tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : ROISIN MURPHY - Take Her Up To Monto

ROISIN MURPHY

Take Her Up To Monto

MusicCD

PIAS
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Irish artist Róisín Murphy does everything to convince the audience that she is more than just the figurehead of the influential trip-hop band Moloko, but the band from the 90s always comes back as a boomerang. The public is only happy when hearing Sing It Back, and three very fine solo albums don’t change that. The fourth CD will not do that either. Take Her Up To Monto (after an Irish folk song from 1958 with a whistling Róisín) is after all a very eccentric record on which the pop diva, who likes extravagant dresses, criticizes both herself and the music industry.

The nine pop songs sound catchy, or can even be used for commercials (previously Murphy songs were used for it), but it never sounds like pure pop, let alone that you can sing along for one second. Just as on her previous albums, the Irish hides in a world of beats and various synthetic background noises. The style ranges from minimal disco (or should we say minimal techno?) ​​to avant-garde, which makes her almost sound as a contemporary electro version of Nina Simone.

Róisín digs deep on this album, she asks many questions (With wide eyes open I said goodbye to the guys and set sail for my destruction, she sings on opener Mastermind) and she realizes that life (and everything that is part of it) is just one big joke. Just make the best of it, give this planet something beautiful, like this intimate Take Here Up To Monto.

She probably won’t get any new fans with this one. However, if you think Laurie Anderson is groundbreaking (which is the case), you certainly have to try the new Róisín Murphy.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

De Ierse Róisín Murphy is niet meteen de gemakkelijkste dame. Ofschoon de flamboyante popster er alles aan doet om het publiek te overtuigen dat ze meer was dan het boegbeeld van de invloedrijke triphopformatie Moloko, komt de band uit de jaren 90 steeds als een boemerang naar haar terug. Het concertpubliek gaat alleen maar tevreden naar huis als het Sing It Back heeft gehoord, en daar veranderen drie puike soloalbums maar weinig aan. Ook de vierde cd zal dat niet doen. Take Her Up To Monto ( naar een Ierse folksong uit 1958 die Róisín met plezier meefluit) is immers een zeer excentrieke plaat waarop de popdiva, die niet vies is van een verkleedpartij meer of minder, zowel zichzelf als de muziekindustrie op de korrel neemt.

De negen popliedjes liggen al bij al lekker in het gehoor, of kunnen zelfs voor reclameboodschappen worden gebruikt (wat eerder al het geval was), pure pop wordt het nooit, laat staan dat je een seconde kan meezingen. Net zoals op haar vorige platen, verschuilt de Ierse zich opnieuw in een wereld vol ingetogen beats en allerlei achtergrondgeluiden. De stijl varieert van minimal disco (of moeten we er gewoon minimal techno van maken?) tot avant-garde waardoor ze bijna als een hedendaagse elektroversie van Nina Simone klinkt.

Róisín graaft diep op deze plaat, stelt veel vragen over zichzelf (With wide eyes open I said goodbye to the guys and set sail for my destruction, zingt ze op opener Mastermind) en ze beseft dat het leven (en alles wat daar om hangt) niet meer dan één grote grap is. Gewoon er het beste van maken, deze luttele planeet iets moois geven, zoals deze intieme Take Her Up To Monto.

Nieuwe fans zal ze er niet mee winnen. Maar als je denkt dat Laurie Anderson grensverleggend is (wat ook het geval is), probeer dan ook zeker de nieuwe van Róisín Murphy eens.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy
16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
11
Disorientations! New band, new single, new video!
14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

17
11
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
11
OAKTREE
La Fin
17
11
ALISON MOYET
Other
16
11
ROSARUBEA
A Blue Bird in a Scarlet Spring
15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart
14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro