tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

14/03/2012 : OBJECT - Mechanisms Of Faith

OBJECT

Mechanisms Of Faith

MusicCD
Dark ElectroEBMSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[60/100]   
14/03/2012, Chris KONINGS

No these are not the postrockers from France, this Object is the project of one Andreas Malik and apparently this is his fourth album, not to mention a few demo tapes/CDR's so I may have missed something. "Mechanisms Of Faith" a compilation of tracks made in the past three years and in addition you get a second CD with remixes by Robotiko Rejecto, Sleepwalk, amGod and so on... So you can expect a distinct late 80's and 90's feeling and that is exactly what you get, straightforward ebm electro finding a balace between club material and more thoughtful songs.

The instrumental song "Dream Collector" is a highlight with dramatic rhythms and a nice contrast between hopeful and dark melodies. A potential club hit is "Neural Explosions", although the melody reminds me a bit of (yes it's hard to believe) Sash's eurohouse hit "Ecuador". Most songs will be perfect material for people into the muscular beats that we know from labels like Zoth Ommog.

Despite an impressive battery of synths I don't hear anything new and after a while the music becomes a big blur because he rambles off his lyrics with the same distortion and the same pace. Yes it's all very listenable but I miss the depth of bands like amGod or IC 434 (who sound more diverse while only using a Korg M1). Some of the remixes do a better job, I liked the old school sound of Robotiko on "Blood Patch" and the Controlled Fusion version of that song takes the same energy to a modern level. A third "Blood Patch" is a completely unneccesary instrumental version, talk about ebm overkill... The sophisticated idm/electro adaptation of "Morphine Desire" by One Eye Wanders is great and finally brings some rest in this pace ridden album.

Abscess brings us another good synthpop moment with "Existence On Trial". The same story (Culture Kültur/Covenant style electro) for the Jihad and Pyrroline remixes. The last two songs are again no nonsense ebm demos, "Static Motion" and "End Of Line".

So instead of two full CD's or 29! songs, Andreas maybe should have gone for one CD with more variation and some good remixes, instead of all that filler. To describe it with Tolkien's words, it's like butter spread over too much bread...

Object

Electro Agression Records

Chris KONINGS
14/03/2012


 

Next reviews
VARIOUS ARTISTS • From Earth To Sirius
FANTASTIQUE NIGHTS • Mona Mur & En Esch; Katz Kab; Le Baron 5
ALBERTO MORAVIA • Contempt | De minachting
JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS • Concert in Aarschot on 25th October 2012
DER NOIR • A Dead Summer
CHAOS ALL STARS • I Need It All
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Iscariot Blues
:OF THE WAND & THE MOON: • The Lone Descent
NEON ELECTRONICS • Keylogger
SOPHYA • Words & Sounds

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + EBM + SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
PARA NORMAL • The Cold Room
CYFERDYNE • Keep Your Silence

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
DICEPEOPLE • One From Many
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
MISERIA ULTIMA • Phospor
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')

 

Same genre: EBM
NEGANT • No !
STRUCK9 • Ritual Body Music
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
STRONG PRODUCT • Product III
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
HEXHEART • Midnight on a Moonless Night
CEPHALGY • Gott Maschine Vaterland

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SPECTRA PARIS • Retromachine Betty
PARRALOX • Subculture
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words

Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
09
First new Empirion material in almost a decade - I Am Electronic / Red Noise (12'/CD)
23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift