tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/01/2016 : PARA NORMAL - The Cold Room

PARA NORMAL

The Cold Room

MusicCD
Dark ElectroEBMSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[72/100]   

Space Race Records
15/01/2016, Ruben SAEY

EN

Again Mexico sends its sons. Of course, there is Hocico, which is the big name in the electro scene, but now we are introduced to the Mexican electro trio Para Normal.

After Evidence Is Everything, these guys present their second album The Cold Room. Their purpose is quite clear: to conquer the alternative dance floor. Their mix of dark synthpop, EBM, a touch of industrial and some dark wave is not something that you can put in one category easily. Anyway, I hear influences of Depeche Mode, New Order, Covenant or A Split Second.

The album contains 11 pure electric tracks, and Para Normal is clever enough to avoid doing the same song over and over. At the contrary, each track has its own character, but at the end of the day they all fit together. Dark rhythms, sometimes dreamy synths and dark beats that are complemented by harmonious, dark vocals. Do not expect any aggression on this album, just some nice synth pop with the occasional nod to the harder work. That's not surprising when you know that the mixing and mastering was done by Claus Larsen of Leather Strip fame.

Perhaps the intro’s of the songs are a bit too long to make them real dance floor killers, but Ghost Radio, Lies, Reaching Hands and Blind World should find their way to the dance floor.

Ruben SAEY
15/01/2016


NL

Mexico zendt zijn zonen uit. Hocico draait al een tijdje mee in het elektrowereldje en is een veel gevraagde liveband. Nu maken we kennis met het Mexicaanse elektrotrio Para Normal.

Na Evidence Is Everything laten deze jongens hun tweede album The Cold Room op de wereld los. Ze hebben daarmee maar één bedoeling: de alternatieve dansvloer veroveren. Met hun mix van duistere synthpop, EBM, een vleugje industrial en darkwave laten ze zich niet meteen in één vakje stoppen. Ik hoor invloeden van Depeche Mode, New Order, Covenant of A Split Second.

Het album bevat 11 pure elektrotracks zonder dat ze in herhaling vallen. Elk nummer heeft zijn eigen karakter, maar past mooi binnen het geheel. Duistere ritmes, soms wat zweverige synths en dark beats die aangevuld zijn met een harmonieuze, doch donkere zang. Agressie moet je op dit album niet verwachten, wel aangename synthpop met hier en daar een knipoog naar het hardere werk. Dat is niet verwonderlijk als je weet dat de mixing en mastering in handen was van Claus Larsen (Leather Strip).

Om echte dancefloorkillers te worden lijken de intro’s me wat te lang, al moeten Ghost Radio, Lies, Reaching Hands en Blind World toch wel de weg naar de dansvloer kunnen vinden.

Ruben SAEY
15/01/2016


15/01/2016 : PARA NORMAL - The Cold Room 15/01/2016 : PARA NORMAL - The Cold Room

 

Next reviews
THE PASSIONS • Michael & Miranda
LAMB • 5
THE SWEETEST CONDITION • Edge Of The World
DISCOVER NEW MUSIC • LOLA KUMTUS
ULTRAVOX • Vienna
QUAL • Brussels, Beursschouwburg (11/01/16)
DISCOVER NEW MUSIC • VERSAILLES
ETHAN FAWKES • Evil In Veins
AROMA DI AMORE • Zin
ANVIL FX • Prova De Biologia

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + EBM + SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
CYFERDYNE • Keep Your Silence
OBJECT • Mechanisms Of Faith

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
MIREXXX • Vault
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
SADOMANCER • Dystopian Dawn
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds

 

Same genre: EBM
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
NEGANT • No !

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless
20
06
RUMOURS
Cover
19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten