tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

21/01/2016 : RYCERZYKI - Rycerzyki

RYCERZYKI

Rycerzyki

MusicCD
DreampopIndie

[80/100]   

Stajnia Sobieski
21/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

A colorful cover and booklet make me think that this has to be sunny music. Yes, this Polish band creates dream pop and indie pop-rock. I do not know much about them, because my knowledge of the Polish language is not so overwhelming. Anyway, these seven young musicians are from Krakow.

The instrumentation consists of drums, bass, guitars, keyboards and voice. The keys are the colourful, light-hearted touch. The guitars are often acoustic, sometimes electric. Singer Gosia has a thin and ethereal voice that sounds dreamy and a tad naive. Sometimes it’s sung in Polish, but mostly in English. Lentilki opens the album and it hops like a rabbit through the tall grass during spring. Tawice floats on a fine guitar sound. Mating Season is just like Hounds a fab song with an enjoyable chorus that is well constructed. On Dobranoc Gosia’s warm voice gets a bit lost, but then again you have great tunes like Lotta and Hounds which are perfect choices for a singls. Rimemba tends to sound like the Belgian super band Arsenal.

Rycerzyki is a name that is hard to remember, nevertheless, the band made a colorful pop album that shows that there is more than just unemployment and a grey environment in Poland.

Wim GUILLEMYN
21/01/2016


NL

Een kleurrijke cover en een kleurijk boekje lachen mij toe. Tja, dit moet wel zonnige muziek zijn, denk ik dan. En inderdaad, dit Poolse gezelschap maakt dreampop en indie pop/rock. Veel weet ik niet over deze band, mijn kennis van de Poolse taal is dan ook niet zo denderend. Maar goed, de band bestaat uit een zevental jonge muzikanten uit Krakow.

Het instrumentarium bestaat uit drums, bas, gitaren, toetsen en stem. De toetsen zorgen voor de kleurrijke, lichtvoetige aanpak. De gitaren zijn vaak akoestisch en soms elektrisch versterkt. Zangeres Gosia heeft een ijle en zweverige stem die het geheel dromerig en naiëf laat klinken. Soms in het Pools gezongen, maar meestal in het Engels. Lentilki opent het album en huppelt als een konijn door het hoge gras tijdens de lente. Tawice drijft op een fijn gitaargeluidje. Mating Season is net als Hounds een prettig nummer dat goed in elkaar zit en een goed refrein bevat. Op Dobranoc beweegt Gosia zich soms wat in te hoge regionen waardoor haar stem warmte verliest. Lotta en Hounds waren terecht keuzes als singles. Lotta wordt traag opgebouwd en het Pools bekt hier veel beter dan op Dobranoc. Een zonnig gitaartje brengt opnieuw kleur in het nummer. Rimemba neigt naar Arsenal.

Rycerzyki is een naam die moeilijk te onthouden is, desalniettemin levert de band een aangenaam kleurrijk popalbum af dat laat zien dat er in Polen meer is dan alleen maar werkloosheid en een grauwe leefomgeving.

Wim GUILLEMYN
21/01/2016


Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
09
JOHN HASSALL(THE LIBERTINES,THE APRIL RAINERS)
'I’m trying to write for everybody!'
21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem