tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / digital review

07/08/2019 : ACRETONGUE - Ghost Nocturne

ACRETONGUE

Ghost Nocturne

MusicCD / Digital
Dark AmbientDark ElectroIndustrial

[95/100]   

Dependent
07/08/2019, Ash MCAULIFFE

For those of you who may be new to Acretongue, allow me to enlighten you. The brainchild of South African born Nico Janse van Rensburg, Acretongue came into formation back in 2003. In 2007, he self-released "Nihil" and in 2011 Dependent Records released the official debut record "Strange Cargo" which lay the foundations for the opus that awaits.

"Ghost Nocturne" is an intensely dark experience. Building upon foundations of the previous album's dark-electro, Acretongue takes a giant step forward in his desire to create the ultimate soundscape. Oppressing and claustrophobic, it wrings every single breath from my body, leaving me clamouring for air. Each rotation of the beautifully crafted deluxe edition has essentially led to me describing it as a musical 'dark night of the soul.'

This is certainly not a bad thing. It's a rare and entirely welcome thing indeed. This album possesses the ability to transport you out of physical mundanity and plunge your entire being in a state of deeply intense introspection. It is the equivalent of spending 10 years in a silent monastery in deep meditation in the hopes of discovering your soul without having to do it and actually discovering your soul (albeit its intimate dark side) in three quarters of an hour.

The music presented on the record is ambient electronica. It is a unique atmosphere and is almost an experiment in wanting to see how many hairs it can make stand on end. Every single beat and effect has been expertly crafted to give this perception of otherworldliness and a glimpse into an alternate dimension (a quality shared with the equally unique Liquid Divine.)

With this kind of music, the vocals are pretty much expected to be vocoded or computerised and that is what we get. They complement the music perfectly adding another layer of mystery to the proceedings.

As someone intrigued in the Occult Arts, I have found "Ghost Nocturne" to have (entirely unintended on the part of van Rensburg's part?) a strangely deep connection to the Qliphoth. Let me explain.

The epitomic image of The Tree of Life in Jewish mystical tradition known as the Kabbalah is a map to the whole universe' creation and functioning, with each of the 10 spheres channelling Divine essence that it may be manifest in existence.

The Qliphoth is the Shadow side of the Tree with each shadow sphere acting as the complete opposite/negative function of the other. "Ghost Nocturne (Deluxe)" contains 10 tracks (Night(T)error being the last track on the bonus CD) and each track fits perfectly to each of these. It works excellently like a dark pathworking up the Qliphothic Tree.

Album highlights include the mesmerising "Requiem" with its hypnotic synthline and a beat that subtly gets you right in the gut and "Nightrunner" that will have you looking over your shoulder in fear.

A crepuscular journey to the dark side marking "Ghost Nocturne" out as a twilight/highlight of 2019.

Ash MCAULIFFE
07/08/2019


 

Next reviews
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA • Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE • Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Ménage à quatre
FIX8:SED8 • Fïx8:Sëd8 - Warning Signs
COMBICHRIST • One Fire
SYNAPSYCHE • In Praise Of Folly
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
BIOSPHERE • The Senja Recordings - Biophon
CHEMICAL BROTHERS • No Geography

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
EMPUSAE • Iter In Tenebris
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
ANNINA MELISSA • Exhibition of Death
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
DARKHER • Realms
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
FEU FOLLET • Le champ des morts
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Melancholic Disposition
MISERIA ULTIMA • Graygarden
REACTOR7X • Are You My Bitch
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
ENZO KREFT • Control
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
XTORT • Nothing is real
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo

Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline