tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

18/01/2016 : THE GURU GURU - Diksmuide, 4AD (15/01/16)

THE GURU GURU

Diksmuide, 4AD (15/01/16)

Concert
Noisepsychotic rockRock 18/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Wild Classical Ensemble is a band of people with disabilities. Because I am professionally involved, I was very curious to see these musicians on stage. There was even a camera crew of the Belgian TV that filmed a news item for an alternative rock music show.

Immediately it was clear that these guys wanted to play something different. Pure noise rock! And that’s a good thing! Each musician had his task. There was a prominent bass, while the singing was performed by three people. The star of that evening was definitely the guitarist who formed the backbone of the band with the drummer. At the end of the show, the audience gave The Wild Classical Ensemble the applause it deserved!

Then The Guru Guru came on stage, the Belgian band that released the excellent single Hole in the Ground and the split EP with Brutus at the end of last year.

The concert was build up in a perfect way. It started with Swimming Pool and Captain B. Then Syq Kum and Backdoor were played and these songs were the first highlight. Earlier, singer Tom Adriaenssens seemed to be a calm guy, but once on stage he simply was neurotic, without overacting. His stage behaviour fits perfectly with the music that is dominated by clever guitar work and a solid rhythm section. Gems that need to be mentioned: Click, Hole and a new song (I suspect the title is Defacts). Julia was played as the encore, the Brutus-track that was covered on the EP. After seeing these two excellent gigs, I can only include that my expectations became reality!

You still can see The Guru Guru in Belgium on these dates:
March 13 (Brussels, AB)
March 19 (Kortrijk, The Trap)
April 8 (Brugge, JH Comma)

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/01/2016


NL

The Wild Classic Ensemble is een band die bestaat uit mensen met een beperking. Omdat ik daar beroepshalve ook bij betrokken ben, was ik uiterst nieuwsgierig hoe deze muzikanten hun muziek op het podium zouden brengen. Er was zelfs een Canvas-cameraploeg naar de 4AD afgezakt om een reportage te maken voor het puike rockprogramma Pop-O-Rama waarin vrij onbekende alternatieve bands de kans krijgen om zich te profileren.

Het viel meteen bij het begin op dat dit geen voor de hand liggende muziek zou worden. Mooi zo, kwestie van de vooroordelen wat te doorbreken. Elke muzikant had zijn taak en je merkte na verloop van tijd dat ieder van hun zijn plaats had. De bas werd geanimeerd door een mondige kerel, terwijl de zang werd afgewisseld door drie personen. De gitarist was muzikaal de sterkste en vormde samen met een begeleider (de drums) de ruggengraat van de band. Het was pure, ontwapende noiserock. Het publiek gaf ze dan ook een welgemeend applaus.

Daarna was het de beurt aan The Guru Guru, die eind vorig jaar de uitstekende single Hole In the Ground en de split-ep met Brutus uitbrachten..

Het concert was goed opgebouwd. Het begon met Swimming Pool en Captain B. Daarna zorgden Syq Kum en Backdoor voor de eerste hoogtepunten je voelde dat de band echt onder stoom kwam. Zanger Tom Adriaenssens leek voor het optreden rustig, maar op het podium werd hij neurotisch, zonder dat je hem op overacting kon betrappen. Zijn podiumgedrag drukt op overtuigende wijze de muziek uit die uit knap gitaarwerk en een stevige ritmesectie bestaat. Niet vergeten te vermelden: Click, Hole en een nieuwe song (ik vermoed dat de titel Defacts is). Julia werd het bisnummer, de bewerking van het Brutus-nummer dat op de ep staat en prima bij hun past. Na het zien van deze fijne optredens waren mijn verwachtingen volledig ingelost.

Je kan The Guru Guru nog zien op:
13 maart (Brussel, AB)
19 maart (Kortrijk, Den Trap)
8 april (Brugge, JH De Comma)

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/01/2016


18/01/2016 : THE GURU GURU - Diksmuide, 4AD (15/01/16) 18/01/2016 : THE GURU GURU - Diksmuide, 4AD (15/01/16)

Music reviews

12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart
14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains
09
11
3TEETH
Sell Your Face