tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

11/12/2016 : CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM - Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation

CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM

Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation

Concert
FolkJazzSinger Songwriter 11/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

We're not going to play too much from the new album, but there are more beautiful songs to chose from, singer Patricia Van Cutsem told a surprised audience at the beginning of the concert during the releaseparty of the new CD Morning Light by Cannaerts & Van Cutsem, Saturday evening, October 8th at Moonbeat Mechelen. This of course makes the listener curious, wanting to hear the new songs as soon as he or she returns home with the CD that was given for free after the gig, don't you think?

We've played two really good rehearsals Patrica joked, referring to the previous two gigs during the release weekend, now it's the real deal! New and old compositions by Jan Cannaerts were played, mostly sung by Patricia, with her sweet, warm and powerful voice, guided by the intimate, accurate and fragile guitar playing by Jan Cannaerts who also played the blues harp and did the backing vocals. The combination of Jan's songs, voice and guitar turned the concert into a hearthwarming evening on this 'Night of Darkness'.

Amongst the new songs we heard A Smile, Ain't no girl, the sublieme Nothing Wrong, which was the opener of the set, and the very moving Lament, with a very high goosebumps factor, with the strong lyrics and Patricia's lovely voice as the main elements. The title track of the new album, Morning Light, was saved for the finale.

The new material fits quite well with older songs like The Land of the Falling Leaves, This House, This Great Life, Fireplace and Because Of You, all written by Cannaerts, who took a step back and left the singing to Patrica. In the meantime Jan concentrated more on his exquisite guitar playing.

The evening was a blend of jazzy folk, folky blues and pure pop, coming straight from the heart. We want more! In the end all seven compositions from the new album were played during the concert, and the album itself sounds really good too. This is music that will get you through some cold winter nights...

Setlist:

Nothing Wrong* / A Smile* / Lament / The Land of Falling Leaves / This House / Because of You / This Great Life / Welcome / Fireplace / We Have Sailed / Ain't No Girl / Boy* / Yellaba

Encore:

You've Got Me* / Matter of Time / Morning Light*

(*) songs from the new cd

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


NL

Van de nieuwe cd gaan we niet veel spelen, hoor, wel veel andere mooie liedjes, een ietwat verrassende aankondiging van Patrica Van Cutsem bij aanvang van de cd-voorstelling van Morning Light, zaterdagavond 8 oktober 2016 in Theater M. De luisteraar kon natuulijk bij thuiskomst nog wat nieuws ontdekken; elke aanwezige melomaan kreeg immers de fonkelnieuwe cd mee naar huis...

We hebben twee goede repetities gehad en geven nu een topconcert, grapte Patrica. Over de concertjes op vrijdagavond en zaterdagmiddag kan ik me niet uitspreken, maar we hoorden inderdaad een heel erg sterk concert. De nieuwste, minder nieuwe en al wat oudere composities van Jan Cannaerts, diens fraaie en gevoelige gitaarspel en de zoetgevooisde warme en krachtige stem van Patrica Van Cutsem waren de garantie op deze erg mooie en hartverwarmende avond, tijdens deze Nacht van de Duisternis.

Bij de nieuwe songs was het een aangenaam kennismaking met A Smile, Ain't No Girl, het sublieme Nothing Wrong waarmee geopend werd, en het pakkende Lament met een hoge kippenvelfactor, wat zowel met de mooie tekst als de prachtige stem van Patrica te maken heeft. The sun goes down and we all trust that the sun will be back in the morning. De sfeervolle title track Morning Light werd opgespaard als ultieme afsluiter van een mooie concertavond.

De nieuwe liedjes vertoefden in het uitstekende gezelschap van toppers zoals The Land of Falling Leaves, This House, This Great Life, Fireplace, Yelaba, en Because Of You, stuk voor stuk composities van Jan Cannaerts die het zingen aan Patrica overlaat en zich in rol van uitstekend begeleider aanmeet en daarvan evengoed geniet en dat merk je. De stem van Patrica past bijzonder goed bij de sterke en oprechte, vaak pakkende liedjes van Jan.

De avond had een intimistisch karakter, we hoorden jazzy folk, folky blues en pure pop recht uit het hart. Nog van dat, graag!

De CD van Cannaerts & Van Cutsem, waarvan uiteindelijk álle zeven composities gewoon in de show zaten, is een echte aanrader en de ideale soundtrack voor de komende koude winteravonden!

Setlist:
Nothing Wrong* / A Smile* / Lament / The Land of Falling Leaves / This House / Because of You / This Great Life / Welcome / Fireplace / We Have Sailed / Ain't No Girl / Boy* / Yellaba

Encore:
You've Got Me* / Matter of Time / Morning Light*

(*) liedjes van de nieuwe cd

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM - Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation 11/12/2016 : CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM - Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation 11/12/2016 : CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM - Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation 11/12/2016 : CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM - Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation

 

Next reviews
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
BEBORN BETON • She Cried
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Minor Sun
• The World of Hante
THE AGONIST • Alcatraz Club Show: The Agonist, Kortrijk, De Kreun (02/10/2016)
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
BESTIAL MOUTHS • Remix
NEWMOON • Space
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow

 

Same genre: FOLK
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
WALTER CELI • Blend
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
SEESAYLE • Stamina
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop

 

Same genre: JAZZ
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
SWEET BABOO • Dennis

Music reviews

26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
29 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!
25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 37 Years Old Today
24
11
From Human To Numan | Tubeway Army at 42

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights
26
11
PIG
Rock n Roll Refugee
25
11
TRISOMIE 21
The Last Song
24
11
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust
23
11
FOETUS
Here Comes The Rain
22
11
A SPLIT-SECOND
Flesh
21
11
LIEF HALL
Roses for Ruins