tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

21/01/2016 : RYCERZYKI - Rycerzyki

RYCERZYKI

Rycerzyki

MusicCD
DreampopIndie

[80/100]   

Stajnia Sobieski
21/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

A colorful cover and booklet make me think that this has to be sunny music. Yes, this Polish band creates dream pop and indie pop-rock. I do not know much about them, because my knowledge of the Polish language is not so overwhelming. Anyway, these seven young musicians are from Krakow.

The instrumentation consists of drums, bass, guitars, keyboards and voice. The keys are the colourful, light-hearted touch. The guitars are often acoustic, sometimes electric. Singer Gosia has a thin and ethereal voice that sounds dreamy and a tad naive. Sometimes it’s sung in Polish, but mostly in English. Lentilki opens the album and it hops like a rabbit through the tall grass during spring. Tawice floats on a fine guitar sound. Mating Season is just like Hounds a fab song with an enjoyable chorus that is well constructed. On Dobranoc Gosia’s warm voice gets a bit lost, but then again you have great tunes like Lotta and Hounds which are perfect choices for a singls. Rimemba tends to sound like the Belgian super band Arsenal.

Rycerzyki is a name that is hard to remember, nevertheless, the band made a colorful pop album that shows that there is more than just unemployment and a grey environment in Poland.

Wim GUILLEMYN
21/01/2016


NL

Een kleurrijke cover en een kleurijk boekje lachen mij toe. Tja, dit moet wel zonnige muziek zijn, denk ik dan. En inderdaad, dit Poolse gezelschap maakt dreampop en indie pop/rock. Veel weet ik niet over deze band, mijn kennis van de Poolse taal is dan ook niet zo denderend. Maar goed, de band bestaat uit een zevental jonge muzikanten uit Krakow.

Het instrumentarium bestaat uit drums, bas, gitaren, toetsen en stem. De toetsen zorgen voor de kleurrijke, lichtvoetige aanpak. De gitaren zijn vaak akoestisch en soms elektrisch versterkt. Zangeres Gosia heeft een ijle en zweverige stem die het geheel dromerig en naiëf laat klinken. Soms in het Pools gezongen, maar meestal in het Engels. Lentilki opent het album en huppelt als een konijn door het hoge gras tijdens de lente. Tawice drijft op een fijn gitaargeluidje. Mating Season is net als Hounds een prettig nummer dat goed in elkaar zit en een goed refrein bevat. Op Dobranoc beweegt Gosia zich soms wat in te hoge regionen waardoor haar stem warmte verliest. Lotta en Hounds waren terecht keuzes als singles. Lotta wordt traag opgebouwd en het Pools bekt hier veel beter dan op Dobranoc. Een zonnig gitaartje brengt opnieuw kleur in het nummer. Rimemba neigt naar Arsenal.

Rycerzyki is een naam die moeilijk te onthouden is, desalniettemin levert de band een aangenaam kleurrijk popalbum af dat laat zien dat er in Polen meer is dan alleen maar werkloosheid en een grauwe leefomgeving.

Wim GUILLEMYN
21/01/2016


Music reviews

05
04
KALTE NACHT
The Last Breath
02
04
LOVATARAXX
Tilda Vaast
14
03
THEN COMES SILENCE
Trickery
13
03
DARK MINIMAL PROJECT
Remixes
27
02
WHISPERING SONS
The Great Calm
22
02
YOUR ENEMY
Broken Toys

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
39 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
15
04
On this day, 23 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
37 years ago MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
11
04
LIVERNOIS Addresses The Human Reaction To Trauma With ':ablation:'
11
04
Celtic Circle Productions founder Alfred Kaenders past away...

Concert reviews

15
04
FAD GADGET
***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***
16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
04
ATTRITION
An Interview With The Legendary, ATTRITION
09
04
DE DELVERS
With the lyrics, I try to name things that I see happening around me and to pay attention to what we sometimes prefer to turn our heads away from.
03
04
FRONTAL BOUNDARY
An Interview With Harsh Electro Band, Frontal Boundary
20
03
BESTIAL MOUTHS
An Interview With Bestial Mouths
19
03
TVASHTAR
We never insisted on being an all-female band.

PHOTOS

16
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Kulttempel Oberhausen
16
04
NICHTS
Christuskirche Bochum
15
04
FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REPORT***
Elektrofest 15/04/2001, Mean Fiddler, London
14
04
OTTO VON SCHIRACH
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
FRACTIONAL
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
O VEUX
Wasted Night #5 Borgloon

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
04
CHMCL STR8JCKT
Dressed to Kill
16
04
30,000 MONKIES
Coproliet
15
04
WIM MERTENS
Struggle For Pleasure
14
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Push
13
04
MILA MAR
Das steinerne Kind
12
04
ATTRITION
Silent Night
11
04
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
The Mysterious Vanishing of Electra