tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/12/2016 : HOLISPARK - The Harvest

HOLISPARK

The Harvest

MusicCD (EP)
Power Rock/Pop

[75/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Manon (vocals), Kevin (guitar) and Roch (drums) met in a previous band and in 2015 they focused on Holispark. For bass and other instruments this band from Lille (France) makes use of guest musicians.

What can you expect from this EP? Uplifting feel-good powerpop and rocksongs. Manon has a pleasant voice and the musical enthusiasm is high. This leads to six delicate and pleasant songs that can do well on the radio. It especially gives you a summer feeling while listening. A bit like Supergrass, to name but one band.

Musically is is not complicated or strange, everything soundssolid and is well put together. The sum is stronger than the individual parts. Many up-tempo songs, but also a more subdued song in the form of a ballad: Slippery Slope. Manon's voice can be compared with The Sundays, The Cardigans, etc... Win or Learn is also a strong song. The accompanying music can still grow with respect to recognisability and profiling, so that everything sounds more catchy.

This EP is a sunny release that only lacks a song that can break through on the radio.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Manon (vocals), Kevin (gitaar) en Roch (drums) ontmoetten elkaar in een vorige band en in 2015 richtten ze Holispark op. Voor de bas en andere instrumenten maakten deze band uit Rijsel (Lille) gebruik van gastmuzikanten.

Wat mag je verwachten van deze ep? Opzwepende feelgood powerpop en rockliedjes. Manon heeft een aangename stem en er wordt met volle overgave gemusiceerd. Dat leidt tot zes fijne en aangename liedjes die het goed kunnen doen op de radio. Ze geven je vooral een zomers gevoel terwijl je luistert. Een beetje het gevoel zoals bij Supergrass, om maar één voorbeeld te noemen.

Muzikaal moet je niet meteen iets gecompliceerds of aparts verwachten, maar alles zit degelijk en goed in elkaar. De som is sterker dan de individuele delen. Veel uptempo nummers, maar ook een ingetogenere song in de vorm van een ballad: Slippery Slope. Het stemgeluid van Manon kan je wat vergelijken met The Sundays, The Cardigans etc… Win or Learn is een sterke song. De begeleidingsmuziek kan inzake herkenbaarheid en profilering nog wat groeien zodat alles nog meer catchy wordt.

Deze ep is een zonnige release waarop alleen een song ontbreekt die op de radio potten kan breken.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation