tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

10/12/2016 : ROXY MUSIC - Manifesto

ROXY MUSIC

Manifesto

MusicCD
PopRock

[90/100]   

Virgin Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

A great band is rarely born because someone is not good enough. It happened to Bryan Ferry when he auditioned with King Crimson in 1970. Ferry had just lost his job as a teacher, and although he was not good enough for King Crimson, Robert Fripp helped him to join Roxy Music (a band that was formed through an ad in Melody Maker) that was signing a record deal with E.G..

One of the first persons who noticed Roxy Music was (how could it be otherwise?) John Peel. While the first two albums (with Brian Eno in the line-up) were not hit parade related, they sold well. Virginia Plain became a superhit, but Eno was bored by Ferry’s behavior and left. That was perhaps one of the best decisions in music history ever, as everyone knows what a phenomenal role Eno played afterwards.

After Eno left, Stranded and Country Life still were art rock albums, but Ferry started to impersonate an eccentric pop star: the playboy with the cigarette who could get every woman. He posed with the most beautiful models and made ​​solo albums just as any rock star. The public and the press had a soft spot for Roxy Music. Siren (with Jerry Hall on the cover who was Ferry’s girlfriend then) is still considered as one of the best records ever. After this milestone, it was silent for some time, and it took Roxy Music four years to release a new album, and due to the flop of the first single (Trash), it took some time before Manifesto started to sell.

I have a strange relationship with this record. Although it had no beautiful lady on the cover, I liked this one a lot. In retrospect it turned to be a bunch of party people with masks, but it attracted me and it was my first encounter with Roxy Music.

The LP was important for the band as the group doubted between the familiar art rock and commercial disco pop (the genre which they would play on Flesh & Blood a year later).

Manifesto is the quirky opening track that goes back to the old days, followed by Trash. Although it’s a sublime track that has all the familiar Roxy Music elements, this single hardly made it to the top 40, and that was a real disaster. No worries though, the public loved the second single Dance Away, in which the Brits flirted with the then popular disco sound. A nice detail: Dance Away was actually a song that was rejected for Ferry's solo album The Bride Stripped Bare of 1978!

More disco was heard in the third (sublime) single Angel Eyes, that came pretty close to Abba’s pop. The LP version still contains the typical saxophone by Andy Mackay, but on the hugely popular 12 " it was entirely overshadowed by a disco beat.

Critics were not really enthusiastic about the album. They accused the band of betting on two horses, that was in fact true.

Yet, there are gems on it. Still Falls The Rain (with Ferry’s typical singing) sounds more like The Rolling Stones, and the genius guitar of Phil Manzanera on Stronger Through The Years makes it probably one of the most underrated songs the band ever wrote.

On Ain’t That So we hear a band that would dominate the 80s: the Bryan Ferry of the ballads. Some music fans were bored of it, but Ferry’s voice and the exotic sax of Andy Mackay remain a brilliant combination.

One of the best Roxy Music songs ever is on this sixth album: My Little Girl. A perfect love song, even if the lyrics mean absolutely nothing. If something negative has to be said about this record, then it is that this classic album ends with two lesser songs: the funky Cry Cry Cry and the boring ballad Spin Me Round. And yes, exactly the kind of songs that Ferry would make later on.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Het gebeurt maar zelden dat een superband tot stand komt doordat iemand niet goed genoeg is. Het overkwam Bryan Ferry toen hij in 1970 auditie deed bij King Crimson. Ferry die net zijn job als leraar verloren had, werd weliswaar niet goed genoeg bevonden, maar werd toch opgevangen door Robert Fripp die ervoor zorgde dat Roxy Music (een band die via een advertentie in de Melody Maker werd opgericht) een platencontract bij E.G. kreeg.

De eerste persoon die Roxy Music opmerkte was (hoe kon het ook anders) John Peel. Hoewel de eerste twee platen (met in de line-up Brian Eno) allesbehalve hitparadevoer waren, verkochten ze toch als zoete broodjes. Virginia Plain werd een superhit, maar Eno had genoeg van Ferrys gedrag en vertrok. Achteraf was dat misschien één van de beste beslissingen uit de muziekgeschiedenis ooit, iedereen weet trouwens wat voor een fenomenale rol Eno nadien in de muziek zou spelen.

Na Eno’s vertek waren Stranded en Country Life nog wel artrock, toch begon Ferry zich meer en meer excentriek te gedragen: de playboy met de eeuwige sigaret in zijn mond die iedere vrouw kon versieren. Ferry poseerde met de allermooiste modellen, maakte soloplaten en vertolkte met het allergrootste plezier zijn rol als rockster. Zowel het publiek als de pers hadden een boontje voor Roxy Music, Siren (met Jerry Hall op de cover die toen Ferrys verloofde was) wordt nu nog altijd beschouwd als één van de allerbeste platen ooit.
Na deze mijlpaal was het liedje voor een paar jaar uit. Het duurde uiteindelijk vier jaar vooraleer Roxy Music een nieuwe plaat zou uitbrengen, en mede door het floppen van de eerste single eruit (Trash), duurde het tevens een tijdje vooraleer Manifesto begon te verkopen.

Zelf heb ik een vreemde relatie met deze plaat. Hoewel er voor de eerste keer geen mooie dame op de cover prijkt, spreekt de hoes me toch enorm aan. Achteraf bleken het niet meer dan feestende mensen met maskers te zijn, de aantrekkingskracht was groot en het was mijn eerste kennismaking met Roxy Music. De plaat was ook voor de band belangrijk: een scharnierplaat, want de groep twijfelde volop tussen de vertrouwde artrock en de commerciële discopop (het genre waarvoor een jaar later met Flesh & Blood defintief werd gekozen).

Manifesto is de eigenzinnige openingstrack die naar de oude dagen teruggrijpt, gevolgd door Trash. Hoewel het een zeer geslaagde track is en alle vertrouwde Roxy Music-elementen bezit, haalde deze single met moeite de top 40 en voor zo’n succesact was dat natuurlijk een ramp. Geen nood echter, het publiek had wel oor voor de tweede single: Dance Away, waarop de Britten met de toen nog populaire disco flirten. Leuk detail: eigenlijk was deze song een afdankertje dat Ferrys soloplaat The Bride Stripped Bare uit 1978 niet haalde! Noch meer disco was er in de derde sublieme single Angel Eyes, waarin Roxy Music vrij dicht in de buurt van Abba kwam. De lp-versie bevat de typische saxofoon van Andy Mackay, maar op de ontzettend populaire 12” is die helemaal door een discobeat verdrongen.

De critici waren niet echt laaiend enthousiast over het album. Men verweet de band dat hij net iets te veel op twee paardjes had gewed, wat in feite ook zo was. Toch staan er tal van parels op. Still Falls The Rain lijkt (op de typische Ferry-zang na) meer op The Rolling Stones, en de klagende gitaar van Phil Manzanera op Stronger Through The Years maakt het wellicht één van de meest ondergewaardeerde songs is die de band ooit schreef.

Op Ain’t That So horen we voor het eerst de Roxy Music (en de Bryan Ferry) die de jaren 80 zou domineren: de ballads die ervoor zorgden dat heel wat muziekfans Ferry links lieten ligge. Toch kan niemand ontkennen dat er ook uitblinkers werden gemaakt (de zwoele stem van Ferry en de exotische sax van Andy Mackay zijn en blijven een geniale combinatie). Ook de mooiste Roxy Music-track ooit vind je op deze zesde plaat terug: My Little Girl. Zelden klonk Ferry in een liefdeslieje zo ontroerend, ook al stelt de tekst eigenlijk maar bitter weinig voor.

Als er al iets negatiefs over deze plaat moet worden gezegd, dan is het dat deze klassieker wordt afgesloten met twee mindere songs: het funky Cry Cry Cry en de saaie ballad Spin Me Round, het soort liedjes dat we later nog (te) veel van de Engelse muzikant zouden horen!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
JAYE LEIGH VINCENT (TORQUE ORDER) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
VICTOR VERZIJL (LA LUNE NOIRE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PALE THORNS • Somberland
JJD (SOFT RIOT) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
MESH • Kill Your Darlings
CLAUDIA NOTTEBELLA (ASH CODE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
STATHIS LEONTIADIS (HUMAN PUPPETS, DORIC) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
THE DUKE SPIRIT • Kin
RATS REST • On The Eastside

 

Same combination of genres: POP + ROCK
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
PAUL MCCARTNEY • Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
AN PIERLE • Arches
DAVID BOWIE • Black Star
MOTHERS • When You Walk a Long Distance You are Tired
SWEET BABOO • Dennis
MEILYR JONES • 2013
WILD NOTHING • Life of Pause
THE ANCHORESS • Confessions of a Romance Novelist
10CC • Leuven, Het Depot (28/02/16)

 

Same genre: POP
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop

 

Same genre: ROCK
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
NEIL YOUNG+PROMISE OF THE REAL + LAURA MARLING • London, O2 Arena (11/06/2016)
KOKO COHEN QUINTET • Kochenquit
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF (+ CHANTAL ACDA) • (Gent, Sint-Jacobskerk, 13/05/2016)

Music reviews

18
09
SPARKS
Hippopotamus
16
09
SPARE SNARE
Unicorn
14
09
SPREADING POINT
MOMENTUM - PART II
04
09
HEXHEART
Midnight on a Moonless Night
29
08
CEPHALGY
Gott Maschine Vaterland
28
08
3TEETH
Shutdown.exe

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
09
The Knife releases new live album & DVD 'Live at Terminal 5
16
09
LA SCALTRA releases first video single from the forthcoming album FREAKSHOW
15
09
Mortiis releases a free 3-track charity single “Too Little Too Late'
13
09
New album from Electronica project MAURI - 'CYBORGS'
07
09
CAN founder and musician Holger Czukay died at the age of 79
30
08
WAX TRAX! EXPANDS MUSIC DOCUMENTARY WITH SO-CAL EVENT

Concert reviews

27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni
26
06
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH
Zaterdag 3 juni
26
06
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON
Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
26
06
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND
WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller
26
06
KRYONIX, SYNTHATTACK, BLEIB MODERN, WHISPERING SONS, THE VISION BLEAK
Zondag 4 juni

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
MARTYR WHORE
''as a lady orgasm multiply times by 100000000000000'. This night was a big surprise cause we were not programmed in the line up in Madrid'
17
09
VERSUS
‘TO PRODUCE A COMMERCIAL ALBUM WAS NEVER OUR INTENTION’
15
09
MASQUERADE
It's too difficult as it is to tour these days when people prefer to stay at home and watch videos from the 80's on YouTube
13
09
THE QUINSY
Each concert is unique. But we are famous for our powerful gigs
11
09
GOTTERDAMMERUNG
Rose gardens are beautiful but they die too…you might as well dance in that garden during the last night.

PHOTOS

13
09
KMFDM
O2 Academy Islington, London, UK
12
09
REVOLTING COCKS
O2 Academy Islington, London, UK
28
08
DIE KRUPPS
De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
28
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
28
08
DER REST
De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
24
08
RABIA SORDA
GDW Festival Tilloloy
24
08
DAS FLUFF
GDW Festival Tilloloy

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

20
09
IAMX
North Star
19
09
TRAIN TO SPAIN
Believe In Love
18
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
17
09
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
16
09
SONJA KRAUSHOFER
Wie Tränen Im Regen
16
09
MILA MAR
Das steinerne Kind
16
09
JO QUAIL
Laurus