tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/12/2016 : HOLISPARK - The Harvest

HOLISPARK

The Harvest

MusicCD (EP)
Power Rock/Pop

[75/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Manon (vocals), Kevin (guitar) and Roch (drums) met in a previous band and in 2015 they focused on Holispark. For bass and other instruments this band from Lille (France) makes use of guest musicians.

What can you expect from this EP? Uplifting feel-good powerpop and rocksongs. Manon has a pleasant voice and the musical enthusiasm is high. This leads to six delicate and pleasant songs that can do well on the radio. It especially gives you a summer feeling while listening. A bit like Supergrass, to name but one band.

Musically is is not complicated or strange, everything soundssolid and is well put together. The sum is stronger than the individual parts. Many up-tempo songs, but also a more subdued song in the form of a ballad: Slippery Slope. Manon's voice can be compared with The Sundays, The Cardigans, etc... Win or Learn is also a strong song. The accompanying music can still grow with respect to recognisability and profiling, so that everything sounds more catchy.

This EP is a sunny release that only lacks a song that can break through on the radio.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Manon (vocals), Kevin (gitaar) en Roch (drums) ontmoetten elkaar in een vorige band en in 2015 richtten ze Holispark op. Voor de bas en andere instrumenten maakten deze band uit Rijsel (Lille) gebruik van gastmuzikanten.

Wat mag je verwachten van deze ep? Opzwepende feelgood powerpop en rockliedjes. Manon heeft een aangename stem en er wordt met volle overgave gemusiceerd. Dat leidt tot zes fijne en aangename liedjes die het goed kunnen doen op de radio. Ze geven je vooral een zomers gevoel terwijl je luistert. Een beetje het gevoel zoals bij Supergrass, om maar één voorbeeld te noemen.

Muzikaal moet je niet meteen iets gecompliceerds of aparts verwachten, maar alles zit degelijk en goed in elkaar. De som is sterker dan de individuele delen. Veel uptempo nummers, maar ook een ingetogenere song in de vorm van een ballad: Slippery Slope. Het stemgeluid van Manon kan je wat vergelijken met The Sundays, The Cardigans etc… Win or Learn is een sterke song. De begeleidingsmuziek kan inzake herkenbaarheid en profilering nog wat groeien zodat alles nog meer catchy wordt.

Deze ep is een zonnige release waarop alleen een song ontbreekt die op de radio potten kan breken.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl