tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

11/12/2016 : CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM - Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation

CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM

Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation

Concert
FolkJazzSinger Songwriter 11/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

We're not going to play too much from the new album, but there are more beautiful songs to chose from, singer Patricia Van Cutsem told a surprised audience at the beginning of the concert during the releaseparty of the new CD Morning Light by Cannaerts & Van Cutsem, Saturday evening, October 8th at Moonbeat Mechelen. This of course makes the listener curious, wanting to hear the new songs as soon as he or she returns home with the CD that was given for free after the gig, don't you think?

We've played two really good rehearsals Patrica joked, referring to the previous two gigs during the release weekend, now it's the real deal! New and old compositions by Jan Cannaerts were played, mostly sung by Patricia, with her sweet, warm and powerful voice, guided by the intimate, accurate and fragile guitar playing by Jan Cannaerts who also played the blues harp and did the backing vocals. The combination of Jan's songs, voice and guitar turned the concert into a hearthwarming evening on this 'Night of Darkness'.

Amongst the new songs we heard A Smile, Ain't no girl, the sublieme Nothing Wrong, which was the opener of the set, and the very moving Lament, with a very high goosebumps factor, with the strong lyrics and Patricia's lovely voice as the main elements. The title track of the new album, Morning Light, was saved for the finale.

The new material fits quite well with older songs like The Land of the Falling Leaves, This House, This Great Life, Fireplace and Because Of You, all written by Cannaerts, who took a step back and left the singing to Patrica. In the meantime Jan concentrated more on his exquisite guitar playing.

The evening was a blend of jazzy folk, folky blues and pure pop, coming straight from the heart. We want more! In the end all seven compositions from the new album were played during the concert, and the album itself sounds really good too. This is music that will get you through some cold winter nights...

Setlist:

Nothing Wrong* / A Smile* / Lament / The Land of Falling Leaves / This House / Because of You / This Great Life / Welcome / Fireplace / We Have Sailed / Ain't No Girl / Boy* / Yellaba

Encore:

You've Got Me* / Matter of Time / Morning Light*

(*) songs from the new cd

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


NL

Van de nieuwe cd gaan we niet veel spelen, hoor, wel veel andere mooie liedjes, een ietwat verrassende aankondiging van Patrica Van Cutsem bij aanvang van de cd-voorstelling van Morning Light, zaterdagavond 8 oktober 2016 in Theater M. De luisteraar kon natuulijk bij thuiskomst nog wat nieuws ontdekken; elke aanwezige melomaan kreeg immers de fonkelnieuwe cd mee naar huis...

We hebben twee goede repetities gehad en geven nu een topconcert, grapte Patrica. Over de concertjes op vrijdagavond en zaterdagmiddag kan ik me niet uitspreken, maar we hoorden inderdaad een heel erg sterk concert. De nieuwste, minder nieuwe en al wat oudere composities van Jan Cannaerts, diens fraaie en gevoelige gitaarspel en de zoetgevooisde warme en krachtige stem van Patrica Van Cutsem waren de garantie op deze erg mooie en hartverwarmende avond, tijdens deze Nacht van de Duisternis.

Bij de nieuwe songs was het een aangenaam kennismaking met A Smile, Ain't No Girl, het sublieme Nothing Wrong waarmee geopend werd, en het pakkende Lament met een hoge kippenvelfactor, wat zowel met de mooie tekst als de prachtige stem van Patrica te maken heeft. The sun goes down and we all trust that the sun will be back in the morning. De sfeervolle title track Morning Light werd opgespaard als ultieme afsluiter van een mooie concertavond.

De nieuwe liedjes vertoefden in het uitstekende gezelschap van toppers zoals The Land of Falling Leaves, This House, This Great Life, Fireplace, Yelaba, en Because Of You, stuk voor stuk composities van Jan Cannaerts die het zingen aan Patrica overlaat en zich in rol van uitstekend begeleider aanmeet en daarvan evengoed geniet en dat merk je. De stem van Patrica past bijzonder goed bij de sterke en oprechte, vaak pakkende liedjes van Jan.

De avond had een intimistisch karakter, we hoorden jazzy folk, folky blues en pure pop recht uit het hart. Nog van dat, graag!

De CD van Cannaerts & Van Cutsem, waarvan uiteindelijk álle zeven composities gewoon in de show zaten, is een echte aanrader en de ideale soundtrack voor de komende koude winteravonden!

Setlist:
Nothing Wrong* / A Smile* / Lament / The Land of Falling Leaves / This House / Because of You / This Great Life / Welcome / Fireplace / We Have Sailed / Ain't No Girl / Boy* / Yellaba

Encore:
You've Got Me* / Matter of Time / Morning Light*

(*) liedjes van de nieuwe cd

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM - Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation 11/12/2016 : CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM - Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation 11/12/2016 : CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM - Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation 11/12/2016 : CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM - Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation

 

Next reviews
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
BEBORN BETON • She Cried
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Minor Sun
• The World of Hante
THE AGONIST • Alcatraz Club Show: The Agonist, Kortrijk, De Kreun (02/10/2016)
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
BESTIAL MOUTHS • Remix
NEWMOON • Space
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow

 

Same genre: FOLK
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
WALTER CELI • Blend
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
SEESAYLE • Stamina
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop

 

Same genre: JAZZ
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
SWEET BABOO • Dennis

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide