tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/12/2016 : HOLISPARK - The Harvest

HOLISPARK

The Harvest

MusicCD (EP)
Power Rock/Pop

[75/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Manon (vocals), Kevin (guitar) and Roch (drums) met in a previous band and in 2015 they focused on Holispark. For bass and other instruments this band from Lille (France) makes use of guest musicians.

What can you expect from this EP? Uplifting feel-good powerpop and rocksongs. Manon has a pleasant voice and the musical enthusiasm is high. This leads to six delicate and pleasant songs that can do well on the radio. It especially gives you a summer feeling while listening. A bit like Supergrass, to name but one band.

Musically is is not complicated or strange, everything soundssolid and is well put together. The sum is stronger than the individual parts. Many up-tempo songs, but also a more subdued song in the form of a ballad: Slippery Slope. Manon's voice can be compared with The Sundays, The Cardigans, etc... Win or Learn is also a strong song. The accompanying music can still grow with respect to recognisability and profiling, so that everything sounds more catchy.

This EP is a sunny release that only lacks a song that can break through on the radio.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Manon (vocals), Kevin (gitaar) en Roch (drums) ontmoetten elkaar in een vorige band en in 2015 richtten ze Holispark op. Voor de bas en andere instrumenten maakten deze band uit Rijsel (Lille) gebruik van gastmuzikanten.

Wat mag je verwachten van deze ep? Opzwepende feelgood powerpop en rockliedjes. Manon heeft een aangename stem en er wordt met volle overgave gemusiceerd. Dat leidt tot zes fijne en aangename liedjes die het goed kunnen doen op de radio. Ze geven je vooral een zomers gevoel terwijl je luistert. Een beetje het gevoel zoals bij Supergrass, om maar één voorbeeld te noemen.

Muzikaal moet je niet meteen iets gecompliceerds of aparts verwachten, maar alles zit degelijk en goed in elkaar. De som is sterker dan de individuele delen. Veel uptempo nummers, maar ook een ingetogenere song in de vorm van een ballad: Slippery Slope. Het stemgeluid van Manon kan je wat vergelijken met The Sundays, The Cardigans etc… Win or Learn is een sterke song. De begeleidingsmuziek kan inzake herkenbaarheid en profilering nog wat groeien zodat alles nog meer catchy wordt.

Deze ep is een zonnige release waarop alleen een song ontbreekt die op de radio potten kan breken.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!
03
02
This month, 37 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Corrosion!
02
02
Anarchy And Innocence | Sid Vicious Died 44 Years Ago Today...
01
02
Luna Del Luna Addresses Trauma And Abuse With Debut EP

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face
31
01
W. PIKE
We were lucky
31
01
MIREXXX
Nine angles