tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / digital review

14/08/2019 : PETER GUNDRY - V Ö L U R

PETER GUNDRY

V Ö L U R

MusicCD / Digital
AmbientFolkNeofolkOrchestral

[85/100]   

Self-released
14/08/2019, Ash MCAULIFFE

One can truly believe that the Old Gods of Europe will rise again when you take the time to sit back and enjoy the brand-new record by Peter Gundry - V Ö L U R.

Gundry is a multi-instrumentalist from Brisbane, Australia and has a huge following on YouTube and Facebook with his special compositions that truly evoke the feel of cultures lost to time.

The new record brings into full manifestation Gundry’s desire to make an album based on Nordic folk music. Listening to the album from start to finish feels like a Shamanic journey. It possesses the profound ability to transport the listener into a deep experiential realm of Norse life, mythology and religion.

Musically, there is an almost ice-cold crispness to the record. The use of natural sounds such as wind and rain aid the album in giving it a nigh-on feeling of a cold sea breeze upon your skin. But the album is also awash and swathed with beautiful string arrangements, traditional folk instruments and vocal accompaniments that are able to accentuate a particular emotion the songwriter wants to pull out of the listener, and these give the album its blood warmth. There are some wonderful deeper vocal harmonies on the record which gave me tingles down my spine. The guitar work is exceptional and often brings to mind the work of '70s folk music legends such as Nick Drake and even more so I feel a kinship with Spanish Neofolk band Trobar de Morte and the UK's Wolcensmen in Gundry’s creation of redolent atmospheres.

The album confirms to me that there is plenty of life left in the Neofolk genre and is a welcome change in direction for Gundry given the albums cohesive feel and flow. It’s definitely saying something when the album finishes and I am left clamouring for it to continue.

Ash MCAULIFFE
14/08/2019


 

Next reviews
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
AUGER • From Now On I
XTORT • Nothing is real
LORD OF THE LOST • 'Till death do us part
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
1LUM3 • Antinomia
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA • Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE • Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
CELESTIAL NORTH • When The Gods Dance
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree

 

Same genre: FOLK
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
WALTER CELI • Blend
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
SEESAYLE • Stamina
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop

 

Same genre: NEOFOLK
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
DEATH IN JUNE • THE CORN YEARS
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Ménage à quatre
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
ROME • The Hyperion Machine
DEATH IN ROME • Hitparade

 

Same genre: ORCHESTRAL
IRRADIANCE • Dissidence
LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN • Missa Solemnis (Rotterdams Filharmonisch Orkest & Collegium Vocale, Antwerpen, deSingel, 13/02/2016)

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete