tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

11/12/2016 : CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM - Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation

CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM

Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation

Concert
FolkJazzSinger Songwriter 11/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

We're not going to play too much from the new album, but there are more beautiful songs to chose from, singer Patricia Van Cutsem told a surprised audience at the beginning of the concert during the releaseparty of the new CD Morning Light by Cannaerts & Van Cutsem, Saturday evening, October 8th at Moonbeat Mechelen. This of course makes the listener curious, wanting to hear the new songs as soon as he or she returns home with the CD that was given for free after the gig, don't you think?

We've played two really good rehearsals Patrica joked, referring to the previous two gigs during the release weekend, now it's the real deal! New and old compositions by Jan Cannaerts were played, mostly sung by Patricia, with her sweet, warm and powerful voice, guided by the intimate, accurate and fragile guitar playing by Jan Cannaerts who also played the blues harp and did the backing vocals. The combination of Jan's songs, voice and guitar turned the concert into a hearthwarming evening on this 'Night of Darkness'.

Amongst the new songs we heard A Smile, Ain't no girl, the sublieme Nothing Wrong, which was the opener of the set, and the very moving Lament, with a very high goosebumps factor, with the strong lyrics and Patricia's lovely voice as the main elements. The title track of the new album, Morning Light, was saved for the finale.

The new material fits quite well with older songs like The Land of the Falling Leaves, This House, This Great Life, Fireplace and Because Of You, all written by Cannaerts, who took a step back and left the singing to Patrica. In the meantime Jan concentrated more on his exquisite guitar playing.

The evening was a blend of jazzy folk, folky blues and pure pop, coming straight from the heart. We want more! In the end all seven compositions from the new album were played during the concert, and the album itself sounds really good too. This is music that will get you through some cold winter nights...

Setlist:

Nothing Wrong* / A Smile* / Lament / The Land of Falling Leaves / This House / Because of You / This Great Life / Welcome / Fireplace / We Have Sailed / Ain't No Girl / Boy* / Yellaba

Encore:

You've Got Me* / Matter of Time / Morning Light*

(*) songs from the new cd

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


NL

Van de nieuwe cd gaan we niet veel spelen, hoor, wel veel andere mooie liedjes, een ietwat verrassende aankondiging van Patrica Van Cutsem bij aanvang van de cd-voorstelling van Morning Light, zaterdagavond 8 oktober 2016 in Theater M. De luisteraar kon natuulijk bij thuiskomst nog wat nieuws ontdekken; elke aanwezige melomaan kreeg immers de fonkelnieuwe cd mee naar huis...

We hebben twee goede repetities gehad en geven nu een topconcert, grapte Patrica. Over de concertjes op vrijdagavond en zaterdagmiddag kan ik me niet uitspreken, maar we hoorden inderdaad een heel erg sterk concert. De nieuwste, minder nieuwe en al wat oudere composities van Jan Cannaerts, diens fraaie en gevoelige gitaarspel en de zoetgevooisde warme en krachtige stem van Patrica Van Cutsem waren de garantie op deze erg mooie en hartverwarmende avond, tijdens deze Nacht van de Duisternis.

Bij de nieuwe songs was het een aangenaam kennismaking met A Smile, Ain't No Girl, het sublieme Nothing Wrong waarmee geopend werd, en het pakkende Lament met een hoge kippenvelfactor, wat zowel met de mooie tekst als de prachtige stem van Patrica te maken heeft. The sun goes down and we all trust that the sun will be back in the morning. De sfeervolle title track Morning Light werd opgespaard als ultieme afsluiter van een mooie concertavond.

De nieuwe liedjes vertoefden in het uitstekende gezelschap van toppers zoals The Land of Falling Leaves, This House, This Great Life, Fireplace, Yelaba, en Because Of You, stuk voor stuk composities van Jan Cannaerts die het zingen aan Patrica overlaat en zich in rol van uitstekend begeleider aanmeet en daarvan evengoed geniet en dat merk je. De stem van Patrica past bijzonder goed bij de sterke en oprechte, vaak pakkende liedjes van Jan.

De avond had een intimistisch karakter, we hoorden jazzy folk, folky blues en pure pop recht uit het hart. Nog van dat, graag!

De CD van Cannaerts & Van Cutsem, waarvan uiteindelijk álle zeven composities gewoon in de show zaten, is een echte aanrader en de ideale soundtrack voor de komende koude winteravonden!

Setlist:
Nothing Wrong* / A Smile* / Lament / The Land of Falling Leaves / This House / Because of You / This Great Life / Welcome / Fireplace / We Have Sailed / Ain't No Girl / Boy* / Yellaba

Encore:
You've Got Me* / Matter of Time / Morning Light*

(*) liedjes van de nieuwe cd

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM - Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation 11/12/2016 : CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM - Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation 11/12/2016 : CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM - Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation 11/12/2016 : CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM - Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation

 

Next reviews
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
BEBORN BETON • She Cried
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Minor Sun
• The World of Hante
THE AGONIST • Alcatraz Club Show: The Agonist, Kortrijk, De Kreun (02/10/2016)
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
BESTIAL MOUTHS • Remix
NEWMOON • Space
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow

 

Same genre: FOLK
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
WALTER CELI • Blend
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
SEESAYLE • Stamina
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop

 

Same genre: JAZZ
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
SWEET BABOO • Dennis

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
02
Today it's exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 2 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 43 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
This Charming Band | 37 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album
19
02
Gothic Industrial Band BATAVIA Unveils Remix Album, Batavia And Their Friends
18
02
Dissonance's New Single, 'Damage: First Assault' Ft. Melodywhore out NOW

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp
25
02
NEW ORDER
Regret
24
02
MANDIVULA
GHSTNG
23
02
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Nag Nag Nag
22
02
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth
21
02
SCHWEFELGELB
Zu Zweit