tempobet yeni adresi

25/02/2012 : :OF THE WAND & THE MOON: - The Lone Descent

:OF THE WAND & THE MOON:

The Lone Descent

MusicCD
Dark PopNeofolkSinger Songwriter

[90/100]   

Tesco
25/02/2012, Chris KONINGS

After quitting doom metal band Saturnus, Kim Larsen started the project Of The Wand & The Moon, which is hugely influenced by early dark folk bands such as Death In June. After “Sonnenheim” (2005, the first release on his own Heidrunar Myrkrunar label) we had to wait no less than six years for some new output by the Danish guitarist/vocalist.

He continued to develop himself and finally has gained enough confidence to become “a true singer” instead of using the usual half-narrative style of singing we hear all too often in the neo-folk genre. And trust me, he does an amazing effort, really dragging you inside the album with his warm and melancholic voice. Right from the start, "Sunspot" shows you that a new layer is peeled away from his soul. The song shows him as a modern Serge Gainsbourg, with a touch of 60's psych folk. "Absence" adds some hissing synths to the endless, loving caress of his soothing, yet brooding voice. Bo Rande's (Blue Foundation) trumpet adds even more warmth to this beautiful song. The epic "A Pyre Of Black Sunflowers" is like a tsunami, surging forward towards land, powerful, terrible and beautiful, epitomising all aspects of nature. “A Pyre …” is up there, with the greatest of all songs, reminding me a lot of Björk's idea for an Icelandic national anthem, "Jóga". I don't know if it’s about Denmark? Maybe it's about a country in Kim Larsen's own mind, but it sure is a place I would like to visit!

There’s also serenity to be found here. Melancholic violins and Kim’s quiet, narrative voice offer some calm after the passing through of the tsunami (“Is It Out Of Our Hands?"). In "Tear It Apart" his deep, heavy and raw voice sounds like Tom Waits. The melody of "We Are Dust" reminds me of an O. Children song, which is great. Other good songs: the blues-folk song "Watch The Skyline Catch Fire", that reminds me a lot of those other Danes called Murder, who delivered their best album with "Stockholm Syndrome". It also has Murder's contrast between bittersweet melodies and dark lyrics.

So nothing but superlatives, I could go on and on about how great this record is, but you might as well go and get it. Available on CD and vinyl, the latter (2LP's) version has one extra song, an instrumental version of "A Pyre Of Black Sunflowers".

Chris KONINGS
25/02/2012


 

Next reviews
NEON ELECTRONICS • Keylogger
SOPHYA • Words & Sounds
THE EDEN HOUSE • Timeflows
WINTERKÄLTE • Disturbance
APRIL • Sunderlands
FLUE • Vista
HEIMSTATT YIPOTASH • HY Breed
GRANDCHAOS • Rumours Of My Life
BLOOD AXIS • Ultimacy
FAUST • Something Dirty

 

Same genre: DARK POP
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
CHRISTIAN KJELLVANDER • A Village: Natural Light
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree

 

Same genre: NEOFOLK
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
ROME • The Hyperion Machine
DEATH IN ROME • Hitparade
SOL INVICTUS • The Last Man
HAUTVILLE • Mater Dolorosa
SIEGFRIED • K
WOLJAGER • Van T Liewen Un Stiäwen
CAWATANA • Decline Of Privileges

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
SWEET BABOO • Dennis

Music reviews

11
05
DISCO INFERNO
In Debt 91/92
10
05
WOLFHOUNDS
Untied Kingdom
09
05
FIXMER / MCCARTHY
Chemicals
08
05
PPM
Victims Of Our Own Efficiency
06
05
WIRE
Silver / Lead
02
05
WHITE SEA
Tropical Odds

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
05
First Light - the debut album from Fader, a new band formed by Neil Arthur (Blancmange/Near Future)
24
05
EBM juggernauts Front Line Assembly & Die Krupps sharing stage at De Casino (St-Niklaas,B) on 25th August
24
05
Tomorrow! May 25th, Exclusive Belgian 'Best Of' Clubshow by Project Pitchfork @ De Casino - St Niklaas
19
05
OMD announces new album: The Punishment of Luxury
15
05
LYDIA LUNCH & CYPRESS GROVE to release cover album 'Under The Covers'
14
05
Factice Factory release their forthcoming album 'Lines & Parallels' mid-September

Concert reviews

05
05
26TH WAVE UND GOTIK TREFFEN - 2ND-5TH JUNE
Some Electro-/EBM-/industrial-/synthpop bands to check at WGT 2017 !!!
04
05
COALESCAREMONIUM
15
04
DURBUY ROCK
New Model Army loves a hopeless cause... | Durbuy, Belgium | 08.04.2017
10
04
HAUSCHKA
Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
06
04
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Some postpunk, indie, coldwave bands to discover at WGT 2017 (Leipzig, D)
04
04
HOCICO, SHAARGHOT
Magasin 4 - 29 maart 2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
05
MASSIVE EGO
‘CAN NEVER SEE MYSELF BEING IN A BAND THAT JUST WORE JEANS AND T-SHIRTS’
25
05
THIS MORN'OMINA
'TMO is a strange entity, it seems to possess and control us'
24
04
DIVE
'Music is a virus!'
20
04
SOVIETWAVE
Cosmonauts' day special
18
04
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
'The universe of dark industrial music takes me somewhere I want to be'

PHOTOS

27
05
PROJECT PITCHFORK
De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
27
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
07
05
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Porta Nigra XII - Walpurgis Night, De Klinker, Aarschot, Belgium
07
05
DARKWOOD
Porta Nigra XII - Walpurgis Night, De Klinker, Aarschot, Belgium
07
05
THOROFON
Porta Nigra XII - Walpurgis Night, De Klinker, Aarschot, Belgium
07
05
DIE WEISSE ROSE
Porta Nigra XII - Walpurgis Night, De Klinker, Aarschot, Belgium
07
05
LIQUID TRAUMA
Porta Nigra XII - Walpurgis Night, De Klinker, Aarschot, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

29
05
ANNA CALVI
Ghost Rider
28
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Purge
27
05
LIZARD SMILE
State Of Void
26
05
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void
25
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
24
05
PARADE GROUND
Moans
23
05
KRAFTWERK
Boing Boom Tschak/Techno Pop/Music Non Stop