tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/01/2016 : PARA NORMAL - The Cold Room

PARA NORMAL

The Cold Room

MusicCD
Dark ElectroEBMSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[72/100]   

Space Race Records
15/01/2016, Ruben SAEY

EN

Again Mexico sends its sons. Of course, there is Hocico, which is the big name in the electro scene, but now we are introduced to the Mexican electro trio Para Normal.

After Evidence Is Everything, these guys present their second album The Cold Room. Their purpose is quite clear: to conquer the alternative dance floor. Their mix of dark synthpop, EBM, a touch of industrial and some dark wave is not something that you can put in one category easily. Anyway, I hear influences of Depeche Mode, New Order, Covenant or A Split Second.

The album contains 11 pure electric tracks, and Para Normal is clever enough to avoid doing the same song over and over. At the contrary, each track has its own character, but at the end of the day they all fit together. Dark rhythms, sometimes dreamy synths and dark beats that are complemented by harmonious, dark vocals. Do not expect any aggression on this album, just some nice synth pop with the occasional nod to the harder work. That's not surprising when you know that the mixing and mastering was done by Claus Larsen of Leather Strip fame.

Perhaps the intro’s of the songs are a bit too long to make them real dance floor killers, but Ghost Radio, Lies, Reaching Hands and Blind World should find their way to the dance floor.

Ruben SAEY
15/01/2016


NL

Mexico zendt zijn zonen uit. Hocico draait al een tijdje mee in het elektrowereldje en is een veel gevraagde liveband. Nu maken we kennis met het Mexicaanse elektrotrio Para Normal.

Na Evidence Is Everything laten deze jongens hun tweede album The Cold Room op de wereld los. Ze hebben daarmee maar één bedoeling: de alternatieve dansvloer veroveren. Met hun mix van duistere synthpop, EBM, een vleugje industrial en darkwave laten ze zich niet meteen in één vakje stoppen. Ik hoor invloeden van Depeche Mode, New Order, Covenant of A Split Second.

Het album bevat 11 pure elektrotracks zonder dat ze in herhaling vallen. Elk nummer heeft zijn eigen karakter, maar past mooi binnen het geheel. Duistere ritmes, soms wat zweverige synths en dark beats die aangevuld zijn met een harmonieuze, doch donkere zang. Agressie moet je op dit album niet verwachten, wel aangename synthpop met hier en daar een knipoog naar het hardere werk. Dat is niet verwonderlijk als je weet dat de mixing en mastering in handen was van Claus Larsen (Leather Strip).

Om echte dancefloorkillers te worden lijken de intro’s me wat te lang, al moeten Ghost Radio, Lies, Reaching Hands en Blind World toch wel de weg naar de dansvloer kunnen vinden.

Ruben SAEY
15/01/2016


15/01/2016 : PARA NORMAL - The Cold Room 15/01/2016 : PARA NORMAL - The Cold Room

Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
01
46 years with David Bowie from Station To Station.
22
01
On this day, 12 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
The Jesus and Mary Chain have signed to London-based independent label Fuzz Club Records.
21
01
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
'Giving Ground”…and Gaining It: The First Sisterhood Single, 36 ago, 20 January 1986
19
01
Electronic Band LUSCIOUS APPARATUS Addresses Domestic Violence With New Single, 'Infiltrate'

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
21
01
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
20
01
FAUNLET
Anatomy
19
01
PSY'AVIAH FT MARIEKE LIGHTBAND
The Great Disconnect
18
01
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
17
01
MATT HART
Decimate
16
01
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom