tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / digital review

07/08/2019 : ACRETONGUE - Ghost Nocturne

ACRETONGUE

Ghost Nocturne

MusicCD / Digital
Dark AmbientDark ElectroIndustrial

[95/100]   

Dependent
07/08/2019, Ash MCAULIFFE

For those of you who may be new to Acretongue, allow me to enlighten you. The brainchild of South African born Nico Janse van Rensburg, Acretongue came into formation back in 2003. In 2007, he self-released "Nihil" and in 2011 Dependent Records released the official debut record "Strange Cargo" which lay the foundations for the opus that awaits.

"Ghost Nocturne" is an intensely dark experience. Building upon foundations of the previous album's dark-electro, Acretongue takes a giant step forward in his desire to create the ultimate soundscape. Oppressing and claustrophobic, it wrings every single breath from my body, leaving me clamouring for air. Each rotation of the beautifully crafted deluxe edition has essentially led to me describing it as a musical 'dark night of the soul.'

This is certainly not a bad thing. It's a rare and entirely welcome thing indeed. This album possesses the ability to transport you out of physical mundanity and plunge your entire being in a state of deeply intense introspection. It is the equivalent of spending 10 years in a silent monastery in deep meditation in the hopes of discovering your soul without having to do it and actually discovering your soul (albeit its intimate dark side) in three quarters of an hour.

The music presented on the record is ambient electronica. It is a unique atmosphere and is almost an experiment in wanting to see how many hairs it can make stand on end. Every single beat and effect has been expertly crafted to give this perception of otherworldliness and a glimpse into an alternate dimension (a quality shared with the equally unique Liquid Divine.)

With this kind of music, the vocals are pretty much expected to be vocoded or computerised and that is what we get. They complement the music perfectly adding another layer of mystery to the proceedings.

As someone intrigued in the Occult Arts, I have found "Ghost Nocturne" to have (entirely unintended on the part of van Rensburg's part?) a strangely deep connection to the Qliphoth. Let me explain.

The epitomic image of The Tree of Life in Jewish mystical tradition known as the Kabbalah is a map to the whole universe' creation and functioning, with each of the 10 spheres channelling Divine essence that it may be manifest in existence.

The Qliphoth is the Shadow side of the Tree with each shadow sphere acting as the complete opposite/negative function of the other. "Ghost Nocturne (Deluxe)" contains 10 tracks (Night(T)error being the last track on the bonus CD) and each track fits perfectly to each of these. It works excellently like a dark pathworking up the Qliphothic Tree.

Album highlights include the mesmerising "Requiem" with its hypnotic synthline and a beat that subtly gets you right in the gut and "Nightrunner" that will have you looking over your shoulder in fear.

A crepuscular journey to the dark side marking "Ghost Nocturne" out as a twilight/highlight of 2019.

Ash MCAULIFFE
07/08/2019


 

Next reviews
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA • Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE • Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Ménage à quatre
FIX8:SED8 • Fïx8:Sëd8 - Warning Signs
COMBICHRIST • One Fire
SYNAPSYCHE • In Praise Of Folly
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
BIOSPHERE • The Senja Recordings - Biophon
CHEMICAL BROTHERS • No Geography

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
EMPUSAE • Iter In Tenebris
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
ANNINA MELISSA • Exhibition of Death
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FIX8:SED8 • The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • The Dread Files
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
DREADFOOL • Atoms for peace
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!
04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL