tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/01/2016 : THE PASSIONS - Michael & Miranda

THE PASSIONS

Michael & Miranda

MusicCD
Post Punk
Cherry Red Records
15/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Of course you remember The Passions of their smash hit I'm In Love With A German Film Star, and in fact it is the sole song most people know by this band. Therefore they’re often described as one hit wonder. Wrong. Before the “hit record” Thirty Thousand Feet Over China, they already had a career on Fiction Records (the label of The Cure). Although Michael & Miranda is a gem, it is better not to focus on that one superb big synth pop hit, because the 12 songs on this debut are raw post-punk songs that have more in common with acts like Lene Lovich and Martha & The Muffins.

The London band was founded in 1978 and all four members have some experience in the punk scene. Their first single Needles And Pills was self-released (a bonus on this reissue), and didn’t move the earth. However, the band got the attention of Fiction Records. The label offered them a record deal and the first album (Michael & Miranda) was produced by label boss Chris Parry, who previously did some work for The Associates, The Jam and of course The Cure.

You won’t find real hits on this album (simply because there were not any), but the rhythmic post-punk also could have been released on Stiff Records and is strongly dominated by the voice of singer Barbara Gogan. The album needs several spins, and that's probably the reason why back then Michael & Miranda was unnoticed. Even though it's 35 years later, you can rediscover this fine debut through this reissue on Cherry Red.

Didier BECU
15/01/2016


NL

The Passions herinner je je natuurlijk van hun superhit I’m In Love With A German Filmstar, en eerlijkheidshalve is dat ook het enige nummer dat de meeste mensen kennen waardoor ze vaak ten onrechte het etiket van een onehitwonder opgeplakt krijgen. Dat is zeker niet het geval, want voor de “hitplaat” Thirty Thousand Feet Over China hadden ze ook al een carrière op Fiction Records (het label van The Cure). Ofschoon Michael & Miranda een pareltje is, staar je je beter niet blind op die ene superhit, want de 12 nummers van dit debuut zijn rauwe postpunknummers die eerder lijken op Lene Lovich en Martha & The Muffins.

De Londense band is in 1978 opgericht en alle vier leden hadden ervaring in de punkscène. Hun eerste single Needles And Pills, die in eigen beheer werd uitgebracht (en die je als bonus op deze heruitgave terugvindt) deed het niet bijzonder goed, toch hield de groep er de aandacht van Fiction Records aan over. Het label bood de groep prompt een platendeal aan. De lp werd geproduceerd door de labelbaas Chris Parry die eerder werk leverde voor The Associates, The Jam en natuurlijk ook The Cure.

Echte hits vind je niet op dit album (gewoon omdat er geen waren), maar hun ritmische postpunk kon eigenlijk best op Stiff Records belanden en wordt sterk gedomineerd door de stem van zangeres Barbara Gogan. De plaat heeft meerdere luisterbeurten nodig en dat is waarschijnlijk ook de reden waarom destijds Michael & Miranda niet echt aansloeg. Ook al is het 35 jaar na datum, kun je dit fijne debuut via deze heruitgave op Cherry Red alsnog herontdekken. 

Didier BECU
15/01/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design