tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

18/01/2016 : THE GURU GURU - Diksmuide, 4AD (15/01/16)

THE GURU GURU

Diksmuide, 4AD (15/01/16)

Concert
Noisepsychotic rockRock 18/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Wild Classical Ensemble is a band of people with disabilities. Because I am professionally involved, I was very curious to see these musicians on stage. There was even a camera crew of the Belgian TV that filmed a news item for an alternative rock music show.

Immediately it was clear that these guys wanted to play something different. Pure noise rock! And that’s a good thing! Each musician had his task. There was a prominent bass, while the singing was performed by three people. The star of that evening was definitely the guitarist who formed the backbone of the band with the drummer. At the end of the show, the audience gave The Wild Classical Ensemble the applause it deserved!

Then The Guru Guru came on stage, the Belgian band that released the excellent single Hole in the Ground and the split EP with Brutus at the end of last year.

The concert was build up in a perfect way. It started with Swimming Pool and Captain B. Then Syq Kum and Backdoor were played and these songs were the first highlight. Earlier, singer Tom Adriaenssens seemed to be a calm guy, but once on stage he simply was neurotic, without overacting. His stage behaviour fits perfectly with the music that is dominated by clever guitar work and a solid rhythm section. Gems that need to be mentioned: Click, Hole and a new song (I suspect the title is Defacts). Julia was played as the encore, the Brutus-track that was covered on the EP. After seeing these two excellent gigs, I can only include that my expectations became reality!

You still can see The Guru Guru in Belgium on these dates:
March 13 (Brussels, AB)
March 19 (Kortrijk, The Trap)
April 8 (Brugge, JH Comma)

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/01/2016


NL

The Wild Classic Ensemble is een band die bestaat uit mensen met een beperking. Omdat ik daar beroepshalve ook bij betrokken ben, was ik uiterst nieuwsgierig hoe deze muzikanten hun muziek op het podium zouden brengen. Er was zelfs een Canvas-cameraploeg naar de 4AD afgezakt om een reportage te maken voor het puike rockprogramma Pop-O-Rama waarin vrij onbekende alternatieve bands de kans krijgen om zich te profileren.

Het viel meteen bij het begin op dat dit geen voor de hand liggende muziek zou worden. Mooi zo, kwestie van de vooroordelen wat te doorbreken. Elke muzikant had zijn taak en je merkte na verloop van tijd dat ieder van hun zijn plaats had. De bas werd geanimeerd door een mondige kerel, terwijl de zang werd afgewisseld door drie personen. De gitarist was muzikaal de sterkste en vormde samen met een begeleider (de drums) de ruggengraat van de band. Het was pure, ontwapende noiserock. Het publiek gaf ze dan ook een welgemeend applaus.

Daarna was het de beurt aan The Guru Guru, die eind vorig jaar de uitstekende single Hole In the Ground en de split-ep met Brutus uitbrachten..

Het concert was goed opgebouwd. Het begon met Swimming Pool en Captain B. Daarna zorgden Syq Kum en Backdoor voor de eerste hoogtepunten je voelde dat de band echt onder stoom kwam. Zanger Tom Adriaenssens leek voor het optreden rustig, maar op het podium werd hij neurotisch, zonder dat je hem op overacting kon betrappen. Zijn podiumgedrag drukt op overtuigende wijze de muziek uit die uit knap gitaarwerk en een stevige ritmesectie bestaat. Niet vergeten te vermelden: Click, Hole en een nieuwe song (ik vermoed dat de titel Defacts is). Julia werd het bisnummer, de bewerking van het Brutus-nummer dat op de ep staat en prima bij hun past. Na het zien van deze fijne optredens waren mijn verwachtingen volledig ingelost.

Je kan The Guru Guru nog zien op:
13 maart (Brussel, AB)
19 maart (Kortrijk, Den Trap)
8 april (Brugge, JH De Comma)

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/01/2016


18/01/2016 : THE GURU GURU - Diksmuide, 4AD (15/01/16) 18/01/2016 : THE GURU GURU - Diksmuide, 4AD (15/01/16)

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque