tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/01/2016 : THE PASSIONS - Michael & Miranda

THE PASSIONS

Michael & Miranda

MusicCD
Post Punk
Cherry Red Records
15/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Of course you remember The Passions of their smash hit I'm In Love With A German Film Star, and in fact it is the sole song most people know by this band. Therefore they’re often described as one hit wonder. Wrong. Before the “hit record” Thirty Thousand Feet Over China, they already had a career on Fiction Records (the label of The Cure). Although Michael & Miranda is a gem, it is better not to focus on that one superb big synth pop hit, because the 12 songs on this debut are raw post-punk songs that have more in common with acts like Lene Lovich and Martha & The Muffins.

The London band was founded in 1978 and all four members have some experience in the punk scene. Their first single Needles And Pills was self-released (a bonus on this reissue), and didn’t move the earth. However, the band got the attention of Fiction Records. The label offered them a record deal and the first album (Michael & Miranda) was produced by label boss Chris Parry, who previously did some work for The Associates, The Jam and of course The Cure.

You won’t find real hits on this album (simply because there were not any), but the rhythmic post-punk also could have been released on Stiff Records and is strongly dominated by the voice of singer Barbara Gogan. The album needs several spins, and that's probably the reason why back then Michael & Miranda was unnoticed. Even though it's 35 years later, you can rediscover this fine debut through this reissue on Cherry Red.

Didier BECU
15/01/2016


NL

The Passions herinner je je natuurlijk van hun superhit I’m In Love With A German Filmstar, en eerlijkheidshalve is dat ook het enige nummer dat de meeste mensen kennen waardoor ze vaak ten onrechte het etiket van een onehitwonder opgeplakt krijgen. Dat is zeker niet het geval, want voor de “hitplaat” Thirty Thousand Feet Over China hadden ze ook al een carrière op Fiction Records (het label van The Cure). Ofschoon Michael & Miranda een pareltje is, staar je je beter niet blind op die ene superhit, want de 12 nummers van dit debuut zijn rauwe postpunknummers die eerder lijken op Lene Lovich en Martha & The Muffins.

De Londense band is in 1978 opgericht en alle vier leden hadden ervaring in de punkscène. Hun eerste single Needles And Pills, die in eigen beheer werd uitgebracht (en die je als bonus op deze heruitgave terugvindt) deed het niet bijzonder goed, toch hield de groep er de aandacht van Fiction Records aan over. Het label bood de groep prompt een platendeal aan. De lp werd geproduceerd door de labelbaas Chris Parry die eerder werk leverde voor The Associates, The Jam en natuurlijk ook The Cure.

Echte hits vind je niet op dit album (gewoon omdat er geen waren), maar hun ritmische postpunk kon eigenlijk best op Stiff Records belanden en wordt sterk gedomineerd door de stem van zangeres Barbara Gogan. De plaat heeft meerdere luisterbeurten nodig en dat is waarschijnlijk ook de reden waarom destijds Michael & Miranda niet echt aansloeg. Ook al is het 35 jaar na datum, kun je dit fijne debuut via deze heruitgave op Cherry Red alsnog herontdekken. 

Didier BECU
15/01/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque