tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

20/01/2016 : RAINMODE - On

RAINMODE

On

MusicDigital
Synthpop

[69/100]   

Rainmode Recordings
20/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

It remains funny that many synth pop bands search names that have a certain link with Depeche Mode. Rainmode is another example, and to make the cliché complete: again it’s an electro pop duo from Sweden.

While it seems as if the whole world has forgotten how to make a decent pop song, the Swedes seem to have no trouble with it.

The history of Rainmode goes back to 2012 when DJ and producer Martin "Alec Sonite" Alexandersson was looking for someone who could sing. Eventually, he ended up with his childhood friend Henrik Skanfors. During the early years the two only was interested in pure dance, but the Swedes were apparently also interested in synth pop.

In 2013 the first digital single (Buckle Up) was released and that was clicked more than 40,000 times on SoundCloud. It encouraged both men to make a complete (digital) album.

On features thirteen tracks and it is obvious that the duo wanted to make a record in the 80's style: up-tempo songs and ballads in between. A lot of synth pop lovers will consider most of the songs too commercial and too bittersweet (Coldplay is always lurking around the corner).

It is clear that Rainmode focuses on the charts and less on the club scene. So, if that’s your idea about synth pop, then you will certainly appreciate this album!

Didier BECU
20/01/2016


NL

Het blijft grappig dat heel wat synthpopbands naar groepsnamen zoeken die op de één of andere manier een link hebben met het grote spiegelbeeld Depeche Mode. Rainmode is opnieuw zo’n voorbeeld en jawel, om het cliché te vervolledigen: het is (alweer) een electropopduo uit Zweden.

Terwijl het lijkt alsof de hele wereld is vergeten hoe je een degelijk popnummer in elkaar knutselt, lijken de Zweden daar helemaal geen moeite mee te hebben.

De geschiedenis van Rainmode gaat terug tot 2012 toen producer en dj Martin "Alec Sonite" Alexandersson op zoek was naar iemand die kon zingen. Uiteindelijk kwam hij bij zijn jeugdvriend Henrik Skanfors terecht. Tijdens de eerste jaren hielden de twee zich bezig met pure dance, maar stilletjes aan groeide de interesse voor synthpop.

In 2013 verscheen een eerste digitale single (Buckle Up) die op Soundcloud meer dan 40.000 keer aangeklikt werd. Voor de twee Zweden was het een aanmoediging om een volledig (digitaal) album uit te brengen.

Op On staan dertien nummers en het is overduidelijk dat het duo een plaat wil maken zoals men dat in de jaren 80 deed: uptempo nummers en geregeld wat ballades tussendoor. Leuk, maar heel wat synthpopliefhebbers zullen sommige nummers net iets te zeemzoet (Coldplay loert altijd wel om de hoek) en te commercieel vinden.

Het is duidelijk dat de pijlen van Rainmode gericht zijn op de hitparade en minder op de clubscène. Wie daar vrede mee kan nemen en verkikkerd is op traditionele synthpop zal deze band beslist kunnen appreciëren.

Didier BECU
20/01/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVERNANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire