warrior maar eens met andere woorden omschrijven. Het benadert de perfectie, dit is gewoon briljant!

Na acht heerlijke popliedjes mag het best wat moeilijker, moet Karolien hebben gedacht. Daarom wordt Big Sparks afgesloten met het mijmerende Days en het vreemde (bijna niet te vatten) Souvenir.

Het jaar is nog jong zoals ze zeggen, maar Few Bits heeft al een plaats in het lijstje afgedwongen!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
LA MUERTE/MY DILIGENCE • Kortrijk, De Kreun (10/03/2016)
EREB ALTOR • Blot-Ilt-Taut
N3VOA • Wasted Memories
THE ANCHORESS • Confessions of a Romance Novelist
ISZOLOSCOPE • False Vacuum
FAR FROM YOUR SUN • In The Beginning…Was the Emotion
WHISPERING SONS/ GRAND BLANC • Brussels, Botanique (09/03/2016)
KARAWANE • Karawane
SONJA KRAUSHOFER • Black Easter 2016
EVI VINE • Black Easter 2016

 

Other reviews from FEW BITS
FEW BITS • Few Bits

 

Same combination of genres: DREAMPOP + INDIE
SUNFLOWER BEAN • Human Ceremony
THE SILENCE SET • Teeth Out
RYCERZYKI • Rycerzyki
SUMMER TWINS • Limbo
YOUTH LAGOON • Savage Hills Ballroom
BILL AND MURRAY • A New Kind Of High
DOWNPILOT • Radio Ghost
MIST • The Loop of Love
THE GIRL WHO CRIED WOLF • Ruins
GOSPEL • Ain't Gonna Let You In

 

Same genre: DREAMPOP
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
NEWMOON • Space
ERIK BLOOD • Lost In Slow Motion
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
QUEEN OF THE MEADOWS • Aligned With Juniper

 

Same genre: INDIE
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl