tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : NEWMOON - Space

NEWMOON

Space

MusicCD
DreampopPower Rock/Poppsychotic rockShoegaze

[83/100]   

PIAS
11/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

Call it shoegaze, call it dream pop, call it glacial, heartbreaking alt-rock; call it whatever you want. With the album Space, the new Belgian band Newmoon creates a kaleidoscopic swirl of sound, an abstract world of textures, post-punk mood shifts and aural tsunamis crashing on the distant silver shores of the imagination.

Taking the name from an Elliot Smith album and based in Antwerp and Ghent, Newmoon formed in late 2013. The band members previously played in the much-loved hardcore punk band Midnight Souls, now widely recognized as one of the country’s finest. And although the two projects may seem opposites, hardcore is nothing but a genre built on momentum, and this quintet is a master in this field.

Nice to read, but does it sound as such? Yes it does. Sometimes it sounds more relaxt and dreamy, then the songs sound pretty hard and noisy. Head Of Stone sounds dreamy, Life In The Sun starts of pretty heavy, but then gets a more relaxed mood. In every song we here howling guitars. Sometimes smoothly, then as typical shoegaze. Skin has a hell of a sound with heavely screaming guitars, as if they are tortured. Heavenly... In the end they really scream, sounding desperate, but energetic at the same time, as a cry for help.

For a second I thought I was listening to a Pink Floyd song... Coma. The first notes sound very Pink Floyd, and then they explode: drums hitting hard, and the voice unbelievable soft and dreamy. Everything Is... everything what a good rock song should have. It al blends together: voice, guitars, drum, bass... Hi opens in a very psychedelic way and continues as such all through the instrumental song. A nice surprise with an incredible sound. One Thousand lingers, and the vocals could be sung by Radiohead's Thom York.... they blend wonderfully with the magnificent sound throughout the entire album.

The last song of the album is Liberate The World. Another popper. Quiet pieces are interspersed with more uptempo
fragments: explosive, grungy pieces of musical happiness.

This shows that Belgium's has got talent (where else did we hear this...). Newmoon starts off with a very good album. It reminds me of my young(er) years, my first big festivals, The Dream machine and similar bands of which Newmoon is not a copy. It is a barrel of love for the music the band makes. You can hear it but above al you can: feel it. Another band to check out on stage...

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : NEWMOON - Space 11/12/2016 : NEWMOON - Space 11/12/2016 : NEWMOON - Space

Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)