tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : FEW BITS - Big Sparks

FEW BITS

Big Sparks

MusicCD
DreampopIndie

[93/100]   

PIAS
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Three years ago, the debut of Few Bits was released. A wonderful album that actually sounded like the dreamy diary of Karolien Van Ransbeeck. A lot has happened in the meantime. She is known outside Belgium, and on Big Sparks Few Bits has become a six-member band that seeks adventure. They describe it as daring to swim without a life jacket. This new album is indeed a challenge, but what a result! The band went to the Belgian Ardennes. In the GAM studios a lot of tracks were recorded that now are part of one of the finest indie releases (or dream pop) of this year. On the cover we see a female child with an innocent face, but it looks like if she’s angry and wants to say us something, and so does Few Bits.

The title of Summer Sun unveils everything: a delicious shoegaze song with a hint of Belly. Actually, the voice of Karolien Van Ransbeeck reminds us more than once of Tanya Donnelly, as they’re both fragile, but strong at the same time. You can sing Set Your Free while riding your bike or you can play it in your pitch-dark room while you are thinking about life. There are more than enough possibilities for dreaming away on this gem: no one will be untouched after hearing Chasing Rainbows.

The title track Big Sparks is the best song on this magnificent disc. It sounds like a naive pop song, but it has the beauty of say Slowdive and The Sundays. Anyone Else also has that quality, although it is different. It was difficult to find a single on Few Bits’ debut album, but the new one has plenty. Play Do Your Best in the morning on the radio, and you'll go to work with a smile on your face. Magnificent indie pop that even feels a bit sexy. It strikes me how often I use the word "beautiful", but try to find another description for Sweet Warrior. It approaches perfection, just brilliant! After eight wonderful pop songs, Karolien does something different, a bit more experimental.

Big Sparks concludes with the dreamy Days and the strange (almost incomprehensible, but nonetheless excellent) Souvenir.

The year is still young, as they say, but Few Bits made one of the best albums of 2016 so far.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Drie jaar geleden verscheen het debuutalbum van Few Bits. Een wondermooie plaat die eigenlijk klonk als het dromerige dagboek van Karolien Van Ransbeeck. Er is veel gebeurd in die tijd. In het buitenland weet men al lang wie deze blondine is, en op Big Sparks is Few Bits een zeskoppige band geworden die van avontuur houdt. Zelf omschrijven ze het als durven zwemmen zonder zwemvest. Een uitdaging is deze nieuwe plaat beslist. De band trok de Ardennen in en nam er in de GAM Studio’s een heleboel tracks op die nu staan te pronken op wat voor één van de mooiste indiereleases (of noem het maar gewoon dreampop) van het jaar is. Op de hoes kijkt een meisje ons onschuldig aan, maar het lijkt alsof ze boos is, ze wil ons wat zeggen en dat geldt ook voor Few Bits.

Summer Sun onthult alles door zijn titel: een heerlijke shoegazetrack met een vleugje Belly. Eigenlijk doet de stem van Karolien Van Ransbeeck ons meer dan eens aan Tanya Donnelly denken: fragiel, maar tegelijkertijd oersterk. Set Your Free is een lied dat je heerlijk op de fiets kan meezingen, maar je kan het evengoed in het hoekje van je pikdonkere kamer beluisteren om na te denken over het leven. En daar blijft het niet bij, er zijn meer dan mogelijkheden genoeg om weg te dromen op deze prachtplaat: zo zal niemand onberoerd blijven bij Chasing Rainbows.

De titeltrack Big Sparks is het mooiste van dit buitengewoon schijfje: kwetsbare pop vol melancholie. Het klinkt als een naïef popliedje, maar het bevat een schoonheid die we sinds Slowdive en The Sundays niet meer hebben gehoord. Anyone Else heeft ook die kwaliteit, ofschoon het toch weer anders is. Was het moeilijk om op de vorige plaat een single aan te treffen, dan staat de nieuwe er bol van. Speel ’s morgens Do Your Best op de radio, en je gaat zelfs met plezier naar je werk. Wondermooie indiepop die zelfs een tikkeltje sexy aanvoelt.

Het valt me op hoe vaak ik de woorden “prachtig” en “mooi” gebruik, maar tracht Sweet Warrior maar eens met andere woorden omschrijven. Het benadert de perfectie, dit is gewoon briljant!

Na acht heerlijke popliedjes mag het best wat moeilijker, moet Karolien hebben gedacht. Daarom wordt Big Sparks afgesloten met het mijmerende Days en het vreemde (bijna niet te vatten) Souvenir.

Het jaar is nog jong zoals ze zeggen, maar Few Bits heeft al een plaats in het lijstje afgedwongen!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
LA MUERTE/MY DILIGENCE • Kortrijk, De Kreun (10/03/2016)
EREB ALTOR • Blot-Ilt-Taut
N3VOA • Wasted Memories
THE ANCHORESS • Confessions of a Romance Novelist
ISZOLOSCOPE • False Vacuum
FAR FROM YOUR SUN • In The Beginning…Was the Emotion
WHISPERING SONS/ GRAND BLANC • Brussels, Botanique (09/03/2016)
KARAWANE • Karawane
SONJA KRAUSHOFER • Black Easter 2016
EVI VINE • Black Easter 2016

 

Other reviews from FEW BITS
FEW BITS • Few Bits

 

Same combination of genres: DREAMPOP + INDIE
SUNFLOWER BEAN • Human Ceremony
THE SILENCE SET • Teeth Out
RYCERZYKI • Rycerzyki
SUMMER TWINS • Limbo
YOUTH LAGOON • Savage Hills Ballroom
BILL AND MURRAY • A New Kind Of High
DOWNPILOT • Radio Ghost
MIST • The Loop of Love
THE GIRL WHO CRIED WOLF • Ruins
GOSPEL • Ain't Gonna Let You In

 

Same genre: DREAMPOP
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
NEWMOON • Space
ERIK BLOOD • Lost In Slow Motion
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP

 

Same genre: INDIE
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP

Music reviews

05
06
GOOD CO
So Pretty
30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
06
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
CONTROL
04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017