tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/12/2016 : HOLISPARK - The Harvest

HOLISPARK

The Harvest

MusicCD (EP)
Power Rock/Pop

[75/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Manon (vocals), Kevin (guitar) and Roch (drums) met in a previous band and in 2015 they focused on Holispark. For bass and other instruments this band from Lille (France) makes use of guest musicians.

What can you expect from this EP? Uplifting feel-good powerpop and rocksongs. Manon has a pleasant voice and the musical enthusiasm is high. This leads to six delicate and pleasant songs that can do well on the radio. It especially gives you a summer feeling while listening. A bit like Supergrass, to name but one band.

Musically is is not complicated or strange, everything soundssolid and is well put together. The sum is stronger than the individual parts. Many up-tempo songs, but also a more subdued song in the form of a ballad: Slippery Slope. Manon's voice can be compared with The Sundays, The Cardigans, etc... Win or Learn is also a strong song. The accompanying music can still grow with respect to recognisability and profiling, so that everything sounds more catchy.

This EP is a sunny release that only lacks a song that can break through on the radio.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Manon (vocals), Kevin (gitaar) en Roch (drums) ontmoetten elkaar in een vorige band en in 2015 richtten ze Holispark op. Voor de bas en andere instrumenten maakten deze band uit Rijsel (Lille) gebruik van gastmuzikanten.

Wat mag je verwachten van deze ep? Opzwepende feelgood powerpop en rockliedjes. Manon heeft een aangename stem en er wordt met volle overgave gemusiceerd. Dat leidt tot zes fijne en aangename liedjes die het goed kunnen doen op de radio. Ze geven je vooral een zomers gevoel terwijl je luistert. Een beetje het gevoel zoals bij Supergrass, om maar één voorbeeld te noemen.

Muzikaal moet je niet meteen iets gecompliceerds of aparts verwachten, maar alles zit degelijk en goed in elkaar. De som is sterker dan de individuele delen. Veel uptempo nummers, maar ook een ingetogenere song in de vorm van een ballad: Slippery Slope. Het stemgeluid van Manon kan je wat vergelijken met The Sundays, The Cardigans etc… Win or Learn is een sterke song. De begeleidingsmuziek kan inzake herkenbaarheid en profilering nog wat groeien zodat alles nog meer catchy wordt.

Deze ep is een zonnige release waarop alleen een song ontbreekt die op de radio potten kan breken.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg
10
07
ALIENARE
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus
13
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Anabasis