tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

21/01/2016 : RYCERZYKI - Rycerzyki

RYCERZYKI

Rycerzyki

MusicCD
DreampopIndie

[80/100]   

Stajnia Sobieski
21/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

A colorful cover and booklet make me think that this has to be sunny music. Yes, this Polish band creates dream pop and indie pop-rock. I do not know much about them, because my knowledge of the Polish language is not so overwhelming. Anyway, these seven young musicians are from Krakow.

The instrumentation consists of drums, bass, guitars, keyboards and voice. The keys are the colourful, light-hearted touch. The guitars are often acoustic, sometimes electric. Singer Gosia has a thin and ethereal voice that sounds dreamy and a tad naive. Sometimes it’s sung in Polish, but mostly in English. Lentilki opens the album and it hops like a rabbit through the tall grass during spring. Tawice floats on a fine guitar sound. Mating Season is just like Hounds a fab song with an enjoyable chorus that is well constructed. On Dobranoc Gosia’s warm voice gets a bit lost, but then again you have great tunes like Lotta and Hounds which are perfect choices for a singls. Rimemba tends to sound like the Belgian super band Arsenal.

Rycerzyki is a name that is hard to remember, nevertheless, the band made a colorful pop album that shows that there is more than just unemployment and a grey environment in Poland.

Wim GUILLEMYN
21/01/2016


NL

Een kleurrijke cover en een kleurijk boekje lachen mij toe. Tja, dit moet wel zonnige muziek zijn, denk ik dan. En inderdaad, dit Poolse gezelschap maakt dreampop en indie pop/rock. Veel weet ik niet over deze band, mijn kennis van de Poolse taal is dan ook niet zo denderend. Maar goed, de band bestaat uit een zevental jonge muzikanten uit Krakow.

Het instrumentarium bestaat uit drums, bas, gitaren, toetsen en stem. De toetsen zorgen voor de kleurrijke, lichtvoetige aanpak. De gitaren zijn vaak akoestisch en soms elektrisch versterkt. Zangeres Gosia heeft een ijle en zweverige stem die het geheel dromerig en naiëf laat klinken. Soms in het Pools gezongen, maar meestal in het Engels. Lentilki opent het album en huppelt als een konijn door het hoge gras tijdens de lente. Tawice drijft op een fijn gitaargeluidje. Mating Season is net als Hounds een prettig nummer dat goed in elkaar zit en een goed refrein bevat. Op Dobranoc beweegt Gosia zich soms wat in te hoge regionen waardoor haar stem warmte verliest. Lotta en Hounds waren terecht keuzes als singles. Lotta wordt traag opgebouwd en het Pools bekt hier veel beter dan op Dobranoc. Een zonnig gitaartje brengt opnieuw kleur in het nummer. Rimemba neigt naar Arsenal.

Rycerzyki is een naam die moeilijk te onthouden is, desalniettemin levert de band een aangenaam kleurrijk popalbum af dat laat zien dat er in Polen meer is dan alleen maar werkloosheid en een grauwe leefomgeving.

Wim GUILLEMYN
21/01/2016


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide
18
06
JO QUAIL
Tu Florentine (Live 2013)