tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

14/03/2012 : OBJECT - Mechanisms Of Faith

OBJECT

Mechanisms Of Faith

MusicCD
Dark ElectroEBMSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[60/100]   
14/03/2012, Chris KONINGS

No these are not the postrockers from France, this Object is the project of one Andreas Malik and apparently this is his fourth album, not to mention a few demo tapes/CDR's so I may have missed something. "Mechanisms Of Faith" a compilation of tracks made in the past three years and in addition you get a second CD with remixes by Robotiko Rejecto, Sleepwalk, amGod and so on... So you can expect a distinct late 80's and 90's feeling and that is exactly what you get, straightforward ebm electro finding a balace between club material and more thoughtful songs.

The instrumental song "Dream Collector" is a highlight with dramatic rhythms and a nice contrast between hopeful and dark melodies. A potential club hit is "Neural Explosions", although the melody reminds me a bit of (yes it's hard to believe) Sash's eurohouse hit "Ecuador". Most songs will be perfect material for people into the muscular beats that we know from labels like Zoth Ommog.

Despite an impressive battery of synths I don't hear anything new and after a while the music becomes a big blur because he rambles off his lyrics with the same distortion and the same pace. Yes it's all very listenable but I miss the depth of bands like amGod or IC 434 (who sound more diverse while only using a Korg M1). Some of the remixes do a better job, I liked the old school sound of Robotiko on "Blood Patch" and the Controlled Fusion version of that song takes the same energy to a modern level. A third "Blood Patch" is a completely unneccesary instrumental version, talk about ebm overkill... The sophisticated idm/electro adaptation of "Morphine Desire" by One Eye Wanders is great and finally brings some rest in this pace ridden album.

Abscess brings us another good synthpop moment with "Existence On Trial". The same story (Culture Kültur/Covenant style electro) for the Jihad and Pyrroline remixes. The last two songs are again no nonsense ebm demos, "Static Motion" and "End Of Line".

So instead of two full CD's or 29! songs, Andreas maybe should have gone for one CD with more variation and some good remixes, instead of all that filler. To describe it with Tolkien's words, it's like butter spread over too much bread...

Object

Electro Agression Records

Chris KONINGS
14/03/2012


 

Next reviews
VARIOUS ARTISTS • From Earth To Sirius
FANTASTIQUE NIGHTS • Mona Mur & En Esch; Katz Kab; Le Baron 5
ALBERTO MORAVIA • Contempt | De minachting
JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS • Concert in Aarschot on 25th October 2012
DER NOIR • A Dead Summer
CHAOS ALL STARS • I Need It All
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Iscariot Blues
:OF THE WAND & THE MOON: • The Lone Descent
NEON ELECTRONICS • Keylogger
SOPHYA • Words & Sounds

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + EBM + SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
PARA NORMAL • The Cold Room
CYFERDYNE • Keep Your Silence

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
MIREXXX • Vault
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
SADOMANCER • Dystopian Dawn
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
DICEPEOPLE • One From Many
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger

 

Same genre: EBM
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
NEGANT • No !
STRUCK9 • Ritual Body Music
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SPECTRA PARIS • Retromachine Betty

Music reviews

18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep
08
03
DRAGON WELDING
Dragon Welding
05
03
I AM A ROCKETSHIP
Mind Grafitti

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day
16
03
Today, 35 years ago, Siousxie And The Banshees released the single Swimming Horses!
15
03
New album and video by UK Goth rockers Children On Stun! Win - Win - Win

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
14
03
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever
13
03
KRANKLAND
Oh My Love