tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/01/2016 : THE PASSIONS - Michael & Miranda

THE PASSIONS

Michael & Miranda

MusicCD
Post Punk
Cherry Red Records
15/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Of course you remember The Passions of their smash hit I'm In Love With A German Film Star, and in fact it is the sole song most people know by this band. Therefore they’re often described as one hit wonder. Wrong. Before the “hit record” Thirty Thousand Feet Over China, they already had a career on Fiction Records (the label of The Cure). Although Michael & Miranda is a gem, it is better not to focus on that one superb big synth pop hit, because the 12 songs on this debut are raw post-punk songs that have more in common with acts like Lene Lovich and Martha & The Muffins.

The London band was founded in 1978 and all four members have some experience in the punk scene. Their first single Needles And Pills was self-released (a bonus on this reissue), and didn’t move the earth. However, the band got the attention of Fiction Records. The label offered them a record deal and the first album (Michael & Miranda) was produced by label boss Chris Parry, who previously did some work for The Associates, The Jam and of course The Cure.

You won’t find real hits on this album (simply because there were not any), but the rhythmic post-punk also could have been released on Stiff Records and is strongly dominated by the voice of singer Barbara Gogan. The album needs several spins, and that's probably the reason why back then Michael & Miranda was unnoticed. Even though it's 35 years later, you can rediscover this fine debut through this reissue on Cherry Red.

Didier BECU
15/01/2016


NL

The Passions herinner je je natuurlijk van hun superhit I’m In Love With A German Filmstar, en eerlijkheidshalve is dat ook het enige nummer dat de meeste mensen kennen waardoor ze vaak ten onrechte het etiket van een onehitwonder opgeplakt krijgen. Dat is zeker niet het geval, want voor de “hitplaat” Thirty Thousand Feet Over China hadden ze ook al een carrière op Fiction Records (het label van The Cure). Ofschoon Michael & Miranda een pareltje is, staar je je beter niet blind op die ene superhit, want de 12 nummers van dit debuut zijn rauwe postpunknummers die eerder lijken op Lene Lovich en Martha & The Muffins.

De Londense band is in 1978 opgericht en alle vier leden hadden ervaring in de punkscène. Hun eerste single Needles And Pills, die in eigen beheer werd uitgebracht (en die je als bonus op deze heruitgave terugvindt) deed het niet bijzonder goed, toch hield de groep er de aandacht van Fiction Records aan over. Het label bood de groep prompt een platendeal aan. De lp werd geproduceerd door de labelbaas Chris Parry die eerder werk leverde voor The Associates, The Jam en natuurlijk ook The Cure.

Echte hits vind je niet op dit album (gewoon omdat er geen waren), maar hun ritmische postpunk kon eigenlijk best op Stiff Records belanden en wordt sterk gedomineerd door de stem van zangeres Barbara Gogan. De plaat heeft meerdere luisterbeurten nodig en dat is waarschijnlijk ook de reden waarom destijds Michael & Miranda niet echt aansloeg. Ook al is het 35 jaar na datum, kun je dit fijne debuut via deze heruitgave op Cherry Red alsnog herontdekken. 

Didier BECU
15/01/2016


Music reviews

22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola
20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron
19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed