tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : ROISIN MURPHY - Take Her Up To Monto

ROISIN MURPHY

Take Her Up To Monto

MusicCD

PIAS
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Irish artist Róisín Murphy does everything to convince the audience that she is more than just the figurehead of the influential trip-hop band Moloko, but the band from the 90s always comes back as a boomerang. The public is only happy when hearing Sing It Back, and three very fine solo albums don’t change that. The fourth CD will not do that either. Take Her Up To Monto (after an Irish folk song from 1958 with a whistling Róisín) is after all a very eccentric record on which the pop diva, who likes extravagant dresses, criticizes both herself and the music industry.

The nine pop songs sound catchy, or can even be used for commercials (previously Murphy songs were used for it), but it never sounds like pure pop, let alone that you can sing along for one second. Just as on her previous albums, the Irish hides in a world of beats and various synthetic background noises. The style ranges from minimal disco (or should we say minimal techno?) ​​to avant-garde, which makes her almost sound as a contemporary electro version of Nina Simone.

Róisín digs deep on this album, she asks many questions (With wide eyes open I said goodbye to the guys and set sail for my destruction, she sings on opener Mastermind) and she realizes that life (and everything that is part of it) is just one big joke. Just make the best of it, give this planet something beautiful, like this intimate Take Here Up To Monto.

She probably won’t get any new fans with this one. However, if you think Laurie Anderson is groundbreaking (which is the case), you certainly have to try the new Róisín Murphy.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

De Ierse Róisín Murphy is niet meteen de gemakkelijkste dame. Ofschoon de flamboyante popster er alles aan doet om het publiek te overtuigen dat ze meer was dan het boegbeeld van de invloedrijke triphopformatie Moloko, komt de band uit de jaren 90 steeds als een boemerang naar haar terug. Het concertpubliek gaat alleen maar tevreden naar huis als het Sing It Back heeft gehoord, en daar veranderen drie puike soloalbums maar weinig aan. Ook de vierde cd zal dat niet doen. Take Her Up To Monto ( naar een Ierse folksong uit 1958 die Róisín met plezier meefluit) is immers een zeer excentrieke plaat waarop de popdiva, die niet vies is van een verkleedpartij meer of minder, zowel zichzelf als de muziekindustrie op de korrel neemt.

De negen popliedjes liggen al bij al lekker in het gehoor, of kunnen zelfs voor reclameboodschappen worden gebruikt (wat eerder al het geval was), pure pop wordt het nooit, laat staan dat je een seconde kan meezingen. Net zoals op haar vorige platen, verschuilt de Ierse zich opnieuw in een wereld vol ingetogen beats en allerlei achtergrondgeluiden. De stijl varieert van minimal disco (of moeten we er gewoon minimal techno van maken?) tot avant-garde waardoor ze bijna als een hedendaagse elektroversie van Nina Simone klinkt.

Róisín graaft diep op deze plaat, stelt veel vragen over zichzelf (With wide eyes open I said goodbye to the guys and set sail for my destruction, zingt ze op opener Mastermind) en ze beseft dat het leven (en alles wat daar om hangt) niet meer dan één grote grap is. Gewoon er het beste van maken, deze luttele planeet iets moois geven, zoals deze intieme Take Her Up To Monto.

Nieuwe fans zal ze er niet mee winnen. Maar als je denkt dat Laurie Anderson grensverleggend is (wat ook het geval is), probeer dan ook zeker de nieuwe van Róisín Murphy eens.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death
17
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination
16
02
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void
15
02
MINISTRY
Same Old Madness
14
02
POLICE DES MOEURS
Première neige