tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/01/2016 : THE PASSIONS - Michael & Miranda

THE PASSIONS

Michael & Miranda

MusicCD
Post Punk
Cherry Red Records
15/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Of course you remember The Passions of their smash hit I'm In Love With A German Film Star, and in fact it is the sole song most people know by this band. Therefore they’re often described as one hit wonder. Wrong. Before the “hit record” Thirty Thousand Feet Over China, they already had a career on Fiction Records (the label of The Cure). Although Michael & Miranda is a gem, it is better not to focus on that one superb big synth pop hit, because the 12 songs on this debut are raw post-punk songs that have more in common with acts like Lene Lovich and Martha & The Muffins.

The London band was founded in 1978 and all four members have some experience in the punk scene. Their first single Needles And Pills was self-released (a bonus on this reissue), and didn’t move the earth. However, the band got the attention of Fiction Records. The label offered them a record deal and the first album (Michael & Miranda) was produced by label boss Chris Parry, who previously did some work for The Associates, The Jam and of course The Cure.

You won’t find real hits on this album (simply because there were not any), but the rhythmic post-punk also could have been released on Stiff Records and is strongly dominated by the voice of singer Barbara Gogan. The album needs several spins, and that's probably the reason why back then Michael & Miranda was unnoticed. Even though it's 35 years later, you can rediscover this fine debut through this reissue on Cherry Red.

Didier BECU
15/01/2016


NL

The Passions herinner je je natuurlijk van hun superhit I’m In Love With A German Filmstar, en eerlijkheidshalve is dat ook het enige nummer dat de meeste mensen kennen waardoor ze vaak ten onrechte het etiket van een onehitwonder opgeplakt krijgen. Dat is zeker niet het geval, want voor de “hitplaat” Thirty Thousand Feet Over China hadden ze ook al een carrière op Fiction Records (het label van The Cure). Ofschoon Michael & Miranda een pareltje is, staar je je beter niet blind op die ene superhit, want de 12 nummers van dit debuut zijn rauwe postpunknummers die eerder lijken op Lene Lovich en Martha & The Muffins.

De Londense band is in 1978 opgericht en alle vier leden hadden ervaring in de punkscène. Hun eerste single Needles And Pills, die in eigen beheer werd uitgebracht (en die je als bonus op deze heruitgave terugvindt) deed het niet bijzonder goed, toch hield de groep er de aandacht van Fiction Records aan over. Het label bood de groep prompt een platendeal aan. De lp werd geproduceerd door de labelbaas Chris Parry die eerder werk leverde voor The Associates, The Jam en natuurlijk ook The Cure.

Echte hits vind je niet op dit album (gewoon omdat er geen waren), maar hun ritmische postpunk kon eigenlijk best op Stiff Records belanden en wordt sterk gedomineerd door de stem van zangeres Barbara Gogan. De plaat heeft meerdere luisterbeurten nodig en dat is waarschijnlijk ook de reden waarom destijds Michael & Miranda niet echt aansloeg. Ook al is het 35 jaar na datum, kun je dit fijne debuut via deze heruitgave op Cherry Red alsnog herontdekken. 

Didier BECU
15/01/2016


Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
18
08
MARY OCHER
The Android Sea
17
08
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless
15
08
JO QUAIL
Gold (live)