tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : NEWMOON - Space

NEWMOON

Space

MusicCD
DreampopPower Rock/Poppsychotic rockShoegaze

[83/100]   

PIAS
11/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

Call it shoegaze, call it dream pop, call it glacial, heartbreaking alt-rock; call it whatever you want. With the album Space, the new Belgian band Newmoon creates a kaleidoscopic swirl of sound, an abstract world of textures, post-punk mood shifts and aural tsunamis crashing on the distant silver shores of the imagination.

Taking the name from an Elliot Smith album and based in Antwerp and Ghent, Newmoon formed in late 2013. The band members previously played in the much-loved hardcore punk band Midnight Souls, now widely recognized as one of the country’s finest. And although the two projects may seem opposites, hardcore is nothing but a genre built on momentum, and this quintet is a master in this field.

Nice to read, but does it sound as such? Yes it does. Sometimes it sounds more relaxt and dreamy, then the songs sound pretty hard and noisy. Head Of Stone sounds dreamy, Life In The Sun starts of pretty heavy, but then gets a more relaxed mood. In every song we here howling guitars. Sometimes smoothly, then as typical shoegaze. Skin has a hell of a sound with heavely screaming guitars, as if they are tortured. Heavenly... In the end they really scream, sounding desperate, but energetic at the same time, as a cry for help.

For a second I thought I was listening to a Pink Floyd song... Coma. The first notes sound very Pink Floyd, and then they explode: drums hitting hard, and the voice unbelievable soft and dreamy. Everything Is... everything what a good rock song should have. It al blends together: voice, guitars, drum, bass... Hi opens in a very psychedelic way and continues as such all through the instrumental song. A nice surprise with an incredible sound. One Thousand lingers, and the vocals could be sung by Radiohead's Thom York.... they blend wonderfully with the magnificent sound throughout the entire album.

The last song of the album is Liberate The World. Another popper. Quiet pieces are interspersed with more uptempo
fragments: explosive, grungy pieces of musical happiness.

This shows that Belgium's has got talent (where else did we hear this...). Newmoon starts off with a very good album. It reminds me of my young(er) years, my first big festivals, The Dream machine and similar bands of which Newmoon is not a copy. It is a barrel of love for the music the band makes. You can hear it but above al you can: feel it. Another band to check out on stage...

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : NEWMOON - Space 11/12/2016 : NEWMOON - Space 11/12/2016 : NEWMOON - Space

Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!
01
04
On this day, 31 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Gashed Senses & Crossfire!
31
03
Red Zebra releases new single!
29
03
UK Electro-Industrial band BIOMECHANIMAL announces the release of 'Waves': split single with MECHANICAL VEIN
29
03
On this day, 40 years ago, Kraftwerk performed Das Model on German TV.
28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

01
04
ILLUMININE
Dear, Eulogy (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
31
03
DIVE
Underneath
30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR
29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)
28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)