tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / digital review

07/08/2019 : ACRETONGUE - Ghost Nocturne

ACRETONGUE

Ghost Nocturne

MusicCD / Digital
Dark AmbientDark ElectroIndustrial

[95/100]   

Dependent
07/08/2019, Ash MCAULIFFE

For those of you who may be new to Acretongue, allow me to enlighten you. The brainchild of South African born Nico Janse van Rensburg, Acretongue came into formation back in 2003. In 2007, he self-released "Nihil" and in 2011 Dependent Records released the official debut record "Strange Cargo" which lay the foundations for the opus that awaits.

"Ghost Nocturne" is an intensely dark experience. Building upon foundations of the previous album's dark-electro, Acretongue takes a giant step forward in his desire to create the ultimate soundscape. Oppressing and claustrophobic, it wrings every single breath from my body, leaving me clamouring for air. Each rotation of the beautifully crafted deluxe edition has essentially led to me describing it as a musical 'dark night of the soul.'

This is certainly not a bad thing. It's a rare and entirely welcome thing indeed. This album possesses the ability to transport you out of physical mundanity and plunge your entire being in a state of deeply intense introspection. It is the equivalent of spending 10 years in a silent monastery in deep meditation in the hopes of discovering your soul without having to do it and actually discovering your soul (albeit its intimate dark side) in three quarters of an hour.

The music presented on the record is ambient electronica. It is a unique atmosphere and is almost an experiment in wanting to see how many hairs it can make stand on end. Every single beat and effect has been expertly crafted to give this perception of otherworldliness and a glimpse into an alternate dimension (a quality shared with the equally unique Liquid Divine.)

With this kind of music, the vocals are pretty much expected to be vocoded or computerised and that is what we get. They complement the music perfectly adding another layer of mystery to the proceedings.

As someone intrigued in the Occult Arts, I have found "Ghost Nocturne" to have (entirely unintended on the part of van Rensburg's part?) a strangely deep connection to the Qliphoth. Let me explain.

The epitomic image of The Tree of Life in Jewish mystical tradition known as the Kabbalah is a map to the whole universe' creation and functioning, with each of the 10 spheres channelling Divine essence that it may be manifest in existence.

The Qliphoth is the Shadow side of the Tree with each shadow sphere acting as the complete opposite/negative function of the other. "Ghost Nocturne (Deluxe)" contains 10 tracks (Night(T)error being the last track on the bonus CD) and each track fits perfectly to each of these. It works excellently like a dark pathworking up the Qliphothic Tree.

Album highlights include the mesmerising "Requiem" with its hypnotic synthline and a beat that subtly gets you right in the gut and "Nightrunner" that will have you looking over your shoulder in fear.

A crepuscular journey to the dark side marking "Ghost Nocturne" out as a twilight/highlight of 2019.

Ash MCAULIFFE
07/08/2019


 

Next reviews
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA • Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE • Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Ménage à quatre
FIX8:SED8 • Fïx8:Sëd8 - Warning Signs
COMBICHRIST • One Fire
SYNAPSYCHE • In Praise Of Folly
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
BIOSPHERE • The Senja Recordings - Biophon
CHEMICAL BROTHERS • No Geography

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
CAVERNA DELLE ROSE • Elysian Chants
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
EMPUSAE • Iter In Tenebris
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
ANNINA MELISSA • Exhibition of Death

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
COMBICHRIST • Compliance
MILDREDA • I was never really there
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FIX8:SED8 • The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix

Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 40 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 44 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, 4 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
24
01
Today, exactly 31 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
23
01
46 years with David Bowie from Station To Station.
22
01
On this day, 12 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

24
01
DUCTAPE
Dark Winter Liège Festival - Le Garage
07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
01
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA
Crossroads
27
01
156
Kokoro
26
01
WARDRUNA
Raido
25
01
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
24
01
ELVYA DULCIMER
Spring Dance
23
01
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
22
01
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover