tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

25/02/2012 : :OF THE WAND & THE MOON: - The Lone Descent

:OF THE WAND & THE MOON:

The Lone Descent

MusicCD
Dark PopNeofolkSinger Songwriter

[90/100]   

Tesco
25/02/2012, Chris KONINGS

After quitting doom metal band Saturnus, Kim Larsen started the project Of The Wand & The Moon, which is hugely influenced by early dark folk bands such as Death In June. After “Sonnenheim” (2005, the first release on his own Heidrunar Myrkrunar label) we had to wait no less than six years for some new output by the Danish guitarist/vocalist.

He continued to develop himself and finally has gained enough confidence to become “a true singer” instead of using the usual half-narrative style of singing we hear all too often in the neo-folk genre. And trust me, he does an amazing effort, really dragging you inside the album with his warm and melancholic voice. Right from the start, "Sunspot" shows you that a new layer is peeled away from his soul. The song shows him as a modern Serge Gainsbourg, with a touch of 60's psych folk. "Absence" adds some hissing synths to the endless, loving caress of his soothing, yet brooding voice. Bo Rande's (Blue Foundation) trumpet adds even more warmth to this beautiful song. The epic "A Pyre Of Black Sunflowers" is like a tsunami, surging forward towards land, powerful, terrible and beautiful, epitomising all aspects of nature. “A Pyre …” is up there, with the greatest of all songs, reminding me a lot of Björk's idea for an Icelandic national anthem, "Jóga". I don't know if it’s about Denmark? Maybe it's about a country in Kim Larsen's own mind, but it sure is a place I would like to visit!

There’s also serenity to be found here. Melancholic violins and Kim’s quiet, narrative voice offer some calm after the passing through of the tsunami (“Is It Out Of Our Hands?"). In "Tear It Apart" his deep, heavy and raw voice sounds like Tom Waits. The melody of "We Are Dust" reminds me of an O. Children song, which is great. Other good songs: the blues-folk song "Watch The Skyline Catch Fire", that reminds me a lot of those other Danes called Murder, who delivered their best album with "Stockholm Syndrome". It also has Murder's contrast between bittersweet melodies and dark lyrics.

So nothing but superlatives, I could go on and on about how great this record is, but you might as well go and get it. Available on CD and vinyl, the latter (2LP's) version has one extra song, an instrumental version of "A Pyre Of Black Sunflowers".

Chris KONINGS
25/02/2012


 

Next reviews
NEON ELECTRONICS • Keylogger
SOPHYA • Words & Sounds
THE EDEN HOUSE • Timeflows
WINTERKÄLTE • Disturbance
APRIL • Sunderlands
FLUE • Vista
HEIMSTATT YIPOTASH • HY Breed
GRANDCHAOS • Rumours Of My Life
BLOOD AXIS • Ultimacy
FAUST • Something Dirty

 

Same genre: DARK POP
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage

 

Same genre: NEOFOLK
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Ménage à quatre
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
ROME • The Hyperion Machine
DEATH IN ROME • Hitparade

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary
15
01
This month 48 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.
11
01
CHRIS HASKETT (ROLLINS BAND)
'Musicians are more like radios that occasionally pick up and reproduce things from the cosmos.'

PHOTOS

26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest
26
12
REIN
Bimfest
26
12
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
bimfest
26
12
STURM CAFE
bimfest
26
12
RADERKRAFT
bimfest
26
12
ZWEITE JUGEND
Bimfest
26
12
ENZO KREFT
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
14
01
JANE'S ADDICTION
Been Caught Stealing