tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

18/01/2016 : THE GURU GURU - Diksmuide, 4AD (15/01/16)

THE GURU GURU

Diksmuide, 4AD (15/01/16)

Concert
Noisepsychotic rockRock 18/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Wild Classical Ensemble is a band of people with disabilities. Because I am professionally involved, I was very curious to see these musicians on stage. There was even a camera crew of the Belgian TV that filmed a news item for an alternative rock music show.

Immediately it was clear that these guys wanted to play something different. Pure noise rock! And that’s a good thing! Each musician had his task. There was a prominent bass, while the singing was performed by three people. The star of that evening was definitely the guitarist who formed the backbone of the band with the drummer. At the end of the show, the audience gave The Wild Classical Ensemble the applause it deserved!

Then The Guru Guru came on stage, the Belgian band that released the excellent single Hole in the Ground and the split EP with Brutus at the end of last year.

The concert was build up in a perfect way. It started with Swimming Pool and Captain B. Then Syq Kum and Backdoor were played and these songs were the first highlight. Earlier, singer Tom Adriaenssens seemed to be a calm guy, but once on stage he simply was neurotic, without overacting. His stage behaviour fits perfectly with the music that is dominated by clever guitar work and a solid rhythm section. Gems that need to be mentioned: Click, Hole and a new song (I suspect the title is Defacts). Julia was played as the encore, the Brutus-track that was covered on the EP. After seeing these two excellent gigs, I can only include that my expectations became reality!

You still can see The Guru Guru in Belgium on these dates:
March 13 (Brussels, AB)
March 19 (Kortrijk, The Trap)
April 8 (Brugge, JH Comma)

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/01/2016


NL

The Wild Classic Ensemble is een band die bestaat uit mensen met een beperking. Omdat ik daar beroepshalve ook bij betrokken ben, was ik uiterst nieuwsgierig hoe deze muzikanten hun muziek op het podium zouden brengen. Er was zelfs een Canvas-cameraploeg naar de 4AD afgezakt om een reportage te maken voor het puike rockprogramma Pop-O-Rama waarin vrij onbekende alternatieve bands de kans krijgen om zich te profileren.

Het viel meteen bij het begin op dat dit geen voor de hand liggende muziek zou worden. Mooi zo, kwestie van de vooroordelen wat te doorbreken. Elke muzikant had zijn taak en je merkte na verloop van tijd dat ieder van hun zijn plaats had. De bas werd geanimeerd door een mondige kerel, terwijl de zang werd afgewisseld door drie personen. De gitarist was muzikaal de sterkste en vormde samen met een begeleider (de drums) de ruggengraat van de band. Het was pure, ontwapende noiserock. Het publiek gaf ze dan ook een welgemeend applaus.

Daarna was het de beurt aan The Guru Guru, die eind vorig jaar de uitstekende single Hole In the Ground en de split-ep met Brutus uitbrachten..

Het concert was goed opgebouwd. Het begon met Swimming Pool en Captain B. Daarna zorgden Syq Kum en Backdoor voor de eerste hoogtepunten je voelde dat de band echt onder stoom kwam. Zanger Tom Adriaenssens leek voor het optreden rustig, maar op het podium werd hij neurotisch, zonder dat je hem op overacting kon betrappen. Zijn podiumgedrag drukt op overtuigende wijze de muziek uit die uit knap gitaarwerk en een stevige ritmesectie bestaat. Niet vergeten te vermelden: Click, Hole en een nieuwe song (ik vermoed dat de titel Defacts is). Julia werd het bisnummer, de bewerking van het Brutus-nummer dat op de ep staat en prima bij hun past. Na het zien van deze fijne optredens waren mijn verwachtingen volledig ingelost.

Je kan The Guru Guru nog zien op:
13 maart (Brussel, AB)
19 maart (Kortrijk, Den Trap)
8 april (Brugge, JH De Comma)

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/01/2016


18/01/2016 : THE GURU GURU - Diksmuide, 4AD (15/01/16) 18/01/2016 : THE GURU GURU - Diksmuide, 4AD (15/01/16)

Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
02
DAVID BOWIE
No Plan
22
02
EIGTH WONDER
I'm Not Scared
21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death
17
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination