tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

11/12/2016 : CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM - Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation

CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM

Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation

Concert
FolkJazzSinger Songwriter 11/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

We're not going to play too much from the new album, but there are more beautiful songs to chose from, singer Patricia Van Cutsem told a surprised audience at the beginning of the concert during the releaseparty of the new CD Morning Light by Cannaerts & Van Cutsem, Saturday evening, October 8th at Moonbeat Mechelen. This of course makes the listener curious, wanting to hear the new songs as soon as he or she returns home with the CD that was given for free after the gig, don't you think?

We've played two really good rehearsals Patrica joked, referring to the previous two gigs during the release weekend, now it's the real deal! New and old compositions by Jan Cannaerts were played, mostly sung by Patricia, with her sweet, warm and powerful voice, guided by the intimate, accurate and fragile guitar playing by Jan Cannaerts who also played the blues harp and did the backing vocals. The combination of Jan's songs, voice and guitar turned the concert into a hearthwarming evening on this 'Night of Darkness'.

Amongst the new songs we heard A Smile, Ain't no girl, the sublieme Nothing Wrong, which was the opener of the set, and the very moving Lament, with a very high goosebumps factor, with the strong lyrics and Patricia's lovely voice as the main elements. The title track of the new album, Morning Light, was saved for the finale.

The new material fits quite well with older songs like The Land of the Falling Leaves, This House, This Great Life, Fireplace and Because Of You, all written by Cannaerts, who took a step back and left the singing to Patrica. In the meantime Jan concentrated more on his exquisite guitar playing.

The evening was a blend of jazzy folk, folky blues and pure pop, coming straight from the heart. We want more! In the end all seven compositions from the new album were played during the concert, and the album itself sounds really good too. This is music that will get you through some cold winter nights...

Setlist:

Nothing Wrong* / A Smile* / Lament / The Land of Falling Leaves / This House / Because of You / This Great Life / Welcome / Fireplace / We Have Sailed / Ain't No Girl / Boy* / Yellaba

Encore:

You've Got Me* / Matter of Time / Morning Light*

(*) songs from the new cd

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


NL

Van de nieuwe cd gaan we niet veel spelen, hoor, wel veel andere mooie liedjes, een ietwat verrassende aankondiging van Patrica Van Cutsem bij aanvang van de cd-voorstelling van Morning Light, zaterdagavond 8 oktober 2016 in Theater M. De luisteraar kon natuulijk bij thuiskomst nog wat nieuws ontdekken; elke aanwezige melomaan kreeg immers de fonkelnieuwe cd mee naar huis...

We hebben twee goede repetities gehad en geven nu een topconcert, grapte Patrica. Over de concertjes op vrijdagavond en zaterdagmiddag kan ik me niet uitspreken, maar we hoorden inderdaad een heel erg sterk concert. De nieuwste, minder nieuwe en al wat oudere composities van Jan Cannaerts, diens fraaie en gevoelige gitaarspel en de zoetgevooisde warme en krachtige stem van Patrica Van Cutsem waren de garantie op deze erg mooie en hartverwarmende avond, tijdens deze Nacht van de Duisternis.

Bij de nieuwe songs was het een aangenaam kennismaking met A Smile, Ain't No Girl, het sublieme Nothing Wrong waarmee geopend werd, en het pakkende Lament met een hoge kippenvelfactor, wat zowel met de mooie tekst als de prachtige stem van Patrica te maken heeft. The sun goes down and we all trust that the sun will be back in the morning. De sfeervolle title track Morning Light werd opgespaard als ultieme afsluiter van een mooie concertavond.

De nieuwe liedjes vertoefden in het uitstekende gezelschap van toppers zoals The Land of Falling Leaves, This House, This Great Life, Fireplace, Yelaba, en Because Of You, stuk voor stuk composities van Jan Cannaerts die het zingen aan Patrica overlaat en zich in rol van uitstekend begeleider aanmeet en daarvan evengoed geniet en dat merk je. De stem van Patrica past bijzonder goed bij de sterke en oprechte, vaak pakkende liedjes van Jan.

De avond had een intimistisch karakter, we hoorden jazzy folk, folky blues en pure pop recht uit het hart. Nog van dat, graag!

De CD van Cannaerts & Van Cutsem, waarvan uiteindelijk álle zeven composities gewoon in de show zaten, is een echte aanrader en de ideale soundtrack voor de komende koude winteravonden!

Setlist:
Nothing Wrong* / A Smile* / Lament / The Land of Falling Leaves / This House / Because of You / This Great Life / Welcome / Fireplace / We Have Sailed / Ain't No Girl / Boy* / Yellaba

Encore:
You've Got Me* / Matter of Time / Morning Light*

(*) liedjes van de nieuwe cd

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM - Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation 11/12/2016 : CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM - Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation 11/12/2016 : CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM - Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation 11/12/2016 : CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM - Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation

 

Next reviews
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
BEBORN BETON • She Cried
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Minor Sun
• The World of Hante
THE AGONIST • Alcatraz Club Show: The Agonist, Kortrijk, De Kreun (02/10/2016)
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
BESTIAL MOUTHS • Remix
NEWMOON • Space
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow

 

Same genre: FOLK
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
SEESAYLE • Stamina
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här

 

Same genre: JAZZ
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)
WOLF IN THE WOOD • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (10/06/2016)

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
SWEET BABOO • Dennis
KEVIN MORBY • Singing Saw
KRISTOFFER GILDENLöW • The Rain

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
12
05
PRAGA KHAN
YAP Leopoldsburg
05
05
DER KLINKE
MysteriA Fantasy-Fair Aarschot
05
05
LA LUNE NOIRE
MysteriA Fantasy-Fair Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures
14
05
IN DEATH IT ENDS
the most holy death
13
05
SIXTH JUNE
Drowning