tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

21/01/2016 : RYCERZYKI - Rycerzyki

RYCERZYKI

Rycerzyki

MusicCD
DreampopIndie

[80/100]   

Stajnia Sobieski
21/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

A colorful cover and booklet make me think that this has to be sunny music. Yes, this Polish band creates dream pop and indie pop-rock. I do not know much about them, because my knowledge of the Polish language is not so overwhelming. Anyway, these seven young musicians are from Krakow.

The instrumentation consists of drums, bass, guitars, keyboards and voice. The keys are the colourful, light-hearted touch. The guitars are often acoustic, sometimes electric. Singer Gosia has a thin and ethereal voice that sounds dreamy and a tad naive. Sometimes it’s sung in Polish, but mostly in English. Lentilki opens the album and it hops like a rabbit through the tall grass during spring. Tawice floats on a fine guitar sound. Mating Season is just like Hounds a fab song with an enjoyable chorus that is well constructed. On Dobranoc Gosia’s warm voice gets a bit lost, but then again you have great tunes like Lotta and Hounds which are perfect choices for a singls. Rimemba tends to sound like the Belgian super band Arsenal.

Rycerzyki is a name that is hard to remember, nevertheless, the band made a colorful pop album that shows that there is more than just unemployment and a grey environment in Poland.

Wim GUILLEMYN
21/01/2016


NL

Een kleurrijke cover en een kleurijk boekje lachen mij toe. Tja, dit moet wel zonnige muziek zijn, denk ik dan. En inderdaad, dit Poolse gezelschap maakt dreampop en indie pop/rock. Veel weet ik niet over deze band, mijn kennis van de Poolse taal is dan ook niet zo denderend. Maar goed, de band bestaat uit een zevental jonge muzikanten uit Krakow.

Het instrumentarium bestaat uit drums, bas, gitaren, toetsen en stem. De toetsen zorgen voor de kleurrijke, lichtvoetige aanpak. De gitaren zijn vaak akoestisch en soms elektrisch versterkt. Zangeres Gosia heeft een ijle en zweverige stem die het geheel dromerig en naiëf laat klinken. Soms in het Pools gezongen, maar meestal in het Engels. Lentilki opent het album en huppelt als een konijn door het hoge gras tijdens de lente. Tawice drijft op een fijn gitaargeluidje. Mating Season is net als Hounds een prettig nummer dat goed in elkaar zit en een goed refrein bevat. Op Dobranoc beweegt Gosia zich soms wat in te hoge regionen waardoor haar stem warmte verliest. Lotta en Hounds waren terecht keuzes als singles. Lotta wordt traag opgebouwd en het Pools bekt hier veel beter dan op Dobranoc. Een zonnig gitaartje brengt opnieuw kleur in het nummer. Rimemba neigt naar Arsenal.

Rycerzyki is een naam die moeilijk te onthouden is, desalniettemin levert de band een aangenaam kleurrijk popalbum af dat laat zien dat er in Polen meer is dan alleen maar werkloosheid en een grauwe leefomgeving.

Wim GUILLEMYN
21/01/2016


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!
01
03
SEX GANG CHILDREN PREMIERE NEW SINGLE - DEATH MASK MUSSOLINI
28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp