tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/01/2016 : PARA NORMAL - The Cold Room

PARA NORMAL

The Cold Room

MusicCD
Dark ElectroEBMSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[72/100]   

Space Race Records
15/01/2016, Ruben SAEY

EN

Again Mexico sends its sons. Of course, there is Hocico, which is the big name in the electro scene, but now we are introduced to the Mexican electro trio Para Normal.

After Evidence Is Everything, these guys present their second album The Cold Room. Their purpose is quite clear: to conquer the alternative dance floor. Their mix of dark synthpop, EBM, a touch of industrial and some dark wave is not something that you can put in one category easily. Anyway, I hear influences of Depeche Mode, New Order, Covenant or A Split Second.

The album contains 11 pure electric tracks, and Para Normal is clever enough to avoid doing the same song over and over. At the contrary, each track has its own character, but at the end of the day they all fit together. Dark rhythms, sometimes dreamy synths and dark beats that are complemented by harmonious, dark vocals. Do not expect any aggression on this album, just some nice synth pop with the occasional nod to the harder work. That's not surprising when you know that the mixing and mastering was done by Claus Larsen of Leather Strip fame.

Perhaps the intro’s of the songs are a bit too long to make them real dance floor killers, but Ghost Radio, Lies, Reaching Hands and Blind World should find their way to the dance floor.

Ruben SAEY
15/01/2016


NL

Mexico zendt zijn zonen uit. Hocico draait al een tijdje mee in het elektrowereldje en is een veel gevraagde liveband. Nu maken we kennis met het Mexicaanse elektrotrio Para Normal.

Na Evidence Is Everything laten deze jongens hun tweede album The Cold Room op de wereld los. Ze hebben daarmee maar één bedoeling: de alternatieve dansvloer veroveren. Met hun mix van duistere synthpop, EBM, een vleugje industrial en darkwave laten ze zich niet meteen in één vakje stoppen. Ik hoor invloeden van Depeche Mode, New Order, Covenant of A Split Second.

Het album bevat 11 pure elektrotracks zonder dat ze in herhaling vallen. Elk nummer heeft zijn eigen karakter, maar past mooi binnen het geheel. Duistere ritmes, soms wat zweverige synths en dark beats die aangevuld zijn met een harmonieuze, doch donkere zang. Agressie moet je op dit album niet verwachten, wel aangename synthpop met hier en daar een knipoog naar het hardere werk. Dat is niet verwonderlijk als je weet dat de mixing en mastering in handen was van Claus Larsen (Leather Strip).

Om echte dancefloorkillers te worden lijken de intro’s me wat te lang, al moeten Ghost Radio, Lies, Reaching Hands en Blind World toch wel de weg naar de dansvloer kunnen vinden.

Ruben SAEY
15/01/2016


15/01/2016 : PARA NORMAL - The Cold Room 15/01/2016 : PARA NORMAL - The Cold Room

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her 39
02
07
New album from Xenturion Prime on Progress Productions
01
07
Legendary Goth Club ‘The Church’ Featured In Documentary Film
01
07
41 years of Incontinent by Fad Gadget!
30
06
Luscious Apparatus Addresses Rage Control With New Single
29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

03
07
WARDRUNA NORDIC LIGHT
Amphitheater Gelsenkirchen
30
06
AROMA DI AMORE
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
THE STRANGLERS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
STABBING WESTWARD
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
NOSFERATU
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
AESTHETIC PERFACTION
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
07
SPIRITUAL FRONT
Tenderness Through Violence
02
07
KATE BUSH
And Dream of Sheep
01
07
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey
30
06
FIRST HATE
White Heron
29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)