tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : NEWMOON - Space

NEWMOON

Space

MusicCD
DreampopPower Rock/Poppsychotic rockShoegaze

[83/100]   

PIAS
11/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

Call it shoegaze, call it dream pop, call it glacial, heartbreaking alt-rock; call it whatever you want. With the album Space, the new Belgian band Newmoon creates a kaleidoscopic swirl of sound, an abstract world of textures, post-punk mood shifts and aural tsunamis crashing on the distant silver shores of the imagination.

Taking the name from an Elliot Smith album and based in Antwerp and Ghent, Newmoon formed in late 2013. The band members previously played in the much-loved hardcore punk band Midnight Souls, now widely recognized as one of the country’s finest. And although the two projects may seem opposites, hardcore is nothing but a genre built on momentum, and this quintet is a master in this field.

Nice to read, but does it sound as such? Yes it does. Sometimes it sounds more relaxt and dreamy, then the songs sound pretty hard and noisy. Head Of Stone sounds dreamy, Life In The Sun starts of pretty heavy, but then gets a more relaxed mood. In every song we here howling guitars. Sometimes smoothly, then as typical shoegaze. Skin has a hell of a sound with heavely screaming guitars, as if they are tortured. Heavenly... In the end they really scream, sounding desperate, but energetic at the same time, as a cry for help.

For a second I thought I was listening to a Pink Floyd song... Coma. The first notes sound very Pink Floyd, and then they explode: drums hitting hard, and the voice unbelievable soft and dreamy. Everything Is... everything what a good rock song should have. It al blends together: voice, guitars, drum, bass... Hi opens in a very psychedelic way and continues as such all through the instrumental song. A nice surprise with an incredible sound. One Thousand lingers, and the vocals could be sung by Radiohead's Thom York.... they blend wonderfully with the magnificent sound throughout the entire album.

The last song of the album is Liberate The World. Another popper. Quiet pieces are interspersed with more uptempo
fragments: explosive, grungy pieces of musical happiness.

This shows that Belgium's has got talent (where else did we hear this...). Newmoon starts off with a very good album. It reminds me of my young(er) years, my first big festivals, The Dream machine and similar bands of which Newmoon is not a copy. It is a barrel of love for the music the band makes. You can hear it but above al you can: feel it. Another band to check out on stage...

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : NEWMOON - Space 11/12/2016 : NEWMOON - Space 11/12/2016 : NEWMOON - Space

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout