tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/01/2016 : PARA NORMAL - The Cold Room

PARA NORMAL

The Cold Room

MusicCD
Dark ElectroEBMSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[72/100]   

Space Race Records
15/01/2016, Ruben SAEY

EN

Again Mexico sends its sons. Of course, there is Hocico, which is the big name in the electro scene, but now we are introduced to the Mexican electro trio Para Normal.

After Evidence Is Everything, these guys present their second album The Cold Room. Their purpose is quite clear: to conquer the alternative dance floor. Their mix of dark synthpop, EBM, a touch of industrial and some dark wave is not something that you can put in one category easily. Anyway, I hear influences of Depeche Mode, New Order, Covenant or A Split Second.

The album contains 11 pure electric tracks, and Para Normal is clever enough to avoid doing the same song over and over. At the contrary, each track has its own character, but at the end of the day they all fit together. Dark rhythms, sometimes dreamy synths and dark beats that are complemented by harmonious, dark vocals. Do not expect any aggression on this album, just some nice synth pop with the occasional nod to the harder work. That's not surprising when you know that the mixing and mastering was done by Claus Larsen of Leather Strip fame.

Perhaps the intro’s of the songs are a bit too long to make them real dance floor killers, but Ghost Radio, Lies, Reaching Hands and Blind World should find their way to the dance floor.

Ruben SAEY
15/01/2016


NL

Mexico zendt zijn zonen uit. Hocico draait al een tijdje mee in het elektrowereldje en is een veel gevraagde liveband. Nu maken we kennis met het Mexicaanse elektrotrio Para Normal.

Na Evidence Is Everything laten deze jongens hun tweede album The Cold Room op de wereld los. Ze hebben daarmee maar één bedoeling: de alternatieve dansvloer veroveren. Met hun mix van duistere synthpop, EBM, een vleugje industrial en darkwave laten ze zich niet meteen in één vakje stoppen. Ik hoor invloeden van Depeche Mode, New Order, Covenant of A Split Second.

Het album bevat 11 pure elektrotracks zonder dat ze in herhaling vallen. Elk nummer heeft zijn eigen karakter, maar past mooi binnen het geheel. Duistere ritmes, soms wat zweverige synths en dark beats die aangevuld zijn met een harmonieuze, doch donkere zang. Agressie moet je op dit album niet verwachten, wel aangename synthpop met hier en daar een knipoog naar het hardere werk. Dat is niet verwonderlijk als je weet dat de mixing en mastering in handen was van Claus Larsen (Leather Strip).

Om echte dancefloorkillers te worden lijken de intro’s me wat te lang, al moeten Ghost Radio, Lies, Reaching Hands en Blind World toch wel de weg naar de dansvloer kunnen vinden.

Ruben SAEY
15/01/2016


15/01/2016 : PARA NORMAL - The Cold Room 15/01/2016 : PARA NORMAL - The Cold Room

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!
01
03
SEX GANG CHILDREN PREMIERE NEW SINGLE - DEATH MASK MUSSOLINI
28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp
25
02
NEW ORDER
Regret