tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

18/01/2016 : THE GURU GURU - Diksmuide, 4AD (15/01/16)

THE GURU GURU

Diksmuide, 4AD (15/01/16)

Concert
Noisepsychotic rockRock 18/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Wild Classical Ensemble is a band of people with disabilities. Because I am professionally involved, I was very curious to see these musicians on stage. There was even a camera crew of the Belgian TV that filmed a news item for an alternative rock music show.

Immediately it was clear that these guys wanted to play something different. Pure noise rock! And that’s a good thing! Each musician had his task. There was a prominent bass, while the singing was performed by three people. The star of that evening was definitely the guitarist who formed the backbone of the band with the drummer. At the end of the show, the audience gave The Wild Classical Ensemble the applause it deserved!

Then The Guru Guru came on stage, the Belgian band that released the excellent single Hole in the Ground and the split EP with Brutus at the end of last year.

The concert was build up in a perfect way. It started with Swimming Pool and Captain B. Then Syq Kum and Backdoor were played and these songs were the first highlight. Earlier, singer Tom Adriaenssens seemed to be a calm guy, but once on stage he simply was neurotic, without overacting. His stage behaviour fits perfectly with the music that is dominated by clever guitar work and a solid rhythm section. Gems that need to be mentioned: Click, Hole and a new song (I suspect the title is Defacts). Julia was played as the encore, the Brutus-track that was covered on the EP. After seeing these two excellent gigs, I can only include that my expectations became reality!

You still can see The Guru Guru in Belgium on these dates:
March 13 (Brussels, AB)
March 19 (Kortrijk, The Trap)
April 8 (Brugge, JH Comma)

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/01/2016


NL

The Wild Classic Ensemble is een band die bestaat uit mensen met een beperking. Omdat ik daar beroepshalve ook bij betrokken ben, was ik uiterst nieuwsgierig hoe deze muzikanten hun muziek op het podium zouden brengen. Er was zelfs een Canvas-cameraploeg naar de 4AD afgezakt om een reportage te maken voor het puike rockprogramma Pop-O-Rama waarin vrij onbekende alternatieve bands de kans krijgen om zich te profileren.

Het viel meteen bij het begin op dat dit geen voor de hand liggende muziek zou worden. Mooi zo, kwestie van de vooroordelen wat te doorbreken. Elke muzikant had zijn taak en je merkte na verloop van tijd dat ieder van hun zijn plaats had. De bas werd geanimeerd door een mondige kerel, terwijl de zang werd afgewisseld door drie personen. De gitarist was muzikaal de sterkste en vormde samen met een begeleider (de drums) de ruggengraat van de band. Het was pure, ontwapende noiserock. Het publiek gaf ze dan ook een welgemeend applaus.

Daarna was het de beurt aan The Guru Guru, die eind vorig jaar de uitstekende single Hole In the Ground en de split-ep met Brutus uitbrachten..

Het concert was goed opgebouwd. Het begon met Swimming Pool en Captain B. Daarna zorgden Syq Kum en Backdoor voor de eerste hoogtepunten je voelde dat de band echt onder stoom kwam. Zanger Tom Adriaenssens leek voor het optreden rustig, maar op het podium werd hij neurotisch, zonder dat je hem op overacting kon betrappen. Zijn podiumgedrag drukt op overtuigende wijze de muziek uit die uit knap gitaarwerk en een stevige ritmesectie bestaat. Niet vergeten te vermelden: Click, Hole en een nieuwe song (ik vermoed dat de titel Defacts is). Julia werd het bisnummer, de bewerking van het Brutus-nummer dat op de ep staat en prima bij hun past. Na het zien van deze fijne optredens waren mijn verwachtingen volledig ingelost.

Je kan The Guru Guru nog zien op:
13 maart (Brussel, AB)
19 maart (Kortrijk, Den Trap)
8 april (Brugge, JH De Comma)

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/01/2016


18/01/2016 : THE GURU GURU - Diksmuide, 4AD (15/01/16) 18/01/2016 : THE GURU GURU - Diksmuide, 4AD (15/01/16)

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap